Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

Donald Miller believes that story is a powerful tool that can help to shape our lives. The bestselling author of the poignant Blue Like Jazz shares in A Million Miles in a Thousand Years how screenplay editors revise and edit their final drafts in order to give a clearer understanding of the story's main themes. Ultimately, we learn that story can be a tool used both to guide us toward positive change and steer us away from foolish decisions. Fans of Don Miller's previous works will not want to miss this new book!
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Review 1 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thought provoking.

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
alana
Location:Fonthill, Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The basic message that the author presents to the reader was very thought provoking. There was much that I gleaned from the "second half" of the book.
His writing style "leaves something to be desired" as one would say. The first half of the book had too much rambling about stuff that did not pertain to the overall message. The title was very ambiguous---what exactly did that mean? Made no sense to me.
I would recommend the book to others because of the value of the concepts expressed in the second half of the book. I would not buy another book by Donald Miller.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeff Johnson
A must read - life changing. Donald Miller's observations are so entertaining to read and so match your own unspoken and unarticulated thoughts that bells go off constantly. So may "Yes! - thats right!" moments. You will not be the same. Read it - engage - and act!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
First of all, I love Donald Miller, though eccentric at times!! While 'editing his life' for a film, Miller confronts the reality of his boring life and that it really isn't that exciting to create a movie about. So he changes that and takes on some pretty crazy adventures to explore his real life and change it!All of us was born for more than this, we have a greater story to be lived, but most times we just sit on the couch and flip between channels wishing we had a better life. God created us for greater purposes... His purposes!Every story has a character who needs to confront something, deal with the conflict and overcome it! What is it that's holding you back from creating a new story? I'm still processing this for myself, but I do want to continue this journey and figure it out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Oglesby Union Church
Gave this book as a graduation gift for a student finishing at a community college. I scanned through it and love the concept and the way he communicated truth through the events of his own life. Great book written for "postmodern" generation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
bryan Hill
This is a book filled with some great stories, sometimes the stories bounced back and forth, but they captivated me. It is the self introspection by Donald Miller, induced by Steve and Ben from Nashville during a process of making Donalds book Blue Like Jazz into movie, that intrigued me to want to read more. The process that Donald, Ben, and Steve go through to make a movie from a book was something that was a shock to me. This simply explains to me why movies end up so much different from the the books they originate from. Here are a couple of phrases that got my attention when I read them: Enjoy your place in my story. The beauty of it means you matter, and you can create within it even as I have created you. that great stories got to those who dont give into fear. If we want a feeling of meaning in life, I don't think we have a choice but to live a good story All in all this book has driven me to live a better story, without fear. A good story is worthy of being told. Are you living a good story. It is a good read, worthy of a reread and one I will recommend to friends.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leah
When Donald Miller was approached by hollywood to write a screenplay of his own life, he was faced with the uncomfortable truth that he didn't actually have the kind of story that anyone would be inspired by to make a better story of their lives themselves. So, he set out to change that.In typical Miller style, the reader goes along on His journey of discovery like a friend over a cup of coffee. As he works out how to write a screenplay of his life, he realizes more and more deeply the elements of 'story' at play in our own lives and begins to stick his neck out to write a better one, knowing that every character's story affects the story of the next character."A story is based on what people think is important, so when we live a story, we are telling the people around us what we think is important." -- Don MillerI want everyone I know to read this book. Profound and deeply REAL, it uses a universal language, that of human story, to point the reader to God and His massive purposes for us. It inspired me to keep my eyes open to the greater story, because being aware of it affects the way we live to the core. I drank this beautiful, compassionate, authentic book up like water and desperately wanted more of it at the end!*I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill
Wow. This book will change lives.The chapter How Jason Saved His Family is incredible. Every man who has a family member who needs help should read this. Its not easy, mushy advice. Its a call to action that would be difficult and challengingand that could save your family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Ever wanted to be able to change your life? Want to get out of the normal routines and patterns that your family line has set. Donald Millers newest release A Million Miles in a Thousand Years will try and show you how to change your life as if you are part of a movie script. Overall I wasnt too captivated by this book. I found it hard to read at times and would have to force myself to not put it down. I am not saying that this book is not a good read; it was just not one for me. The thoughts behind the book made me really want to read it, however I was not captured in the writing. The brightest part of the book for me was thinking back and wondering what it would be like if my life was turned into a movie. Would I change anything and if so how? I found a few things that I would like to not have dealt with in my life, however they are also what has shaped me into whom I am today. So all in all, while not a great read for me, this book does make you think about your life and the journey you have taken.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tina Gray
Donald Millers A Million Miles In A Thousand Years is a story about one mans opportunity to edit his life as if he were a character in a movie.After writing a best-selling memoir, Donald went into a funk until he was rescued by two movie producers who wanted to make a movie based on his memoir. When they start creating a fictional Don to make his life sound more exciting, the real Don decides to edit his real life to turn it into a better story.A Million Miles in a Thousand Years is a fun and interesting read. In the first few chapters, I was reading about Don and his thoughts but as the chapters progressed, I started thinking about my life and how I would feel if I can the chance to edit my story and do things over.A Million Miles in a Thousand Years challenges readers to reconsider what they strive for in life. It shows how to get a second chance at life the first time around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lauren Yarger
Donald Miller isnt an easy man to get to know. In fact, he doesnt seem to know himself all that well, which is the premise for his latest book, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years: What I Learned While Editing My Life" (Thomas Nelson, 2009).Miller, who catapulted to fame with his best selling Blue Like Jazz, found his life had stalled. He was avoiding his publisher and deadlines while pondering the meaning of life when two filmmakers, Steve Taylor and Ben Pearson (The Second Chance) contacted Miller about adapting Blue Like Jazz into a movie.The three begin to transform the Don of the book into a more film-friendly and easier-to-know character, and in the process, Miller discovers that his life is really, rather boring on the surface. He tries to create scenes for the character by remembering significant moments, and finds he has forgotten a lot and events that he does remember dont lend themselves to great cinematography. He starts living new stories to create a character, including attempting a reconciliation with the father whom he barely remembers, and ends up writing a new life story.What seems at first ramblings by a guy who is having trouble finding something worthwhile about his life to report to a God portrayed as impersonal and not inclined to let humans in on what their lifes purpose is anyway, shifts and becomes a rather thoughtful collection of insights into whats important and how we can shape our lies into better stories.I particularly enjoyed the format of the book, which follows Millers attempts to structure his life like a screenplay. Exposition is followed by chapters breaking down the overall premise driving any story plot: a character who wants something and who overcomes conflict to get it. Being a writer, I could relate to this approach to life and the format made Millers experiences and stories far more interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brian
The story behind the book is about the story of ones life. Miller accomplishes this by telling the story of a movie being based on his lifes story and his search for how to write a good story. Many side stories are added to illustrate this point.Let me start by stating that I had never read any of Donald Millers books before, though I had been very interested as I had heard a lot of good things about them. I am not sure what I expected, but this book was much different that what I had expected. To me, the book seemed very random and in speaking with a friend about it, I used the term abstract writing. The author also made reference to times of smoking and drinking, that added nothing to the story, and should not have been included.Overall, the book had a really good principle and was an easy read. I really wish more Scripture (I dont remember any, as a matter of fact) being used. What I did take from the book is that our lives are a story and we need to choose what story we want our life to tell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pam Darbonne
I loved Donald Miller's new book, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years. It demands the reader do something. This book is not one you read, put on your shelf, and then discuss intelligently when you get together with friends. It is one you apply in increments as you live your life. As I picked it up, I was excited to be able to read Millers new book and looked forward to pondering his words. But this book was different from the very beginning.Ive never met anyone about whose life a movie was made, and perhaps reading Donald Millers book is as close as Ill ever get. But as I read about the movie-making process, and the way it caused Miller to think about his life, I found myself thinking about my life the way he thought about his. Am I writing a good story? What will it take for me to write a better story?Most books I read allow me to escape in some fashion, even the non-fiction ones tell me how things should be. This one was different. It invited me to look at my life as a story and asked how I can make it a better one?Immediately, my way of thinking began to change. He gave examples of some really cool things he did to begin to write a better life, even an epic life, but I didnt feel I had to do the same kinds of things he did. When I closed the book, I asked God for wisdom. I want to write a better story for my life, for my wife and for my kids. Our new chapter started today. Thanks, Donald.Read A Million Miles in a Thousand Years. It will help you write your story . . . better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Trisha
Donald miller captured my attention very quickly in his book A million miles in a thousand years. I particularily liked his idea on what his conversation with God would be about when God asks him what he did with his life lol. I love the style of his writing, it makes it so easy to follow and feels like you're sitting there listening to him talk to you about his life. Another part of the book I loved was when he was asked if his script would include illistrations, and then the next few pages he has pictures of a rather humourous story. He tells you the stories of his life in a funny way, that also challenges you! Honestly I don't imagine there's too many people who wouldn't enjoy this book. I would definately recommend it to anyone looking for a good read! I would love to write more on his book, but I don't want to keep giving away all the good stories lol, so you'll have to read it for yourself. But trust me you won't be disapointed! Well worth the investment!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
amy dolan
donald millers brand new book a million miles in a thousand years is my choice for best book of the year. this book has completely changed the way i approach my life, and has given me a new hope and freedom to explore the central characters, plot, themes, and conflict that when combined together tell the story of my life.a short excerpt from the book:years after writing a best-selling memoir, donald miller went into a funk and spent months sleeping in and avoiding his publisher. one story had ended, and don was unsure how to start another.but he gets rescued by two movie producers who want to make a movie based on his memoir. when they start fictionalizing dons life for filmchanging a meandering memoir into a structured narrativethe real-life don starts a journey to edit his actual life into a better story. a million miles in a thousand years details that journey and challenges readers to reconsider what they strive for in life. it shows how to get a second chance at life the first time around.while reading the book, i started a journal so that i could have a place to record my thoughts and keep a log for questions for future processing. these are just the beginning thoughts in the process of recreating my story:how can i be a remarkable character?i must learn to embrace pain & difficulty in my life and view it as a beautiful gift. i want to surround myself with fascinating stories people living out bold stories. maybe life is about simply enjoying the experience with god.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amber Bolton
Donald Miller weaves an exposed heart through the pages of A Million Miles in a Thousand Years. That exposure is what makes it real, honorable, and convicting. Miller takes us on the journey that requires us to rethink our very own stories. What is your story? Are the things that are most important to you reflected in your story? What past experiences, future fears, or numbing everydayness creates your story? Where does God fit into your story? Miller suggests our stories are stolen by the easy life. And this has been my story. About the same time I read this book, I was recovering from gall bladder surgery. The combination of surgery and this book has created the desire for a new story in my life to begin. A story that finds fulfillment in a God who loves me and desires me to do more than sit on a couch. A story that really shows what is important to me. I have a warning about this book. Dont read it if you want to stay living in your comfortable, stagnant world. Read it if you want a fresh way of looking at your life, the story it tells, and how God is in and through it. Ive sent a copy to a friend this past week whos story is being changed dramatically. I believe A Million Miles will inspire her, create beauty in a new story, and allow God to move in new ways. Find your story in A Million Miles in a Thousand Years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather
The book describes how Miller discovers what makes a good story while co-writing a script based on his popular book, Blue Like Jazz. Miller is transformed by the realization he could live a "better story." As he begins to make changes in his life, he encounters pain, joy, and a sense of purpose.Miller's writing style is conversational. He is random, funny, deep and authentic as he tells his story and as he reflects on the stories of others he has encountered along the way. I felt like he was someone worth listening to because he seemed down-to-earth and easy for me to relate to. His book delivers a message of hope--that everyday people can find meaning in life.As a Christian, Miller does not promise that living a better story will be all sunshine and roses; instead, it can be downright messy and painful at times. This I can wholeheartedly attest to. In our adoption journey to our son, one of our most painful moments was waiting to finalize the adoption. It hurt to wait almost 5 months before we could see him again. It hurt that it was out of our control. Was that pain (and other difficulties of the adoption process) worth it? You bet it was! But we kept going on because we felt called to become parents through adoption. The risks and pain brought meaning to our every day life...My husband and I found ourselves part of a greater story and are smack dab in a more exciting, meaningful adventure than if we had chose to play it safe.Regardless of where you are in your life or your personal beliefs, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years will entertain you and possibly even inspire you to turn the TV off and get out and live your life with passion.I am a Thomas Nelson Book Blogger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hans Schiefelbein
In sports it's called the sophomore slump. A player has a great first (freshman) year and then can't live up to expectations the next. Donald Miller fully admits that after a very successful experience with Blue Like Jazz, a New York Times bestseller for 40 weeks, he went under the radar and did little more than get off the couch. Through a series of events and conversations with his roommate, Miller realized that he wasn't living a good life; he wasn't writing a great story. An avid learner and critic, Miller begins studying story in the context of films. Why? Because he's been approached to adapt his memoir into a screenplay. He's writing his own feature film, staring himself.Donald Miller gained a nationwide following with his memoir, Blue Like Jazz, in 2003. His style of writing was refreshingly honest, critical, and insightful. But his cynicism left readers with a void and a sense of a missing component. Should we question so much of the Christian life without pursuing answers? In A Million Miles Donald Miller shows us how he has matured from a critic to an editor. He's been charged with the task of making his story work. And the story is compelling. The backdrop is a movie - Miller's life being edited for a screenplay on the big screen. But when two professional movie makers tell Miller that his story lacks some excitement, he's forced to examine his life and see if there's more. I have reviewed this title as part of the Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jon Gilbert
In A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, Donald Miller works alongside two filmmakers to adapt his life to the screen as they write a screenplay of his life. Miller shares his thoughts on life as a story as he comes to the awareness that if his life were shown on the big screen the way it is, that the viewers would "stab each other in the necks with drinking straws." To summarize too much would ruin you reading experience of this book. Let me start by saying this book changed me and the way I see life. I have read this book twice in the last few weeks, wrestling with what could possibly be said in a review and how I am going to "rewrite my life." Buy the book .It motivated me to want to live a better story and help others do the same. Think about what makes your favorite movies or stories meaningful to you. "The elements that made a story meaningful are the same that make a life meaningful" (p.39). Buy the bookIn his usual style of humor and mental wanderings, Donald Miller has released his most powerful book to date. I want everyone I know to read this book; I think it is that important. We all want to live a great story, but we don't want to pay the price and make the sacrifice to do it. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years is a challenge to live. So live!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tiphanie Uland
Don Miller tells the story of how his life changed when he got the call from a producer that wanted to make his first memoir into a movie. Miller starts to get excited about the whole ordeal but begins to struggle with how things have to change for people to actually watch the movie. Miller starts to explain a story and what makes people interested and want to keep living the story. This book shows how you can have a second chance at life the first time around.I was also had the privilege to listen to a lecture Don Miller had at ACU Summit last week and he talked about his book. In the lecture he related what he learned about a story to how our christian walk should be. We shouldnt be running when a conflict happens but learning how to accomplish the conflict because that is what makes a story worth hearing about or watching. So with that Miller explained how every Christian in their walk is going to have conflict and will have to overcome it because that is what is going to make life worth it.In the book Miller talks about how he was going to go to Machu Picchu which consisted of a lot of physically stressful climbing. He explains how when he was on the climb the tour guide told them that they could easily go down this one path and go straight there, but instead they are going to go this other way and climb up all this and then back down. In other words they were going to go the hard difficult way. He goes on and explains how difficult it was but how much more it was worth it because he overcame the hard part and was awarded with finally getting to Machu Picchu. In our christian walks we cant always go the easy way, a lot of the times we are going to have to go the difficult path but it is only going to make it that much more worth it when we make it to the promise land. It is going to come to the point that we want to quit but with help from our friends like Miller had with his on that climb we can and will make it to the promise land.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jonathan Coombs
The book is a story of Don's life over a particular period which spans about a year or two. That i think is the gist of book. I have to admit that i am still a little uncertain as to what the point of his book is, if it is just to tell a story then he has achieved that. However, if he has wanted to purvey some sort of point regarding God, Jesus and the Christian life then he has left a little to be desired.The way Don writes is attractive, he sucked me in to his story. I must commend him for that. The way in which he told illustrations from his life and the way in which he moved ones emotions up and down kept me wanting to keep going. He is a brilliant writer and storyteller and many of his experiences seem like great experiences to have.However, i do have a few problems with the book:First, to me it was a book without a point, as Ive said previously. It was a good book, but just so fluid that i couldnt work out what he was trying to say to me as the reader. Second, choosing a better story implied that one should take more risk and be more adventurous in the choices we make from day-to-day. I thought this could lead down a path which could actually be destructive to some people rather than bringing them life changing transformation.I would still come to the conclusion that it is an OK book. It is an easy read and as i said, written really well. I would recommend it to people if theyd like something of a moving story. Overall, 6/10.I blog for Thomas Nelson
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>