Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Eve's Daughters

Bethany House Eve's Daughters

One bad decision can plague a family for generations. Emma Bauer realizes that now as she watches her granddaughter's marriage unravel. If she had only told the truth about her own troubled marriage, maybe she could have prevented her granddaughter's heartache. Is it too late to break the legacy of wrong choices and embrace God's forgiveness? 448 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Eve's Daughters
Review 1 for Eve's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Novinger
Excellent book. So good, I ordered more of Lynn Austin's books. I think I found another great author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eve's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Ketchum
I loved this book, almost called in to work to finish it, it was very down to earth and a very real story plot
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eve's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura
First book of Lynn Austin's I had ever read;went on to read A Woman's Place andAll She Ever Wanted. Love them all-but Eve's Daughters is my fav. I love the showing of how our God forgives. I have ancestors who had the conflict of the different "Faiths" Prodestant and Catholic; this book helped me understand the history of the conflict. Will recomand this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eve's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Lehmann
Excellent. Have passed this one on to friends at church and also non-christian family. It is amazing how bad decisions can hurt future generations, and how secrets are not as bad in the light.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eve's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura
Beautiful story about the love and forgiveness of our savior. It made me want to cry as I read the last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eve's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rachel
This is a wonderful book in some ways. I love Ms. Austin's style of writing, how she takes you back to each character's story. The poor points of this book I will narrow down to two: the sense of liberalism/ anti-patriotism, and the poor development of some characters. First, the book teaches a wonderful, biblical lesson about the consequences of sin, and God's unconditional forgiveness. BUT that is a bird's eye view. At a worm's eye view this book has many qualities that are NOT biblical or patriotic! I mean, a pastor, dodging war drafts and piratically forcing his daughter to marry a non-Christian? And on the other hand, this pastor is a loving husband and a seemingly "good man" but the poor character consistency is confusing. All in all, this is a fine book, but not my favorite. I will still read more of Mrs. Austin's books, however.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eve's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Debbye Beverett
This is one of my favorite books. I love the author's ability to take the reader to each place and circumstance. It conveys, in a very realistic manner, the generational relationships between women, and how even in sinful imperfection, we are forgiven. It's refreshing to know that I'm not the only imperfect Christian!! Hidden Places is just as wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eve's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
Raedean
My favorite book to date. A story of four generations of woman and the effects the life lived before can have on the one(s) to follow. You do not need to be a God fearing woman to enjoy the insight and inspirations the stories of these women. A great book for any woman with a grandmother/mother/or sister. A page turner until the very end. Also recommended is Hidden Places by Lynn Austin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eve's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2005
Customer Avatar
Kathey
Lynn Austin has an intriguing style of writing and this book is no different -in style. The emphasis of this book is how one decision affects generations to come (The sins of the fathers go to the third and fourth generation) the effects of a long hidden sin are well written! The title Eve's Daughters refers to the curse that women have that your desire will be for you husband and he shall rule over you (Gen 3:16). This is the third title I have read by Lynn and something I have noticed is a subtle but strong undercurrent of feminism with a liberal flavor written into her stories. A fiction author has a little bit of a bully pulpit to convey their beliefs so we have to be careful what we pick (Guard our hearts). The two applauded heroine's in this book are those who rule their roosts in their homes, the one who is degraded and questioned about her decisions is quite satisfied in the mother/wife role until the two others berate her through the book. There is also a plot line in here that crosses Biblical lines. Without ruining the plot the verses are(1 Tim 3:1-7.) God wishes that are own families be well managed before we teach and lead others I wish the plot had gone in this direction it would have still made an interesting story. But the heroine's (anti-Biblical) decision is lauded as being unselfish and wise . . . instead it's just another poor (sinful) decision that God wouldn't have wanted.Instead read Austin's God's and Kings - it's excellent.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eve's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2001
Customer Avatar
Lisa Baehr
This was a wonderful book and easy to read. It really brings to light how generations are effected by the decisions we make, but also how, through forgiveness, we can "break the cycle".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eve's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2001
Customer Avatar
W. Mancuso
All the members of our book club at church without exception thought this book was wonderful. Everyone was able to relate to the characters. We connected easily with the lives of the women in the book. We highly recommend this book. You will want to share it with your friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eve's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2000
Customer Avatar
Kim Hosse
This book was one of the best I have ever read. It ministered to me about the mother/daughter and husband/wife relationship and how the Lord desires for them to be. It clearly shows Christ's redemption and forgiveness and how healing can occur in relationships when they are submitted to Christ. It is a book to be given to a friend, sister, mother, wife... anyone who is struggling with a relationship and needs encouragement and hope in this area. Thank you Lyn Austin for being willing to be used by God to help heal and restore hearts and relationships!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.