Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Christian Theology, Second Edition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Baker Christian Theology, Second Edition

The first edition of Erickson's Christian Theology was the standard for conservative evangelical systematic theology. Erickson has updated Christian Theology based on the feedback from theology students and professors. Erickson also added a chapter on postmodernism, and has included chapter objectives, summaries, and study questions.

Erickson writes from a conservative, evangelical, Baptist perspective. He is reformed, but not ardently Calvinistic. Christian Theology is a technical/semi-technical work, requiring knowledge of Hebrew and Greek (Erickson has added Greek transliteration to go along with the existing Hebrew transliteration). It is designed for use in seminaries, but is accessible to educated lay-readers as well. Scriptural quotations are generally from the New International Version, though Erickson defers to the original languages.

At over 1300 pages, Christian Theology offers incredible depth of detail. Its meticulous analysis of the major issues in theology will prove helpful to all theology students, and Erickson's chapter summaries and study questions easily lend themselves to the classroom setting. Christian Theology is an indispensable tool for pastors, students and church leaders.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Review 1 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tomch
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a require text to gcts theology survey class. I think this is a valuable book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

His approach is well constructed

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cliff
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have appreciated the key point list, chapter summary and study questions at the beginning of each chapter. He does a great job of presenting alternate views of each topic before stating his theological position.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kali
Location:Kalulushi
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent systematic which goes in depth on almost every topic it covers. I wouldn't necessarily classify this as a technical work but its more in-depth than Grudem's systematic. However, anyone can read and profit from it. It will be a welcome addition to any student's library.
God bless
Kali
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compact and Exhaustive

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
N34188
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Compact" may not be the right word for this hefty tome but, given the scope it covers, I think it describes each chapter. Erickson states his own views and conclusions; but only after fairly and accurately giving those of others. An excellent one-volume work!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Clement Cheong
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erickson treats the topic of God with detail and caution, yet at the same time beautifies the study of God. The vast knowledge one has to have in order to write a succinct text on systematic theology is incredible. It has, and will continue for a period of time to be a great work on systematic theology.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well written

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
steve
Location:Waterford CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Very easy to read compared to Systematic Theology Judson Press
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very comprehensive, easy to read

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
magyar99
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It will be some time before I am able to complete the entire volume, as this is a very large volume. The sections I have read have been well constructed and easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2009
Millard Erickson's tremendous intellect and humble heart has produced a book on theology that is well balanced and warm, while displaying his years of thought devoted to the Christian faith. Though I disagree with some of what he writes, that does not detract from the excellence of this book.This was the first book on Christian theology I read and its impact is still with me, well over a decade later. His writing style makes it so that we laity can read and not get stumped at every turn by fancy or lengthy words.I highly recommended this book to anyone who will listen.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
David
Erickson is not too conservative. He is a neo-evangelical and there are many opinions of his that are not in line with the Bible. I would recommend buying Strong's Systematic Theology instead.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Darlene Hominick
I was very excited to receive my copy of Christian Theology by Erickson. My first encounter with this Systematic Text was in 1989, when it was required reading for my seminary education. After having devoured its erudite contents with great delight, I lent it to another seminarian, and never saw hide not hair of it again! Imagine my delight to discover it at CBD for a fraction of the original price and thus, and to be able to return it my personal library. My advice to those who are considering purchasing "Christian Theology" is this; buy it, read it, enjoy it and (for goodness sake) don't lend it to anyone!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roderick Wooten
This book is very well written and is actually fun to read. I highly recommend it. (I am a beginning seminary student.)
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2007
Millard Erickson has given the church a wonderful look at the foundational beliefs of Christianity today.He is clear, interesting and interacts with other views in a humble and Christ-like manner. This was the very first book and theology I read years ago and still love it today.Great value for the money!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Leonard Castaneda
Profound yet understandable, Erickson's thought-provoking systematic theology is destined to be a classic and a staple textbook for many seminaries. I may have disagreements with some of his conclusions, but I cannot discount the fact that this is one well written and exhaustively reasearched treasure chest of evangelical theology.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2002
Customer Avatar
Ralph E. Molyneux
This is a very helpful treatise on the many subjects of systematic theology. However, the one over- riding weakness is how the author, while emphatically supporting his claims of inerrancy, undermines those same claims by dismissing Genesis as a literal creation narrative. In the course of discussion he even acknowledges the difficulties of his position in light of other passages of Scripture, which support a literal seven-day creative time period.The strong suit of this book is the treatment of Soteriology. He quickly links the issue of self-esteem with our position in Christ, making the treatment valuable and practical.His treatment of Calvinism and Armenians are very well done. His fair treatment of Armenians, even though his leanings are Calvinistic, are well done, and worth the price of the book.The lower rating of 4.0 reflects his disappointing treatment of creation.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Christian Theology, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2001
Customer Avatar
Eug
A solid evangelical Systematic Theology in the Baptist tradition. It is moderately Calvinistic and very up to date. Overall it is the best Systematic Theology in the "particular" Baptist tradition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.