Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Lonestar Angel - eBook

Thomas Nelson Lonestar Angel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 out of 37100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Review 1 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great characters

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all of this authors books, including the previous 3 books in this series. She never disappoints. While the book description can sound typical of most books, hers never are. While being a love story it is so much more. Real life situsations, thriller and mystery content and a little unusual family experience. Read it in one day. I kind of felt as though I were watching it happen. That to me makes a great author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2012
Eden and Clay are unexpectedly reunited when Clay claims to have found evidence that their baby girl who was kidnapped four years earlier is still alive. Meanwhile, they are hired as counselors at a ranch for at-risk children where Clay believes she is being held. As they search for their daughter, they must decide whether or not they will fight to save their marriage as well.
Lonestar Angel was an excellent read from beginning to end! Colleen set the stage for a fast-paced drama that had me turning pages at rapid-fire pace. The blend of romance and suspense is perfect, and I loved the focus on foster care and adoption—something that's close to my heart. I loved getting to know the owners and neighbors of Bluebird Ranch and was excited to learn that some of them were featured in previous novels (which you don't have to read to thoroughly enjoy this one!). I did feel like Colleen asked readers to take a couple of "leaps" in the believability of the plot, but it wasn't anything too major and a little imagination is good for anyone, right?!
Another winner from Colleen Coble, I look forward to reading others in this series! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson via Net Galley in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book.

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
loves to read
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. Colleen Coble is one of my favorite authors. I have read all of the Lone Star series, and this book had me keeping the book with me everywhere I went and reading every chance I got. I am already telling all my friends that love to read, this book is one you cannot put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Series

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
rmreadalot
Location:Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is the 4th in a series of Lonestar reads that all are different, but interconnected. The twist and turns within the characters lives will keep you guessing until the last few pages. Loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good

Date:January 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
tlebrun
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an unusual and unrealistic story... but suspenseful and a page turner. I really enjoyed reading it! I can honestly say that I look forward to reading more books by Colleen Coble and I would recommend this book to others.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another interesting book about the BlueBird Ranch

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leona Lu Thorson
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the mystery connected with this story. It made you feel as though you were living the characters lives. As their child was involved, it made it so real to you as the reader. I like this series and also like that each book can be individual and not depend on the others in the series to read. It helps for the background etc. but each story is one in itself. I enjoy Colleen Coble's writings..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Quick romance and mystery read

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
jjlibrarian
Location:NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lonestar Angel is a romance novel about a couple, Eden and Clay, who married when they discovered she was pregnant and then split up after they thought their baby died. Several years later, Clay receives a tip that his daughter may still be alive, and he contacts Eden who agrees to go with him to a ranch in Texas to see if they can determine whether one of the orphans is their daughter.
I found the storyline to be suspenseful, and the end of the book was a surprise for me. However, I did find the plot to be a little far-fetched and the coincidences in the early part of the book made it easy to predict parts of the story. I appreciated the character development and growth I saw in Eden, as she processed all that had happened in her past and dealt with her emotions for her former husband. I have also read Lonestar Legacy and would recommend this to others if they are interested in light reading and Christian romance and mystery.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet, fun, predictable read

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a fun, casual read. Sometimes a book can be good, even if it is somewhat predictable. This particular story is one of those. Although it seems relatively certain what the outcome of this story is going to be, there are some fun plot twists on the way. Knowing the destination doesn’t make the ride unpleasant, just familiar.
I’m not a big romance story fan, I read them sometimes, but for the most part the books I like most have a different aim as their focus. That said, I enjoyed this story of a couple who is trying to find their kidnapped, presumed dead daughter. The story wasn’t predominantly about their romance, because here they were already married at one time. That the kidnapping and possible death of their daughter drove them apart is understandable, that they can’t seem to figure out how to tell each other that they miss what little love they had is a little harder to digest.
In the end, this story is one that could be read at the beach, in front of a fire, or in a coffee shop with no fuss. It was believable, fun, and had just enough drama to make it entertaining. A great gift book, and one that, although in a series, requires no previous knowledge of other books to make it work (in fact, I’m still trying to figure out how it fits in a series at all). Definitely a book that could be enjoyed for a book club or group discussion.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suprising enjoyed it!

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Misty
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am normally not a mystery reader. I tend to lean towards historical and amish fiction, so this was out of my league but I was pleasently suprised when I loved this book! I was guessing as I was reading it what I thought was going to happen.
The book is about Eden and Clay who were married young, had a baby, and was facing all the normal struggles young couples face when tragedy strikes. They separate and have no contact for years, then an ominous letter leads the couple back together and gives them new hope. But, that hope is not without danger and more struggles.
To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I must mention that the publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through BookSneeze®.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christian Mystery

Date:December 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eden and Clay Larson suffered the unthinkable, their 6 week old baby was stolen. Can't even imagine, and don't want to!
They have both gone their separate ways, and Eden figures that they are divorced. When Clay is sent a picture stating that Brianna is still alive, he finds Eden and tells her he never signed the papers and they are still married. Shown the picture, he and Eden head to Texas to try and discover who sent the picture and find their daughter. You will wonder if they ever will. They take on 5 little girls who are 5 years old at the Bluebird Ranch.
Love that they both have found Christ and are sharing their faith, but evil lurks in the world. You will not know what is coming next or who is the target! This is one action packed story, and will keep you guessing right to the end.
Don't miss this one!! It has it all....kidnapping, blackmail, abuse, drug cartel, and more.
I received this book through Netgalley and the publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A definite "must read"!!

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
LizBird
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lonestar Angel (book 4 of the Lonestar series) by Colleen Coble tells the story of Eden and Clay Larson and their journey to finding their kidnaped daughter. Following a whirlwind romance, Eden and Clay marry and have a daughter. When the baby is only a few weeks old she is kidnaped and presumed to have drowned. This tears the Larson’s young marriage apart.
Five years later, Eden has moved on with her life and even found a new man. As their relationship seems to be ready to move to permanency, Clay appears out of nowhere with two shocking pieces of information. One, he never signed the divorce papers; therefore, he and Eden are still married. Two, he has located their missing daughter. Their daughter is believed to be in Bluebird, Texas at a youth ranch. The ranch is looking for a husband and wife team to be counselors for a group of five girls, one of which is their daughter.
After the ranch hires the Larsons on as counselors, you will follow Eden and Clay through the dangers and struggles of determining which girl is their daughter.
When I chose to read and write a review for this book, I did not know that it was book 4 in a series; however, this did not take anything away from the storyline. The suspense surrounding the kidnaping and the investigating the paternity of each of the girls , the tenderness they have in the working with the girls, and the touching relationship between Eden and Clay as they rediscover the love and romance they once had, make this a very well rounded book.
After reading Lonestar Angel, I have already read 2 of the first 3 books in the series, and found them just as enjoyable. I hope Ms. Coble continues to write books in this series. I look forward to returning the Bluebird Ranch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lonestar Angel, by Colleen Coble, is a fantastic novel. Coble keeps the reader in suspense until the very end.
Eden Larson begins the book just about to accept a marriage proposal, but her plans change when ex-husband, Clay Larson, walks into the situation and informs her that they are still married. He also brings shocking news that the daughter she thought had been killed five years earlier is still alive. In the remaining story, the couple work to determine which one of five adorable little girls is their daughter, only to fall in love with all of the girls and each other in the end. The process involves much heartache and danger, including drug cartel, kidnapping, theft, and attempted murder.
This book is a must-read for those who enjoy suspense novels. The characters are well-developed and grab your heart right from the beginning. The plot is carefully developed, so you won’t want to put the book down. It is very well done!
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intrigue, Romance, Answered Prayer

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
GrandmaCee
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best in the series. Colleen Coble is one of my favorite authors so I was not disappointed. From the first page to the last I was attached to the characters. Enough intrigue and mystery to keep me guessing. Story is very believable. A must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book!

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Chancey
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Lonestar Angel" by Colleen Coble was a great read. The book was an excellent mystery that kept me guessing until the very end. I agree with some of the other reviewers in that some of the details were a bit unbelievable,but this was a book to be read for entertainment. I enjoy most books written by Colleen Coble and this was a good series. There were a lot of similarities in the three books, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. It's just hard to keep the books straight after you've read all three. Clay and Eden were characters that you will fall in love with. Their love story is special and is a great reminder that God can do what seems impossible in your life. You will also become attached to the little girls. Their personalities were adorable and I imagine Mrs. Coble had a fun time developing them. I did see the end coming, as far as the little girls are concerned. I won't give too much away for those who haven't read the book. Thank you to booksneeze for a complimentary copy of "Lonestar Angel." I was not asked to write a positive review of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Mystery

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Azusa, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lonestar Angel by Colleen Coble is a fictional, modern, Christian, mystery romance set in Indiana and Texas. The heroine, Eden, finds herself in Indiana about to accept a proposal from a great guy she met after moving back to Indiana after her divorce when her ex-husband, Clay, interrupts the dinner announcing he has found their daughter who had been assumed dead after the failed kidnapping six years earlier. He also informs her that he never signed the divorce papers, so they are still married. Despite that, she agrees to join her ex-husband in his attempts to find their daughter by posing as caregivers on a ranch for foster children in Texas. I have received this book free in exchange for my honest opinion of the book.
The book kept me asking, “Who did it,” throughout the entire book. Just when I was certain I know who and why, something changes. The mystery portion was great. The Christian aspect was congruent with the Scripture. The romance was difficult for me to swallow. If I was about to marry another man, I wouldn’t run off with your ex. And there were a few facts which fiction is permitted to overlook. Any administrator who would hire two strangers on the spot without carefully examining their prior work history, have a training period and such would not be in the administrative role for long. In short, it was a great mystery story if you permit your mind to follow the storyline without too much questioning of why or how.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
krickal
Location:lexington, tn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Five years ago, Clay and Eden Larson's baby was kidnapped and never found. Their marriage ended and Eden moved to a new town. She found faith and is trying to rebuild her life. She is dating a sweet guy who plans to marry her some day. But then Clay arrives and tells her they are still married and that he has found their daughter, who he has been searching for all this time.
So they head to Texas to become counselors at a ranch and they rediscover their love for each other. As they fight to save their family they realize that God has been fighting for them all along.
I really enjoyed this book. It is the fourth book in a series, but it can be read alone. It was supenseful, kept me guessing the whole time. The story shows how God is always interwoven in our life, even when we can't see or feel Him. lay and Eden worked on a ranch for kids and they knew one of the kids was their daughter. They just had to figure out which one. They grew to love all the kids. their was danger as the kidnapper was trying to scare Eden away. Then her family became involved and it just kept me guessing more. It was a great book. She is a good writer. One of my favorites.
I recieved this book from Booksneeze for free in exchange for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the entire series of these books!

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laurie
Location:N. Manchester, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book and don't want to put it down. If I had the time I would read it all at once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is one must read book!

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eden Larson and Clay Larson have been apart for 5 years since the disappearance of their baby daughter Brianna. Eden is having dinner with her boyfriend of 1 year when Clay finds her and tells her that Brianna is alive and is at a ranch for children in Texas. Eden and Clay venture from Indiana to Texas posing as a married couple to apply for positions as counselors at the ranch in order to locate and find Brianna. Any one of the young girls staying there could be Brianna, or not any of them. Clay and Eden quickly settle in and plan to find out the answers one way or another. Danger awaits the couple and the ranch in this non-stop suspense thriller! New experiences, new dreams, past memories forever seer into their hearts. Will there be a rekindling of the past for Eden and Clay? Will they find the one they search for?
This book is well rounded, peppered with drama, and just enough romance, suspense and fun to make this one hard to put down read! I was entranced from the first chapter and could not stop until the last one! Excellent character development, dialogue, description and scenery, book flowed excellently and held my attention! I found the overall message inspiring and I was challenged in my faith. I will highly recommend this book to others! Very well written! Thank you to Thomas Nelson Publishers and Netgalley for ARC copy for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Colleen Coble's writing-let me count the ways. First, she is the only author I would stay up till one in the morning on the day her book came out to ensure I got a copy!!. Second, she always writes a fantastic story with lots of twists and turns. Her books just flow and before you know it you are halfway through the book. Third, I have never been disappointed in any of her books. Fourth, she lives in Indiana like me and is a warm, funny and gracious lady.
This is the fourth in the Lonestar series and I really hope this is not the last. Eden and Clay Larson were married young with a baby girl. This baby girl was stolen and they never found her and Eden left the marriage thinking it was her fault but Clay never signed the divorce papers. Move ahead five years with Eden in a new town (Wabash Indiana-Colleen's hometown) ready to marry someone else when Clay appears to tell her not only are they still married but he believes he has found Brianna in Bluebird, Texas. They head to the Bluebird ranch pretending to be counselors. There are five girls at the ranch and Clay and Eden try to figure out which one is Brianna. Enter the suspense. Someone is trying to kill Eden while various characters from Eden's past start showing up. Which one is the culprit? As usual, I thought I had figured it out, but Colleen usually surprises me and she did this time also.
If you have never read any of her books, please start, she is a gifted storyteller.
I am so grateful to Thomas Nelson for this review copy to read. I am not required to make a positive review but just my own opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lonestar Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will Clay and Eden find their daughter?

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eden met handsome Clay Larson in Hawaii six years ago, and a holiday romance led to an unplanned pregnancy and a quick-fire marriage. But the marriage rapidly disintegrated after the abduction and death of their six-week-old daughter, Brianna. Now Clay has walked back into her life, disrupting a romantic dinner to tell her that he never signed the divorce papers, and that Brianna is still alive, and staying on a ranch in Texas. Who sent the information, and how do they know?
Their daughter is one of five small girls staying on the Bluebird Ranch, which caters for children in the foster-care system, and which is looking for a married couple to take over as counsellors for the group of five-year-old girls. A friend of Clay’s puts in a good word for them with the ranch owners, enabling them to get close to the girls to discover which is their daughter. When a rattlesnake appears in their bedroom on their first night at the ranch, they begin to suspect that someone does not want them there. Working so closely together gives them the opportunity to get to know each other in ways that they never did when they were married, as well as the chance to talk through why their marriage failed – and what they will do if and when they identify Brianna.
This was an excellent romantic suspense novel. The previous Colleen Coble novels I have read have either been more thriller than romantic suspense, or have been part of a series that has been difficult to pick up. This was a welcome change, with two flawed characters with a difficult shared history, united in their desire to find and care for their daughter. Lonestar Angel is well-written with strong characters, a fast-moving plot, plenty of suspense with a number of twists and an unexpected yet satisfying conclusion. Although clearly a Christian novel, it was not preachy, with subtle lessons on trust woven throughout.
I really enjoyed Lonestar Angel. What I liked best was how an extremely difficult event (the kidnapping and loss of a child, followed by their separation) led both Clay and Eden to become Christians and to grow as people without becoming bitter, despite their great loss. This meant that when they met up again, they were both able to put aside their differences to work together. I liked the romance, the faithful way Clay was still hooked on Eden. I also liked the twists in the story, the unexpected links between Clay, Eden and the kidnappers that really filled the story out.
This is the fourth book in Colleen Coble’s Lonestar series (following Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Secrets and Lonestar Homecoming), but it can enjoyably be read as a stand-alone (although, like me, you may then want to add the previous books to your wish list).
Thanks to Booksneeze® and Thomas Nelson for providing a free ebook to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>