Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Westminster John Knox Press The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Westminster John Knox Press The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations

Find just the right "quotable quote" to make your point---without any hassle! Packed with thousands of quotations alphabetically arranged by theme, this resource makes finding excerpts from Scripture and Christian historical figures extraordinarily easy. Features a helpful index of key words. A gold mine of inspiration for pastors, writers, and anybody who appreciates words! 560 pages, hardcover from Westminster John Knox.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations
Review 1 for The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Is that all???

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
MariekevZ
Location:Germany
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thick book about many different subjects, filled half with Bible texts and half with remarks of people about it.
For the Bible texts I already find my concordance much more helpful, so that did not add anything but weight.
It must have been a lot of work to collect so many remarks by so many people. To me they are usually of so little interest, that I put the book on the shelf in half an hour and it is still collecting dust there.
There are some deep and some witty insights worth sharing. But they are pretty rare in my opinion and too much other stuff to read through to reach them. So you would almost get the idea: is this everything Christians amounted to? There must be much more... somewhere...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I use this for school.

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
wendire1
Location:Chesaspeake, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book exceeded my expectations and has opened me up to new authors. Even if one is not in school it is a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peter
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An amazing resource of verses and quotations arranged by theme.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Job well done!

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bud Kent
Location:Fort Myers FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good content; helpful. Masterpiece of inspiration and for reference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
guy weale
Location:warwick, ny
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is everything that I thought that It would be and so much more. I honestly bought this book because of the price and had a few more dollars to spend for the same shipping rate. This isnt a book that jumped out at me but I am so happy that I got it. Having all these quotes devided by subject makes it so easy to look up whatever you need to help you through the circumstances of the day whatever they may be. I have developed a disability following an accident that I had a little over a year ago and found one quoate that has helped me alot " Don't judge God by suffering but suffering by the cross" Im in pain every day but on the days that Im in alot of pain it has caused me to really reflect on the sufferings that Jesus endured for me. You cant go wrong with this book, it is a great resource.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent reference book

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Bob
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book for use in preparing Bible study messages, and sermons. It is excellent and is a guide to spiritual growth of the readers and student of the Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suitable gift for people in ministry

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abigail
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a quality gift for couples in ministry. This book doubles as a reference for sermons as well as quick inspirational pick-me-ups any time of day. Also valueable when looking for thematic quips in teaching English-as-an-Additional Language (EAL) as it contains both Bible verses and quotes from respected individuals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great resource for Pastors or Christian speakers

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my minister. She said she was using some of the quotes in her very next sermon. There are beautiful words of wisdom in these pages. I'm getting one for myself because inspirational quotes are a great way to remind me of God's love and care throughout the day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent choice of quotations

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
sister
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Met my every expectation. I have wanted this book for a long time and finally was able to purchase it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chaplain Dan Brodek
THIS IS MY NEW FAVORITE BOOK OF QUOTES! Each section begins with appropriate Scriptures. Manser has done a superb job of selecting uplifting, positive, and insightful quotations to illustrate each category. The Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Good Works, Faithfulness, Gentleness, & Self-Control sectionsare an inspiration! Plus, there are 22 PAGES of verses and sayings about GOD! If you teach or preach, you will use this frequently!! {Has to be the best $5 I've spent this year!} Chaplain Dan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathy Fraley
Great resource to have on hand. I really enjoyed reading through this and thinking about the different authors and what they must have been going through to have had this insight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Westminster Collection of Christian Quotations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Curtis
Excellent resource for anyone who loves scripture study or who writes , even just occasionnaly. I'm sending my copy to my daughter who, not only, is a children's minister but a very gifted writer. I'm counting on seeing a published work and her name as author before I depart this world. But sending it only after I've gleaned the work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.