Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth

Thomas Nelson The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth

From the author of best-selling adrenaline-packed novels such as Blink, Obsessed, and the Circle Trilogy comes a new challenge for the church! Arguing that today's Christians have been lulled into boredom and despondency because we've forgotten our central hope, Dekker reminds us of an exotic, pleasurable inheritance in God's kingdom. 208 pages, 5" x 8" hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Review 1 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Pretty good book

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Carrollton, Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, this is a good book. Dekker has some very good points and insight. The book was a little boring though. Even though I liked his insight and points, I hate to say it but I struggled through the book because of a lack of attention. Maybe I have an attention deficit. I would reccomend it though because of the points he makes. He addressed some of the problems with the modern church that we could all learn from.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspired

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
bigkev
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was given as a gift to my wife and she loved it, she hasn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joy S
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a great book. It inspired me to not focus on this world so much but to look forward to Heaven
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's okay, but not great

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ben Lundquist
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ted Dekker brings up some interesting points, but I have to admit I am having a hard time getting through this book because it just doesn't hold my interest. I love his fiction, but this doesn't do it for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
shookone
Location:Palmyra, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dekker is on point on the Church's slumber and how the Church has lost sight of heaven. The only problem is Dekker's solution to keeping the Church from slumbering is lacking, especially for the average every day Christian.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

interesting

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunshine
Location:Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book for a Mentor study with a friend. We are studing Esther now, and I thought this would be a great book to study.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book does an awesome job of challenging Christians to think of heaven in a way that changes the way we live our daily lives. It reminded me somewhat of C.S. Lewis's writings. It is both inspiring and convicting. My teenage girls are huge Ted Dekker fans, and they both have read it and highly recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phyllis D
Thiswas a great book!! It really got me thinking about the hereafter. The book was different than any of his other books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terry Green
Interesting concept, I am only half done, and it makes you think. Mr. Dekker truly has insight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Greg Beauchamp
This book is a good place to start if you are not excited with your present relationship with Jesus- It could be the spark that you need to awaken you from your spiritual doldrums- The church needs to awaken and take it's rightful place in the world around us, and it needs to start with YOU!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Great book, gives you a lot to think about that you probably have never let cross your mind. A really powerful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heather Mosher
Another excellent book written by Ted Dekker. This book was a major eye opener to many underlining issues in Christianity that many of us today are completely oblivious to. Dekker's knowledge of the Bible and the early chrisitan church is phenomenal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ronda B
I am currently in the process of reading this book. I love Ted Dekker books, and this one delves into his personal history a bit which is very interesting. The book is a bit more of a study book or something than what I expected, but I am enjoying it. I am just now getting to the "solution to the problem" part, and am anxious to finish!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna Sill
Another great book. First book I have read by this author, but he definitely knows what he is talking about. I highlighted many parts of this book. When I have a book that's been highlighted this much I know it is worth reading again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Maryann Helwig
My husband & I purchased this book because we are fans of Ted Dekker. WOW! We gave this as a Christmas present to our friends because the message is so vital for the church today. Every believer who has professed the name of Christ needs to read this book. We must remember the hope of heaven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Fred Waugh
A great book that awakens the mind and the heart to what God is preparing for us. It's a stimulus for the mind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Slumber of Christianity: Awakening a Passion for Heaven on Earth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2005
Customer Avatar
Marilyn
One of the best books I've read in a long time. I underlined SO MUCH of it. Also, if you read it, you will never read/hear the word HOPE without thinking of this book, and the HOPE that lies within us. I've been telling everyone about it. This book will "make your day" and your "future!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.