Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2

Author Lauraine Snelling takes readers further forward in Ruby Torvald's story as Dove House becomes a well-known establishment. Ruby plays matchmaker between the lovely but hidden Pearl and the carpenter Soren, who longs to uncover the beauty in Pearl that seems to be damaged by a tragic childhood. Ruby's own heart is torn by loyalty to the major and a surprising new suitor. But when a disaster threatens their future, will these jewels of the prairie be forced to abandon their dreams for the security of the east?
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Review 1 for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

real good series

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
tinks
Location:new zealand
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series of book made a real good read it is a series i will read again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eleanor Nichols
I eally enjoyed reading this book. Our church has a library, and I had already read Ruby and Opal, but when I saw the other two books I just had to buy them myself. Lauraine Snelling is a great author and the storyline is very thrilling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lucy Colt
I loved the book and I am reading the 3rd book in the series. It is a sweet story and I had a hard time putting down to see how it ended. Just a note the carpenter's name is Carl!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Largen
I truly loved this story. I felt terrible for Pearl and her dealings with her father. I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
LouLou
I read Ruby and then started Pearl and loved this book. I am hooked on this series. I'm so happy I started reading them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kirsty Pearce
I love this book! I think that it is my favorite in this series so far. I love Cral, and i love his accent, hoe he always says "ja", and i love how Ruby and Rand slowly fall in love, and i think that it is so funny when Pearl's dad came to get her, what Carl and Rand do! And i love the taffy-pull, it sounds so fun. And i think that Pearl's dad is so commanding, and harsh. I love the end. Dakotah Treasures is an extremely interesting series. Lauraine Snelling is a very good writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stacy Seiber
This is a great book. The author does a wonderful job keeping you on your toes. It is warm and inspiring. Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Karyl Entner
What a wonderful twining of characters, places, and events! Although one does not have to read Ruby first because Snelling eases in necessary facts, this book would definitely make one go back and read it after reading Pearl. Since I was already somewhat familiar with the Bad Lands of South Dakota, the setting of 1882-84 was not only interesting, but well researched. If you are like me, and like to read the whole series, you will find that Pearl fits right in to the story and now I am looking forward with eager anticipation to Opal. The readers will already feel as if they know her and are ready for her to grow into womanhood.These books are for anyone ages 16-96. I predict that Pearl will long inspire modern teachers who have so much to be able to do with meager materials and surroundings and feel the joyous satisfaction of teaching reading,arithmetic and the values of home and friends.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2005
Customer Avatar
Ellie
This book wasn't what I thought it would be. It wasn't very exciting when Pearl's dad came, but the back cover made it sound like it would be a major event it the book. It wasn't. And it seemed like Lauraine Snelling wanted to hurry up and finish the book, so she rushed Ruby and Rand and Pearl and Carl into marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2004
Customer Avatar
Kim
This is a great book!! I read it in a matter of hours! I hope there is a book #3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2004
Customer Avatar
Robyn
I liked the first book, Ruby, but this book seemed to be just a continuation of the first book's characters and not enough development of the 'new' storyline of Pearl.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2004
Customer Avatar
Laura
Excellent book, I was so excited to read about Rand and Ruby! Their romance was wonderful. I couldnt put it down. Though, I must admit there were some strange parts: Why did Lauraine Snelling spell Milly M-I-l-l-y sometimes and M-i-l-l-i-e other times; Cimarron was the first to know about Ruby's attack (aside from Charlie) so why did Ruby tell her again and Cimarron was surprised;I was kind of disappointed with the romance of Carl and Pearl. There wasnt any depth to it and the wedding wasnt a nice surprise at the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pearl, Dakotah Treasures Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2004
Customer Avatar
lorene lavender
I really enjoyed this book. It had something for everyone to enjoy. We caught up on some old friends and made some new. While all the time feeling the Spirit of God at work.I read it in five hours, could't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.