Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook

Abingdon Press Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook

Is There Really a Fountain of Youth in Paradise?

Welcome back to Bright's Pond, where strange happenings are afoot at the Greenbrier Nursing Home.

The folks have suddenly grown younger, happier, and even a bit friskier thanks to Leon Fontaine, the newest Paradise Trailer Park resident. But Mildred Blessing is suspicious and sets out to investigate while the wedding to end all weddings is being planned. Only, in Bright's Pond, nothing ever really goes as planned . . .

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Review 1 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well worth the chuckle...

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SUMMARY:
The residents at the Greenbrier Nursing Home have been acting strangely. The residents are suddenly riding tricycles, finding themselves caught under the mistletoe and even needing the police to end a scuffle. Top it all off with a suspicious police woman named Mildred as well as an unusual Hawaiian Thanksgiving dinner…things are about to get crazy!!
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
Joyce Magin provides the reader with a light-hearted novel that is sure to put you in the Christmas spirit. Put out your stocking, deck the halls, sip your hot chocolate and hang the mistletoe because you will be ready for the Christmas season after reading this book! You will find yourself chuckling as you turn the pages of this novel…who couldn’t giggle when reading about the crazy residents that have found a little spunk around the Christmas Season! (Be sure to also check out the other books which are part of the Bright’s Pond series.)
MY RATING:
4 (out of 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of Blame it on the Mistletoe from Abingdon Press for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Holiday Read

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
S Dietze
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blame it on the Mistletoe is a fun read. Bright's Pond, Pennsylvania reminds me a bit of Cicely, Alaska in Northern Exposure: it boasts endearingly quirky residents, like narrator Griselda, the subject of gossip about her relationship with her flying instructor, Cliff, despite the fact that she's dating Zeb. Then there's Griselda's sister Agnes, who now lives in the Greenbrier Nursing Home, where strange things are afoot with the inhabitants. Little Mercy Lincoln might just need more from Griselda than books to borrow. Meantime, all of the goings-on might be too much for Mildred, the Police Chief. The sort of crazy holiday spirit running amok in Bright's Pond might give anyone a headache.
This is Book #4 in a series of Bright's Pond books by the author, Joyce Magnin, but it isn't necessary to have read the others to enjoy this one. I hadn't read them and managed just fine. This is truly a story about a community, with widespread ages among the characters. I love the sense of family at the heart of this town, which makes for an enjoyable read--appropriate for teens and grandmas alike.
Thanks to Abingdon for providing a copy for my review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Blame It On The Mistletoe

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britney Adams
Blame it on the Mistletoe is the fourth novel in Joyce Magnin’s Bright’s Pond series. In the small town of Bright’s Pond, the characters are a bit quirky and the situations sometimes bizarre!
Residents of the local nursing home seem to have found a source of rejuvenation and are acting years younger than their age, leaving those in the community to wonder who or what is responsible. With a mystery to solve, as well as an on-again, off-again love story, Blame it on the Mistletoe is full of surprises and lots of laughs! I enjoyed this delightful visit to Bright’s Pond and wonder what these characters will come up with next!
I have not read the other books in the series, so this was my first introduction to Bright’s Pond. While I didn’t really know the time setting of the novel or the history of the cast, I was able to read this book as a stand-alone novel. However, I would assume that reading the first three books would certainly add to the enjoyment of Blame it on the Mistletoe.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Abingdon Press. All thoughts expressed are my own and no monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Events Happening In Bright's Pond

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joyce Magnin in her new book, “Blame It On The Mistletoe” Book Four in the Bright’s Pond series published by Abingdon Press takes us into the life of Police Chief Mildred Blessing.
From the back cover: Just married
Is There Really a Fountain of Youth in Paradise?
Welcome back to Bright’s Pond, where strange happenings are afoot at the Greenbrier Nursing Home.
The folks have suddenly grown younger, happier, and even a bit friskier thanks to Leon Fontaine, the newest Paradise Trailer Park resident. But Mildred Blessing is suspicious and sets out to investigate while the wedding to end all weddings is being planned.
Only, in Bright’s Pond, nothing ever really goes as planned . . .
Welcome to Bright’s Pond. I did not read the first three books in this series, A mistake that I plan to correct quickly, however I was quickly drawn into the characters and did not feel that I was missing anything. Leon Fontaine, a new resident at the Paradise Trailer Park, has rebuilt the old fountain which leans a bit, similar to the way he does. Since then the residents of the Greenbrier Nursing Home are behaving in a younger manner. It’s either the water or drugs and Mildred Blessing, who is also new to Bright’s Pond’s and the one and only police officer which, of course, makes her the chief of police. Get ready for a Hawaiian Thanksgiving, a wedding and a Christmas Pageant like you have never seen before. There is a lot going on, all of it is fun and all of it is entertaining. You will find yourself laughing out loud as you enjoy the going on in this delightful little town. All of the characters are fun and Ms. Magnin has a way to really keep you interested in this story as you keep flipping pages wondering what will happen next.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really good Christmas Read

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK
Welcome back to Brights Pond and the characters we love so well there. The Holiday’s will be different for Griselda this year since Agnes is in an assistant living place. Agnes seems to adjust well at the Greenbriar Nursing home except for one thing, and that is, something strange is going on around there. The patients seem to act younger all of a sudden. Like one of the older, and smaller ladies riding around on a tricycle? What on earth is happening there? Well, like me, you will need to read this book to find out all about it. And in reading Blame it on the Mistletoe, you will laugh and sometimes cry as these characters live out their story.
This is a really great read, and I thoroughly enjoyed Griselda and all of her family and friends as she changes her traditions this Christmas. And is love in the air for Griselda? Seems she is still uncertain who will be the guy for her, her old time faithful friend she has know for so long, or newcomer air plane pilot that is giving Griselda flying lessons? So many questions, and they are all answered in this wonderful, fun, funny, and exciting Christmas story. I really want to encourage you to enjoy Blame it on the Mistletoe, and while you are at it, check out the other books in the Brights Pond series.
I received this book from the publisher Abingdon Press to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great way to spend time relaxing with a fire!

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The elderly residents of Greenbrier's Nursing Home are simply up to no good! No good in the eyes of the residents of Bright Pond that is. Now that Hattie Grace who is almost ninety years old is now riding a tricyle like a three year old, and another couple is kissing like teenagers under the newly built gazebo on the property. Just what is really going on?
As Police Chief Mildred Blessing attempts to investigate all the angles on this strange dilemma, along with the nursing home doctor, they believe that someone is putting something in the food or water that the nursing home residents are drinking. Ever since Leon Fontaine has come to town and begin building things around Bright Pond, the residents here, are now acting a whole lot stranger than normal.
In the novel, Blame It On Mistletoe by Joyce Magnin, the reader is introduced to some of the quirky residents living in Bright Pond. From a beloved woman named Ruth who is prepared to out do all the previous Thanksgiving festivities that have been hosted at others homes, by offering a Thanksgiving Tropical Luau and making it definitely one that will be talked about for years to come.
Griselda is at her wit's end trying to decide if she is in love with Zeb, the diner's chief cook extraordinaire or her new aviation teacher, Cliff. Now if only she could discover what love really means while both are doing their very best to try and impress her.
I received Blame It On Mistletoe by Joyce Magnin compliments Abingdon Press for my honest review and did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review. The opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. This novel is just perfect for not just Christmas but anytime. You can't help but fall in love with the amusing characters of Joyce Magnin's Bright Pond series, and this one is no exception! I rate this one a classical 5 out of 5 Christmas stars! This is the fourth book in the Bright Pond Series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really cute Christmas novel!

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you'd like a little humor and romance with your Christmas novels, this one could be just your cup of wassail (non-alcoholic, of course). I certainly enjoyed it.
Odd things are afoot at the Greenbrier Nursing Home. Old folks have begun acting like youngsters. Ol' Haddie's been peddling a trike around the halls at top speed, and Faith and Clyde (equally old) have been smooching on the gazebo. Speaking of which, the gazebo is a little off kilter too.
Sort of like the odd little man who built it. Leon Fontaine rebuilt the old fountain at the Paradise Trailer Court too, and the fountain also leaned a bit. It seemed to be his trademark.
Somehow, folks were getting the notion that the water had youthful qualities. Some think that odd little man is providing drugs to the Nursing Home. Griselda has her hands full trying to help Chief of Police Mildred find the elusive Mr. Fontaine, deciding whether she loved Zeb or Cliff, taste-testing Ruth's exotic Thanksgiving dishes, and lining up someone to play Mary in the Christmas Pageant. Oh--and trying to pacify her sister Agnes who can't come to either the Thanksgiving dinner or the Christmas pageant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There are three other novels in the Bright’s Pond Series and the titles are: The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow, Griselda Takes Flight and Charlotte Figg Takes Over Paradise. The characters introduced in the first three novels continue in this fourth novel, Blame it on the Mistletoe. Griselda is a middle-aged, single woman who has lived in the same small town all her life and even still resides in the same house she grew up in. Come to think of it, Griselda’s life rarely has changed. Now, with her on-again, off-again high school sweetheart, Griselda feels unsure of marriage to Zeb because she has finally had time to herself instead of caring for her sister Agnes or someone else in the town.
With Christmas right around the corner, Zeb, after a wonderful Thanksgiving celebration with friends that Griselda helped make, pops the question to her again. This time the answer is “yes”! However, her flight instructor is after her affections as well, which really throws the future bride’s emotions in a loop. Throughout the novel, the reader will be enticed to read more as a mysterious little man is in the area affecting a change in the hearts and lives of the townsfolk, especially those residing in a nursing home.
Joyce Magnin writes a novel that really is unique in nature as it has mystery, a plethora of characters and an ending that will be a surprise and delight to the audience. The wonderful characteristic feel to this novel for me was the quirky personalities attached to the various residents of the Bright’s Pond community. These make-believe people are the “normal” kind of people one reads in a work of fiction, but definitely can be people that are real.
I loved how Griselda was created as someone who took on the cares of those around her and loved caring for them. Zeb owns the town café and is the sole master chef and owner of the diner. Rosie, who is a widowed woman, talented seamstress and is one who often speaks before thinking, but she is treasured by many of her neighbors. Many others in the book have one special quality that reminds me of most small towns and that is when a need is known most usually pitch in to help. Of course, the down side is that everyone knows each other’s business whether it is something good or bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In book 4 of the Bright Pond series, Blame it on the mistletoe we find what many would say is the magic of Christmas, when the senior residents of Greenbrier nursing home feeling and acting like they are young again, climbing trees, riding bikes, and generally getting into all sorts of mischief. Town Sheriff Mildred Blessing has her hands full with not only all of that, but when rumors of the fountain of youth at the Paradise Trailer begin to circulate, all sorts trouble begins to pop up. Griselda Sparrow is still wavering back and forth between Cliff and Zeb & Ruth decides to have a un-traditional Thanksgiving that comes off in typical Bright Pond style. And of Christmas is never just Christmas!
I loved re-visiting with all the people of Paradise Trailer park. The book did lag a bit in the middle but not to the point where I had to skip any of it. All in all it was a good fun read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I Love Christmas any time of the year

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Blame It On The Mistletoe
Joyce Magnin
Book Summary: Is There Really a Fountain of Youth in Paradise? Welcome back to Bright's Pond, where strange happenings are afoot at the Greenbrier Nursing Home. Strange even for Bright's Pond. The residents suddenly act like kids again riding trikes, climbing trees, and of all things falling in love. Some of the townsfolk blame it on the crooked new gazebo, or its builder, a quirky little man who quotes Don Quixote, collects water from the fountain at the Paradise trailer park, and disappears on a regular basis. While Chief of Police Mildred Blessing investigates the mystery, Griselda and her friends deal with a luau Thanksgiving, preparations for the Christmas pageant, and maybe even an upcoming wedding. Only, in Bright 's Pond, nothing ever really goes as planned . . .
Review: Filled with loveable quirky characters that take on a life of their own throughout the story interwoven into that is characters from other books written by the author. This is a story about people who are given a second chance at life to do things and act without the adult perspective heightened self-awareness. It did take some time to get used to a book about older people. I did enjoy the realness of interaction between the two sisters and the giving of self in visiting people that are unable to get up and go on their own. While slow moving at the start it was worth wading through all the ‘getting to know you’ phase to dig into the mystery of why did all these people seem to be getting more youthful.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Abingdon Press for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only the Best

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
M. Pieper
Location:Mount Dora, FL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Somehow, Christmastime evokes the best and the worst. You receive that toy you’ve always wanted, but you also get the itchy wool sweater that ends up at the bottom of your dresser drawer. You look forward to Grandma’s famous gingerbread cookies, but Aunt Fannie’s prize macaroni-and-marshmallow salad? Not so much.
Here in Bright’s Pond, Christmas offers the best and worst as well. A Thanksgiving spent with friends—and a Hawaiian-themed feast. The Fountain of Youth—and nursing home residents cavorting like drunken kindergarteners. A long-awaited wedding—and the potential of broken hearts.
When it comes to the elements that make a great story, however, author Joyce Magnin offers up only the best. Once again, she draws readers in via her skillful presentation of awkward-but-endearing characters in situations that seem absurd and realistic all at once.
BLAME IT ON THE MISTLETOE pulls on some loose threads from earlier Bright’s Pond offerings (Will librarian Griselda get her pilot’s license? Can she choose between longtime beau Zeb and pilot Cliff, the new man in town?). But the twists, turns, and irregular bumps we’ve come to expect from this series find their way into this novel as well, along with an enduring message of love, faith, and the power of community.
Whether you're shopping for a Christmas gift or seeking sweet relief from the holiday madness. I highly recommend this engaging read. Buy the book. After all, you can always BLAME IT ON THE MISTLETOE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Adventure

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a delightful read, full of chuckles and good laughs! Agnes Sparrow is now in a nursing home, Greenbrier, and is loosing some weight. Griselda is now taking flying lessons, and doesn't know if she wants to live alone or marry Zeb.
There are such goings on! Enjoy the play on names throughout the book! Is it the Mistletoe or water from the Fountain of Youth?? Meet Leon Fountain, and all the youngins at the Nursing Home! Enjoy a wonderful Thanksgiving at Ruth's, her take on a tropical one!!
Poor Agnes, Ruth is going to make her a dress, and she is using 3 pieced patterns? Oh my, and you imagine the yards and yards of fabric!!
Experience the joy of the Christmas Pageant, with a real camel. Can't you just picture that!!
Once you pick this book up, your on a wonderful journey, immense yourself and enjoy!!
I received this book through Netgalley and the Publisher Abingdon Press, and was not required to give a positive review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Make Your Heart Happy

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Welcome back to Bright's Pond where the residents make even your strangest relatives seem normal.
What's going on at the Greenbriar Nursing home? Resident's riding trikes down the halls? Seniors making out in the gazebo? This is strange even by Bright's Pond standards. Who or what could be responsible? Is it the fault of the new gazeebo, or the strange elusive man who built it for the residents? Maybe it's drugs or something in the water. Police chief Mildred Blessing has her hands full trying to solve this one.
Meanwhile elsewhere in Bright's Pond folks must contend with a luau thanksgiving, a Christmas pageant with live camels and the on again off again romance between Griselda and Zeb. Do I hear wedding bells?
Though lighthearted, this book is no ball of fluff. It is well written and entertaining. It will leave you laughing, and feeling just a little bit better about your own life. The delightfuly quirky characters, like none you've ever imagined, are so real you'll feel like you've always known them.
As with the first three books in this series, this is a 5 star read. If you haven't read the others (The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow, Charlotte Figg Takes Over Paradise, and Griselda Takes Flight), you must do so. You'r life will be fuller from having read them.
I received this book from the publisher through NetGalley. All opinions rendered are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blame It on the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A gazebo is discovered and some of the residents at the Greenbrier Nursing home are regaining their youth, start doing odd things, like riding tricycles and dancing like they are teenagers, and other odd behaviors. The group sets out to find the truth.
To add variety to a typical fare Ruth plans a Tropical Thanksgiving. Go on soaring adventures with Matilda, listen in while the Yuletide committee discusses the upcoming Christmas agenda, meet new characters and stay in touch with familiar ones. This novel with capture your heart and make you smile! All the charm and entertainment for the upcoming holiday season done up Brights Pond style!
Although this is a part of a series it could easily stand on it's own. Very entertaining and a joy to read, I highly recommend this book. It challenged my faith as I kept turning the pages, quite hard to put down!
Thanks so much to Abingdon Press and Netgalley for my ARC for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.