Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Predator: A Novel

Zondervan Predator: A Novel

Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Predator: A Novel
Review 1 for Predator: A Novel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
momma2ann
Location:Camarillo, California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It literally scared me to heart palpitation. If I had know I would have passed this up. Too scary. But very educational as to what unexpected young girls might find on the internet. Parents please police your young people with internet accesses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This was an exciting story with a bit of a twist.

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wilk
Location:MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book finding it exciting with some surprising twists. Some of the characters were a bit too simplistic but didn't take from the drama of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terri Blackstock's Usual Suspense

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
kisarn
Location:Macon, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps you reading; don't want to put the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Predator is eye opening

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Henning
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terri Blackstock writes another riveting tale of suspense in "Predator," while bringing social and spiritual issues,like Internet overuse and complacency to sin and wrong, to the reader's attention. I read this one in just a few days and am hoping for a sequel! Bravo, Terri!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will give you nightmares...in a GOOD way!

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
M1ssDiagnosis
Location:FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Riding my bike to Sinbad's. Dying for a soda, and Dad won't keep them in the house." That was 14-year-old Ella Carmichael's last Thought Bubble posted to the social network Grapevyne. But someone was watching - someone with sinister intentions - and took the opportunity to abduct, rape, and brutally murder the unsuspecting teen. Now her older sister Krista is taking on GrapeVyne and laying a trap for the killer, determined that no other young girls become his next victim. Despite the horrible pain of losing the baby sister she practically raised after their mother's death, Krista turns the tragedy into an opportunity to educate teens and young women about the dangers of posting personal information and current locations on social networking sites. In the process, she ends up working alongside the site's creator and CEO, both of them fighting for their lives as they seek to uncover a potential conspiracy or criminal activity originating with GrapeVyne's parent company and stay a step ahead of a killer.
Not only does Blackstock achieve another suspenseful story with a great surprise ending, but she really makes you stop to consider how our innocent comments on social networking sites can be used for malicious purposes by the wrong person. I want every young woman I care about to read this book and take to heart that particular message. This book will give you nightmares, which is the hallmark of a great thriller, and it will certainly leave you contemplating your own online activities. But it's also a story about using personal adversity to reach out to others, about healing in the midst of tragedy, and about the power of our faith and God's grace to carry us through our darkest trial.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terri Blackstock has done it again!

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Billie Rayborn
Location:Pascagoula, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The characters were well done and, although I figured out the "bad guy" by the middle of the book, the suspense was gripping. Her writing is amazing and she didn't disappoint this time either. I definitely recommend Predator to anyone who likes suspense
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
lukeandlibby
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never been disappointed by Terri Blackstock. The story is timely and relevant. Few people think about how much is revealed when using a computer and this story is a good example of what can happen if we are careless with our info.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You Never Know Who's Watching

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tell ya, Terri Blackstock's books just keep getting better and better! This one had me on the edge of my seat the whole way through. What made it so good was that it was a story relevant to the current hi-tech society that we live in. It made me rethink everything that I post online, and thankfully, I know better than to post the intimate details of my life such as where I'm going every day, when I will or won't be home, etc. Some people really just don't know better, and this book tackles that very issue. It may literally scare you witless.
I would recommend this book to anyone, but particularly to parents and older teens. Some parents don't pay attention to what their children are looking at online, what networks they belong to, or who their friends are. That, in and of itself, is plain scary, but what's scarier is that you never know who's watching and what someone's intent may be. There's a section of the story where Terri just puts it in black and white through the voice of one of her characters:
"Examine your social networks and take down everything you've posted that you wouldn't want a murderous predator to see. Don't post where you are, ever. Don't post where you live, or your school, or your town, or your church. Don't post pictures that identify places, like colleges or schools or particular teams you might be on. Never post your work schedule or your activities or your travel plans. And don't flood the site with pictures of yourself. You have no idea how much information a predator can get from those pictures."
I loved this book because I got a great story plus some really relevant information. This has to be one of THE BEST books that Terri has ever written, and I applaud her for writing about a subject that is very prevalent in today's society. The characters in the story are real, the circumstances harrowing, and the roadblocks they face agonizing. Predator gets a huge 5 star rating from me!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must read

Date:October 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
callout3
Location:Ok.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must read for anyone who does social networking. We tend to forget there are people out there who want nothing more than to harm others and the information we put on line only helps them to accomplish this. It's a definate read for parents who's children have social networking accounts so they will know what not to let their kids put on their account.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Gripping Story

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Moody
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I love Terry's books, they never disappoint me! This story was gripping from start to finish. The story also made me think about the information I inadverntly give about myself while on line. Important message!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Frances Evans
Preator was another great book by Terri Blackstock. If you enjoy a great thriller you'll love this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becky Kemp
I loved this book. Although this book is fiction. it really made me think about the information people put out over the internet without thinking about predators being able to find them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
This book should wake up alot of parents out there. I recommend all who have children with facebook,twitter,myspace or any kind of social networking sites to read this and know this stuff is out there for real. The devil is real and seeking out who he may devour. It is so dangerous to think it's not real. I applaud Terri for writing this book. She drew from reality. Like it or not, the internet is full of evil things and people the devil can use. It is not really for children to read but if you have a young adult of college age, it will benefit them to know and be aware of such wickedness in this world. I have children of this age and I tell them always to be on the look out for dangerous situations. It was disturbing in parts but no more violent than what is showed everyday on the TV or internet. If you like suspence and "who done it" mysteries then this book is for you. And if it helps just one person protect someone they love from harm's way then it was worth the read.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Loved the book. Being a young adult I am on facebook often. The book really started to make me think about the information I put online. Without thinking you might put what time you get out of work, if your home alone, and when you are leaving on vacation. All that information could get you killed. I post on facebook much less now after reading the book. When I do post something I am very careful about what I am telling people, even if I think they are all friends I can trust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Rutledge
Terri Blackstock is still on top of her game. Hated to set the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phyllis
This was the second book I read by Terri Blackstock and found it to be suspenseful and an eye opener at the same time. A current event mystery that could actually happen in today's world. A great read I highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
If youre a member of any popular networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter or MySpace I urge you to read this book. If youve not been too concerned about the amount of information that youre giving out when participating online, or whether or not youre putting yourself at risk this book will make you think twice. Please READ THIS BOOK! Are you friending people online that are complete strangers? Do you ever wonder if those in charge of social networking sites are abusing your information or snooping? This story is a perfect example of how technology can be used for goodand evil. It was eye opening and made me think long and hard. The storyline revolves around an online predator who is stalking people through the popular GrapeVyne network. As the perpetrator makes friends with complete strangers online, they are able to gather enough information to target their victims and murder them. In every case, the victim brings the predator right to them by sharing details of their locations and their activities. When Krista Carmichaels young teenage sister is kidnapped and then brutally beaten, raped and murdered, Krista goes on a mission to find the perpetrator. Krista discovers that her sister has over 1,000 friends in the GrapeVyne network, and that the killer used online information to target her sister. Krista begins to investigate and discovers how slippery the slope of internet networking can be, when used incorrectly. She tries to prevent others from making the same mistakes that her sister did and begins talking to young teenage girls about their online activities. In an effort to find her sisters killer, Krista sets up a bogus online identity in an attempt to lure the killer to her doorstep. Krista also implores the help of Ryan Adkins, the CEO of GrapeVyne, much to the chagrin of his board members.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Albert Medeiros
Another novel by Terri that keeps you on edge and makes it extremely hard to put down. I could not just read one chapter and put it down, as I ususally do with novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
TE
I thought this book was suspenseful, and it kept me interested. I like mysteries but refuse to read the garbage that has obscenities and other trash in them, so Terri Blackstock's books are a great choice. If you have a facebook page or twitter account, you should read this book. It will scare you enough to think twice about what you post. This book is rather upsetting though when you read about what happened to the victims. As a parent of a tween, it really bothered me. I would have liked for her to read it as a reminder about what kind of info she should never give out, but I think it was too scary for a 12 year old. But, then again, this book wasn't written for that age group, so as an adult, I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Predator: A Novel
This review is fromPredator.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
This was a great book that kept me on the edge of my seat. As a fast paced book, the opening chapter landed me in the middle of the drama. It took me 3 days to read the book only because I had to finish my capstone project for a college class. Luckily I finished the project early so that I could finish reading this book. I highly recommend this book as well as other books by Terri Blackstock, especially the Suncoast Chronicles. I read that series years ago and have shared the books with many friends who have also enjoyed the series. Predator is a stand alone book that will stand alone in greatness.To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I must post that Zondervan has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review. I also must say that the opinions are all mine.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>