Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Only Uni

Zondervan Only Uni

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Only Uni
Review 1 for Only Uni
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sushi Series Book 2

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only Uni By Camy Tang
Sushi Series Book 2
Trish Sakai wants to show the cousins, who are also her best friends, she let down that she's serious about being a better Christian. She'll get her Divinity degree and volunteer at church more, that should do it. When things are going wrong lately she's sure it's punishment from God for her sins the past year. Changing isn't so easy though when her grandma keeps trying to get her back together with her irresistible non-Christian ex-boyfriend.
This book has some real life situations that are pretty intense and yet mixed with humor. It shows the struggle to understand forgiveness and that you can't earn it from God. And that sometimes even when we change there're consequences to our past that follow us but we must move forward, excepting God's grace.
This series starts with Sushi for One? and then book 1.1, The Sushi Toss, which is a short, free read on Camy Tang's blog. Book three is Venus's tale in Single Sashimi and finishes with Jennifer in Weddings and Wasabi. A unique series worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Keley
Sushi for one is like the invention of the airplane, Only Uni would be the jet. Wow!!! This book is a grand slam. You know the characters from Sushi for one, so you almost feel like family. But the reality and the testimony power of the what is shared here, this is why the Lord gave us the written language
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
S. Harricharan
Trish Sakai is a character who leapt off the page and straight into my heart. There were so many ways I could identify with her. First, how her life seemed to keep throwing these horrible twists at her, yet she had support from her cousins and God. In spite of her apartment situation, her new resolution to only date Christian men, her roommates carelessness causes her to be evicted and Trish reluctantly puts this new worry directly into Gods hands. The answer that comes also brings along new challenges, but I loved how she was able to put her faith out there, put her trust out there, and really, truly believe. The most fun thing I loved about Only Uni was the cousins. Together, Trish included, there are four of them. They couldnt be more different, more unique, but they bring the term sisterhood to new levels. There is definitely a great portrayal of girlpower fueled by God. I loved the open honesty of her cousins and how they kept Trish on track and accountable in her new lifestyle changes. The different personalities add so much flavor that made this book play out like a movie inside my head. Definitely at the top of my recommended reads! Best of all, was the end! I wont spoil it for anyone, but I will say this. Trish is a character that only grows closer to the reader with every page. Her life becomes real, the situation of her heart and her personal relationship with God grow more intense as the story progresses. She inspired me to do some deeper thinking on my side as well and I found I had questions like her, but now I know there are answers. When a book can do this, its more than worth the reading. Im bugging the rest of my girlfriends to read it now, because Trish becomes real in the hardships, pain and struggles where God slowly draws her out, on top. This is an amazing and truly powerful read and now I cannot wait to read the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
After reading Camys first book in the Sushi series i was looking forward to more! In Sushi for One Trish Sakai is definitely not a likable person, I had no idea how Camy could possibly make me like her. But Camy Tang can and did! I think i actually enjoyed Only Uni more than Sushi for One. The story picks right back up and I felt as if I had never left the world of the Sakai cousins. You, as the reader, can really see the changes in Trishs attitude and her increasing faith in God. I cant wait to pick up the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Livvie
What I love about Camy Tang's style of writing is that she takes real life issues and writes about them in a realistic "This Is Life" way. This is the second novel of the Sushi series, and I enjoyed this almost as much as I enjoyed Lex's Story. Trish really grows up in so many ways, and you do get to find out more about Lex/Aiden (so many authors tend to ignore the first book!). Do you need to read Sushi for One first? No - not necesarily, but it would make you more appreciative of Only Uni if you did!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ashley
This book was even better than Sushi For One. The problems were realistic, and really brought out emotions. It outlines how God can make changes in your life if you ask him for help and guidance. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for inspiration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tara Robertson
I absolutely adored Only Uni! The real-life struggles of the main character made this a story many of us can relate to easily. I loved the honesty about how hard it can be to follow God sometimes and how our human imperfections can drive us, and everyone else, crazy on occasion!Only Uni is very well written and enjoyable to read. Camy Tang draws the reader in and you are engaged in the story from the very first page! I enjoyed looking into the Asian culture and learning about how different family dynamics can be.I thought Only Uni was an excellent 2nd novel in the Sushi Series. I highly recommend the whole series. If you are looking for something a little different than the average Christian chick lit novel then give the Sushi series a try!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diana Lesire Brandmeyer
This is Trish Sakais story and yet it becomes your story or the story of someone you know. Trish has truly found God, but doesnt quite understand she isnt required to follow man made rules to be devoted to Him. Trishs culture is very different from my own Midwest upbringing making this story unique for me. I enjoyed learning about her Asian culture, which is a character of its own. Tang has a fresh way of integrating the Christian message in her books. I read the last page and my desire to know became a raging fire. I want to know more about Christ and what God desires for me. With her sassy dialogue and intriguing characters Tang brings the reality of living a Christ-filled life into the real worlda world where people fumble, take wrong turns and find out they are still loved by family, friends and God. Tangs writing is fun, engaging and encouraging. Get this book, but first if you havent read it get Sushi for One, then prepare for a fun evening of reading because you wont want to put these books down. You may not even want to loan them to your friends because they are books youll want to read again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2008
Mmmmm! As good--and indulgent--as a plate of sesame chicken, lo mien, and wantons topped off with a Chinese doughnut! I was a little afraid that Trish was just going to be your stereotypical boy-crazy, immature flirt, but she's a much deeper character than that, and I found myself wishing the other characters in the story would give her just a little more credit. I was also pleasantly surprised because when I read Trish's three rules, I thought, "okay, I can see this coming--this is a How to Avoid Legalism 101" novel. But even though I think that message was there, Camy surprised me again and again on the journey, especially at the end, but I won't give anything away! :) Trish's relationship with Spenser, as well as her forays into different ministries, were both lovely plot points, and I liked the fact that Trish finally got up the nerve to go all-out in worship despite Blondie and her gang. The only real criticism I have lies in Trish's family's reaction to her sincere desire to change. In my opinion, they could've been more supportive, and I found myself saying, "foul! Not fair!" when Venus slapped Trish and began sternly lecturing her at a time when, in my opinion, the truth could've been spoken with a little more love. Also, the story had some small holes--Trish's plan to get an MDiv struck me as extreme, and the foreshadowing leading up to Spenser's secrets could've been better handled. All in all, though, this was a great book, and my only problem is that now I'm hungry again. Kinda goes with the Asian food territory, I guess....good work, Camy! I'll be back for Book 3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Audra
Camy, you did it again! What a wonderful sequel to Sushi for One?! I love your cast of characters and was so excited to see many of them back from the first book. Your humor, wit and style will keep me coming back. . .even though I prefer my sushi well done : ) Can't wait for number three!!Ahh, whats a flirtatious, senior biologist, California girl to do? Pray hard and meet the world head-on!! As the second book in the Sushi Series, Only Uni is a wonderful, fast paced book that will make you laugh time and again. Life in the single lane as a Christian lady aint easy to begin with; Trish Sakai demonstrates how to overcome expectations with style! I cant wait for the third book to come out!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2008
Only Uni is the second in the sushi series. I loved the story of Trish. We were introduced to Trish in the first of Camy's books Sushi for One. Trish was the flirty cousin who seemed to be boy crazy. In Only Uni we see a different side of Trish when she sets out to live the way God wanted her to. She sets her self 3 goals to live by. We see Trish's vulnerability as she strives to follow the goals. Added to the mix is an ex who cant seem to accept no and her work colleague who is also vying for her attention add to many humorous situations. I enjoyed the growth in Trish throughout the story. Grandma Sakai is back to her manipulating ways again in this book also which adds to the book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Tang once again delivers an incredibly busy novel. Not a dull moment in this book, I promise. Trish is a lovable character that I empathized with, even though she often put her foot in her mouth. I truly felt for her situation and I loved her sincerity, misguided though she was at times. I also related to the way she felt pulled in by her ex-boyfriend. Some women are just not strong that way, and Trish was a very believable character in that regard.Tang really comes up with some interesting ways to describe things and on occasion the metaphors and similes seemed a bit over the top, but that didn't take away from the story much. Only Uni is hard to put down because it's so interesting, and at times very insightful and touching, while at other times quite amusing. I enjoyed Only Uni even more than Sushi for One? Tang has a unique writing style that is engaging and fresh, even if a bit overly done at times. I am REALLY looking forward to reading Single Sashimi.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
I thoroughly enjoyed Camy's first book, Sushi for One? but the character of Trish annoyed me. I found her flaky and shallow. So I wasn't sure if I'd like an entire book about her. Camy, why did I ever doubt you? In Only Uni we get to meet the real Trish Sakai in all her wonderful, flawed glory. What I love about this book is how real Trish is. She's made mistakes - lots of them - but she longs to live the way God wants her to. We go along for the ride as she struggles to work her way into God's good graces, until she finally realizes that His grace was there for her all along.There's a lot of stuff going on in Only Uni, but Camy keeps the pace moving with loads of humor and some real heart-tuggers. Toward the last third of the book, she turned down a road I wasn't expecting, then she did it again before the end. It's part of what makes Only Uni such wonderful, authentic read. Since this is the second book in the series, the obvious question is: Do I have to read Sushi for One? first? No, but it will be a lot more fun for you if you do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Angie Arndt
OK, Camy. You've made me mad! You see, I'm the one who never cries. Never. I don't cry at sad movies. "You've Got Mail" didn't faze me. Neither did "Sleepless in Seattle." But girl, ONLY UNI made me cry. And not just sniffles. We're talking I-gotta-have-a-box-of-tissues! I can't believe you got to me, but you did - in a good way.ONLY UNI continues the story of the remaining four female unmarried cousins in a large, close-knit family. This time, the main character is Trish - the flirty, popular, people-pleaser cousin. Trish finds herself in trouble no matter where she turns. It's not enough that she's wrestling with her faith and the dating scene, but her strictly-traditional grandmother keeps badgering her to get married and give her grandchildren. What's a girl to do?You may have guessed from the title that the main characters in this series are Asian. But the issues they are dealing with are the same for any young woman today. Camy sprinkles bits of Asiana throughout the book, but don't worry, she writes in such as way that you won't get lost if you aren't familiar with the culture.In fact, a woman of any age would enjoy this book because we've all dealt with temptation, sin, asking for forgiveness from our gracious Lord and then trying to forgive ourselves. And if you're involved in your church, you'll recognize yourself in some of the situations that Trish faces.Your emotions will really get a workout, though. I laughed out loud as she ran the gamut of ministries trying to find her place in her church. And I cried when ... um, sorry. I can't tell you any more with out spoiling it. But I know you'll like it. Camy, reading this was a cleansing experience for me and I truly enjoyed it. Your writing blew me away. Can't wait to read your next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2008
Ever since I heard there was an Asian Christian chick lit author releasing books, I knew I was going to be a fan. I enjoyed this book even more than Sushi. I think that the story flowed much more smoothly in this book and that the characters were easier to follow and likable as well. I could also relate more to Trish and the situations she was going through. I loved the scenes during the worship services when Trish finally allows herself to be free and throw her hands up to praise God. I felt exactly the same way she did when I was at Passion earlier this year so it was great to see someone else feeling the same way I did. I also thought it was hilarious at how focused Trish was on her worshiping that she didn't notice that she had given Blondie the black eye (who I thought totally deserved it). Another scene that stood out most to me was Matthew and the hamster. Bleh! I don't want to spoil the story but if you are squeamish about rodents and children who put inedible objects in their mouth, read with caution!!! While Grandma is still uber-annoying in this book, she's not as irritating with Trish as she was with Lex. Trish actually stood up to her on several occasions. Kazuo really freaked me out by the way he kept trying to control Trish. It's scary because there are lots of girls who fall prey to guys who are like that and what was worse was how Grandma kept trying to make Trish stay with him. I did like Spenser very much and loved the bantering that went on between the two of them. As in the first novel, there are serious issues mixed in with all the hilarity which will make the reader think and want to support Trish throughout the book. I really love Camy's writing and I enjoyed seeing all the Asian culture blended in throughout the story. This is a stellar second novel and it makes me really want to read the next book in the series. One of the best chick lit novels of the year and is very highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2008
Camy Tang has done it again! Only Uni is a brilliant story of one woman attempting to turn her life around and struggling with the effort and failures she must overcome. Trish was the most unlovable character in Sushi for One?, selfish and conceited, yet Camy has deftly changed the reader's perception of Trish by revealing her vulnerabilities without watering down her more strident qualities. The men vying for her attention, Kazuo and co-worker Spenser, are fully drawn and their appeal to Trish, despite their differences, authentically described. Camy's stories have a bit of everything, wit, humour, depth, girlfriends, faith, conflict, romance and difficult relatives! If Camy continues her current trend of improving with each story, I can't wait to read Venus' story, Single Sashimi, releasing in September, from Zondervan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2008
After the fun I had reading Camy Tang's debut novel "Sushi for One," I suspected the second in the series, "Only Uni," would be as good. But I was wrong -- it was better! Camy Tang has done it again -- penned another sassy saga of single life in a large (and quirky) Asian family. Only this time, beneath all the dry humor and fun is a serious message for women today about God and morality. This message not only resonated deeply with me, but is sure to strike a chord with women everywhere who struggle with today's amoral society.Flirty Trish Sakai is the boy-crazy cousin who's ready to turn over a new leaf from her former wild ways. To do that, she vows to follow her three rules from 2nd Corinthians: 1.) no more flirting/scoping out men to date (especially non-Christians); 2.) tell others about Christ; and 3.) persevere in hardship by relying on God. Mmm ... easier said than done ... especially with the distraction of a dangerously attractive ex-boyfriend and a hunky coworker, not to mention a grandmother who's a cross between June Cleaver and Godzilla.This perky chick-lit tale is a lot like its heroine -- playful and enticing on the outside, but serious and fiercely intent on the inside, masterfully conveying a deep and important message in an engaging and delightful package. Ms. Tang 's witty and well-written story definitely satisfies -- both the urge for a great read and the need for a spiritual lift. Can't wait for book 3 in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
This book captures the chick lit flair without being locked into Trishs head. We get to see the world from another characters view. But Trishs reactions and effect on other people was refreshing avoiding some of the traps of chick lit. Spencer is shocked to learn that its not clear hes a Christian from the way hes living. Other people at her new church beat the stereotypes and occasionally fall into them. While the book is written in a fun style, it deals with serious issues like living a genuine walk, finding our place to serve, seeking God with our whole hearts, and others. These are real issues, and this book treats them as such. This book is a wonderful follow-up to the delightful Sushi for One while standing on its own. If you havent enjoyed a Camy Tang book yet, this is a great one to start with!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Only Uni is book two in Camy Tangs fast pace, funny inspirational chick lit series. Think of it as Bridget Jones goes to Church. Tang is Asian and she writes with that flavor, setting her books in the heart of an American/Asian community in California. Trish, who mainly caused trouble, though mostly for herself, in the first book, Sushi for One, has her own story. Shes done with her no good boyfriend who bullied her and lured her into trouble, except shes still drawn to him so strongly that her cousins have to nearly tackle her whenever he comes around.He claims shes his muse and he cant paint without her. Trish privately thinks he cant paint under any circumstances but her pampered boyfriend with doting parents continues to pursue his dream of art, and he needs Trish to do it.Grandma of course is meddling at top speed and Trish has always been the good granddaughter, agreeable and sweetwhich is how she got in trouble with her boyfriend, too agreeable when she should have been standing up for herself.Trish is a klutz but shes also brilliant. Employed at a research lab shes just been assigned a new partner, Spenser, who cant quite get used to Trishs ultra-organized lab techniques and her chaotic office. Spensers got problems of his own, and Trish and her old boyfriend right in the middle of them.The gift Tang has is the way she makes you care about her characters. Chick lit isnt exactly my thing, though I read and enjoy well done fiction in any genre, but this is easy to love. The story comes so fast it almost runs you down, while the characters are so well drawn you just cant help getting deeply involved and rooting for poor befuddled Trish. Add to that the humor that laces all the books, plus the rich Asian heritage that makes you smell the food and see the colors and traditions, and Only Uni is a great read.A couple of double surprise ending moments make the whole thing perfect. Youll enjoy Only Uni.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Only Uni
This review is fromOnly Uni, Sushi Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sandra Lee Smith
Once again Camy Tang brings us an exciting fun-filled romp with a kick of wasabi. Only Uni introduces us to Trish, another single cousin in grandmother's matriarchal family. Like Lex in Sushi For One, Trish must deal with her grandmother's wishes for the single cousins to marry. Trish makes mistakes, but I love the three rules for finding a husband that she formulates after reading the Bible. You'll love the humor and fun set within the reality of contemporary life found in Miss Tang's writing. I look forward to reading about the next cousin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.