Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Canon Press Loving the Little Years

Canon Press Loving the Little Years

Written by a mother of 5 children, all under the age of five, Loving the Little Years is a collection of thoughts, encouragement, and practical help for mothers of young children. Rachel Jankovic talks about addressing your child's "heart matters" instead of always playing the referee. On a day when you are discouraged, tired, or feeling like nothing works, this book will inspire and give witness to what it is to look like, feel like, and act like a mother walking with God. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Loving the Little Years
Review 1 for Loving the Little Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
melita
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the encouraging friend that every mother needs during the trial some years of motherhood..it truly is a breath of fresh air...I would recommend it to every young mother.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Loving the Little Years
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick, encouraging book

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
blessedmom
Location:Fairfield, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this book with a friend of 4 little ones who was in desperate need of some encouragement. I read it first ( very quick read ) and laughed and was encouraged myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Loving the Little Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best mom book out there for moms of many blessings

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
zoo mama
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you've ever felt like you're "going under," drowning under the flood of laundry, discipline, exhaustion, diapers, food, mess, and all the other stuff that comes with small kids, this little book is a lifesaver. I'm the mom of 5 blessings, ages 8 and under, and I've read a lot of parenting books by moms of 1 or 2 kids, moms whose kids are long out of the house, and other moms who have good advice, but lack credibility to me because they've not been "in the trenches" lately, or have not been in trenches quite as full as the one I'm in. Rachel LIVES in the trenches, just like I do. She knows. The chapters are really short, easy and engaging to read, but so full of perspective and truth, you can re-read the same chapter 5 times in a row and still learn from it. I'm buying a pile of copies for all the moms I know who seem a bit overwhelmed at times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Loving the Little Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must buy for moms with small children!!

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Whit
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a mom of 3 kids, 3 yrs old and under. This book was a great source of encouragement written by a mom in the trenches experiencing the good, the bad, and the smelly!! Most books I have found are written by folks who are remembering the fond times and wishing thier big kids were still small. This book is a must buy for mom's with small children...not to mention it is an easy read. You can read a chapter between feedings or nap times!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Loving the Little Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Encouragement for Moms of Little Ones

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suzy
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was absolutely wonderful! It is a collection of short, humorous essays about parenting little ones that was extremely encouraging with a biblical focus. If it were in my budget to buy one for all my mommy friends I would!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Loving the Little Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best book on being a Mom that I have read

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thankful Mom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I completely agree with the other 5 star reviews, especially the one that says this is the best book written for this season of life. I have 3 children under 6, and as the others have said, Jankovic, is encouraging and convicting. I read a chapter every morning after the Bible during my quiet time. Every day I am able to apply what she has written to how my kids are acting. I have read many parenting books, and this is by far the best. I will also be giving this book to friends. Thank you Rachel Jankovic for taking time out of your very busy days to share your insights and how God is speaking in your life with us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Loving the Little Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great encouragement!

Date:July 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
ChrisDS
Location:NoVA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book to be a great encouragement personally. The author challenges mothers of young children to get beyond the "herd" mentality and to see their children as individuals. There was so much in this book to challenge me to live out a life of faith by serving my children/family joyfully. Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Loving the Little Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The BEST Book I've Read on This Season of Life

Date:June 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gina
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have three sons, ranging in age from 1 to 7 years. I am not exaggerating when I say that this is the BEST book I have ever read on this season of life - that is mothering young children. Rachel really 'gets it' and shares her insights in such sincere, simple ways. In one perfectly brief chapter she will have me laughing, shaking my head, and taking a deep breath to process a heavy truth. I love that she manages to encourage and challenge me without ever leaving me feeling burdened or condemned. Clearly, I cannot say enough good about this book! I'm buying more to share with friends!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Loving the Little Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-read for all moms with more than one child.

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
momaftergodsheart
Location:Story City, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2-year-old twins (25 months) and an 8-month-old and was so encouraged by this book that a friend recommended and lent to me. I had to get a copy for myself. I laughed out loud, cried and laughed until I cried and was blown away by the simplicity and wisdom this book offered for me as a mom who wants to parent with the big picture in mind and not just get by. I wanted to love the little years as I can see they are so precious and will be gone before I know it. This book will admonish and encourage you to allow God to work in your own heart to bring healing and maturing as he allows the "ugly stuff" in you to come out as you parent. One great revelation for me I got from this book was that it's supposed to be hard and it's normal to struggle. It's how we grow up and grow closer to God!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.