Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook

God's purpose for young women is for her to be set apart by God's love for her and her love for Him. In Leslie Ludy's book, Set-Apart Femininity, she reveals how pursuing acceptance counters a woman's true purpose and encourages women to walk away from the world's fairy tale and toward the beauty and love God has for her. Trade paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Review 1 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Much-needed Book

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pepper
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book! Very timely - especially given the tenor of our society and the low expectations for our young women today.
1) Be prepared to be challenged to rise to a higher standard in your walk with Christ. This book greatly motivated and encouraged me (the chapter on fortification - with the information on persistent prayer - is especially good). The other five-star reviewers did a good job of explaining the content of the book :) in a nutshell.
2) If you have a young daughter (12-18), and you have been careful to shelter her from some of the things in our culture, I would recommend proof-reading the first chapter. It describes certain cultural things in detail that may ignite curiosity in a young woman's mind, that you may not want to expose her to just yet (hence only four stars). I think Leslie could have toned it down a bit, especially since it is written for younger women, though I do understand where she is coming from (our culture is very brazen in its 'liberating' exploitation of women).
Just a thought! But, I still highly recommend this book, and have purchased it as a gift for some friends of mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

true beauty shown!

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jennie
Location:Ripley, OH
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, this book has changed my life! Set Apart Femininity is truly a call to have a set apart LIFE for Christ... It is a call to live our Christian lives as they are meant to be lived. This book has blessed and convicted me, ending up with me in a much deeper relationship with Christ. All I can say is we need more couples like Eric and Leslie, and if you have a problem with their message (Christ's message) its only because you are lukewarm and the truth of Christ is convicting you. May the kingdom of God and the set-apart life be lifted up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!!!

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Etty
Location:Silver spring, Maryland
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly highly recommend this book to every girl out there! This book is not for lukewarm Christians, it exhorts us to dig deeper and deeper into Jesus and His Word... Leslie Ludy's writing style is flawless too...and she is an amazing woman with an awesome family! Set apart femininity is the kind of books that you will want your daughter or friend to read!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best books i have ever read

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Liana
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leslie and Eric are my favourite authors, and their message has had such an impact in my life! this book has challenged me in so many ways not to settle for less or live a selfish life, but to really be a christian in every essence. I didn't not find any flaws in this book and I thought that every point was backed up biblically. As a 15 year old girl, it can be discouraging amoung my friends to live to a higher standard but now I realise that is what Jesus has called me to and thanks to this book and Gods miraculous grace and strength i will be living to that standard!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alison
Buy it! Read it!! Believe it!!! Live it!!! It is what every young woman needs.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gwen Martin
Eric & Leslie are by far my fav authors! This book has made a tremendous impact on my life. Leslie obviously puts her heart into what she's sharing. And her passion for her Jesus is outstanding! Very inspiring, and life-altering. A must read for anyone who wants to grow in your walk with God!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
MLE
Eric & Leslie are some of the most theologically and Biblically sound authors speaking to young people today--calling them to be set apart for God and His purposes rather than conforming to the world around them. They not only tell them why they need to pursue holiness--they tell them how to do it!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aleisha
I am studying this book with some other christian young ladies, and we are really enjoying Leslie's advice on becoming set-apart. When I first started reading it I felt that the book was really inspiring and I just love this book!!! I hope anyone who is considering getting this book will go ahead and get it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jessie Napp
The Ludys are some of my favorite authors and this book did not disappoint! I was encouraged and challenged to pursue a deeper realtionship w/Christ and deal with areas that are not pleasing to Him. I do agree with a previous reviewer - Leslie's talk of her "singleness struggles" is a bit annoying. As an "older" single, I can say that our struggles are a bit different from those of high schoolers and college sophomores. To hear a woman who was married in her late teens or early twenties talk about singleness in such a way seems at best laughable, and at worst condescending and insensitive. That said, this is a great book that should be read by women, both married and single, as we strive for a deeper relationship with our Heavenly Prince.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Levi Smith
The purpose of this book is to encourage young people toward something better than the worlds standards. I recommend this book to both men and women because even though the examples are often specific to females, the message applies to men as well. I feel Leslies book complements Erics work in The Bravehearted Gospel very well. Leslie speaks from a womens perspective and focuses more on individual growth: pursuing God instead of men, devoting ones life to prayer, and living our Gods will even if no one ever notices while Eric makes a call for men to stand up and fight Gods battles everywhere. Taken together these two books will change your life, if you are willing to accept it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lydia
I almost feel as if you don't believe everything Leslie Ludy does regarding relationships, then she considers you a sinner and not walking in God's path. I believe in purity and a God-written love story. Leslie writes about her single years, but I don't think she really had a whole lot of those years considering she got married at age 18. It can get discouraging for women who are older and desire an earthly love story. I felt Leslie was condescending towards women who may wonder if marriage will ever happen in their lifetime. I love how Leslie writes about how God needs to be first in your life. That's the most important part of this book. I wish the focus was more on that.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary
It's a great book! And by far one of the Ludy's most radical. The book really revealed to me sin/idols that I had been struggling with and God's will for me. I hope you enjoy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ashley Elder
This book is a must read for any woman who is curious as to what God truly intended femininity to be. This book is inspiring as well as practical as to what are role as women is to be. I would recommend this book very highly it has forever altered my walk with the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Davina
This book is truly set apart from a plethora of so called 'Christian books'. It is about living life FULLY devoted to Christ in each area of life...no matter the cost. By reading this book I found myself delving more and more into the Bible and in prayer. It is hard to come across books in which sacrificing ourselves to Christ is the message. There are many examples of women giving their all for Christ in this book. It is not just an inspiring read; it is a life changing book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kelly
This is one of the BEST books I have read this year! It is a must one every girl's shelf! Though Authentic Beauty was amazing, Set Apart Femininity takes the message deeper as well as providing tools for practical living! This book will certainly challenge you and shape you into the person that Christ desires! Its real, its vulnerable and most of all practical! Thank you Leslie for such a powerful message!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nathan Johnson
Set Apart Femininity is just like what Leslie Ludy beckons young women to become: a lily among thorns. Even in todays Christian culture, few books touch the issue of dying to self in order to earnestly seek one single thing, a passionate love relationship with Jesus Himself. This book is a treasure and a beacon of light within the shallows of mediocrity and complacency. It shines forth the truth of the Gospel and the lifestyle Jesus calls us to. Leslie Ludy, with her poetic and stirring prose, blazingly calls young women to the indwelling life of Christ not what you can do or perform but what He can do in and through you! It is about a life completely given over to the King of kings and the Lord of lords; for Him to spill and spend your life as He chooses.As a man whose heart is set on Jesus, Set Apart Femininity captures the essence and beauty of what I deeply desire for my future wife to be. Yet this book was both inspiring and convicting to me personally as well. Though the book was written specifically to young women, men can glean a lot about the character of Christ and what we as believers (both male and female) are called to be. This book is an encouragement to stand in the face of culture, stand for purity and truth, and allow Christ to live His spotless life through us.Like a diamond hidden within the rocks, Set Apart Femininity is a priceless treasure in book form. You will not only want to read it more than once but will be compelled to share it with everyone you know. This is no doubt Leslie Ludys finest book to date, which I am highly recommending to everyone I know. Find the true treasure, not in yourself, but in Him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Naomi Feil
This book is one of the most amazing books ever written. The message in this book is exactly what every woman in this world must hear. Leslie has pinpointed exactly what is missing in our Christian walk and our desperate need to remove the idols from our lives and follow after Christ with our whole hearts! The church is in desperate need of Christians who are actually living out their faith by the power of the spirit. This book will help take you to the end of yourself and abandon everything to follow after Christ. I promise that this book will forever change you from a mediocre Christian to one that lives in victory and life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Set-Apart Femininity: God's Sacred Intent for Every Young Woman - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anna Chubb
I am giving Set Apart Femininity five stars. This is an absolutely amazing book! The message within it has the power to bring about revival among this generation of young women and to impact the world. I have not been so moved by a book's message in a long time. You can feel the power of Christ as you read it. It's an "uncomfortable" book. Don't read it if you want to continue to live a self-centered, self-exalting existence. If you are passionate about knowing Christ and leaving a lasting impact on this world, if you want to experience the kind of Christianity that heroic women of faith in the past like Amy Carmichael and Gladys Aylward lived out, this book is for you. Buy it ASAP and get as many copies as you can to give to friends!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.