Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Dangerous Mercy: A Novel - eBook

David C. Cook Dangerous Mercy: A Novel - eBook

Adele Woodmore has sold her estate and moved to Les Barbes, in order to be close to Zoe, Pierce, and little Grace. She befriends two men from a local halfway house after she hires them to do odd jobs, hoping to help them get back on their feet.But when three wealthy CEOs are drowned in the bathtub and their safes robbed, everyone in town is on edge. Adele's friends insist she should just stay away from the men at the halfway house. She doesn't. Eventually, her housekeeper quits, telling Adele that her association with those men is dangerous mercy, and that she can't be a part of it.

Adele is smart enough to do her homework. She hires a PI to find out whether there's anything in either man's background she should worry about. Neither has a record. And nothing in the report gives her pause except the inordinate number of tragedies both men have endured.So what is there to worry about?

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dangerous Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Dangerous Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Murder, Mystery, history and mercy plus more

Date:July 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best books I have read. It keeps you turning the pages. I read half of it on the first night.
Underground slave tunnels, murders, mercy, and more. It takes you a long way through the book before you even speculate who the Bathtub Killer is.
A peaceful town turned upside down by 5 murders. Sheriff trying to fit together the pieces of the puzzle. He finally has to call in FBI profiler.
Adele is so trusting and full of mercy. Her faith in God is put to the test.
I fund it helpful to read through the Cajun French glossary before starting. Then I did not have to refer back to it.
The Author writes in her note at end "Mercy is for the needy - not the worthy." We all are in need of mercy.
I highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dangerous Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Mystery

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dangerous Mercy
Kathy Herman
Book Summary: Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy. --Matthew 5:7 When eighty-five-year-old Adele Woodmore moves to Les Barbes to be near the Broussards--and her namesake, their daughter--she wants nothing more than a comfortable, quiet life. Employing men from Father Vince's halfway house for the homeless to do odd jobs and landscaping, she delights in the casual conversation she has with them, the fledgling friendships, and the idea that she is helping them get back on their feet. A series of murders in Les Barbes has cast a pall over the town and, in fact, one of Adele's handymen becomes a person of interest to the police. But Adele cares for these young men, she "knows" them, and continues to show them kindness in spite of her friends' concern. And then one day a murderer walks through Adele's defenses, sits down at her kitchen table ... and they begin to talk ...
Review: There are many good qualities in this book. They mystery was ongoing and not surprising overall with the resolution. I enjoyed reading about all the previous characters. That made so much of it worthwhile. I did find it slower to get into. Once it took off it was a quick read and I wanted to know how it was going to be resolved and that Adele was going to be OK. I thought the wrestling match Adele had with herself and others about forming relationships with the men from Haven House. That was a great part of the book and something very real when you are doing ministry. The only thing that was sad and true about ministry is that doing ministry alone is unfortunate because many times the people of God forget that we are to be partners in ministry privately and corporately. Overall it was a good read and was very realistic. The ending was remarkable and worth the wait.
I would like to thank Net Galley and David C. Cook for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dangerous Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intense Psychological Thriller

Date:August 30, 2012
Dangerous Mercy was just as good as I hoped it would be after reading the first book in the series. Adele was such a wonderful character. The author really wrote her feelings and emotions in such a way that you felt like she could be someone you knew in real life. Her compassion and graciousness really endeared her to me—although they got her in a ton of trouble! It was also a welcome change to read about an older main character. Of course, it was wonderful to reconnect with the Broussards and other characters from the first book and see where they were three years after False Pretenses. Don't get me wrong, though. This isn't just a sweet little book about friends and relationships. This is an intense psychological thriller. The suspense was well-written and fast-paced, and I was truly shocked to discover who was behind the crimes. I can't wait to read the final book in this trilogy! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from David C. Cook in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dangerous Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
cindy
Location:greensboro nc
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a great page turner i hated when i finished reading it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dangerous Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second book in the Secrets of Roux River Bayou series. I have to honest, it took me half way through the book before I warmed up to Adele who the story revolved around. I thought that the two opinions about trust between Adele and Isabelle was well done and thought provoking. Both were Christians, but one was cautious where the other jumped in with both feet trusting God. I thought it was great that both sides were represented. This book would be a good summer read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dangerous Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Read False Pretences First

Date:April 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dangerous Mercy is the second book in the Roux River Bayou trilogy, and begins around three years after the end of the first book (although this could have been made clearer). I would recommend reading the books in order, as there is a large cast of characters that can become confusing. It may also be worth rereading False Pretences before reading Dangerous Mercy—even though I had read it, it still took me a while to remind myself of who was who.
The story opens with the discovery of a murder victim, a businessman who has been found dead in his own bathtub. More disturbingly, “#1” has been written on the wall, -implying there will be more victims—and there are. As in the first book, False Pretence, Zoe B’s restaurant becomes the central area where all the community characters meet and discuss what is happening in their town, especially when one of the victims is more closely related to them.
Anyway, by two-thirds of the way through, I thought I had worked out who-dun-it. But the one character who actually knew all the vital information didn’t join the dots and make the connection. Of course, with a good murder mystery, the reader is never sure what is a clue and what is merely a red herring.
Dangerous Mercy finishes with a clear gospel message without being saccharine or preachy. I would have liked to have seen the members of the police department being extended more as characters in their own right, rather than as unwanted but necessary side players in a murder mystery. Overall, it was a good read, but was weaker than the first book in the trilogy.
Thanks to David C Cook and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dangerous Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cody
Location:New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice story with good characters and interesting plot and ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dangerous Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kathy Herman is Great Christian Writter

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just read Noval 1 and 2 and found them wonderful. I love Christian myserious. I plan to order more books Kathy Herman has written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dangerous Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rudy Lady
Location:Rudy, Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have both of these books and loved them. They were hard to put down. I can't wait for the next one in the series. I have a lot of Kathy Herman's books and I loved them all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dangerous Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

showing mercy can be very dangerous

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this novel, the second in the Secrets of the Roux River Bayou series, eighty-five year old Adele Woodmore has moved to Les Barbes. She is a wealthy woman and has downsized to a much smaller home, having lost her husband some years before. She routinely hires men from Father Vince's half-way house nearby to do maintenance and repairs.
Then a series of murders rock the small community. Someone is murdering CEOs of companies who have had to lay off employees during the recent recession. Then the CEO of a bank noted for its foreclosures is murdered.
One of the men from the half-way house comes under suspicion. Adele is convinced he is innocent, continuing to believe even when her housekeeper and companion quits, believing Adele to be too naive in the midst of such evil.
But Adele has a heart of compassion. She knows she is exercising “dangerous mercy,” helping those who are down and out. “Mercy is risky,” Adele says. “I guess that's what makes it mercy. There's always a chance someone will abuse it.” (254)
And abuse it someone does. The murder kidnaps Adele when it becomes clear the authorities are on to him. Yet Adele continues to have compassion for the man, sharing the gospel with him in the midst of her own pain. Will she be rescued before he murders her?
I like the way Herman writes, and this one did not disappoint. We learn who the murderer is about three quarters of the way through the novel so the last part is the tension of kidnapped Adele and the now reluctant murderer. This is a great story of trust, trusting humans and trusting God. Sometimes humans betray our trust, but God never does. It was through pain and deep hurt that Adele learned to trust God. Now she wants to share that with others God has put in her path.
Herman has added a great Afterword, reminding us that Adele never forgot God's mercy to her. She didn't hesitate to extend that mercy to those who needed it most. It was a dangerous mercy. How often, Herman asks, do we fail to extend God's mercy because of our own fear?
There is a discussion guide at the end of the book so this would make a fine choice for book groups. There would be much to discuss about trust, mercy, discernment, etc.
I received an egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.