Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nelson Books Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Nelson Books Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose

Inside My Heart is an autobiographical book written by Robin McGraw, wife of television talk show host Dr. Phil. As a featured guest at several Women of Faith® conferences, Robin shares with women how to put their faith in God while actively pursuing their dreams. She passionately wants women to know that they have choices in life and the decisions they make today will influence their lives tomorrow. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
3.062 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Review 1 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I have alot of respect for her.

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Orvilla Harris
Location:Philadelphia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a woman who has principles and stays true to them. The Lord used this book to solidify my resolve to hold onto my God desires and God dreams and settle for nothing less.
The blessing upon her life is apparent. She is blessed and her husband is blessed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it.

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karen Mottley
Location:Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is very refreshing to hear from someone in the public eye of something from their own life and real struggles and that they were able to break free from something that had the potential to take their life in the other direction. It was all her choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
marie
Location:kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have never laugh as hard in fact i hardly laugh i enjoy her writing and just bought another one of her books i know i will enjoy it also
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Shirley Tingley
I appreciated Robin's book because she wasn't trying to influence anyone to a certain religion - just showing women how and why she has chosen the paths she has taken in her own life and letting women know they have choices in life and need to make appropriate decisions. She isn't saying what worked for her is right for everyone. Get to know yourself, take stock of your strengths and weaknesses and make decisions that will make you a better person in the future. Reading the book was like listening to Robin on the Dr. Phil show. I feel like she is what she says she is and will never change. Thank you, Robin!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Betty Osborne
Good book about Robin McGraw and her life as a wife, mother and how making the right decisions in your life will impact the rest of your life! Good book for those who are looking for God's purpose in their life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
IrishGirlatHeart
My mom read Robin's book, then loaned it to me to read. I had a hard time putting it down. I have to disagree with many of the reviews on this book. It is an easy read and her personality shows. Though she does not refer to God and quote scripture as often as some would like, she writes of many Biblical principles. She writes much of her husband and children, obviously having a strong marriage and well reared and respectable sons. I didn't read arrogance and self promotion,as many of the reviews suggested, but rather I read a confident women trying to help other women gain the same confidence. I read of a woman (and husband) who have worked very hard at having a wonderful marriage and parents that worked hard to rear respectable men. In a time when marriages are falling apart faster than they have a chance to get started and kids are increasingly disrespectful and making bad choices, I find it refreshing to read of a solid marriage. I believe she gave great advise on having a successful marriage and rearing good kids. She has a very unique perspective on life, and has done well putting in writing how and why women need to make better choices. I strongly recommend this book to all women. Read with an open mind, and God can use it for His good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Theresa
Like some of the other reviewers I was disappointed. I felt the style of her writing was confusing and seemed to be more like her thinking aloud, rather than writing a memoir for public consumption. I also felt the book jumped around too much from chapter to chapter, topic to topic, therefore it was difficult to follow. I was surprised that she shared only small "nuggets" of faith, rather than in detail her relationship & struggles (or lack thereof) with God & her faith, something that she likely could have done with a Christian publisher. She is clearly a strong woman who loves her husband, but frankly I got tired of hearing about "him" (it was overkill in my opinion). I did appreciate her honesty and how she has overcome obstacles, in the end however it just felt very Pollyannaish around her dad, husband, and sons. It wasn't terrific, it wasn't great, it was just "there". I am glad I only borrowed the book...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Carole
I am shocked by the reviews I have read! These broad judgements show why many people think Christians are hypocrites. Instead of looking for a woman to "immulate" and judging Robin for not fitting your idea of a "Christian-enough" woman be like Christ for he was the only perfect person. I love this book-it is an easy read and appeals to ALL people. Open your minds a little!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
lerigh
Pretty bad, ego, money, expensive items for HER.....
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2007
Like other reviewers here, I was very disappointed that this book has been labeled as a "Christian" book. It is a mildly interesting account of a few events in the author's life and the only references to God are statements like, "I knew Phil was the man God wanted me to marry." and "I knew God meant for me to be a wife and mother." Robin appears to, indeed, be a great wife and mother with a passion and protectiveness concerning her husband and sons. But where is her passion for Christ? I expect a book like this to be about a woman who centers her life around Christ and the Bible. When you love the Lord with all your heart, then He is what you want to talk about and teach your children about! Robin's only reference to church was her family "enjoying hymns" at Christmas. She seems like a nice lady and I don't begrudge her family their fame and fortune. It just appears that they are too immersed in things of the world. I think this would have made a fine secular book. If readers have totally mistaken her, then maybe she can write a "do-over". Her writing style is a little disorganized and written in a "stream of consciousness" fashion. I think she would have benefited from an experienced co-author. I really don't know what the publisher was thinking with this one.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
While the book is well written and easy to read, I too was disppointed in its message. I bought it after hearing Robin speak at a Women of Faith conference, and was excited to hear her testimony. What I got instead was a lot about "I" and little about "Him". Seemed as if God was an after thought. And it wasn't just the lack of Scripture referenced. It just seemed to be another version of "I did it my way." I'm glad she has a testimony of salvation. I'm glad Dr. Phil professes Christ as well. I just wish I could see more of Him in their lives.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Angela
I'm in the process of reading this book and find it thought-provoking and inspiring.I am sad to see the judgement of this woman that has been pronounced here in these reviews. We should be able to see the truth and messages of God without having a Bible verse attached to each sentence. He is everywhere we go, if we would be just put down our preconceived views of how books "ought" to be written, and how people "ought" to communicate. Not every follower of Jesus Christ is going to talk about their faith in explicit enough ways to suit other Christians, but does that mean their faith is not VERY real and genuine? No, it means they choose to live out their faith in quiet confidence and spiritual beauty. What happened to accepting that people can love Jesus dearly and still not look or act the way "you" want them to. Isn't that for God to decide?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mrs. K.
What a huge DISAPPOINTMENT!Not a word of Scripture; not one mention of the name of Jesus (or any of His various names); nor of the Holy Spirit; nor of striving to live a godly life.Wow! She does mention a few times that she thinks sometimes about God, but even Satan does THAT, right?!I agree wholeheartedly with the other reviewers who were greatly disappointed....it got to be tiresome reading of her self-absorbed, childish ways of relating to the world. Still trying to figure out why a Christian publishing house would put this out. Must have just needed a fundraiser, and knew the name would sell.Makes me want to question everything Thomas Nelson publishes in the future, and stick to the Christian publishers who CAN be trusted. I'm gonna let them know, as well as Women of Faith's people.What were they thinking???!!!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
V.J.Yelk
If this doesn't have the word in it, pass it up. I know I would rather have something by Joyce Meyer, Paula White, Gloria Copeland, or Juanita Bynum-Weeks.Why because they walk the walk and talk the talk as well as don't have a show that helps people but doesn't give them the Word.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
Alicia Freese
Honestly, this book should have been subtitled; Choosing to Live With Fashion and Surplus. Robin McGraw has appeared daily on her husband's show since it began. Until she "wrote" this book she was never known to say a word about her faith. Instead her additions to the show were all about make-up tips and personal information such as the fact that she takes three hours for herself each day in the form of bubble baths and grooming rituals. I'm all for a little self pampering, but three hours?No. I don't think she is the type of woman we should be holding up as a Christian inspiration. I can look around my church and see a dozen others I would rather immulate.The information in this book about how she landed a rich husband (he was married when she met him) and how she stays organized (with maids and gardeners to help) just doesn't relate to the average woman's life.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sara
I could not wait to read this book, upon seeing her interview on Women of Faith and reading an excerpt. The beginning was great and interesting, funny...but as I read more and more, towards the end, I did NOT get a good feeling inside, like I was being "quickened", in that I did not feel a lot of her advice/actions were Godly. I saw a lot of bragging, name dropping, pride, and worldliness coming across and wondered about her relationship with the Lord, on a day to day basis. I had questions such as "Does she read God's word daily"? Her actions didn't come across to me as one who does. It appears to me Robin is very willful, and the bank incident was one example of how I felt she should not have lowered herself to the employee's level. I was disappointed, being as she is a member of Women of Faith. Now her son marries a Playboy Playmate! How does she brag on THAT ONE to Women of Faith guests!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.