Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Lethal Remedy - eBook

Abingdon Press Lethal Remedy - eBook

What happens when the race to stop a lethal bacteria becomes a race to stop a killer?

Dr. Sara Miles' teenage patient is on the brink of death from an overwhelming, highly resistant infection with Staph luciferus, known to doctors as "the killer." Only an experimental antibiotic, developed and administered by Sara's ex-husband can save the girl's life.

But potentially lethal effects from the drug send Sara and her colleague, Dr. Rip Pearson, on a hunt for hidden critical data that will let them reverse the effects before it's too late. What is the missing puzzle piece? And who is hiding it?

Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Review 1 for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m a big fan of Richard Mabry’s medical suspense books. This last offering in the Prescription for Trouble Series and it doesn’t disappoint. The story is set on the familiar Southwestern Medical Center campus in Texas as in prior books.
Sara Miles has a young teenage patient who will die if she doesn’t receive a new experimental drug. This drug is the only one that has been effective against a certain strain of bacteria. The only problem is her ex-husband is the doctor in charge of the experimental drug study and she must contact him to get the drug. They didn’t divorce on the friendliest terms after the death of their infant son. But Sara puts the interest of her patient first, as all doctors should, and makes the call. Her patient is admitted to the study, receives the drug and soon afterward is improving and eventually sent home. However, about a month later, the same teenager presents with paralysis. Soon it is discovered some of the other patients who had received the experimental drug also are beginning to present with a variety of serious health problems. Could these various ailments be related to this one experimental drug?
Sara and another infectious disease doctor, who works for her ex-husband, begin to try and find out what is going on with their patients. Soon two other doctors and a lawyer who practices medicine also join the search. At every turn, they meet a roadblock and are unable to find out any information. According to Sara’s ex-husband, Dr. Ingersoll, there are no adverse effects and his drug is 100% effective in curing this particular bacteria strain. The company sponsoring the drug also refuses to give out any information as the drug hasn’t met FDA approval and is experimental. Is there more going on at the drug company than they are willing to admit? Sara and her group’s questions arouse someone’s anger and attempts are made on some members of the group’s lives. How far will the group go before their fear causes them to stop searching? Can they find out what causes the drug to react so within certain peoples’ systems? Is Dr. Ingersoll involved in the cover-up?
As with all his stories, Richard Mabry draws his readers in from the get-go and never lets them go. The pages will turn quickly as readers speed toward the conclusion. There were some surprises and twists in the plot that kept me on my toes. This is a well-written, interesting and exciting series that I highly recommend. I’m looking forward to Richard’s next book due to be released in the fall of 2013. Don’t miss out on exciting afternoon of reading these intriguing and suspenseful stories!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the killers of today

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book 4 in the series touches on an issue that
the medical field faces today. We have super bugs
that our medicines will not kill. This is a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
mrsk
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an attention grabber right from the start. The characters kept you guessing as to who was really behind this cover up & their race to find how to fix it. I enjoyed this series immensely, however each book is a great stand alone product too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High-level Pharmaceutical Participants

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What happens when the race to stop a lethal bacteria becomes a race to stop a killer vaccine?
Dr. Richard Mabry’s book, Lethal Remedy, is a suspense that includes high-level managerial participants, with one anonymous snitch. A vaccine, Jandramyacin, is claimed to be the miracle cure for Staph luciferus, a world-wide epidemic that has killed hundreds around the world. This book has been my favorite so far based on the number of scenarios, the conflicting participants, and how quickly the circumstances change. It’s fast-paced and multi-leveled from the first page to the last.
Richard shows how money, greed, and status can become center stage instead of healing people, and that some people are willing to kill to get it all! Secrets, mysterious testing, and missing data are the impetus of distrust between some of the doctors and the pharmaceutical companies. As the international convention is convening, will the crucial missing methodology puzzle piece that creates the intensity of the lethal side effects data be exposed?
The story makes one wonder how much of this goes on today in the medical world. Can we trust the drug companies and their employees? How about our own doctor? Is he/she really looking out for our best interests, or are money, power and prestige driving the use of certain medications? Find out at the end what the author’s experience has been.
The gentle romance took some of the intensity off the situation, and I was surprised with the outcome of the relationships!
The faith of several of the characters made a huge impact on the end results. I was surprised with who was willing to put prayer to the test.
Special thanks to Julie Dowd (Abingdon Press) for sending me a review copy. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Thriller from Dr. Mabry

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lethal Remedy by Dr. Richard L. Mabry
Ok, so this new drug can cure a deadly staph infection, one even worse than MRSA, and it is perfectly safe, no side effects, just all good stuff? That should throw a red flag right there! Yet Jandra Pharmaceutical was using Dr. Ingersol to convince Doctors and patients that this experimental drug is the wonder drug of all times. But someone somewhere is not telling all, and Dr. Rip Pearson is determined to find some answers. As I was reading the book I had to wonder if things like this happen today. The way people are always trying to get ahead and make the big money, you have to wonder. Is it all about the patient or all about the money?
Being a huge fan of Dr. Mabry’s books, I was anxious to read this forth book in the Prescription for Trouble Series. Though Lethal Remedy was a lighter read than the other three books, I was still glued to the pages until the last word! Again, he created a cast of characters that were unique and played their part so well to make the book a fast-paced, easy read enjoyable thriller. Throughout the book was the big question of whodoneit. And Dr. Ingersol’s character was very well written but he was a jerk! It sure wouldn’t do for him to be my Doctor! And the way it all ended was interesting, and good old doc Ingersol wasn’t as great as he wanted people to believe he was. But you need to read the book to find out all about that! And I can’t leave out the way the author writes the faith of his characters into the story, not so it jumps out of the book at you, but so we can see Christ in the lives of the characters. I appreciate the way God is using Dr Mabry to spread the gospel to a group of people that may not hear it otherwise.
I’m glad Abingdon Press and Dr Mabry decided to add a fourth book to this series. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Lethal Remedy and highly recommend it to anyone who likes medical fiction, thrillers, mystery and just a good book to read!
I rec’d this book from the publisher Harvest House through F.I.R.S.T. WildCard Tours. I was not expected or required to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are mine only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Medical intrigue & drama

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Dr. Mabry did not disappoint this fan of medical intrigue!
A new drug that can cure a killer virus? With NO side effects? At least that's what the drug company wants us to believe. But, then folks get sick. There's a part of me that thinks this stuff might actually happen, it seems so real. Does Dr. Mabry know something we don't? :)
We get a good look at drug companies and the pressure that comes along with creating the drugs and getting them on the market. Kind of scary! Makes all sorts of questions come to mind but the most obvious is - Who can we trust? Ultimately...there's only One!
This is the 4th book in his Prescription for Trouble series. I always enjoy the way faith and trust in God is woven into these stories. You can read this one without having read the others but I highly recommend reading all of them, especially if you enjoy a good medical mystery along with intriguing characters and a little romance to sweeten the deal.
Special thanks to Julie Dowd (Abingdon Press) for sending me a review copy. I was not required to write a positive review. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting Medical Mystery

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great fast read! Keeps your attention right to the end...including the epilogue!
There is a new staph, deadlier than MRSA attacking the world, and Dr Sara Miles has a young teenage girl who has it. She knows the only way to get the drug that will give the girl her life back, is to go to her former husband Dr Jack Ingersol.
Dr Ingersol appears to be selling his soul to the devil in the name of the drug company Jandra Pharmaceutical. What a tangled web comes to light thoughout this book. You won't be able to put this book down, there are shootings, car crashes, explosions, and more. The company will stop at nothing to get the FDA approval.
When Dr John Ramsey decides to return to work after the death of his beloved wife, he gets stuck by a needle, and he gets the horrible deadly staph infection. His friends rally around him and the great minds and the power of prayer, set about to find a alternate drug to counter act the side effects of the wonder drug.
I highly recommend this Christian mystery, you won't regret it!
I received this book from the Publisher Abingdon Press, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lethal Remedy

Date:October 30, 2011
Shame on me! I've had the first two books in Richard Mabry's Prescription for Trouble series on my Nook for MONTHS now and just let them fall lower and lower on my "to be read" list. After reading Lethal Remedy, I can promise you that I will be reading them sooner rather than later.
Mabry crafts a story that intrigues from the very first chapter. The story primarily revolves around doctors who think they have discovered a new super-drug that will cure the worst disease since the black plague. When patients start showing up weeks later with terrible diseases, they realize that all is not as it seems.
Throughout the first half of the book, new characters are introduced in such a way that leaves you wondering if you should trust them or deem them the culprit. Even in the last few chapters, I was still not sure who was "good" and who was "bad" . . . which is exactly how I like it! Mabry also gives readers tons of medical details without getting so technical that it feels like you're reading a textbook. I've always been interested in health sciences, and this really fed my interest. The plot - while fictitious - was so realistic that I even wondered a time or two if this was based on a true story.
My only (very mild) complaint is that at times the story jumped ahead by a week or a couple of weeks. It would have helped me follow a little better if that had been noted with a timeline at the beginning of those sections (you know, "Six months later" . . . that kind of thing).
I've said before, and I'll say it again, that I absolutely love medical dramas, and this one was outstanding!
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good medical thriller, quick end

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sara had married Jack Ingersoll, another doctor. Jack could not take the death of their baby from SIDS. He seemed to blame Sara and a divorce soon followed.
But now Sara must still work with him at the hospital as he has the only hope for a young woman who has been infected with “the killer” virus, Staph luciferus. No antibiotic will touch it. Jack has developed a drug that has been promising so far. But Jack is under pressure from the pharmaceutical company developing his drug. They want perfect results as they need this drug to keep their company from going under.
It seems at first this drug is one hundred percent effective. Then patients begin to develop a variety of autoimmune diseases. Sara and others try to gain information on the drug but are stonewalled. Jack and the drug company will not acknowledge any problems with its use.
Then Dr. John Ramsey, mentor to many, is infected by the deadly virus when pricked by a needle not disposed of in the proper way. Sara and others are desperate to find an answer to possibly deadly side effects of the wonder drug before it is too late. To make matters worse, it seems as if someone is out to kill her.
Mabry mixes lots of medical information with the mystery aspect of this novel. At times I was almost overwhelmed with the medical terms. His novel does reveal the desperate nature of the world of drug development and promotion.
I was a little unhappy with the ending. There was lots of buildup through the novel but the end was quick and abrupt.
Nonetheless, I like Mabry's books. They are great medical thrillers and have characters who live out their Christianity well.
I received an egalley from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Always a page turner

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
dizzy finngers
Location:Saratoga Springs, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Doctor's books in this series are difficult to lay down.
However, there seems to be the same outline or formula in Book 4 of this series as in the former 3. A female nurse or doctor becomes embroiled in serious trouble where they work, and, primarily, males come to her rescue.
Nevertheless, I was "hooked" from page one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An enjoyable read!

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A "killer bug" resistant to known antibiotic treatments has been claiming the lives of numerous patients, until an experiential drug arises that has a 100% success rate of curing those who enroll in the trial. Though the creator of the drug and the pharmaceutical company set to produce it claim no known side effects of the drug, Dr. Sara Miles and her colleagues discover that the actual truth is being hidden. Their quest to discover the truth and determine who is hiding the evidence entangles them in a web of danger, making them fear for their lives, and the lives of their patients.
Mabry excels at creating medical drama, and his writing clearly reflects his expertise as a retired physician. Lethal Remedy was an enjoyable read, with a quick pace throughout that kept the pages turning. The excitement and intrigue in this story will definitely appeal to lovers of medical-based mysteries. I did find it interesting that in an afterword to the story, the author asks the readers to extend "the traditional suspension of disbelief that is the hallmark of some fiction". Prior to reading that statement, I was indeed questioning some aspects of the plot, whether a pharmaceutical company would truly take the actions that are depicted. I don't want to go into further details as I would hate to give any spoilers, but readers of this story will want to keep Mabry's request in mind. Overall, the actual writing was excellent, the dialogue well done, and the faith elements were handled well. Readers looking for a quick read and who enjoy medical drama should add this book to their planned reading list. 4 out of 5 stars.
This review is based on an electronic copy provided by the publisher via netgalley for the purpose of completing this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Medicine and Murder

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the last couple of years as my wife and I struggled with a variety of difficulties - job loss, health issues, family deaths, etc. In the midst of our lives we discovered a set of three questions would get us through those days when life seemed to be getting the best of us:
Who do you have to trust? God
What do you have to do? The best you can
What else do you have to do? Nothing
Lethal Remedy by Richard Mabry, MD, stresses the truth of these simple statements. As John deals with an unexpected health crisis, as Sara deals with the pain a divorce, as Mark deals with the death of his wife, these men and women are called together to fight a bigger crisis - the potential side effects of a new medication.
And in the midst of their growing concern stands the men who hold allegiance to Jandra Pharmaceuticals. Men who are capable of anything, even murder, to bring their new drug to market.
Lethal Remedy is a well written story by an accomplished writer - though this is the first book I have read by Richard Mabry, it will not be my last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lethal Remedy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lifesaving Medication Killing Patients

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Sara Miles doesn't really want to go to her self absorbed ex-husband, Dr. Jack Ingersoll for help, but if she doesn't young Chelsea will most likely die. He is in charge of the study for a medication trial of the only treatment for Staph luciferus, an infection that makes MRSA look like childs play.
Retired physician, Dr. John Ramsey comes back to medicine following the death of his wife. He is looking for meaning in his presently meaningless existence. What he finds is legal trouble for helping a dying woman, and who knows what kind of trouble from the prick of an improperly disposed of needle.
Dr. Rip Pearson is assisting Sara's ex in the medication trial. Actually he seems to be doing all the patient work since Dr. Ingersoll is only interested in the parts of the trial that will bring him success and fame.
When patients begin experiencing life threatening delayed reactions from the medication, neither Dr. Ingersoll or Jandra Pharmaceutical want to hear about it. Their medication has been fast-tracked for approval from the FDA and they plan on keeping it that way.
Soon Sara, John, Rip, and their colleague Mark are in a race to save not only the lives of their patients, but their own lives as well. Someone want's them to drop the investigation and they don't care who get's hurt in the process.
This is the fourth book in the Prescription for Trouble Series. Each of the books in this series are easily readable as stand alone novels. The book has a gripping plot and great layering of sub-plots. The characters have depth and by the end of the book the reader feels invested in their lives. The only part that takes a bit of processing is at the beginning when all the medical personnel and conditions are being introduced. Once the reader files all that information away, the book is very difficult to put down.
Dr. Mabry's novels get better with each new one he writes. I hope he continues to grace us with his stories for a long time to come. This book is worthy of 4.5 Stars.
I received this book for review from the publisher through the netGalley program. All opinions given are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.