Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords Reunion: A Novel - eBook

FaithWords Reunion: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reunion: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Reunion: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromReunion: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
RanVon
Location:Tacoma, wa.
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great read, characters come to life. Hard to put the book down, recommend for those having trouble sleeping, it will make the time pass and before you know it, It's Morning! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Reunion: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromReunion: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mommo
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book kept my interest to the very end. It was a great story, by a great author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Reunion: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromReunion: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunshine
Location:Cherokee, IA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book to anyone, especially to teenagers. A real life story that could happen to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Reunion: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromReunion: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good portrayal of characters and their emotions

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SECRETS IN A CLOSE KNIT FAMILY
The Sorenson annual reunion is fast approaching, and this will be the first one since Dagmar, the family matriarch, has passed on. Daughter Keira and daughter-in-law Leah, best friends, are busy preparing for the reunion, as they continue to work through their grief. They search Dagmar’s over-cluttered home for pictures and also for missing birth certificates. What they find is a 50 year old secret that rocks Keira’s world. Before the friends have time to process that information, Leah’s beloved daughter, a strong believer and soon-to-be high school graduate, discovers she is pregnant, throwing her family’s emotions further into turmoil. Her pastor father ponders what to tell his church leadership, Keira searches for information that may have died with her mother, and everyone is troubled by the secrets. As the story progresses, Keira and Leah and the entire family discover that truth will bring healing.
Reunion is a story about people and secrets past and present. I enjoyed meeting the individual characters of this story. Their love for family was strong and heartwarming, and they demonstrated their love for Christ and others when a natural disaster hits a nearby town. As they individually responded to faith-shaking information, I found myself speculating as to how I would react were I in a similar position.
Lauraine Snelling is a talented storyteller, and this book is no exception. As usual, she accurately communicates real emotions. In a commentary after the story, Lauraine explains that she took information from her own background and wove it into a story, exploring the emotions and reactions of the people involved. Knowing that connection helped me to appreciation Reunion in a deeper way.
I received a free copy of this book from The B&B Media Group/The Barnabas Agency
in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Reunion: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromReunion: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good read about families.

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
hhteach
Location:KS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good story about family and meeting the needs of not only the immediate family but the extended family as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Reunion: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromReunion: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A moving, emotional read

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are in the mood for a moving, emotional read, then Reunion in the book for you! Lauraine Snelling deftly tackles some difficult issues in her latest book, issues like family secrets, an unexpected pregnancy, and feelings of betrayal, and she does so in a manner that keeps the pace of the story moving along. The characters are well-rounded and realistically portrayed, characters who have moments of selflessness worthy of admiration, but also moments where they are all too human and make mistakes. I especially liked the character of Kirsten, who handles her unwanted pregnancy exactly how many Christians do today, battling depression and a fierce desire to hide their secret, facing temptations to choose abortion, or treating the baby’s father with disrespect and even contempt. What I most love about all of the characters’ stories is the grace that shines in the moments of hardships, the way that they end up drawing around each other to offer love, though the road to getting there has a few bumps along with the way. My one critique of the story is that I felt the story was wrapped up a little too neatly and conveniently at the end, but I can’t deny that the conclusion is one that will leave readers closing the book with a smile on their face.
I strongly recommend this book, especially for readers who have enjoyed previous stories by Lauraine Snelling or other authors like Karen Kingsbury. Themes of forgiveness and grace make this a worthwhile read. I award this book 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Reunion: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromReunion: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Testimony of Unconditional Love & Forgivenes

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Loren McGhee
Location:OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reunion is such a wonderful and powerful book! I wish everyone could read this book! Lauraine delves into very real and very emotional issues.
Keira and Kirsten walk through some very difficult trials but neither one of them does it alone. With the unconditional love and support of family, they face the truth and consequences of their actions, as well as the actions of others. They learn that facing the "truth" is not always the easy thing to do BUT it is ALWAYS the BEST thing to do!
To me, when unconditional love is given, it provides a strength that allows me to face things that otherwise I wouldn't be able to. When that unconditional love is coupled with forgiveness... WOW! Love and Forgiveness are universal ~ Reunion is a great testimony for both!
Sarah Reck and HachetteBookGroup/Faith Words ~ Thank you sooo much for allowing me to read this complimentary book in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Reunion: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromReunion: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

outstanding book

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryJ
Location:Nashville, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book should be read by everyone. They would understand life much better while they are dealing with it. I learned a lot from the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Reunion: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromReunion: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

up to Lauraine's usual high standards

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marilynn Lindahl
Location:Orinda, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't-put-it-down story development right from the first page.
Strong characterization, realistic faith protrayal, poignant pain; brings resolution with a big sigh from me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Reunion: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromReunion: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Covers the dilemma of Teen Pregnancy biblically

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
crtsoccer13
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Summary of the book:
The Sorenson Family are planning a family reunion even though their mother Dagmar has just passed away from cancer and will not be there to join them. Dagmar's daughter Keira has been going through her mother's house with the help of her best friend (and brother's wife) Leah. Keira is searching for her birth certificate so she can get her passport for a trip to Norway that her husband surprised her with and Leah is looking for pictures to make a family memory book for all that will be attending the reunion.
When Keira stumbles upon her birth certificate, she is shocked to discover that under the "father" section it reads: "Unknown." Hoping that she is reading this wrong and not wanting to devastate her brother Marcus (Leah's husband), she keeps the information to herself until she can look into the matter more.
Meanwhile, Marcus (a pastor in the community) discovers that his teenage daughter is pregnant and tries to decide what to do about it: should he hide the information or resign from the ministry?
While plans for the reunion continue to take place, each member of the family seems to have a secret that they are keeping from the other members of the family and it will all come to a head at the reunion!
My review:
This book gave great insight into how devastating a teen pregnancy can be. There are many great thoughts throughout the book on what should or could be done with a Biblical view of life. I felt that this book did very well at detailing how it affected each person whether it was Kirstin (the girl who was pregnant), Jose (the father of the baby), Leah (her mom), Marcus (her dad) or Keira (her aunt). The book definitely kept the focus on what God's Word says about life even though it was not easy for any of them when "push came to shove".
This book does a fantastic job of showing how important unconditional love is in the believer's life. By showing unconditional love in your life, you get to emulate God's love for us as sinners! What a great picture!
I did enjoy this book even though it focused on some hard topics. The author did a good job of weaving the story so that you really did get involved in the characters lives and wanted them to do the right thing. I know there will be many people that find this book controversial, but for those that try to live according to the Bible I would think this book would only be encouraging!
I received this book for free from Faith Words in exchange for an honest review. I was under no obligation to give it a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.