Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realms Maggie's Journey - eBook

Realms Maggie's Journey - eBook

When 18-year-old Margaret Lenora Caine learns that she's adopted, she feels betrayed by her birth parents and by the wealthy family who raised her. When another secret robs Maggie of what's left of her identity, she strikes out on her own to find her "real self." Will her long-time love, Charles, be able to help?
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Maggie's Journey - eBook
Review 1 for Maggie's Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Pleasant Surprize

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought this was going to be another "wagon-trains west" story and wondered how it could be different from so many similar themes. I was pleasantly surprised to discover it was actually the story of Maggie's journey of self-discovery, after finding out that she had been adopted. Many of the major issues along the way seemed to be resolved too quickly, and while this avoided long, deep and meaningful scenes and kept the story moving along, it did tend to make it seem a bit shallow. I particularly enjoyed watching Charles lose his arrogance, and the healing of Florence and Joshua's marriage relationship added interest for the more mature reader. God features extensively in the resolution and character development, which is always nice. I look forward to reading more in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Maggie's Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this, I couldn't put the book down

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Margaret Lenora Caine, an only child, grew up in Seattle and had a very privileged life. She has noticed a change in her mother, Florence, in the last few years, she feels like her mother is constantly criticizing her and trying to change the person she has become. Maggie can't figure out what she's done to upset her mother. Maggie loves to design dresses which is what her grandmother does in Little Rock, Arkansas but she has never seen her and she is her only grandchild.
In a few days Maggie will be turning 18 and she wants to design a special dress but her mother already has something else in mind. When she remembers that there are some of her mother's old dresses in the attic Maggie goes exploring. She finds a beautiful green dress that would only need to be shortened and will look nice with her red hair. Maggie continues to look through chests in the attic and finds a little white chest, when she gets to the bottom of it she finds out a family secret, she may have figured out why her mother want's to change her, or is that really what is going on.
What a great story this is, Lena did a wonderful job. I couldn't put this book down and read it in about 1 1/2 days. I can hardly wait to read number two in the series, Mary's Blessing, I will be starting it as soon as I'm done with this review. You won't go wrong investing in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Maggie's Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Enjoyable Read

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very enjoyable story! Maggie's Journey is the first of three stories about triplets who are separated at birth. Maggie is unaware that she is adopted and as she approaches her eighteenth birthday, she struggles with feeling that her mother does not listen to her and is always trying to change her. The love interest in this story is Charles, a good Christian man who is suffering a bit from vanity and pride in his own accomplishments. These things color his ability to see Maggie as a love interest and he is drawn toward another.
I thoroughly enjoyed the way the author developed the love story throughout the book. There is also an underlying story involving Maggie's adoptive parents and the effect that lies have had on them throughout the years. I felt very happy at the end of the book, when all the problems had been resolved and I am really looking forward to reading the next story about Mary, one of Maggie's sisters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Maggie's Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommended

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessed in Texas
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book. Enjoyed reading. McKenzie is a good Christian fiction book. I look forward to reading the rest in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Maggie's Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Maggie's Journey

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Clover, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maggie's Journey isn't your typical romance. The title does the book justice. This is about the journey Maggie takes and what she learns as she travels it. It's a sweet story of misunderstandings, pride and forgiveness. This was extra fun for me because I have family who live in the Seattle area on the Puget Sound and have visited them. I loved reading about the area. Ms. Dooley does a beautiful job in digging deep into her characters to bring them alive. She not only fleshes out the hero and heroine, but also the secondary characters. I feel in love with the heroine's father. If you're looking for a book with strong spiritual threads without preachy words this book is for you. Lena Nelson Dooley has mastered the art of getting the truths of the bible out without making you feel you just sat through the longest sermon of your life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Maggie's Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging Historical coming of age story

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
With Maggie's Journey, Lena Nelson Dooley has crafted an engaging first book in a story of triplets separated at birth. Maggie Caine is approaching her 18th birthday, living under the stress of a mother who can't seem to accept her. Then as she explores the attic she stumbles upon a possible reason for the desire to change her. Her world shifts with all she knows or thought she knows about herself changed in a moment. Then her parents let her go on a long desired trip to visit her grandmother in Little Rock -- a woman who shares her love of designing dresses.
This book is well-crafted. The longer I read the more I cared about Maggie, her mother, and the other characters. The angst between Maggie and her mom was so strong at the beginning I had to read past it. Once I did, I thoroughly enjoyed the book. The love triangle has an interesting angle that adds to the fun in the middle of the book.
At the end, this is a charming story about coming home and the journey to know who we really are. Thoroughly enjoyable and I look forward to reading the other books in this series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Maggie's Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply A Lovely Story!

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply A Lovely Story!
Lena Nelson Dooley takes us on a journey laden with beauty, love, deceit, and forgiveness---from Seattle, Washington, to Little Rock, Arkansas, as a beautiful, young woman coming of age, sets out to find herself. Near the advent of her eighteenth birthday, Maggie Lenora Caine, happens upon a chest in the attic that turns her life as she knows it, upside down. For in the chest she finds proof that she was adopted, and no longer knows who she really is. She feels betrayed by the parents who gave her away, and the deceit of her adoptive parents, and wonders why she can never quite fit the mold set by her critical mother. Didn't her real mother love her enough to keep her?...and where does she really belong?
Maggie longs to be a dress designer, and with the permission of her parents, she sets off on a train trip to visit her grandmother in Arkansas, owner of a dress designing shop, accompanied by her longtime friend, and her father's business partner, Charles Stanton, and her young, widowed Aunt Georgia. Charles and Georgia immediately appear to be drawn to one another, much to Maggie's chagrin, for she has hidden feelings for Charles herself.
As she draws close to her grandmother will she find the answers she seeks? Will she accept her grandmother's offer to help her start her own dress company in Arkansas? What guilt has her adoptive mother been carrying inside for years, that has caused her to treat Maggie as she has?...and while missing her daughter so far away, will she be able to release it to her Heavenly Father? Can forgiveness and restoration come to mother and daughter after years of deceit and criticism, and will Maggie discover who she really is...and find romance as well?
This is a beautiful story of ultimate love and forgiveness as only Lena Nelson Dooley can write them. It was a relaxing read...not mad dashing excitement page after page, and I loved that for a nice change. Ms. Dooley actually takes us from state to state, and her use of imagery is so impeccable, the reader will feel as though they have been on a trek themselves. I learned so much about the first trains and railroads that were built...who knew that could be so interesting? Her characters were so endearing, especially our young heroine, and wrapped themselves around my heart. And as always in Lena's books, there is a strong spiritual thread throughout, and a satisfying (lump in the throat, tears in your eyes) conclusion. Very well written, Lena N. Dooley!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Maggie's Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not edited in the first chapters but great story

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
reading bug
Location:Lincoln Ne
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first few chapters had some editorial marks that made me think I wasn't reading the final copy. The story was great. I will probably try again. E books should be less expensive not more expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Maggie's Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impeccably written

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dora
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m not really a big historical reader, but I just finished Maggie’s Journey, the first book in the McKenna’s Daughters Series by Lena Nelson Dooley, and I think I’m changing my tune.
Never having read a book by Lena Nelson Dooley, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Maggie’s Journey focuses on a woman’s search to find her identity after she discovers that her birth parents gave her away, and the serious emotional struggles between a mother and daughter.
From the first page, Ms. Dooley creates the stage with the setting. You could feel yourself suffering through the long journey on the Oregon Trail, enduring the train ride, or touring a magnificent clothing-design mansion. I enjoyed the historical tidbits offered throughout the book.
And the characters jumped right off the pages. I rooted for Maggie as she searched for answers and attempted to be the person she was meant to be, rather than the customary woman of society. Other times, I wanted to scold Florence, but the author molded her from the beginning in such a way that I understood her motivation.
The real romance in this book wasn’t between the main characters, but rather with Joshua and Florence, Maggie’s parents. I admired Joshua, a man of honor and passion, who demonstrated unconditional love for his wife in the toughest of circumstances.
I’ll look forward to Lena Nelson Dooley’s next book in the McKenna’s Daughters Series, Mary’s Blessing, coming in May. Congrats, Lena Nelson Dooley! Five stars for an impeccably written story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Maggie's Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivated from beginning to end!

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I read this book in 2 ½ hours. That’s a record for me. I literally did not put it down. Not for a moment. From the prologue to the last page, I was captivated. There was joy, suffering, excitement, confusion, and romance portrayed through vivid images of life, love and loss.
There are many emotions dealt with in the book but the one that spoke most to me was fear. From Florence and Joshua’s marriage to Maggie’s discovery about her adoption, the author shows us what fear can do to a relationship. The lies it can foster, misconceptions that it can bring, the mistrust that evolves ultimately leading to discord. But then we see the beautiful and loving hand of the Father and how he gently but firmly breaks that bondage of fear and brings about restoration in those same relationships. It was by no means overly obvious, either, making this a great book to suggest to friends who may not normally read Christian Fiction.
Every character in this story captured my heart. Each one is intricately explored and exposed in such a delicate and profound manner. I could go on and on about the book. But I won’t. I dislike spoilers so I will only say that I hope you fall in love with Maggie’s Journey as much as I did!
This was my first book by this author that I have read. I can’t say enough about her writing style. Impeccable! Book 2 can’t come soon enough for me
Special thanks to FIRST Wild Card Tours and Kim Jones | Publicity Coordinator, Charisma House | Charisma Media for sending me a review copy. I was not required to write a positive review, just my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Maggie's Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impeccably written

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dora
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m not really a big historical reader, but I just finished Maggie’s Journey, the first book in the McKenna’s Daughters Series by Lena Nelson Dooley, and I think I’m changing my tune.
Never having read a book by Lena Nelson Dooley, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Maggie’s Journey focuses on a woman’s search to find her identity after she discovers that her birth parents gave her away, and the serious emotional struggles between a mother and daughter.
From the first page, Ms. Dooley creates the stage with the setting. You could feel yourself suffering through the long journey on the Oregon Trail, enduring the train ride, or touring a magnificent clothing-design mansion. I enjoyed the historical tidbits offered throughout the book.
And the characters jumped right off the pages. I rooted for Maggie as she searched for answers and attempted to be the person she was meant to be, rather than the customary woman of society. Other times, I wanted to scold Florence, but the author molded her from the beginning in such a way that I understood her motivation.
The real romance in this book wasn’t between the main characters, but rather with Joshua and Florence, Maggie’s parents. I admired Joshua, a man of honor and passion, who demonstrated unconditional love for his wife in the toughest of circumstances.
I’ll look forward to Lena Nelson Dooley’s next book in the McKenna’s Daughters Series, Mary’s Blessing, coming in May. Congrats, Lena Nelson Dooley! Five stars for an impeccably written story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Maggie's Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Maggie's Journey

Date:December 13, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maggie Caine thought she knew who she was and where she came from. But after discovering that she was secretly adopted shortly after birth, she feels betrayed by her parents. Desiring to escape the tension and turmoil in her home and her heart, she requests to visit her grandmother in Arkansas. Maggie's father agrees to her petition with the stipulation that her Aunt Georgia and Charles Stanton, her father's young business partner, accompany her. Almost immediately Charles is taken with Georgia and Maggie feels out of place. But as Maggie's trip progresses and truths are revealed, Charles takes more of an interest in Maggie. However, Maggie must first discover who she is and what truly matters to her.
Maggie's Journey by Lena Nelson Dooley was a pleasant surprise to me. I'm not sure what I expected, but I got a book that is worthy of keeping. Maggie's Journey tackles the difficult issue of the natural desire that a person has to know his or her birth parent. Many readers, including myself, will be able to relate to this issue. The characters and plot were very well written. By integrating romance into the fictional plot, Dooley creates a novel that will entertain and touch the heart. I recommend to fans of Christian fiction.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher as part of FIRST Wild Card Tours. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.