Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fox Faith Hangman's Curse, DVD

Fox Faith Hangman's Curse, DVD

Based on Frank Peretti's fiction book. Within the shadowed corridors of Rogers High School, something terrible has been unleashed. As fear escalates, a family of investigators goes undercover only to discover you cannot destroy what you cannot find. Nate and Sarah Springfield (David Keith and Mel Harris) and their two teenage children race to protect the student body from the mysterious forces around them and from their own prejudices. Rated PG-13. Approx. 106 minutes.

DVD Features:

  • Widescreen Anamorphic Format
  • Theatrical Trailer
  • 5.1 Dolby Surround
  • "Frank Peretti: From Page To Screen," Featurette
  • "The Spider Wrangler: The Spiders of Hangman's Curse," Featurette
  • English and Spanish Subtitles
  • Closed Captions
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Review 1 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
I would have to say that this was not at all like the book...I'm 14 and since I read the book I thought it would be fine,seeing as I was sure I'd know what would happen, but as usual the books are always better than the movies. There seemed to be a scary part to every scene. It was way different than the book though...in some good ways and in some bad. I would not recommend this to young children--because if they're like me they'd be scared to tears.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
If the teens in your house like horror stories, this is one to buy. Suspenseful, scary, and a lot of jumping. My youth class liked it and so did I.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
sandra word
We showed it to the youth group and they loved it. Later we got some feedback from adults that questioned the plot because they had one guy in our group that had tried to commit suicide. I thought it opened up a time of great dialog on this. But....I guess you have to be careful because there will always be someone that questions the materials you are presenting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marsha White
Even though I am not a teen I enjoyed the film. The creepiness didn't bother me-I like a little creepiness. This Christian plot can reach people who would be fans of dark scary stories. I also liked seeing Mr. Frank Peretti in the film. He was great in his part. Most importantly, it is possible to have good clean stories on film no matter what Hollywood tries to tells us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bethel Wesleyan Youth
I bought this movie to show to my youth group at church, and they absolutely loved it. It had the girls screaming, and the boys trying to solve the mystery. I would recommend this for any teenagers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Aryah
The acting was poor, the plot strained credulity, and, as a nit-picky aside, the makeup was really unnatural looking on just about everybody. Also the soundtrack was, in some places, simply not appropriate for what was going on onscreen.I'm only ticked off about this because it could have been such an awesome movie. The book was excellent; I think the intended message and even the suspenseful vehicle for that message were great originally. But they somehow got obscured by this low-quality production.I watched this movie with some Christian friends of mine. We all sat in the dark and jumped and got scared and laughed at the stupid parts. So it's not a waste of time. I just wouldn't recommend it to any of my friends who aren't already immersed in Christian entertainment or who aren't believers. *interesting note* I talked to some Gothic kids (the ones who dress like Ian Snyder in the movie) who were offended by his change of wardrobe at the end of the movie. Whereas Christian viewers might assume that Ian's transformation into a "prep" meant that he gave up Satanism and "saw the light", these kids thought that the Christians in the movie must have made him change- they wouldn't accept him as one of them unless he dressed like them. That's an unfortunate misinterpretation (caused probably by the ambiguity of that final scene); we aren't out to change people's clothes, but rather their hearts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
DeLacie
I was disappointed with this movie because it is not an accurate reproduction of the book. HOWEVER, for people looking for a good movie and who don't care much about the book, the movie was okay. I had a few problems with it. The girls in this movie are not always dressed appropiately (one of the goth girls has a rather unnerving amount of belly showing and Elisha's "dress code" is a little unacceptable). Also, there are some questionable parts in the movie that were not in the book and seem rather unecessary, like a part where a guy pretends to hit on another guy, and Blake's pining for Elisha. The movie does not develop characters nearly as well as the book does, so a lot of the secondary characters are alike, and some of them have excessive attitude. Elijah's character is pretty good, but Elisha doesn't really model a Christian girl at some parts. It's rated PG-13, but it could really be PG. All in all, the movie was only okay. It doesn't have a very strong message... the message in the book was much better. I would probably only show it to people who've read the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deborah Powers
An excellent movie. Very intense. so many times, movies stray from the book, not this one. It was great!! I'm taking it to the church for the teen youth leader to share with his teenagers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Donna
Great movie! My family really enjoyed it. Good acting and great message. Must see for all teenagers. I wish they would make a movie on his next book, Nightmare Academy! Also a good read! I have bought several of these DVD's for nephews and nieces!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jordan
It was OK. It strayed from the book alot. It is a very poor adaptation of an amazing book and a sub-par movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
Matt Yoder
It was a great movie. It's not for young kids, but I recommend it for everyone else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jim
Great movie, true to the story in the original novel and well acted. Handles well the complex subjects of bullying, revenge and the truth. This is a great movie for teens, but it is not suitable for young children. Love to see more movies of Frank Peretti's novels
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2005
Customer Avatar
Tara
I was happy with this movie. I thought the book was good too. There's a lot of references to God, even if they don't say his name straight out, there's a whole lot of going behind the scenes of what really happens at high schools. Sometimes, it was even pretty funny. It could've been PG if some people weren't as scared of certain things as they are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2004
Customer Avatar
Megan W.
I loved this one. I hope they make its sequel, Nightmare Academy someday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2004
Customer Avatar
Matthew McNutt
I was VERY disappointed. The movie opened with a teen hanging himself, which you saw. Then there is a couple more attempted suicides, lots of violence, tons of satanic stuff and rituals ... and basically no God whatsoever. The only reference was at the end of the movie when they said a prayer over their meal. I had bought it for my youth group, but was astounded with just how inappropriate it would ever be to show it to them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2004
Customer Avatar
Becky
GREAT MOVIE!! I wouldn't recommend it for young children---pretty scary at times. (I had my feet on my chair during parts of the movie!) But a well-made Christian movie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2004
Customer Avatar
greg
I'm 28, and I think that this is a very good movie. If you're looking for a preachy movie, this one is not for you. I did not give it a 5 because it doesn't speak about God as much as what I would have liked, but I'm sure it can speak to a lot of our young people in our youth groups. I'm looking foward to the next movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2004
Customer Avatar
~Nicole~
This is an AWESOME movie! It's kinda freaky, but it's still cool!The only letdown is Elisha's shirts aren't very modest at some points, but other than that,it really grabs your attention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hangman's Curse, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2004
Customer Avatar
Shana
This was great! I have always been a fan of Frank Peretti, and it's wonderful that a movie was finally made. This was very well produced, and the interviews were great. We also learn that Frank Peretti can not only write, but act as well. Excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.