Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It

When initially conceived, our visions are often little more than vague hopes. Maxwell shows you how to transform ambiguous dreams into purposeful action plans! Let his 10 field-tested questions equip you with practical and powerful direction, inspire you to act with confidence, and guide you in creating clear and compelling pathways to achieving your goals.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Review 1 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Challenge

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor Mark D. Hodges
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John C. Maxwell gives a powerful and straightforward challenge to be a dreamer and also to be a completer of those dreams. He uses ten questions that should be asked to determine whether we totally understand the nature of a dream. If we can come to the point of answering all the questions with a "yes," we will be much better prepared to realize our dreams. It certainly challenges you to reach forward to accomplish that dream.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent test for dreams!

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anngladys Gichuhi
Location:Kenya
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Put your dream to the test
Book Review
Title: Put your dream to the test
Author: John C. Maxwell © 2009,
Thomas Nelson Publishers, USA.
This is a great book that asks fundamental questions regarding the dreams that we each have. Are those really our dreams or are they imposed on us by others around us? Does achieving those dreams fulfil us and benefit others? How can this be done, especially when the dreams we envision are so much bigger than ourselves?
How do we handle critiques and discouragers, beginning with ourselves, seeing as we are the very first people to lack confidence in our dreams and abilities? These are questions you definitely want answered regarding your personal dream that will have the butterfly effect to reach the world around you.
I’d like to quote a bit from the book.
“Only a clear picture of who you are and where you want to go can help you prioritize what you need to do. We all make choices. The question is, are you going to make choices that bring you closer to your dream or take you farther away from it? If you don’t know exactly what your dream is, then you won’t be capable of making the right choices. Clarity of vision creates clarity of priorities.”
“Is your dream based on your real strengths? ….. If you’ve been told you’re capable of doing anything you set your mind to – and believed it – then you’re not being realistic about your strengths. If, on the other hand, you’ve been told you’ll never amount to anything – and you’ve believed it – you’re not being realistic either. You need to know where you have not talent or skill and see the true potential in your areas of strength. You must be able to put it all together and passionately pursue your dreams by building on your strengths. Do you know your strengths? Can you see yourself using those strengths in your dream? ….. When people’s talent does not match their dreams and they fail to recognize it, they will be forever working but never winning.”
I rest my case.
This book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great read by John Maxwell

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennie
Location:Manila, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that this book is NOTHING LIKE what we are all so exposed to nowadays – prosperity gospel. We are not being positive because of what new age motivational speakers would have us believe that “If you believe it, you can achieve it.” The positivity pull of this book is to see the path that God has for us, which leads to prosperity in all aspect of our lives. The minute we wallow on negativity is the time that let go of the possibility that God will ever see us through.
read more here: http://www.marriageandbeyond.com/2011/08/13/book-review-put-your-dream-to-the-test-by-john-maxwell/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lele
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a book written by John C.Maxwell. It is just like what its name suggests- it puts "your" dream to the "test". Divided into ten chapters, it questions one to analyse his/her dreams, to understand one's dream internally and externally and ways to evolve them into good and practical use one day in the future.
I find that overall, it's not really a page-turner. Unless, you do have a specific dream such as those being described in the book. It kind of made me confused as to what I really want in life. In a way, it's good that the book questions as it made one realise the difference between a real dream and a daydream. The book inspires with characters who are willing to make a difference for their dreams, gives specific examples to what a dream must be like and some objectives on how to achieve it. However, if one could not answer yes to the first chapter, it is easy to feel that the other chapters are irrelevant as one cannot move on. It is not easy to immediately identify and realise a dream just after reading and questioning oneself.
The book can definitely motivate one to persevere if you are amidst moving towards fulfilling a dream. However, if one felt that they cannot endure the hardships of that particular dream, one is left to wonder about what he/she really wants in life, what kind of dream or destiny is awaiting. It's encouraging to read the book and it does provide great examples to follow, great questions to ask oneself regarding one's dreams about life and yet; not inspiring or spiritual enough to make one discover the path one is meant for. A fairly good read.
To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I must post that Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review. I also must say that the opinions are all mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is inspiring and helps you define goals.

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
BlessingFarm
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See it and Seize it by best-selling author John C. Maxwell you will answer ten powerful questions to help you determine whether your dreams will stay dreams, or become a reality. John Maxwell, an internationally respected leadership expert uses his many years of counseling and experience to encourage and prepare readers to achieve their dreams. He offers a step-by-step action plan that you can start using today to visualize, own, and reach your dream. In 286 inspiration-filled pages he will help you filter out the daydreams that serve to distract, the pie-in-the-sky dreams with no strategy, and the destination dreams (those in which you believe that a place, position, or person will make you happy) to find the true gems that are valid and worthy of the investment of a person's life. He defines those dreams as being, "an inspiring picture of the future that energizes your mind, will, and emotions, empowering you to do everything you can to achieve it. A dream worth pursuing is a picture and a blueprint of a person's purpose and potential."
I have dreams. We all have dreams. At least, I hope we all do. We all should. God planted within us special things, and has a specially mission for each of us being here. One of my pastors used to say that if you are still here, you haven't fulfilled your mission yet. Well, I am still here, so how do I take the next step to find out the rest of my mission? Not that I am in any hurry to leave here, but I do want to be doing what the Lord intended for me to do. I do not want to stand before Him and have him say, "Well, I put ----- on your heart. Why did you ignore me all those years?" That is the reason I picked this book to review. I have several dreams that I believe in and I wanted to see what Mr. Maxwell had to say about whether they were even viable, and how to go about embracing those dreams as goals, if they were something I should pursue.
Basically, in the book, he asks you ten questions to help you find out in what stage your dream is, and how committed you are to pursuing it. Then points you in the right direction for how to take the next steps in achieving your dream by asking pointed and challenging questions revolving around the following topics: Ownership, Clarity, Reality, Passion, Pathway, People, Cost, Tenacity, Fulfillment, and Significance.
One I went through the process of analyzing my dream and my response to it, I determined that it was something that was viable. The next thing was to develop a plan and to learn how to make that dream a reality. He teaches you the steps to make this happen through a series of inspiring stories about people who have made dreams, sometimes dreams that defied all odd, a reality, as well as widom gleaned from his years of personal experience with striving to achieve dreams. These incredible testimonies to the power of living your dreams made the book extra-special for me. I am all for how-to books, but if you can mix a bit of "here's how he/she/I did it" into the information, then it seems more personal...more like having a mentor or friend to walk beside you all the way through the process. I like that.
To make the process even simpler, John Maxwell provides journaling ideas, targeted questions, and action-plan suggestions at the end of the book for every chapter. This feature makes this book ideal for use in a group setting, which I actually think would be the best way to use it. I often "hear" online gurus chatting about the usefulness of having a group of people who have similar goals to work with on achieving your own goals.
These days, finding such a group can be just a click away, if you do not have people you can meet with in person. You will likely want someone to discuss the important points in the book, and to help you to evaluate, understand, and apply the information. Of course, if you don't have anyone with which to read the book, the information is still a valuable resource, and I would highly recommend it. I am planning on passing the book to my two older sons next, so they can clarify their life-courses, and then, perhaps, we will be able to discuss the topic thoroughly. I know that so far, this book has been helpful to me. I will continue to use it and to go through the rest of the activities over the next month or so.
I highly recommend this book if you have ever had a dream that you entertained for a day, a week, a year, a decade. This book will assist you in finding if your dream has the qualities it needs to become reality, and if YOU have the ability and tools to make it become true. If you don't currently have a dream, this book will help you find one. Having a dream that is aimed at some specific goal, and working to achieve it diligently, will not only bee good for you, but it has the potential to influence others who see you striving toward a goal...not to mention the help that your idea could provide to others.
Do yourself a favor. Find a copy of this book, read it with an open mind and heart, and give yourself permission to dream a little. You will be glad you did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another classic John Maxwell book

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
gadfly1974
Age:35-44
Gender:male
"Disappointment is the gap between that exists between expectation and reality." ~John Maxwell
If you are interested in taking the next step, pursuing the next opportunity, chasing the next dream, then I highly recommend this book.
In it, John Maxwell presents another classic self-management scheme, one that you will find useful.
His goal is not to discourage dreamers, but to give them a rubric to connect their dreams to reality.
I give this book my highest recommendation!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Put Your Dream To The Test

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
David
Location:Prampram, Greater-Accra, Ghana
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Are you getting tired of yourself getting great dreams but not fulfilling them, are you tired of living your life by other people's opinion, then this is one of the books you should have.
The book is about dreams and how to help the dreamer achieve them. John C. Maxwell the author who have had the chance of talking to hundreds if not thousands of men that had dreams and based on his experience he takes the reader on a journey to truly determine if the dream that he or she has has has the power to really empower him or her to do everything they can to achieve that dream. The book presents you with 10 very important questions that your dream must answer and if the yeses are many then you really really have a great chance of fulfilling that particular dream.I can say that the main message of the book is: IS YOUR DREAM A DREAM?. And from cover to cover the book to make you analyze your dreams in their true sense.
"A dream is a inspiring picture of the future in that emerges in your mind, will and emotions, empowering you to do everything you can to achieve it" - John C. Maxwell
I can't remember reading any of John C. Maxwell's book before and this was my first but I am inspired anytime I open the pages of the book. In the first chapter of the book he story of his parents wanting him to be a musician and how that wasn't what he was made for and that for me is one lesson I should never forget in my life. Too often we allow people's mindset of us affect our view of ourselves and if any body is in that position it's me. One thing about this book that I like is that it makes you think as you read, it doesn't just leave you on the sidelines while teaching you but it takes you along. Every page, every paragraph and every chapter you will almost certainly answering a question. And I will really recommend this book to aspiring achiever, procrastinators and persons that just can't seem to be able to connect with their dreams in the way they ought to before they can achieve it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Some good information

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jani
Location:Bryceville, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I received a free copy of "Put Your Dream to the Test" by John C. Maxwell I was super excited to read it and offer a review. I am always seeking good books that teach me something and I am generally pleased with John Maxwell's teachings on leadership so this book seemed to be a good fit for me. I suppose I went into it with extremely high expectations. But what I soon discovered was that this book was a difficult read for me. Being that I am a person who bores easily, I need books that capture my attention right off the bat and then are interesting enough to hold my attention throughout the book. I love a book that I am hard pressed to put down. That wasn't really the case here. Oh, don't get me wrong, there were some good points made in the book and John Maxwell does like to encourage people and help steer them in the right direction. But some of it seemed repetitious and I often found myself wanting to skim read. That's a tactic I use when I only want to grasp the valuable information. Some of John's questions may nudge you to dig deep inside and examine whether what you're dreaming is truly your own dream, and if you have the potential to actually fulfill the dream based on your level of passion and commitment. The questions are:
1. Is my dream really my dream?
2. Do I clearly see my dream?
3. Am I depending on factors within my control to achieve my dream?
4. Does my dream compel me to follow it?
5. Do I have a strategy to reach my dream?
6. Have I included the people I need to realize my dream?
7. Am I willing to pay the price for my dream?
8. Am I moving closer to my dream?
9. Does working toward my dream bring satisfaction?
10. Does my dream benefit others?
I once read a quote that said, "A vision minus a plan equals a dream." This statement kind of says the same thing that John Maxwell is saying throughout the book. Dreams don't just happen by osmosis. There is going to be work involved. There will be plans made, strategies, and involvement of others along the way. You can't just sit around and wait for God to do all the work for you. You will definitely need a passion that compels you to pursue the dream and a desire so strong that you are willing to pay the price to get there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
melissa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Putting Your Dream to the Test by John Maxwell
I had requested this book because all my life, I have had very strange dreams, involving people and events I barely remember.
Whats the difference between a dreamer and someone who achieves a dream? The answer lies in these ten simple questions:
The Ownership Question: Is My Dream Really My Dream?
The Clarity Question: Do I Clearly See My Dream?
The Reality Question: Am I Depending on Factors within My Control to Achieve My Dream?
The Passion Question: Does My Dream Compel Me to Follow It?
The Pathway Question: Do I Have a Strategy to Reach My Dream?
The People Question: Have I Included the People I Need to Realize My Dream?
The Cost Question: Am I Willing to Pay the Price for My Dream?
The Tenacity Question: Am I Moving Closer to My Dream?
The Fulfillment Question: Does Working Toward My Dream Bring Satisfaction?
The Significance Question: Does My Dream Benefit Others?
With his 40 years of mentoring experience, Dr. John Maxwell guides you through these ten questions that are required of every "successful dreamer". This must-have read provides a detailed step-by-step action plan that you can use to see, own, and reach your dream. These ten questions also help the dreamer determine the likelyhood of their dreams becoming a reality.
This book made me realize that dreams that dreams are not just dreams. They paint pictures in our minds of who we desire to be, and what we desire to do. Everynight I wake up from a dream that I vividly remember, I will think back to what I have read in this book.
I will give this book an absolut 5 stars out of 5. The more I read this book, the more I didnt want to put it down. Great read, and I probably will read it again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

worthwhile reading

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
mamabear1975
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PUTTING YOUR DREAM TO THE TEST
Through a series of 10 questions, (spending a chapter expanding on each) the author helps the reader tell whether their dream has a good chance of being achieved, in essence, ‘testing’ their dream. The reader is guided to know how to get from point A to B in achieving their dream. There is a short questionnaire, one question for each chapter’s topic. Through examples/personal experiences of others’, the reader achieves a better understanding of the importance of that question to the overall dream. The more questions that can be answered affirmatively, the higher the chance of being able to achieve the dream. There are some wonderful motivational quotes and insights. At the end of each chapter further questions help the reader have a better grasp on that question discussed. I will definitely be rereading it to apply it to my own dream. I received this book free through Booksneeze in exchange for my honest opinion. I was under no pressure to give a positive or negative review. This is my own opinion – definitely a worthwhile book!
It is written in a very easy to follow style. The author is a Christian and mentions a God-given potential/dream, but it is not overwhelming- a book that can be shared with a non religious person. A companion guide at the end provides suggestions for additional reading, reflection, and journaling suggestions, further encouraging growth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Put Your DREAM to the Test

Date:May 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Yvonne
Location:Canton, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having learned so much from John Maxwell and being a part of EQUIP[a non-profit organization]. I was excited to get this book to say the least. For the readers who already know their dream. This book will help you acheive it and not give up. This book is designed to help you achieve your dream when you follow the steps that are in the book. For those who may not know what their dream is well its even more for you. The only thing that I would add to this book is another book which is "My Life Plan By: Michael Hyatt" Whcich will help you stay focused on your dream. An excellent gift for the upcoming graduates
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
marinac
Location:London
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a blogger and I was provided with a copy of the book of John C Maxwell's "Put Your Dream To The Test" from Booksneeze. I have been reading few christian books about business and planning a future.John Maxwell book is very easy to read and I quite enjoyed this book. The book is broken into sections. In the end of every chapter, there is a list of questions.It makes you think about your own questions and thoughts. The book is about how to analyse our dreams and sure they become ours. I really liked the stories in the book which are so real and close to us. The book make us realize that many people want to follow their parents dreams while they are not following theirs. There is a hand on study guide at the end of the book very useful for the reader.
If you are looking to challenge yourself and follow your perfect life long dreams to the maximum then I would suggest checking out this book. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Put Your Dream to the Test by John C. Maxwell

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny W
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve read/own several John C. Maxwell books, but Put Your Dream to the Test is by far my favorite. While most books by Maxwell are aimed primarily at leaders, this book is for dreamers, and specifically, dreamers who really want to see their dreams become reality! I’ve read a number of books of this type and by far this is the most practical, helpful and honest book I’ve seen. By answering his ten questions, your dream becomes clearer and more tangible to the point of finally just following through and making it happen!
Working through the ten questions in this book is not easy, but it is helpful to have such a clear game plan to follow. It is also widely applicable, whether you want to start a new business or work toward being a better mother, or in my personal case, laying the foundation for a ministry. While I have grown tired of reading stories and quotes from other people in Maxwell’s other books, the ones in this book were particularly helpful and time allotted for them was better balanced with the practical advice. This book is going to become the graduation gift that I give to all graduates, especially the ones with big dreams. I can’t think of a more useful book to give!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Put Your Dream To The Test: 10 Questions That Will Help You See It and Seize It," is a book written by internationally recognized leadership expert, speaker, and bestselling author John C. Maxwell.
This book is designed to help open up your thoughts by helping you gain focus on your own personal dreams and aspirations through the discovery of answers to ten important questions, questions that can lead anyone from desire into discovery and through to fruition.
Powerfully, in his own words, John clearly states a profound truth that many, striving to flourish within their dreams, don't gain insight on: "If you want to accomplish a dream, you will be able to do so only when you can see it clearly. You must define it before you can pursue it. Most people don’t do that. Their dream remains a dream—something fuzzy and unspecific. As a result, they never achieve it"
Everyone has dreams of who they want to be in life, aspirations of success and security. After reading this book, you will be challenged to move your desires from a simplistic dream into a realistic accomplishment.
All in all, this book is a recommended read, for it will bring a new strength and purpose to anyone who willingly turns its pages.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great!

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the chance to read Put Your Dreams To The Test by John C. Maxwell from the program at BookSneeze that offers people books in return for a review, good or bad.
This book was exactly what I needed to read.
Unemployed and at a dead end, desperately seeking the next step in what to do... Mr. Maxwell paints, while not a easy picture, a very attainable one.
I love this book because tells you exactly what you need to know to reach your life "dream" by asking giving the reader a set of 10 questions to ask themselves about it. These questions range from "Am I willing to pay for my dream?" and "Does my dream benefit others?" as well as each chapter (or question) being broken up into mini sections. There are even sections on excuses people give, proving your vocabulary to be more positive, and is chocked full of inspirational quotes (I'm a sucker for a good quote so I enjoyed reading those).
But I think what might be just as impressive is the section at the end of the book, is what is called a "Dream Map" that includes a very detailed test you can take to see where you are in realizing your dream (ranging from "you are well on your way" to "you have a long way to go") and then after that it even includes a sort of personal study for each chapters- questions to answer, things to journal, things to get you started thinking in the right direction.
All in all, I think this is a great book and very worth having.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
communicator
I found this book to be very helpful in getting specific about my dreams and goals. It helps to refine what is nebulous and to solidify what is needed to move forward.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
I'll admit I like to read books that inspire me to be the best person I can be. This book does not preach pie in the sky. It is not part of the name it and claim it gospel.What I found different about this book was making sure the dream I am following is really mine. Making sure I have the necessary abilities to make this dream a possibility. Making sure I want the dream enough to make the necessary sacrifices that it is going to require. Making sure the dream will benefit others.It is easy to dream. Not so easy to work toward the dream.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Padrelanan
Bestselling author, internationally recognized leadership expert and speaker, John Maxwell, has done it again! Put Your Dream To The Test 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It is about taking our dreams from mere wishful thinking and making it into reality. He makes you look at the dream that you have, focus on it, and asks you ten important questions about it. The more youre able to answer the questions satisfactorily, the closer you are to achieving that dream. The book is filled with encouraging real-life testimonies of people who have achieved their own dreams through thick and thin. He inspires you to work out your dreams through achievement, considering the costs for you and your family. It was my husband who initially wanted to get this book. We were both excited to read it. But since Im really the booklover between us, Im the one reading it and I would narrate it to him. Just like every one of us, we both have dreams for our family. Dreams that seem like they are just too hard to achieve. Put Your Dream To The Test 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It has made us sit down and really evaluate our dream. Do we really want to achieve it? What are we willing to do? How much are we willing to pay to make that dream a reality? Does our dream have benefit for others or is it only for us? In reading through this book, it made us realize that there is still much for us to do as we reach for that dream, if we are willing to go through the sacrifices and hardships to see our dreams come true.I would recommend this book to people who seriously want to achieve big dreams in their lives. John Maxwell inspires you, pushes you and makes you take a long, hard look at your dreams to make it into reality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cal Habig
I have said before that I have a love-hate relationship with John Maxwell. I have benefited greatly from his tape clubs, his seminars and his books. And yet I think he, more than probably any other, bears the blame for the corporatizing of the American church. He is a corporate/business expert, but has tried to form the church into that business image. And yet it was with high hopes that I began Put Your Dream to the Test, one of Maxwells most recent books. Visioning and following through on a vision have never been strong suits in my life or ministry. And yet I am at a phase of life where I think that reviewing the principles re: visioning and working toward a vision are important.Maxwell outlines the book in a series of 10 Questions with three sub-questions under each one related to evaluating a vision and ones readiness.There is not a lot of new stuff here, (as with most Maxwell booksby his own admission), but it is collected in a helpful manner. It is Maxwells typical blend of inspirational stories and pithy maxims. As clichd as Maxwell stuff can be, I still found this to be an inspirational read. It is a book I will keep and refer back to for needed inspiration in the future. You can find more information for Put Your Dream to the Test here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It and Seize It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Doug Black Jr.
Dreams seem to be a dime-a-dozen these days. We are all told that we can become anything we desire ourselves to be, anything we put our minds to. However, we quickly become aware that if a dream is to be had, it take an immense amount of hard work, energy, clarity, and teamwork to accomplish it.John Maxwells new book, Put Your Dream to the Test, will give legs to your dream. Through simply examining ten questions, this book takes you from aimless dreaming to a laser-beam focus on achieving your dream. This book gives brings convergence and motivation through ten questions regarding ownership and strategy, tenacity and significance, Maxwell allows us the chance to change dreams into reality.This book spoke volumes to me. For a long time, I have been considering certain larger-than-life steps. I took a lot of time with this book, examining each question in detail. At the end, I found myself more focused on accomplishing these things. Though the action stage was far off, the preparation stage had a drastically more focused strategy to it. This book deserves your reading, whether you are at ready to take new steps or not. Even if you are not looking for a change, this book can bring a lot of new focus. I highly recommend you read it today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>