Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Hidden Places

Bethany House Hidden Places

Eliza Wyatt, a widowed mother of three, is desperately struggling to run the family orchard in the midst of the Great Depression. When a stranger arrives, offering to work for food, she thinks God has answered her prayers for help. Drawn to the man and the surprising discovery of the typewriter he carries in his sack, she secretly reads his story. Suspecting he is not who he claims, she is afraid to give him her heart. Will prove to be a sham or will he alter her future forever?
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hidden Places
Review 1 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
sbcourtgirl
Location:South Bend, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of the best books I have ever read! It was well written, informative and very entertaining. I have recommended it to all my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Even though the characters used some phrases that seemed a bit modern (such as Frank calling his wife a rude slang word for harlot that wasn't that commonly used before the 1960's), this is a nice mystery. A little clearer showing of Eliza's father, Henri, conveying his faith and petitioningthe LORD to help him give his daughter agood future would have added a nice finishing touch.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
nickname
I did not like this book at all I thought it took too long to get too the point, and I thought there was so much hate in the book that it over took everything else for me. I was so taken by her Chronicles of the Kings books and Reign of Fire, I guess I like the stuff that has the history in it, but those books were so good, that I am finding it hard to enjoy these others as much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Another wonderful book by Lynn Austin. It is a book that had me turning page after page not wanting to put it down. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Isabel Vasquez
I loved this book! Very comical at the right time and very sad when need be. It was a great story of letting go of the past and move forward with the Lord
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beth
This was an excellent book - I could not put it down! Lynn Austin is the best! It had a great plot! Incidentally, Hallmark did a movie of this but it did not do the book justice-did not exactly go by the book. The book was much better than the movie. This is in the top 10 of books I have read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gail Martin
Hidden Places Is a Great book,I love'ed ever page of it,I could'nt stop reading it.great story.Im so glad Eliza found love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lizzy Anne
Wow! I love this book and this author! Amazing plot line! It kept me wanting to read more! I can't wait to read more of Lynn's work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rachel
I think that this is a good book... My favorite part were the character's stories, definitely. I love how Mrs. Austin takes you to the character's past, it develops them so nicely!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Arlene Angel
excellent story but a little drawn out. Hard to put any of lynn austin's books down...very enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Celena
First I would like to say I love this book This is the first time I have read Lynn Austin's booksreally love this book because it always kept God in it. I Highly recommended! this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ariel Emmons
Hidden Places is such a good book. I actually chose to read it for a book report and loved it! I loved how it kept you guessing. Gabe was so mysterious, but I found myself hoping that he and Eliza would get together. All of the characters were amazing, And I love the way Lynn Austin kept God in the picture the whole time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lady Lisa
Hidden Places is a well written novel and very captivating. She has a good way of keeping the readers attention by keeping a mysterious side to the characters in this novel. Aunt Batty, in my opinion, was the best character. She was the heart and soul of the whole novel; without her the book would have been rather flat and scandalous since she was the one re-enkindling God's love to everyone! Also the Postivie enforcing of faith in God in this book is very uplifting despite the scandalous acts of the characters. Because of some of the characters actions, I would recommend this book to mature adults! God Bless!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
gwen
Iloved this book,and all it's charachers! I recommend it to anyone who wants a great read! I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
kathy
Wonderful story!! It will make you laugh and cry and wonder at our God's amazing redemptive love and limitless goodness!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2004
Customer Avatar
Sara
I could not put this book down! The drama is intense and real, and I absolutely fell in love with the characters. Lynn Austin has become one of my favorite authors. I also recommend her Refiners Fire series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2003
Customer Avatar
Alicia
This is an awesome read! Lynn Austin is one of my favorite authors. This is the third of her books I've read. And she just keeps getting better. Her characters are fully developed from the beginning to the end. Her stories make me laugh one minute and cry the next. I especially loved Aunt Batty in this novel. What a terrific character! I am looking forward to more books by this author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2002
Customer Avatar
Jessica
This is the only book I've read of hers, but I completely enjoyed it. I especially love the way she would go back into the lives of each person and tell about them. The story, for me at least, held an air of mystery. You never did know exactly who the characters were or what they were hiding until later in the book. The characters were so well brought out and so real. I would definitely recommend this!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2002
Customer Avatar
Jan Slager
This was my first Lynn Austin book.I loved it. Was hard to put down.Highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hidden Places
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2002
Customer Avatar
Rachael Deatherage
Wonderful book! I couldn't put it down! This is the first book by Lynn Austin that I had read and I can't wait to read some more! Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>