Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Leaf Publishing Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World

New Leaf Publishing Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World

-An inspiring collection of accounts from history's greatest missionaries
-Shares how their legacy continues to empower new generations of missions work
-A bold presentation of how faith, obedience, and love conquered isolation and fear.

"God had an only Son, and He was a missionary" - these are the words of the legendary David Livingstone who answered God's challenge to take the message of Christ and salvation to the unexplored lands of those who had never heard the truth. His is one of 22 stories of faithful men and women who risked death, disease and poverty so others might be saved. Their lives challenge believers to continue this vital work - whether on foreign shores or in our support of modern pioneers of faith!

Whether used in a small group study or an education program, Great for God reminds us that in Christ all things are possible, and it is our mission to see that His truth is heard throughout each and every land!
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Review 1 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Book!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hope
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How many of you have children that enjoy reading missionary biographies? Our family, even the youngest children, love reading stories about how God has used people on the mission field. Recently I received a book entitled Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed The World, written by David Shibley. This is a wonderful addition to any bookshelf!
The book is written in such a way that young people will find it fascinating-even hard to put down! 23 chapters each detail the life of a missionary, including men like Eric Liddell, Jim Elliot, and David Livingstone. Additionally, you will learn the stories of women such as Amy Carmichael and Gladys Aylward. Honestly, reading this book is enough to make any adult or child aspire to be great for God! When you read of how God used common people, and the amazing feats they accomplished, you will be amazed, enthralled, and encouraged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Missionary Book

Date:December 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Homeschoolin Mama
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my goodness! I LOVED this book. I read it to my 9 1/2 yr old son as apart of our homeschool curriculum for the 1st quarter. I loved that it covered so many missionaries (23 all together), some we know and some new to us. There is 1 chapter per missionary, each chapter is no longer than 6 or 7 pages. At the beginning of each chapter the date of birth and death are given, as is what legacy they left and a quote from that missionary. This book is great introduction to each of these missionaries, alot of the chapters made us want to learn more about these missionaries. The chapters were basically a summary of each missionaries life from birth to death (or current works). I highly recommend this book for children 7 and up, it's an easy read for them either to listen to or to read themselves.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from New Leaf Publishing Group's blogging for books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 225: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

missionary overview

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great for God by David Shibley has the subtitle "Missionaries Who Changed the World." The book is made up of short summaries of 23 different missionaries. At the start of each section is the missionary's name, their date/place of birth, their date/place of death, their "legacy", and a quote by that individual. After this is a narrative section of a few pages which gives a short summary of their life as it relates to missions.
I was pleased with this book in a sense. At first I was disappointed because each segment is so short (!) and I really wished to read more about these people, more details. I think I am just used to reading missionary biographies (such as the Christian Heroes Then and Now) which tell the life story, using an entire book on one individual.
After I had reconciled myself to the fact that this is meant to be a brief introduction/overview of different missionaries, I came to see it as a book about missions/missionaries rather than about individual missionaries. That statement may sound a little confusing, but what I meant by it is that throughout reading this book it will be obvious that there is no ONE type of missionary, no ONE way of "doing" missions, no ONE set pattern, no ONE background, etc. Missionaries are people who spread the gospel, in many different ways, in many different places and settings. This book introduces several different missionaries, some well-known, others less-known. If you are a person like me who likes to read more than just a few pages about these individuals, there are books available elsewhere to expand on the names you read about here.
I would recommend this book as a picture of missions and missionaries. It's also useful in introducing the names of missionaries you may wish to learn more about.
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource for families!

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Reagan
Location:West Union, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wouldn’t you love to have a book to acquaint your children with great missionaries? This is you book then–Great For God by David Shibley and published by New Leaf Publishing. Twenty-six missionaries are pleasantly written of in this helpful volume. Some you may not know as well as others, but the most famous ones are here. You’ll learn of a few you didn’t know as well.
A synopsis begins each entry with key dates, legacy, and a famous quote. This is a great way to introduce a 6 or 7 page chapter. In my opinion, they are very well written and hold attention. I put the book to the ultimate test. I had my children gather around the table and I read several chapters aloud to them. Then I asked the hardest, most-detailed questions I could think of. My kids didn’t miss one question. Even my 5-year-old Macey nailed several questions. That is the ultimate proof to me that this is a quality book for families.
I want my children to know about missionaries. To tell the truth, these type of biographies greatly encourage and challenge me personally. This book is one of the best I’ve seen of the missionary biography books covering multiple missionaries. I give this book the highest recommendation. It’s perfect for what it intends to be and I’m glad the Reagans have it at our disposal.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Educating About the Christian Greats

Date:October 7, 2012
We have some family friends that do an amazing job teaching their children about the great Christians that have lived and died to proclaim the Gospel. Some of their kids can give you short biographies on numerous martyrs and missionaries. I've searched for sometime for a book or curriculum within our homeschool budget to introduce our children to some of these great people and their amazing stories.
I was so happy to find Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World by David Shibley. Now I can share the stories of 23 of these people who were great for God! What a wonderful place to start! I feel like it's never enough to tell our children what to do. We encourage our children to live for God, we read them the proclamation to go out into all the world, we even have been blessed to expose them to real life missionaries that we consider family friends. It must be a constant reminder, not just a rare remark. With these small book, we can read about the missionaries a tidbit at a time. What a wonderful resource for Christian history!
So far I've only shared one of the stories with the children but they were so excited to hear it! David Livingstone was a familiar name to them and they were intrigued to hear more about his story, his life mission, his call to spread God's word. If you are looking for a resource to introduce your children to missionaries that have served God, look no further. To learn more about Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World, check out the information page at New Leaf Publishing. I've personally enjoyed each of the 23 stories and learned about several Christians that I had not known about before. We should always be learning and this is a great start!
I received a copy of this book for free for the purpose of this review from New Leaf Publishing. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Introductions to Memorable Missionaries

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kari
What is your definition of greatness? The biblical definition involves servanthood, humility, and Christlikeness (Mark 10:42–43; Jeremiah 45:5; Matthew 6:33; John 3:30). Each of the 23 missionaries profiled in David Shibley’s book embodied these characteristics. By giving themselves to share the life-giving truth of the gospel—no matter the cost, they brought glory to the Lamb that was slain to ransom believers from every tribe, language, people, and nation (Revelation 5:9).
Published by Master Books of New Leaf Publishing, this paperback book is 144 pages. Each profile of a missionary is only a few pages long, so it’s perfect to read with the family or to a Sunday school group. The bios are by no means complete but meant to familiarize you with their lives, so as to increase your faith and heart for the lost. Black and white pictures are included at the beginning of each chapter; they do not feature the missionaries but are pictures of the people the missionaries went to reach.
You’ll meet well-known missionaries such as Jim Elliot, Amy Carmichael, and Hudson Taylor, but you’ll also be introduced to Samuel Zwemer, the “apostle to Islam,” and Dawson Trotman, who founded the Navigators. Be encouraged and challenged to obey Christ’s command to make disciples of all nations.
**I received a complimentary copy of this course from the publisher for the purpose of my impartial review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for God!

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa K
Location:Ctrl, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Frankly, this book should come with a red-letter warning. If you interface with these great lives you will inevitably reach a crossroads. At that juncture you will make a pivotal choice: Will you consign yourself to a little life or will you be great for God? Your decision carries huge consequences - for you and for your generation. If you take "the road less traveled," that will make all the difference."
Great for God is a collection of concise life-summaries of 23 missionaries that have influenced, molded and shaped the next generation.
In our homeschool and devotional time, we have read many missionary stories. It was a pleasure to see some familiar and not-so-familiar names in this book including:
David Livingstone
Lottie Moon
Jim Elliot
Eric Liddell
Bill Bright and 18 others
This collection of stories comes not only from those that have served in far-off lands, but also have established worldwide Christians organizations.
I'm also pleased to say that we will be including this book in our geography study this year. Each story encourages the reader to imitate the character of these christians who have gone before in love, focus, faith, work, courage, hope and so on.
"As this book ends, your challenge begins. New chapters must be written. New heroes must join the ranks of Heaven's Hall of Fame. The King of all nations summons you to greatness - for His glory and the extending of His kingdom. History awaits your response."
Disclaimer:
I received this book free of charge in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very interesting

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What do Amy Charmchael, David Livingston, Jim Elliot, Eric Liddell and Hudson Taylor have in common? They all, along with the other missionaries spotlighted in this book, determined to be Great for God. As the author points out, being great for God is entirely different from being great for ourselves. It is not about success but rather living a life that is entirely for the glory of God, no matter the cost. This little book is packed full of stories of some of the greatest missionaries of all time who determined to live their lives fully for God. It will inspire all readers to do the same, no matter what their journey in life tends to be.
I really like the layout of the book. Each missionary is spotlighted in a short yet powerful story of their life and what they did for God. There is also a quote from each one that highlights his or her philosophy of what their mission was all about. This book would be great for family devotions as well as personal devotional time. It is sure to inspire and motivate the reader to push forward in a true devotion to God.
I received this complimentary copy from the publisher for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book!

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found out about Great for God at a recent #TeachtheTruth Twitter party. I was so excited to have the chance to review it, especially after reading the thoughts of the Moms of Master Books team.
Great for God is broken into twenty-three short, easy to read chapters. Each chapter starts with a chart sharing the individual’s name, place and date of birth, place and date of death, legacy, and quote. The chapters are only a few pages, but they give a great overview of the lives of these amazing individuals, and the way that God used them to accomplish great things for Him.
I personally learned so much about so many people reading Great for God. Many of the names included were familiar to me, but there were few that I knew well. There were also several people included I had never heard of, and it was a privilege to read their stories. The thing that stood out to me as I got further into the book was how different these individuals were . They came from different denominations, had different strengths and weaknesses, different family backgrounds, and were called to vastly different ministries. It was a wonderful reminder to me of the beautiful diversity of the body of Christ, and that God calls and uses all types of people! There were also some interesting and convicting similarities between them, which Mr. Shibley, the author, brings out in great detail in the book’s afterward.
This book would make a wonderful addition to personal or family devotions. Because of the short chapters, even young children should be able to listen in without any trouble. I’m excited to share the stories with my own children!
Disclaimer: I received a digital copy of this book in exchange for my true and honest review. I received no other compensation, and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read even with very little time.

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
chenhomeschool
Location:Washington, D.C.
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a Christian homeschooling family, missionary stories and biographies are among our favorite reads in our reading list and it is also part of our curriculum to learn about people, geography, history and culture. And this book, Great for God, which contains stories of 23 Christian men and women who have a heart to be great for God to save the the lost is a great tool in introducing these missionaries' stories.
This book begins with the author's own introduction to how these men and women are seeking things above instead of things and glories of this world and he also encourages the readers to consider to be great for God after these examples. And the author's intentions for this book are to encourage, enlighten, enlarge, and provide examples to the readers in following the footsteps of these great men and women.
Each story begins with highlights of that person's background: dates and places of birth and death, their legacy and a quote. And then it follows with a short biography of their lives. I found it very encouraging and easy to read because we get to learn about what they've done in a very concise way, but long enough to see what contribution and encouragement they have been.
Some of the people I've read about longer biographies with my children and some I have heard of, but didn't get around to read their stories yet. And even some I have never heard of. I am especially impressed to read about how Rowland Victor Bingham showed persistence and endurance for his efforts to go to Sudan to preach the gospel. So failures, death of coworkers and unsuccessful trips would probably confirm a person that it is not what God wants them to do. But not for Mr. Bingham, he persisted and eventually got to Sudan and made a great impact with 10000 people saved and 1000 churches planted. It is indeed as the author refers to Proverb 24:16 (NIV) to the life of Rowland Victor Bingham "Though a righteous man falls seven times, he rises again”.
I also love the quotes from these people. I would mention a few that I am really impressed:
"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose." by Jim Elliott;
"The secret in the 400m is that I run the first 200m as fast as I can. then, for the last 200m, with God’s help I run faster." by Eric Lidell;
"It is fashionable in the Western world to relegate belief in demons and devils to the realm of mythology, and when mentioned at all it is in jest. But it is no jest in West Africa or any other mission field for that matter." by Rowland Victor Bingham.
"Prayer is the greatest power God has put into our hands for service. Praying is harder than doing, at least I find it so, but the dynamic lies that way to advance the Kingdom." by Mary Slessor.
One thing I'd like to see in the book for future edition is a recommendation reading list if one would like to read furthermore about one specific person and where to find such books for either young readers or adults. As far as I know, YWAM publisher has many of missionary books that include people from this book, but not all of them. A supplemental reading resource will be a great help. God bless
Disclaimer: I was given a digital copy of this book in exchange for my honest and personal review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for God & great for inspiration!

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
SusanT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Will you consign yourself to a little life or will you be great for God?" That question continuously haunts readers as they pour through the pages of David Shibley's new book Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World. It places readers firmly at the crossroads of having to determine whether the life they are living is enough or whether there is a deeper, higher purpose to which God is calling them.
Great for God is more than a collection of stories about twenty-three heroes in the faith. This book inspires, even compels, readers to consider their own life in light of what they're reading. Shibley said the most difficult part of writing the book was to determine who to include, but he did a good job balancing his selection of familiar stories with some that are lesser known. If anything, readers may have wished for stories about more unknown missionaries.
One of the threads woven throughout is the absolute resolution each person had regarding God's call on their life. Although human like us, there seemed to be an extra measure of Spirit determination which gave them the strength, courage, perseverance, long-suffering, focus, steadfastness - or whatever they needed - to face the odds and march right over them. How inspiring to even consider that possibility - that we might also embrace that kind of life-consuming purpose. And that's one of the things that makes this work something readers can connect with - although these are spiritual giants in every sense of the word, Shibley does not hide their flesh with its weaknesses, struggles, and streaks of stubbornness.
An easy and enjoyable read (each account can be read in ten minutes), Shibley frames the accounts with just enough background for readers to get a sense of the motivation, but not so much as to bog down the story. He focuses on the actions, mindset, and any quotations that might have revealed attitudes. One of the commonalities readers may begin to notice is how many of these faith heroes were raised by believing parents. Although not a pre-requisite for missionary work, it certainly seems God used this relationship to plant His seeds early in life.
In many ways, this book is like reading a modern-day Bible where we get to see brief snippets into what God has done in the lives of His people over the last few centuries. As readers ponder these stories, yes, they will be encouraged by the commitment of these people, but I'm guessing they will be moved in greater ways as they witness how God laid the groundwork, opened the doors, and aligned the situation so that at just the right time...the call came and was received. I'm guessing that will encourage many readers to ponder how long God has been up to something in their lives, and to stop and take notice of that.
And if Shibley accomplishes nothing else with his book, it will have been enough.
(I was given the Kindle version of Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World to read in exchange for my opinion and review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This was a very inspiring read!

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emily
Location:Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a collection of 23 missionary stories. Each story provides a brief overview of the missionary's life, a scripture verse, and a quote from the missionary. The chapters are short enough to read through fairly quickly and hold the attention of small children who are listening and learning about these great heroes of the Christian faith.
The missionary stories that it covers are not just the common ones you may already know. I feel like I know quite a few missionary stories, as we have read through several in school, however, I knew very few of the stories included in this book. It did not seem to be the same stories you find in every other collection of missionary biographies.
The afterword of the book covers twelve traits that Shibley calls the DNA of these missionaries. They each operated thier ministry out love for God and the people they were serving. Another key factor was intimacy with God and their continual emphasis on maintaining this relationship. Two more traits stood out to me focus and courage. Many of these missionaries worked alone with incredible focus. They faced many dangers and saw God protect and provide over and over again.
This was a very inspiring read, one we will be coming back to as we read together and study missionaries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good stories

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
mamato2
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great For God, by David Shibley, is a collection of missionary stories. I am unsure of the target audience, but the reading level is fairly low and each story is only 3 or 4 pages. The introduction of the book states that the intention was to chose a handful of missionaries to include in this time capsule in order that their stories might live on- which I agree, they should. I love collections of missionary stories...
Because of the length the author went to in sharing how he picked which missionary to write about and which to leave out, I was expecting to read about the unknown servants. I had my heart set on learning a little about the lives of those that haven’t been recorded before, the never-before-heard “heroes of the faith”. Perhaps I am not the greatest person to make this judgement call, but I was disappointed to see the same people I’ve already read about before. Not to lessen their great works for God or to say that they aren’t worthy of being included, by any means. I was simply hoping for a different handful.
One missionary the author did include and I hadn’t heard of was a man named H.B. Garlock. I enjoyed reading about his story because he was from Connecticut and met Jesus as a young man. He served the people of Liberia, Ghana and Malawi and faced the kind of dramatic moments read about in the Bible. That’s what I’m talking about! I was also excited to learn about what H.B. did in his later years of life....but I will leave that to you to find out on your own!
Another missionary story that I knew about previously but hadn’t seen documented in print before was WIlliam Cameron Townsend and his ministry called JAARS(Jungle Aviation and Radio Service), which collaborated with Wyclife Bible Translators. JAARS will remain near and dear to my heart because their North American arm, which was in existence up until a few years ago, served my family. JAARS helped relocate ministry offices and missionaries personal items around the world. When JAARS had to refocus their efforts, one of their own men wanted to keep serving ministries and missionaries in North America, so he renamed the branch to Missionary Transport, Inc. One of their trucks and drivers served our family when we relocated from Virginia to Connecticut. When his truck arrived for us to load it, I could see the JAARS sticker underneath the Missionary Transport, Inc. label on the truck. This made my heart happy.
Overall, this was a good book. I will keep it around to use as a source of missionary stories for my kids. I have an electronic copy and am thankful for that, as I doubt I would give up any bookshelf real estate for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Do You Want to Be Great For God?

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
momkaboodle
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have memories of my church talking about missionaries when I was growing up, but quite honestly, I was never grabbed by the desire to be a missionary.
"Great For God" by David Shibley is a fantastically inspiring book that delves into the lives of former missionaries who have since gone home to be with the Lord.
There were three missionaries from this book that really stuck with me.
The first was Jim Elliot, who was brutally murdered while spreading God's word to the Aucus tribe that was feared by many.
Some great quotes by Jim Elliot are:
"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose."
"God, I pray Thee, light these idle sticks of my life and may I burn up for Thee. Consume my life, my
God, for it is Thine. I seek not a long life but a full one, like you, Lord Jesus."
Yes, Lord - light these idle sticks of my life, too!
and finally (and oh-so-fitting):
"You are immortal until your work is finished."
Bob Pierce earned a place in my heart when I read that he founded both Samaritan's Purse (our church participates in Operation Christmas Child each year, which I love!), and World Vision. On top of that, he ministered to Korean children not long after World War II.
The quote attributed to him is:
"Let my heart be broken by the things that break the heart of God."
I have been praying for my own heart of stone to be replaced by one of flesh for quite some time now - reading his story definitely caused some heart-softening.
I also found the accounts of female missionaries to be particularly inspiring. Mary Slessor, who entered the mission field upon hearing of the death of David Livingstone (who also makes an appearance in "Great for God"), traveled by boat to Calabar, West Africa.
"After disembarking, Mary immediately began walking through the dark, thick jungle with her children
toward the missions compound she had established miles inland.
'Weren't you and the children afraid of being attacked by thieves or wild animals?' a friend inquired.
'No self-respecting lion would have dared attack us, the way we sang those hymns!' she replied.
Isn't that amazing? Her story is pretty fantastic...
There are 23 missionaries in all that are detailed in this book. I would recommend it for families as well as for Church Youth groups/classes. Who knows which child(ren) that we are called to raise up for God will be inspired to head out into the missionary field?
Disclosure: I received a complimentary pdf ebook in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hope
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Great for God: Missionaries who Changed the World, David Shibley chronicles the lives of twenty-three Christian missionaries. "The subjects of this book were visionary, motivated, and imperfect. They sought great things- but not for themselves. They were great for God" (p.10).
The missionaries detailed in Great for God are: Rowland Victor Bingham, William R. (Bill) Bright, William Carey, Amy Carmichael, Jim Elliot, Charles E. Fuller, H.B. Garlock, Adoniram Judson, Eric Liddell, Paul E. Little, David Livingstone, Lottie Moon, John R. Mott, Bob Pierce, Warren Shibley, Mary Slessor, Oswald J. Smith, C. T. Studd, Hudson Taylor, William Cameron Townsend, Dawson Trotman, Nikolaus Ludwig von Zinzendorf, and Samuel Zwemer.
Each chapter begins with an informational box containing the featured missionary's name, the year and place of birth, year and place of death, a paragraph stating their legacy and a quote from the highlighted servant. In 144 pages, Shibley beautifully describes how their lives, full of faith and courage, made a difference in the Great Commission.
Quite a few of the missionaries' stories were familiar, but the author gives a moving and fresh perspective.Who can read Jim Elliot's legacy and not be touched? Some I had never heard before, like the incredible account of H.B. Garlock's service to Christ in western Africa~ simply amazing.
What a joy it has been to read the historical account of so many great men and women. Shibley has provided remarkable examples of faith, encouragement and wisdom through their lives. The author challenges that after reading these biographies we will be compelled to to make a decision: "Will you consign yourself to a little life or will you be great for God?" (p.13).
This book shows by example that one does not need to be perfect to serve God's purpose in their lives - to make a difference larger than themselves and their imperfections. None are perfect, but all can serve.
"It only takes one courageous life in Christ to bring hope to millions! It could be yours."
~New Leaf Publishing website
(According to Shibley, this book has been written for individual reading, for Bible Studies, for classrooms, and as a read aloud family devotion.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful inspiration

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
OhioSarah
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Wow! Wow! I so enjoy reading the stories of those Christians who lived their lives out loud for our Lord. Whether you’re looking for something for yourself or to read with your children – this book will have you flipping the pages learning about the great missionaries of the past and not so past. I liked the outlines at the beginning of the chapters that gave the name, when and where born and died, what were their outstanding accomplishments and a quote of theirs – this really helped set the tone especially since before you actually read the story it’s preceded by a Bible verse that somewhat sums up what that missionary was all about.
Each story takes less than 10 minutes to read, which is why I said it’d be perfect to use with children, if you want to introduce them to some missionaries, who have either faded into obscurity or who are well known – some I had heard of, some I hadn’t. Since the stories are short, you won’t get the whole story, for that you’ll need to seek out an autobiography or biography on just that missionary. If all you want is a short course or even if you’re studying a certain country like India – you’ll find a missionary that one day ministered to and brought Christ to that land. I could find this book useful not just as book to read but also to use as a unit study in our homeschool or to inspire me in my ministry at home until the time comes when I can minister abroad.
Jesus told us we need to be His Hands and Feet – and while some of us are doing great things within our homes, for a mom of young children her ministry is at home or for those who are out in foreign lands spreading the Gospel, we need to make sure that we are taking the Gospel to those who need it – our children, the neighbor next door or the tribal chief in a remote – and this book will definitely make you appreciate all that is given in the name of the Lord who gave us all of Him.
**Disclaimer: I was given a copy of this e-book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

missionary stories

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
MommieJennM
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Lately I've heard a lot about unreached people groups and missions work to translate the Bible for them. There are many needs, and it is encouraging to read of these great examples. I learned from this book that William Carey translated the Scriptures in whole or in part into 37 languages!
The story is shared about Amy Carmichael who aptly summarized her work: "Nothing could ever matter again but the things that were eternal."
Did you know that Bob Pierce founded both World Vision and Samaritan's Purse?
William Cameron Townsend was quoted as saying "The greatest missionary is the Bible in the mother tongue. It never needs a furlough, is never considered a foreigner."
Each missionary story begins with a synopsis of their work for Christ. Their legacy, a quote, and a verse from Scripture that is reflected in their lives serves as an introduction to a 3-7 page biography.
As my children study different countries in their geography lessons, these missionary stories will help paint a picture of great work for God that has been done and inspire them to also be great for God.
Though my husband has been involved in international missions, I haven't had that opportunity. Once I heard a missionary who encouraged us to be missionaries where we are. No matter where we are, we can share God's love. Charles E. Fuller did just that through his "Old Fashioned Revival Hour" radio program.
"And though he did not go overseas as a missionary,
Fuller's voice was heard around the world,
bringing the message of Jesus."
David Shibley is the author of this inspiring book.
Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review. No other compensation was received. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational collection of missionary biographies

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather @ Marine Corps Nomads
I've always been interested in reading stories of the great missionaries of our nation. I think part of my fascination started due to having missionaries in my family. It's not an easy life, and it definitely takes a special person with a calling from the Lord to go to some of these foreign lands. It takes a lot of sacrifice. It also takes a delicate balance of serving others and serving your family. I appreciated that Shibley pointed out that several of the men failed to find this balance and in turn failed their families. All too often these great missionaries are put on pedestals. This quote stood out to me: "The object of reading biography... is not imitation, but inspiration." It's very important that we remember this as we read.
Great for God highlights the lives of 18 missionaries that have gone to be with their Lord, their Savior. Each of these men and women have left behind a legacy to be remembered. I enjoyed the brief overviews at the beginning of each biography. The quotes were wonderful and poignant.
"I see tonight that in spiritual work, if nowhere else, the character of the worker decides the quality of the work.... No wonder so much work in the Kingdom today is shoddy -- look at the moral character of the worker." - Jim Elliot. Ouch! Yet, it's so true. I found myself really reflecting on many of the quotes contained in the chapters, and definitely felt convicted on more that one occasion.
Overall, I enjoyed the collection of biographies contained in the book. Obviously, with only 23 biographies, this is only a sampling of some of the wonderful missionaries from days gone by. (He chose to only use missionaries who were no longer with us.)
I received an e-book edition to help facilitate the writing of a frank and honest review. All opinions are my own. A positive review is not guaranteed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A daunting but live-able call: to be Great for God

Date:May 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Haelie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Expect great things from God;
attempt great things for God.”
~ William Carey
Is that a daunting task to you?
Remember, it is not a task you are to do in your own power, wisdom and strength.
Our great God does not call the equipped; He equips the called.
I have been learning this truth first-hand since recognizing my call into leadership in various forms for the Lord---both in the "ministry" and in the "marketplace."
The timeliness of receiving Great for God by David Shibley is no coincidence; it is truly providential.
As I read through the short but powerful mini-bios of 23 faithfully revolutionary missionaries, I FILLED my Facebook & Twitter pages with quotes shared from my Kindle. No joke. Couldn't stop myself.
The 23 missionaries highlighted by David Shibley in Great for God include such known faith giants as Bill Bright, William Carey, Amy Carmichael, Jim Elliot, Eric Liddell, David Livingstone ("Dr. Livingstone, I presume."), Lottie Moon, Hudson Taylor, Dawson Trotman, and even Shibley's own father---Warren Shibley.
Each of these people and their life story resonated with me strongly and in different yet connected ways. One thing that even stood out to me was that several of them were either closely connected to each other or in some way influenced by each other. What a tapestry of faith, hope and love our Father tenderly creates with each of our lives in this big picture we are living out daily.
Will I be the next thread in that tapestry?
Will you?
Before you say, "No way! I don't even believe in God, crazy lady! Remember? So forget thinking I will ever be part of this imaginary tapestry of which you speak."
Hold up! Wait a minute!
Let me put some faith in it.
Seriously, I do know that several of my readers are not by any means believers in Christ and are even instead committedly professed Agnostics or even Atheists. So, I must be ignoring them when I make such statements.
Oh, but not so at all.
You, my dear friend scoffer or skeptic or just non-believer---YOU---may be the next beautiful, vibrant thread of faith, hope and love in the tapestry our Father and Creator is weaving even now.
Lottie Moon was.
She was the famed Baptist missionary to China in whose name Baptist churches annually collect a Christmas offering solely for missions. Before accepting the Lord Jesus Christ as her Savior, Lottie Moon...well, let me let Shibley & Lottie tell it:
One night during college, a campus revival meeting brought her to total commitment to Christ. “I went to the service to scoff,” she recalled, “and returned to my room to pray all night.”
I know that may not convince you, but God is the One who will convince you in His way and in His time.
In the meantime, to all of my friends---believers and non-believers alike---consider the amazing things done FOR the name of the Lord and BY the name of the Lord through these amazing people who dared to be Great for God!
And then remember...it doesn't stop with them.
How will you respond today?
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from New Leaf Publishing Group. No other compensation was received. The fact that I received a complimentary product does not guarantee a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Great for God: Missionaries Who Changed the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good resource for homeschools!

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
STheis
Location:Central Minnesota
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me say right up front, do not, DO NOT, let the title of this book, "Great for God", turn you away! Do not judge the title before you have read the introduction to the book. :)
My husband and I love reading about missionaries, do you? Do you have any idea? What do you know about missionaries? If your son or daughter came home and said they felt called by God to carry the Gospel to the Middle East--to a "closed" country that is hostile to Christians--how would you respond?
In Great for God , David Shibley has compiled biographies of 23 real life missionaries who gave up their own lives to live to share the Gospel with "all the world". These stories are uplifting and inspiring. The missionaries featured here are no longer living, but as I read them I am filled with a sense of awe of how God is moving in the world around us even now. It creates in me a desire to be involved with the mission of sharing the Gospel in our world today. One of my favorite quotes in the book is by Jim Elliot, "You are immortal until your work is finished." With all the things I worry about, Jim's life is an astonishing reminder that I can rest in the sovereignty of God.
The book is organized so that each chapter is about one missionary. The chapter begins with short biographical data organized into a chart format for quick reference facts about that missionary and a quote that gives a snapshot of the missionary's life. A passage of Scripture also accompanies each chapter. The biographical stories are written in a conversational tone that is easy to read or listen to. These are brief enough to be read for a time of family devotions, but long enough to give a good overview of the missionary's life (and hopefully "whet your appetite" for more).
I love the versatility of this book. Some of the missionaries in the book I already know about. I have read several of the books in the Christian Heroes Then & Now series by Janet and Geoff Benge (which are excellent), so I know there's more to the story and feel a little sad that you can't hear it all! But on the other hand, this is a GREAT way to introduce a good handful of missionaries all in one place. And there are many that I haven't read about before. This is a resource that I plan on weaving into our history and geography curriculum this year. It would also be good for personal or family devotions, small groups, or even Christian school classrooms.
I'm grateful to New Leaf Press for sharing a complimentary copy of the Kindle version of this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. My thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>