Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords Stardust: A Novel - eBook

FaithWords Stardust: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stardust: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Stardust: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromStardust.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A lovely writing style

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One woman's journey towards moving on and forgiving.
Georgia Peyton is in the 1960's left who is left a widow by her cheating husband. Georgia then inherits motel, called Stardust, that need more than a few improvements . And she get more than a few interesting guests, for instance her mother-in-law and her dead husband's lover.
Will Georgia ever be able to forgive those who have wronged her?
It's been a long time since I've read a book told in a first person-second person, conversational tone, and I must say that it's something I really enjoy, and Ms. Stewart did it wonderfully.
I really enjoyed this book with it's many interesting characters, and the realistic way it dealt with how hard it is to forgive those who have cut you to the bone, especially when they aren't being very forgivable. I guess the only thing that I didn't like was how the story didn't seem to be progressing as quickly as I would have liked, but otherwise a great book.
Overall, a well written story, with a sweet romance, about a journey towards forgiveness.
I received this ebook from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stardust: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromStardust.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet, nostalgic, and deep

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An eclectic cast of characters, a setting as rich as any character, the fascinating historical backdrop of the polio epidemics in the early 1950s, and Carla Stewart's lyrical writing make Stardust a winner of a novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stardust: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromStardust.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Storyline and Characters

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carole
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Because others have written synopsis of the book I will only share that Stardust was sheer pleasure from the first page to the last. Character and plot developments were intriguing as details were released to bring us one step closer to understanding and knowledge of the events that transpire. My first read by this author, but it won't be my last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stardust: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromStardust.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I've Made A New Friend!

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Camille Eide
Location:Portland, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Reading this story makes me feel like I've made a new friend.
Georgia Peyton is a true southern gentlewoman; strong, yet open and kindhearted. She's gracious and generous, but not a pushover. What she gives, she does of her own choice. She quietly carries her hurts, longings, and betrayal, but remains loyal, regardless of whether or not it's deserved. The kindness she shows to her cheating dead husband's mother first comes from her instinctive sense of duty, but, as Georgia is challenged to dig deeper throughout this story, her care for Mary Frances comes from an untapped place in her core, borne out of compassion. I love this! I also admire the way her unconventional friendship with Ludi, the black woman from the bayou, begins so naturally. She slips it on like a favorite sweater, without regard to the constant censure of people in her life and community who can't see past color, fear, and bigotry.
Georgia is a woman who shows patience and respect for others even when she doesn't agree with them, yet she still has plenty of room to grow. Her life has been fraught with unanswered questions and memories that eat at her sense of security. In this story, when the polio epidemic moves in closer to home and fear escalates, Georgia must make difficult choices that affect those she loves. In the midst of fear, confusion, and the unknown, she must keep her head and consider what's best in the long run for others, and to follow through by faith.
Through forgiveness and surrender, she finds the love and peace she seeks, and I love that. Faith is ironic that way, best tested and strengthened when the outcome is unknown. An example of this is seen in one major test of Georgia's strength and grace: the challenge and opportunity to help her dead husband's mistress. Georgia's courage and willingness to go the extra mile for others--whether or not they deserve it--is a powerful example of Christ-like, sacrificial love you can put your trust in.
Besides my friend Georgia, what I loved about this story is its subtle complexity. While a smooth, easy read (Carla Stewart's soft southern voice is like a soothing song), its layers are rich with real characters, each with their own unique strengths and flaws, right down to the children, who charm us with their childish moods and true childlike wonder. While simply captivating and entertaining, this story gently touches on some weighty topics such as infidelity, addiction and prejudice with the same grace and compassion we quickly come to love it its heroine.
This is such a beautifully told and engaging story, but it's also a subtle but powerful lesson in hope, redemption, love, loyalty and grace that you won't soon forget.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stardust: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromStardust.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blessings Come In All Forms

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Secrets are sometimes hidden waiting to be surfaced as acceptance can lie close to the horizon.
Mayhaw Texas in 1952 is home to Georgia Peyton's family. Her husband O'Dell passes away suddenly leaving alot of unanswered questions about his current affairs. When a document is found by Georgia nestled amongst O'Dell's belongings another name is listed in the space where hers should be occupied. The choices she has for her and her daughters grow more narrow with little income coming in for support.
The Stardust, a haven of sought after cottages beckons it's guests among the Bayou.
When destiny presents itself in the form of a down on his luck drifter landing on the front steps of The Stardust with a guitar and a smile, decisions concerning Georgia's present and future must be made. For her sake and those of her family will acceptance of the past fill her or will bitterness hold her heart firmly?
I loved this southern novel complete with landscape, dialogue drawl and way of life. A very well written novel that stars comfortable and realistic characters who seem like old friends. The storyline held my interest and I found it hard to put down and at the end, most unforgetable. The author has a way of telling a story that the reader can easily relate to, maybe seeing themselves or others they know contained within the pages. I found the overall message to be inspiring and I was challenged in my faith. I will recommend this book to others. Thank you to FaithWords and Netgalley for the ARC for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stardust: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromStardust.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, Engaging, Interesting, Original

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When O’Dell Peyton’s body washes up in the East Texas bayou, his wife Georgia knows that her cheating husband really has gone for good. Left to raise two daughters with no source of income, Georgia is trying to find an alternative to moving in with Aunt Cora when she unexpectedly inherits the Stardust tourist cabins. Georgia eagerly takes on the project of restoring the Stardust to its former glory, propelled by her childhood memories. Room 5 of the Stardust was the last place Georgia saw her parents before they abandoned her, leaving her to be raised by Aunt Cora.
As the story progresses, we meet more characters from Mayhew (where Georgia lives) and Zion (the colored settlement on the other side of the bayou), and we see that “people, we’re all connected even when it doesn’t seem like we are”, just like the local legend of the cypress knees that connect the trees up and down the bayou.
Some authors feel the need to practically hit the reader over the head with their research. Stardust is obviously well researched and feels historically accurate, but I never felt that I was being preached at or lectured to. By halfway through I was thanking God for the medical advances over the last half century that mean I never have to worry about my children getting polio. The novel is also a fascinating insight into the lives and attitudes of Southerners towards 'colored' people in 1950's Texas.
Stardust is written in the first person from Georgia’s point of view, with a voice that is immediately engaging. This is lovely story, well-plotted and beautifully written story of secrets and forgiveness, set in the backdrop of the 1952 polio epidemic and the March of Dimes, a national charity dedicated to supporting polio victims and eradicating the dreaded disease. Reading Stardust was an unexpected pleasure. Recommended.
Thanks to Faithwords and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stardust: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromStardust.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!!!

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carla Stewart weaves heart and nostalgia into her stories. With an eclectic cast of characters, Stardust made me want to jump in the car and drive to Mayhaw, Texas, just so I could check into one of the cottages. Then I remembered Stardust is a novel. It's earned a spot on my Top Ten for 2012 list. Novel Rocket and I give it our highest recommendation. It's a 5-star must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stardust: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromStardust.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fast-paced, mesmerizing read

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stardust is an absolute treat to read, a book that plunges the depths of human emotions while maintaining a fast pace, a combination that makes for a mesmerizing read. Despite the fact that Georgia has to deal with betrayal and grief and loss, her zeal for life and her refusal to quit make for a highly enjoyable character. I must admit that I am always drawn to books where characters take a run-down home or property of some kind, sink all their effort into it to fix it up, and emerge as stronger and more comfortable in who they are as a person while having restored a home, or in this case a motel, to it's former glory. This process has always struck me as a beautiful metaphor for life and of God's ability to take us with our brokenness and create something new. Carla Stewart has taken that concept and added her own twist to it, and the result is an enticing read filled with quirky and likeable characters. I also enjoyed the plot line about polio and its impact on countless families in the 1950's, something that is heart-breaking to read about and that makes me ever so thankful we have a vaccine for that today! Overall, I appreciated how the author and the characters point back to God to sustain us in the midst of every trial we have, and Georgia's ability to forgive, despite the circumstances, is a fine example to us indeed.
I have never before had the pleasure of reading a book by this author, but I can absolutely promise you that this will not be the last. I highly recommend this read and award it 5 out of 5 stars, and encourage you to try this one for yourself - you'll be moved, entertained, and inspired, all at once!
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Faithwords, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stardust: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromStardust.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very thought filled book

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Breanna Parker
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stardust is set in the 1950's with Georgia Peyton. Georgia is a young mother with a husband who cheated on her, and has now shown up dead on the shores of Zion. With a start like that, wouldn't you want to continue to read about Georgia? This is her story of her past, present, and future. How she handles the ones she loves, and how she treats strangers as well.
I really enjoyed this book, the characters were complex and weren't picture perfect. They spoke their mind when needed, but showed control when their words could have been very damaging. Georgia Peyton was an amazing woman with genuine faith, even when she was struggling with the past of her husband's infidelity. She wasn't perfect and that made me like her even more. I hope you read Stardust, it was a very heart-felt, genuine, book of love, forgiveness, and trusting God in all situations.
*This book was provided to me by Hachette Book Group via netgalley for my honest opinion and I honestly did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stardust: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromStardust.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Stardust we travel back to the 1950’s.
Georgia’s husband has left her for another woman. After two months his body is found in the swamp. Now she’s a widow and she needs to take care of her two daughters alone.
Georgia was raised by an aunt. Her parents left her at the Stardust motel when she was 3 years old. Her aunt doesn’t want to tell her the reason why her parents left her there.
While growing up Georgia often found refuge in the Stardust. Paddy and Doreen ran the place and loved her like a daughter. When Paddy dies he leaves the Stardust to Georgia. Doreen tells her that the answer to her past is hidden in the Stardust.
Her aunt doubts that she can run the place as a stand-alone-mother. Besides it’s dangerous for a woman alone to run a highway motel.
Soon her mother-in-law comes to live in one of the cabins. Then a stranger –Peter- comes to the Stardust and asks for a job. Peter is helping Georgia with repairs. Georgia grows to like him and people start talking behind her back.
Then a pregnant woman and her young daughter come to the Stardust. The woman is sick and needs to go to the hospital. While she’s there Georgia takes care of the woman’s daughter. But then Georgia finds out who the woman is...
Can she forgive the woman for ruining her life?
And when she finds out the truth about her parents, can she forgive her aunt for keeping the truth from her?
Peter gets a phone call from a woman and needs to leave immediately. Is there another woman in his life, or will he come back for her?
Can Georgia let go of her hurtful past and focus on a new life with the people she loves in the Stardust?
Carla Stewart knows how to make you feel at home with her characters! A well written novel!
I’m looking forward to Carla’s next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.