Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1

Tyndale House The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1

In one shocking moment millions around the globe disappear. Those left behind face an uncertain future - especially four kids who now find themselves alone. As the kids search for help and for answers, they are told the truth behind the disappearances. But are they ready to believe it?

Based on the Left Behind series, Jerry B. Jenkins and Tim LaHaye present the Rapture and Tribulation through the eyes of four young friends--Judd, Vicki, Lionel, and Ryan. As the world falls in around them, they band together to find faith and fight the evil forces that threaten their lives. Recommended for ages 10 and up.

Average Customer Rating:
4.593 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Review 1 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:The Hot Dry Desert
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Great book! I've read the actual Left Behind series and wanted to preview this series for my kids before having them read it. The book recommendation is for ages 10-14, however, I really feel the recommendation should be for 13 and up. Some more mature issues are dealt with in the book that my 10 year olds wouldn't be ready for--drugs, alcohol, running away, stealing, etc. I really liked that four very different kids are featured in the book--3 boys and a girl (a liar, a skeptic, etc.) The story flowed quickly, the plot was great, and the gospel message is clear. Definitely recommend for the teenager in your life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
elinsmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I thought this got off to a slow start. My kids loved it though. They devoured the whole series. I would recommend it for teens, not young kids.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amazing Journey

Date:July 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Samantha
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left Behind is the bestselling series of 16 books by Jerry B. Jenkins and Tim LaHaye dealing with the end times, the Rapture, tribulation. What few do not know is there is also a series for teens and preteens, "The Kids" version. (I would not recommend this series for kids under 10, simply due to the intense nature of the series. There is nothing offensive, except obviously very-real violence.) This series of 40 books deal with exactly what the adult series did, except from the point of view of teenagers. Each book is about 150 pages, and each ending flows right into the next book with non-stop action.
---
Judd Thompson Jr. - The Runaway. Typical 16 year-old Judd is sick and tired of everything his mom asks him to do. The simplest tasks will set off a debate. After a credit card company mistakenly puts Judd Jr's name on Judd Sr.'s (Judd's father) credit card, Judd realizes he can spend thousands of dollars on this little card. Angry at his parents for bossing him around and for making him go to church, Judd runs away - both from his family, and symbolically, Jesus. As a child, he had never actually accepted Christ into his heart, but he had memorized tons of verses and stories. By himself on a plane to London (with Hattie and Rayford Steele from the adult Left Behind series), he begins smirking about how grown up he is and how "this will show them."
Vicki Byrne - The Rebel. 14 year old redhead Vicki was the rocker type - short clothes, leather, jewelry and heavy makeup, tough. Growing up in a trailer park, followed by the constant "trailer trash" stereotype - Vicki felt the need to be rough and tough. Two years ago, her party-parents had a drastic change in their lives - they accepted Christ - and she wanted nothing to do with it.
Lionel Washington - The Liar. 13 year old African-American Lionel is growing up in a rich part of town, causing ridicule from his cousins who claim he's "rich" and "white" now. Lionel loves his parents, but he, and his uncle, have a secret; despite the family church history, he and his uncle are not Christians. Lionel is in no way proud of his secret, and unlike Judd, feels horribly guilty.
Ryan Daley - The Skeptic. Best friend of Raymie Steele, 12 year old Ryan was my favorite character of Left Behind: The Kids series. (until Conrad came into view around book 12) He is the only one who had never grown up in a Christian household.
---
Then the Rapture happens. Reading the Rapture, specifically from the view of Judd, gives me chills. I could not imagine something so horrific as realizing you've been left behind - especially if you grew up in a strong Christian household, and every single person close to you was raptured. Judd, Vicki, and Lionel's whole family (and most of their friends) were raptured. Ryan's parents both die in the midst of the chaos.
There is really nothing more to the book than their pre-rapture lives, the Rapture, and the immediate aftermath, most of the action starts in future novels. Being a short book, I would HIGHLY recommend buying/loaning at least 5 books of the series at once.
The writing is nothing really unique (throughout the whole series), even a little too bland and simple, but I didn't really mind this due to the great storyline. Background plots (and characters) are from the adult Left Behind series, so it would be interesting for an adult and teen to read them simultaneously. (For a list of synopsis and their adult-book pairings, see the Left Behind website.)
I read all the books up until about 35-ish. My library didn't have 2 of the books, and this isn't really a series where you want to skip a book, although each book does catch you up with what previously happened. When I finally figured out how to transfer books, months had passed and my memory was fuzzy exactly which book I last read. Now, rereading The Vanishings makes me want to reread the series again and see how it ends! But, I won't be able to reread the series without reading the whole series again...so...
Warning: You will not be able to put them down.
ALSO: A remake of the adult Left Behind movies is coming out this year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Vanishings

Date:July 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Vanishings grabs the reader's attention right off. I thought it was a good book that could relate with teenagers. A good way to show them how they should live and become close to God before the end begins. 4 1/2 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Book!

Date:July 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the adult Left Behind series a few years ago and decided to read the kids series. I recognized and remembered a lot of the same characters from the adult series but the authors were able to put a different spin on so that the main characters were the kids. The story followed 4 different kids in the weeks/days/hours leading up to the Rapture and the chaos that happened immediately after.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From the back of the book: "In this new series based on the best selling book Left Behind, Jerry B. Jenkins and Tim LaHaye present the Rapture and Tribulation through the eyes of four young friends- Judd, Vicki, Lionel, and Ryan. As the world falls in around them, they band together to find faith and fight the evil forces that threaten their lives."
This was an interesting read. I have read the entire Left Behind series and was very interesting to see what this book was like. It was really neat to see how the authors were able to use the same story but have different perspectives. Some of the characters in this book interact with characters from the original Left Behind series. One boy is on the plane that Captain Rayford Steele pilots when people disappear, another is friends with Captain Steele's son, Raymie and so on. There are very intense situations in this book as it talks about the vanishings or disappearances and consequences such as one boy's parents die as a result. There is also talk of drinking and drugs as well. In my opinion, this book is for teens and up..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Vanishings

Date:June 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very interesting book. This book revolves around teenagers Judd, Ryan, Vicki and Lionel. The end times are coming and these teenagers are warned but do they listen? They are trying to find answers to their questions. This book was written for older children/young adults but I believe this would be a great book for even adults especially those curious about the end times. I would recommend this book to everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Vanishings is the first book in the Left Behind the Kids series based on the best selling book series Left Behind. We meet four different kids who all were exposed to the truth but rejected it for one reason or another. When the rapture happens most of them know exactly what it was and go searching for answers. They all end up at the same church that is prominent in the Left Behind series.
This is a great version of this series for your middle grade/high school age children. It was a good read and a great beginning to what I'm sure is an action packed series for children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not bad but contains bad theology

Date:June 7, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book (and really the series) is relatively well engaging (I never did read ALL 48 of the kids books, after awhile you just wanted them to be finished & stopped caring. I did read all 12 of the adult novels). The reason these aren't as good as the "originals" is because they're adapting the story, but instead of just abridging it for children they attempt to create a parallel & intersecting storyline (it only intersects on this side, though. No mention of these kids in the adult books). The result is acceptable. However, I have beef with it's theology. If you believe in pre-tribulation you will probably love this book. As that's not what I believe about the end times, I wish this book didn't espouse that view. If the book leads people to Jesus, though, I say it's a job well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
This review is fromThe Vanishings - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amazing Journey

Date:July 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Samantha
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left Behind is the bestselling series of 16 books by Jerry B. Jenkins and Tim LaHaye dealing with the end times, the Rapture, tribulation. What few do not know is there is also a series for teens and preteens, "The Kids" version. (I would not recommend this series for kids under 10, simply due to the intense nature of the series. There is nothing offensive, except obviously very-real violence.) This series of 40 books deal with exactly what the adult series did, except from the point of view of teenagers. Each book is about 150 pages, and each ending flows right into the next book with non-stop action.
---
Judd Thompson Jr. - The Runaway. Typical 16 year-old Judd is sick and tired of everything his mom asks him to do. The simplest tasks will set off a debate. After a credit card company mistakenly puts Judd Jr's name on Judd Sr.'s (Judd's father) credit card, Judd realizes he can spend thousands of dollars on this little card. Angry at his parents for bossing him around and for making him go to church, Judd runs away - both from his family, and symbolically, Jesus. As a child, he had never actually accepted Christ into his heart, but he had memorized tons of verses and stories. By himself on a plane to London (with Hattie and Rayford Steele from the adult Left Behind series), he begins smirking about how grown up he is and how "this will show them."
Vicki Byrne - The Rebel. 14 year old redhead Vicki was the rocker type - short clothes, leather, jewelry and heavy makeup, tough. Growing up in a trailer park, followed by the constant "trailer trash" stereotype - Vicki felt the need to be rough and tough. Two years ago, her party-parents had a drastic change in their lives - they accepted Christ - and she wanted nothing to do with it.
Lionel Washington - The Liar. 13 year old African-American Lionel is growing up in a rich part of town, causing ridicule from his cousins who claim he's "rich" and "white" now. Lionel loves his parents, but he, and his uncle, have a secret; despite the family church history, he and his uncle are not Christians. Lionel is in no way proud of his secret, and unlike Judd, feels horribly guilty.
Ryan Daley - The Skeptic. Best friend of Raymie Steele, 12 year old Ryan was my favorite character of Left Behind: The Kids series. (until Conrad came into view around book 12) He is the only one who had never grown up in a Christian household.
---
Then the Rapture happens. Reading the Rapture, specifically from the view of Judd, gives me chills. I could not imagine something so horrific as realizing you've been left behind - especially if you grew up in a strong Christian household, and every single person close to you was raptured. Judd, Vicki, and Lionel's whole family (and most of their friends) were raptured. Ryan's parents both die in the midst of the chaos.
There is really nothing more to this book than their pre-rapture lives, the Rapture, and the immediate aftermath, most of the action starts in future novels. Being a short book, I would HIGHLY recommend buying/loaning at least 5 books of the series at once.
The writing is nothing really unique (throughout the whole series), even a little too bland and simple, but I didn't really mind this. Background plots (and characters) are from the adult Left Behind series, so it would be interesting for an adult and teen to read them simultaneously. (For a list of synopsis and their adult-book pairings, see the Left Behind website.)
I read all the books up until about 35-ish. My library didn't have 2 of the books, and this isn't really a series where you want to skip a book, although each book does catch you up with what previously happened. When I finally figured out how to transfer books, months had passed and my memory was fuzzy exactly which book I last read. Now, rereading The Vanishings makes me want to reread the series again and see how it ends! But, I won't be able to reread the series without reading the whole series again...so...
Warning: You will not be able to put them down.
ALSO: A remake of the adult Left Behind movies is coming out this year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
This review is fromThe Vanishings - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book

Date:July 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Annie732009
Location:SE Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was another great book by Jerry B. Jenkins! If you have had the chance to read any of the Left Behind books this book brings some of those characters back and I loved it! This is a short book which is great for young readers and its not scary or if you are not big on reading this is a great book for you. I will be looking forwarded to reading the rest of the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
This review is fromThe Vanishings - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, Exciting

Date:June 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So well-written! This is a compelling series; it is so realistic and chilling. It spurs us to make sure we are right with God. The book ties in with the original Left Behind series, but stands on its own. The descriptions of the characters and action pull me right into the story. This is a short, easy to read YA book. Even for me, not so young, it grabs the interest. Be aware, there are cliffhangers at the end of each book to get us to read the next one in the series. It works for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sierra Holt
The best part about his book was that it ties into the other left behind series. That made my day. I am currently reading the Left Behind for kids to my daughters. They love to be read to and here the story with refrences to the Bible and scripture. I would recommend this series to all parents. Plus my 9 yr old loves to read it to me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jordan
I have read the whole series twice. I have read hundreds of books and hardly any of them compare to this series. This is my favorite series. It gets intense during the end, and might be to scary for younger readers.(It is the End Times) Other than that, I would recomend that all teens read this series.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brandi
I'm 14 years old, and this was a great book! I'm getting the second book right now. Any teen, or adult, will love this book period!:D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Isaac Schaszberger
You know, they say this series is for kids 10-14... well older teens will love this series for what it is too! I really love the series myself; It's the best series of any books I've ever read -and I've read quite a few books. I highly recommend these books, they have a little bit of everything in them for both teen guys and girls.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Patrick
These books have really changed my life I find myself often praying to God which I never used to do before I read these books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mike Hunt
Wow these books really blew me away. To think that any parent could be mentally challenged enough to actually let this warp their kids childhood is beyond me. Obviously I highly recomend this book.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sophie Galea
I love the series. I was very dissapointed to finish the series. Before I started I hated reading, I have read the whole series in 4 weeks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Vanishings, Left Behind: The Kids #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
Samantha
I love these books! This is the only series that has keep me reading so far(even if I am only on the third book). I definitely recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>