Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1

Journey west to a land of adventure in the untamed Dakota territory! Ruby Torvald and her young sister, Opal, travel to the small mining town where their long-lost father went in search of his fortune. They've come to claim their inheritance. But instead of gold, they find a shocking bequest shrouded in scandal! 320 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
8 out of 1267%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
Review 1 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
This review is fromRuby - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved this book

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
quiltmama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I loved this book...it had real nice character development, as well as "life lessons learned by following God's word". Will probably get one of the sequels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
This review is fromRuby - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read!

Date:March 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
leslie
Location:Laurinburg, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this book, Ruby and Opal, were a great set of sister on so we could fi I wished the story would continue. I would reccommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
This review is fromRuby - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessed in Texas
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this book. Enjoyed reading. Ruby is an excellent Christian fiction book. I bought the other books in this series and all are excellent. Would give more stars if allowed. Don't miss this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Ending is terrible

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzy
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book resolves nothing at the end. You spend time meandering around different plots only to have them mean nothing in the end.
For example, Ruby remembers several times in the story that she has neglected reading her Bible and praying. I expected a return to her devotions and relationship with God by the end of the book. But....nothing.
She meets a man who loves her and she loves him. Much of the book develops their relationship. He leaves town, and I expected his return in the end, but...nothing.
This book was only slightly entertaining and a real let-down in the end. Don't waste your time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Doesn't seem finished...

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
tanderson
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not very believable and nothing is resolved by the end of the book. Very unsatisfying!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
This review is fromRuby - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Waste Time or Money

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
BettyD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
It's a shame there's no lower rating than one star. This is without a doubt the worst book this auther has ever written. I got it when it was free and that was too much. Story jumps around. Make almost no sense. Ending just ends. Nothing resolved. Don't waste your time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is a good read.

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bookworm2
Location:Melbourne, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book. I found it an easy book to read, with enough surprises to keep the pages turning.
The story is about two sisters that head out to the wild west to aid their dying father. He leaves them with an inheritance that is not to be envied.
Ruby learns through all the trails and tribulation that she need to share her burden with God. I loved the way that the author describe how the worry just crowded in her mind and how she then tend to second guess her decisions. I could relate, because I do the same thing so many times. Even though I know my need to spend time with God through prayer and the Word, I want to sort it out by myself and then the burden as in the case with Ruby becomes to heave to bear. We are reminded about what Jesus says; that His yoke is light. The choice is with us to take up His yoke or continue with our own burden.
The romance in the book is a bit scarce. There are hints of things to come, which is of course a perfect way to get me to buy the second book in the series.
I am glad that I read this book and I will keep my eyes open to more Lauraine Snelling books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
This review is fromRuby - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bringing light to the darkness!

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snelling has broached a topic that rarely gets touched regarding our country's developing West. I believe her main character, Ruby, is outstanding; she truly is an innocent who is unknowingly thrust into a pit of depravity but who rises from that experience to shine God's light into broken lives. She depicts a time when lost innocents are dragged into the pit of despair due to no fault of their own but due to circumstances out of their control. The supporting cast is also very believable with true wounds which yearn for healing. Ruby is that catalyst!
I sincerely hope there is a sequel as I must know what happens to these wonderful characters--how do they resolve their difficulties and their spiritual needs?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
This review is fromRuby - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book and easy read!

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had not read this author before but thought I would give it a try since it was free! Loved it!!!! I will be buying her books in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
This review is fromRuby - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love all Lauraine Snelling Books

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
mamaolson3
Location:Malta, MT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book. Loved it was a free ebook. Love this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
This review is fromRuby - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good premise, but drags and is too wordy

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary in Idaho
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lauraine Snelling is one of my favorite authors and Ruby has a very good premise; however, in my opinion, it was too slow moving and spent too much time on each scene and has too many insignificant incidents. I would not hesitate to buy another Lauraine Snelling book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
This review is fromRuby - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bernice
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well written, I
didn't want to put the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Mustoe
I enjoyed this "Dakota Treasures" series a lot. Lauraine Snelling is an incredible author. She brings to life all of the characters in her books, and a person never wants to quit reading, always anxious to see what's going to happen next.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Liana
This book was really good. It was kinda slow, not boring but sometimes the writing seemed to small and pages long i thought i would never finish it. but i did and i enjoyed it, especially the ending. I really wat to read the second to see what happens next. im glad there was some scripture during it too, so as to define the fact that there is godly content, not that its just classfied as godly. good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Largen
I loved this book. Ruby was so brave to leave a place that she loved to go to her father. The terrible things that she and her sister Opal walked into had me feeling for her. You must read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa
I had purchased this series for my Mom as a Christmas gift. She love the books so much she passed them back for me to read. Ruby was a great read, hard to put the book down. Get wait to get started on Pearl.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine
Beautifully written story of Ruby who travels from 19th century New York to Wild West. Beautifully written, clean, including Rubys attitude toward saloon girls.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
LouLou
I loved this book so much. I'm not much of a reader but I could not put this book down. I just finished Pearl and now on Opal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nora Grant
This is the first book I've read by Laurine Snelling. "Ruby" was so good that I was more than ready to read the next installment, "Pearl." I look forward to ordering more of Ms. Snelling's works in the future. Truly a 5-star rating!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ruby, Dakotah Treasure Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Geraldine Brickey
Wonderful book, I have read 9 of Ms. Shillings books, and have loved them all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>