Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chosen Books Essential Guide to Healing, The - eBook

Chosen Books Essential Guide to Healing, The - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Essential Guide to Healing, The - eBook
Review 1 for Essential Guide to Healing, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Essential Guide to Healing.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spiritually challenging

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
teacher of children
Location:western NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book began a little bit slowly because the authors built an in-depth case for why healing is still valid for today, but after these chapters, I couldn't put down the book. The testimonies and scriptures stirred up my heart to believe God for bigger and greater things, not just in the area of healing, but in all aspects of a Spirit-filled life. If you're not satisfied staying at the same level you've been at spiritually, I recommend reading this book and taking action like the authors suggest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Essential Guide to Healing, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Essential Guide to Healing.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I wish I could give this book to everyone!

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
seekingmyLord
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thy kingdom come.
Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.
~Excerpt from the Lord's Prayer
Healing seems to be the one thing for which everyone has prayed whether to benefit other people and themselves. As Christians, we believe God heals. He can heal, but the question that lingers is will He heal? The authors of The Essential Guide to Healing: Equipping All Christians to Pray for the Sick--may God bless them--have changed my perspective on this part of the prayer Jesus taught to his disciples. He prayed God's will to be done on earth as it is in heaven. I have always thought that was kind of saying that God's will is not done on earth as it is in heaven but we wish it were. I did not think about the scope of this simple yet awe-striking concept, until I read this book and now I will never perceive those words the same as I did before. We shall see God's will being done on earth (just as it is in heaven) when we live as if we are in the kingdom--as Jesus did--and believers are living in the kingdom, but Christianity has become a religion of "unbelieving believers" who do not recognize this.
Jesus said the Kingdom was at hand (here right now)...and He healed people here on earth because it is God's will. These are a few excerpts from the book:
"Healing was a major part of Jesus' ministry. There is no cancer in heaven. Neither is there any blindness or deafness or any other malady in that realm. Freedom from disease is God's will on earth. Period. God has not commanded us to pray for healing in order to frustrate us."
"Remember, healing is not just something God does. It is who He is. His name is Jehovah Rapha, the God who heals. (Exodus 15:26)"
"While it can truthfully be said that Jesus did not heal everyone alive in His day, it must also be noted that He healed everyone who came to Him. No exceptions. The measure of faith people expressed varied..."
The book tells a bit about the history of the church and about how it has come about that Christians today succumb to liberalism, not believing in anything supernatural ever happen whether as recorded in the Bible or today, and cessationism, believing that the gifts of healing and other works of miracles no longer exist in the sense of someone having these gifts or that such gifts were given to the apostles only. This book address these concerns as well as other misconceptions that most "unbelieving believers" have.
I cannot fully express how thankful I am to to have had the opportunity to read and review this book. I wish to thank Bill Johnson and Randy Clark for co-authoring this book, each giving his unique perspective within individually written chapters. It truly has been one that spoke to my soul and spirit. This is not a book just for those who believe in healing, but it is a book I highly recommend for people who desire to be in a healing ministry, sensing guidance and the workings of the Holy Spirit. If I could, I would give this book to every member of my church...and every church!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Bethany House Publishers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Essential Guide to Healing, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Essential Guide to Healing.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent book that has a different approach

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miracleworker
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very encouraging and enlightening to read Randy and Bill's testimony of how they got involved in the Healing Ministry.
Randy's historical information was new material and very revealing about how the evil one has stolen the power gifts from the church. Of course there is excellent material on how to pray for healing. Overall an awesome book that I would recommend to others.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Essential Guide to Healing, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Essential Guide to Healing.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great illustrations and scripture to back it up

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Mt. Pleasant, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this book was excellent. It is one of the few books that I have seen that touched on the Pre-Tribulation revelation that came to a 15 year old girl in a dream in the 1830's. I was really impressed with the testimony's and the scripture to back everything up with. I had a hard time at first getting into the book but the more I read the more I wanted to read. Though I already knew some things, it was a confirming word to my spirit. I loved how it also went into how Words of Knowledge and Words of Wisdom come into part of the Healing ministry. God is the same, yesterday, today, and forever, and His Word is true...Healing, tongues, Words of Wisdom, Prophecy, Words of knowledge did not go away and they were not for just those that lived during Jesus day. They are for us today! This book helps to reinforce that in a powerful way. I would recommend anyone with a heart for more of God to read this book!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Essential Guide to Healing, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very practical

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Saint
Location:Kastellaun, Germany
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is easy to read and very inspiring. I like the many examples and testimonies that make it applicable in practice. Seldom have I read a book on devine healing that was so practical and easy to use. It is as titled a guide to start this journey into supernatural healing but also for those who have a lot of experience in this area.
A must read for all pastors and laymen who pursue this heavenly lifestyle!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Essential Guide to Healing, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a helpful book! I was really built-up by it!

Date:December 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Charlie Ford
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this book is a really helpful tool, very practical. It really is the Healing Guide for Dummies!!! I found the beginners level instruction very helpful. Coming from a evangelical background, with no charismatic experiences or knowledge, this book really helped me start praying for the sick, in faith.
I must say, I find the Bookreader impractical. It loads and opens to the page listing all your books from Christian Book.com. That is a real bummer. You're reading a book, want to check the bible reference and come back to the book, and what do you have to do...reload the reader and rechoose the book you're reading and let it reload. Not the most convenient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Essential Guide to Healing, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Essential Guide to Healing.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sonshine
Location:Upper, Lower MI
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't completed this book yet but all the others I have read by Pastor Johnson have helped me in my desire for a deeper relationship with God and an increasing in-filling of the Holy Spirit. Includes examples of Kingdom living at its
glorious best.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Essential Guide to Healing, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Essential Guide to Healing.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointing - not what I expected

Date:December 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
According to the authors, this book was written to encourage readers that God could use them to pray for the sick and see healings take place.
The authors write that they have cried out to God in private and have taken risks in public and by using that simple method, they have seen many healings take place in their ministries. They share several testimonies of what has happened before, during and after these healings and also offer a five-step prayer model for those who want to learn to pray for the sick.
I have to be honest - I walked away from this book conflicted and uncomfortable because some of the overtones towards “denominational” beliefs come off a bit arrogant.
I would hope it wasn’t intentionally written to come across that way, but the general insinuation of this book is that denominational churches and their erroneous belief systems have led to the demise of healing amongst the church body. I also had some issues with the way the gifts of the Spirit were written about, (mainly words of knowledge). Based on my reservations about this book, I would not be able recommend it.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Essential Guide to Healing, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Essential Guide to Healing.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Introductory Reference book

Date:December 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
GospelScribe
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book was authored by Pastors Bill Johnson and Randy Clark. Each wrote practical and experiential understanding and knowledge about the ministry of healing. The book is divided into three sections. The first section begins with a synopsis of each pastors experience in the healing ministry. For the next three chapters of the book, the pastors write about the Scriptural basis for healing in this present church age, including a delineation of the spiritual gifts necessary to function in a healing ministry. The section ends with a discussion of the believer's authority to minister to the sick. The third, and final section, may be of the most interest to those readers who are already convinced of the need for believers to function in that spiritual gift. Hence, the final section of the book promises to be the most interesting for the more spiritually mature believer as it presumably deals with the actual practice of healing. However, the final chapter, on the five-step prayer model, proved to be the most practical chapter in the entire book.
The Essential Guide to Healing may be a good introductory reference book for the spiritually immature believer, who knows little (or nothing) about the healing ministry. It may be a bit of a disappointment to a more seasoned believer who already understands their scriptural authority to heal, as well as the gifts necessary to minister to the afflicted.
I received this book free from the Thomas Nelson publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Essential Guide to Healing, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Essential Guide to Healing.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Learn how to pray for the sick

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tom Litteer
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have a passion to see more of the love and power of God in your life and your church, then this book is for you. Randy Clark and Bill Johnson provide a biblically centered guide for the supernatural lifestyle that is the inheritance of every follower of Jesus Christ. Their ministries of healing the sick are evidence that the miracles of First Century Christianity have not come to an end. Pastors Bill and Randy are committed to sharing with the rest of us what God has given them; calling the church back to a ministry of power that draws the hearts of the people to God, heals bodies, and sets people free by the work of the Holy Spirit. I am grateful to them both for their efforts to equip the church for a life of miracles. What is different about this book compared to so many others written about healing ministry is that you can read this book today and begin praying for the sick tomorrow with a keen understanding of the reasons why healing ministry is so important for the present-day church. It contains all you need to get started.
In all my years of study at Fuller Seminary in preparation for ordination in the Presbyterian Church (PCUSA) and in my work for my D.Min., I have seen no one deal with the Scriptures more faithfully than Randy Clark and Bill Johnson. This book is going to have a powerful influence on the Church of Jesus Christ throughout the world for years to come.
Rev. Dr. Thomas A Litteer
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.