Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Next Generation Leader - eBook

Multnomah Books Next Generation Leader - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Next Generation Leader - eBook
Review 1 for Next Generation Leader - eBook
This review is fromNext Generation Leader.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book For Anyone in a Leadership Role

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan Burk
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I signed up to read and review this book before I knew what else I was signing up for this year. God knew I needed this book! Since signing up and beginning this book, I have been promoted to PTO President, volunteered for the position of VBS Director, on top of continuing to be a wife, stay at home mom of six, church nursery director.... Andy Stanley's Next Generation Leader: Five Essentials For Those Who Will Shape the Future has helped me to work on my leadership skills, to fine tune the way I lead, and to delegate the tasks that are not essential to each leadership role. It has helped me to also fine tune my parenting skills as I raise up potential Next Gen leaders in my home. Next Generation Leader has also helped me understand more the roles of each member of the Church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Next Generation Leader - eBook
This review is fromNext Generation Leader.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must read for any leader...

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Juan Benito
Location:Imperial, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Next Generation Leader is a must read book for anyone in a leadership position. Andy Stanley does an amazing job of outlining the necessary skills and qualities of a leader worth following. His use of Biblical references made the book relevant and helped me see things in a Biblical context. I will be honest and say that their were some points that made me feel uncomfortable but upon examination it was because they were areas of weakness in my ministry. This book was insightful and challenging. I think this book would make a great addition to new and veteran leaders alike. This book will be on my annual list of books to read for a refresher.
This book focuses on 5 concepts which Andy identifies are essential for any leader worth following: competence, courage, clarity, coaching, and character.
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review." - Juan Benito
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Next Generation Leader - eBook
This review is fromNext Generation Leader.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very solid book on leadership

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
mattparks35
Location:Carthage, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Andy Stanley provides a must-read for all aspiring leaders. Taking five characteristics—courage, competence, character, clarity, and coachability—Stanley shows how these all are necessary to be an influential leader. His style is not only easy-to-understand, but his concepts are enhanced through personal testimony and real-life illustrations. This book is short, 165 pages, but it is one of the best books on leadership I have read.
After reading the section on competence, I was immediately convicted about how I spend my time. I am guilty of wanting to take on many tasks by myself, not trusting anyone else to get the job finished. Stanley writes on page 33, “Upgrade your performance by playing to your strengths and delegating your weaknesses.” As soon as I finished this chapter, I made a much needed call to delegate a responsibility that I had no business pursuing. After involving other people to take over something in which I am not as skilled, the burden was not only lifted off of me, but it also was placed on someone else who was better suited for the job. These concepts are not just good advice to be stored in your head, they are to be practiced.
I received a free copy of this book as part of a blogging program. I was not obligated to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Next Generation Leader - eBook
This review is fromNext Generation Leader.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Next Generation Leader: Five Essentials For Those Who Will Shape The Future, written by Andy Stanley, is a book that is designed to clarify the five characteristics that will define tomorrow's great leaders.
Andy begins this publication trying to bring proper understanding to an issue that affects many people within the church and society in general. In his own words, found in chapter one page eighteen, "The problem was that somewhere along the way I had bought into the myth that a good leader has to be good at everything."
Andy wants his readers to understand that everyone has a purpose, everyone has a place, everyone has the ability to do exactly what they need to be doing. Thus they do not need to fill their time or utilize their efforts on those things that others are better suited to see to fruition.
Andy also shares what he determines to be the five appropriate characteristics of a leader. Competence: leaders who understand their skills set. Courage: leaders who initiate forward progress. Clarity: leaders who have clarity in vision, even in the face of uncertainty. Coaching: leaders who seek the advice of others. Character: leaders who believe that character and morality are important.
This book is packed with information that is sure to transform the leadership position of anyone who turns its pages, thus it is a recommended read.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Next Generation Leader - eBook
This review is fromNext Generation Leader.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Andy Stanley's Best Book

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greg
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Several years ago, I purchased a copy of The Next Generation Leader by Andy Stanley as my wife and I were just beginning a ministry to young married and engaged couples. The 5 Essentials this book covers (Competence; Courage; Clarity; Coaching; and Character) were helpful to us as we began our process.
As a result, over the last several years, I've given away several copies to younger adults as they were beginning their leadership journey, some in the area of ministry while others were new leaders in the business world....sound, Biblical principles always apply.
This book is a short, easy read that I highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Next Generation Leader - eBook
This review is fromNext Generation Leader.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura Fusilier
Love it! I have heard Stanley speak at the Catalyst West conference before and it was amazing... and his writing does not disappoint either. I have found his concepts trickling into my everyday vocabulary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Next Generation Leader - eBook
This review is fromNext Generation Leader.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Matthew Burgess
A great resource for anyone wanting some direction for leading in their organization. It gives practical and personal examples from the authors leadership position.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Next Generation Leader - eBook
This review is fromNext Generation Leader.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kendall Lankford
This book is a great resource for anyone wishing to go into a leadership role or for someone who is already there. Andy really does a good job of showing what the characteristics of a "leader worth following" are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Next Generation Leader - eBook
This review is fromNext Generation Leader.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Couch
A clear picture of who God is calling you to be as a leader in this generation. I love how incredibly straightforward Andy is about what I as a leader need to be doing. This book will equip you to serve as a leader in any ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.