Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Map: The Way of All Great Men

Thomas Nelson The Map: The Way of All Great Men

Fast-paced fiction for men! Murder, deception, and greed follow three men intent on uncovering a map hidden in the Gospel of Matthew---the greatest discovery since the Dead Sea Scrolls. Then, using the tale as a parable, Murrow helps you find the path to greatness by exploring Matthew's thoughts on submission, strength, and sacrifice. 224 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.206 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Review 1 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The path that needs to be taken

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buzz
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Map is a good read. I enjoyed the novel portion, which helps depict David’s premise. Then you get a clear and simple unfolding of what the ‘map’ is all about. I’ve worked in men’s ministry for more than two decades and have seen the shortcoming of the traditional approach to the ministry. David does an excellent job identifying the deep need for men to be ‘called’ to a mission bigger and harder than expected. For too long, men have been called to the easy and passive. Men long for the respect of being called for what’s difficult and do something significant. For years I’ve wondered if there is a path of spiritual maturation for men? Yes, and The Map lays it out in understandable terms (with visuals, the map!) It is simple enough that once understood, a guy can outline it to another man in three minutes and sketch it on the back of napkin, even if all he can draw are stick figures. The book offers all of this and some edgy idea’s regarding Sunday morning attendance and how to call men to get involved. I give it two thumbs up. You’ll need both, so you can think outside the box and then kick the sides out and lead a few brave men to go with you. Thanks David.
Buzz Huget Seattle, WA
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A thrilling read with real life application

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steph
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Map: The Way of All Great Men, though more intended for a male audience, was a very interesting read. This book was written by David Murrow who is also the author of the popular book, Why Men Hate Going to Church. At first I just thought this was some sort of book on a man's personal experience. Then the story started to feel a bit like the movie "National Treasure". Instead of looking for clues on the back of the Declaration of Independence though, the code for this "map" was hidden through out the book of Matthew in the Bible. It quickly became quite suspenseful and by the time I was done reading it I told my husband he needed to read it as well. At first he dragged his feet but then he could not put the book down and even ended up passing along to a friend. Once the thrilling story part of this book ends the "real life" message is discussed. This part of the book is definitely for the male readers. The author discuss the "path every great man - including Christ himself - has walked". This book really gives you a lot to think about and I also enjoyed the writing style of this author. If there is a guy on your Christmas list that you are still looking for a gift for, check out this book, he will thank you for it later.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a book needed by all Christians

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
inlovwitchrist
Location:Ontario
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
David Murrow's book The Map is a must read for every Christian man. It is a book where fiction and non-fiction are fused in to this seamless attention grabbing story. The story is in two parts, the first part is a fictional journey in which there is a fun spy story with lots of interesting parables that introduces the second half of the book. It is not a book that is age specific but can be enjoyed by both young and old. David Murrow in this book brings the Bible into a practical everyday understanding. It reveals a long-ignored life pattern found in the Gospel of Matthew, thus book can help you not only in walk of faith but in dealing with others as a leader, for men and women. I have enjoyed this book and would encourage everyone to go get a copy, if not for yourself the n for a friend or family member. Shalom, Maranatha.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eric
When I read that David Murrows new book was part fiction, I wasnt sure what to expect. I actually found myself trying to guess where the storyline would go next and at the same time trying to figure out if David was actually telling a story or relating something in his life. Although it became clear soon that it was a story, I found it entertaining and could see there was realism mixed in that kept the storyline from drifting off too far. It was clear that the three journeys were the central teaching point, but the storyline got me thinking about how it all fit together. My teenage son also enjoyed the storyline.When David starts the section on the three journeys, I was not totally convinced that there was a hidden map in the gospel of Matthew. I did find the way he uses three journeys to bring together the various qualities of Christ made a lot of sense. It really addresses a major issue in spiritual growth: change. Although men may like to settle into a groove, the reality is that a man following the leading of the Spirit must embrace the changes God has for his life. The three journeys go beyond a simple principle of change to give men the map of how the events of life have a purpose that are strategic. I totally agree that the first journey must involve submission to Gods plan and ways. Without that, a man will likely have problems in his journey of strength. The journey of strength that David proposes includes many issues rarely considered by men or considered ungodly. While submission continues, a man on the journey of strength gives a more complete reflection of Christ and thats huge. Instead of embracing the worlds retirement philosophy, a man who transitions to the journey of sacrifice finishes strong and continues to make a difference in those around him. I think this book is a fine combination of fiction and instruction that blends well and should catch and maintain the interest and attention of readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sam
As a 40 year old man who has been...back..in church now for 11 years, I found myself over the past 5 years wondering...is there more to this than just hugging and being friendly all the time? Chapter 20 sounds like I wrote it. I would bet that 99% of guys that read it will read Chapter 20 and feel the same way. This book has inspired me to become even more involved with the mens group at my church and to explore the scriptures even deeper than I'd thought. Let's just say, it's given me the direction I've been looking for for about 5 years! And isn't that what a map does best?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Josh Husted
Thinking this was going to be another one of those "How to be a man" books, I was pleasantly surprised to find the action/adventure storyline. The plot was easy to grasp and I found myself wondering what was going to happen next.I most enjoyed Murrow's ability to challenge my thinking through the story. Am I truly following Jesus? Do I take living in America for granted? Is there a hidden Message in Matthew? Read The Map and find out for yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alex J.
Top notch book! There is definitely a need for all men (lost or saved, young or old) to read this book. There currenlty is a "Men-assiance" going on in the culture, and there is need of one beginning in our churches as well. The "three journeys" was very informative and enlightning. I can see how my own spiritual journey falls in line with the journey/map concept!! This is a must read for both pastors and laymen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael
As I read the reviews before mine, I see the perspective of each reader, and I have my own as well. I am a not a pastor, nor have I attended any formal bible training. All of my knowledge about my faith, has come through bible studies and mentors throughout the years (I accepted Christ in my life a little over 10 years ago). When you read in Genesis, when God created, man was made in the 'wilderness'. He was formed of the clay, and the Lord breathed His spirit into man. Then man was moved to the Garden of Eden. There, man named the creatures and plants of the earth, and tended the garden. Then God said, it is not good for man to be alone. He created woman, of the man. To me the differences between men are women are about how/where we were created.To discover this three phase journey, or three journeys was a real eye opener for me. Any insights into the motivations of the authors of bible books, is always a good practice. I had not heard that the book of Matthew was broken into sections, nor that they corresponded with 'journeys'.I love the way that David Murrow has put together this book, the fictional intro is an excellent way to get the story across. If the story had just been presented in a matter-of-fact way that most books on the subject are, it may not be as popular, or as effective.I am part of the Men's Ministry Ledership Team at my church, and this book will be part of the recommended reading list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patrick Tyndall
My buddy and I meet for breakfast every Tuesday morning. We enjoy the fellowship, prayer, and also read a book and discuss it...one chapter per week. I read David Murrow's first book and it was a "game-changer" for me. Murrow hit the nail on exactly what I was thinking about men in our churches. With the first few chapters of The Map, I was skeptical. I don't read a lot of fiction, but if you hang in there by chapter 11 the book gets better. Interesting way to view the gospel of Matthew. Regardless of whether you really believe that Matthew was written this way, the point is well made that there are 3 distinct journeys in a man's life and that they need to be in the correct order. If nothing else, this book has generated some good discussion among for our Tuesday morning biscuit fellowships!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jan Broucinek
I love how Dave Murrow wrapped the first part of this book in a thriller type novel. He managed to pull me in by the eyeballs. The first time I started reading I couldn't put it down - literally. I looked up and realized that I'd been reading for about 2 hours, and it was now WAY past my bedtime. Mr. Murrow does an amazing job of painting a much clearer picture of why men in today's churches are so disengaged from the masculine heart that God placed within them. The author uses the metaphor of a map leading toward a destination at the top of a mountain - something most men relate to quite well. We are after-all visual in nature. The problem Mr. Murrow identified is that most men either don't know there is a path to authentic Biblical manhood, or they have stalled on the path in a place that has left them incomplete, ineffective, and certainly not compelling. No wonder they don't get asked, "Tell me about the hope that lies within you." I'm sharing this book with every Christian man that I know. Thank you David Murrow, well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brandee Holland
The Map, by David Murrow, is a great book for men everywhere. It reveals a long-ignored life pattern found in the Gospel of Matthew. The first half of the book is a fictional journey in which the author spins a tale of intrigue concerning how he first discovered the map, that is the pattern of life. The map consists of three journeys, which occur in life, and also as seen in the life of Christ in the Gospel of Matthew. The first journey is the journey of submission, as displayed in Christ's life in Matthew 1-7. The second journey is that of strength, as demonstrated in Matthew 8-25. The final journey is that of sacrifice, as displayed in Matthew 26-28. The author uses a diagram of a mountain to illustrate this: on the left side of the mountain is femininity, and on the right is masculinity. In the first journey of submission, which usually occurs in a man's life as he goes through childhood and young adulthood, he is moving toward the feminine side of the mountain. As he moves into the second journey, he moves back toward the masculine side of the mountain. Finally, in the journey of sacrifice, he moves up the mountain and more towards a balance between the masculine and feminine. While the journeys are never truly completed, i.e, one can begin before another ends, unlike a physical journey. Morrow also points out that this pattern of the three journeys can be seen in other Biblical characters, such as Moses, King David, and the Apostle Paul. They can also be seen in secular culture, such as in movies, television and literature. In this book Morrow also points out a weakness in many churches: they are more geared toward women and more feminine that masculine, so many men get bored in attending church. The Map was a response to this partly, and partly an attempt to help men on their spiritual journey, no matter what stage of their journey they are on. There is much to be found in this book, for both men and women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Courtney
David Murrow's book The Map blurs the line between fiction and non-fiction. The book begins with the author's fictional journey to uncover a spiritual map hidden in the book of Matthew. After finding the map and having its significance explained to him in a fictional setting, the author spends the second half of the book expounding on the map itself. I wasn't particularly impressed by the writing in the fiction section of the book, although I did continue reading and I'm very glad I did. The second part of the book was an intriguing glimpse into a new way of viewing Jesus' life through the book of Matthew. Although I am female, I could definitely understand what the author was referring to with the journeys of men. In addition, various applications of the map have presented themselves in my life and those around me since reading the book. Although I'm not sure of David Murrow's skills as a fiction writer, I am very impressed with his ability to find spiritual and daily life applications within the book of Matthew. I would highly recommend this book for both men and women who want to view the book of Matthew from a different, yet scripturally accurate, perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike Butcher
A map hidden in the gospel of Matthew??? Thats right! And it is the key to unlocking the great spiritual potential in every man.David Murrows book, The Map, begins as a tale of adventure, deception, and peril. At first you may think the story is a little hard to believe, but keep reading and you will soon discover where to find the map in the Bible, what it looks like, and how to read it and follow three spiritual journeys up the mountain of faith.In part 1, Murrow sets the stage with an epic tale of adventure. His style quickly pulls the reader into the story and keeps you wanting more. Then he transitions into part 2 where the map is revealed. Here you learn about three distinct spiritual journeys every man will take: submission, strength and sacrifice.Ill admit I was skeptical when I began reading the book. I mean, come ona map hidden in the Bible? Really??? But, the more I read the more engrossed I became. Murrow does a wonderful job detailing the map and the journeys men must take. The Map is a very well written book and is a must read for every man. I highly recommend guys pick up a copy.I received my complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through BookSneeze (http://booksneeze.com).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristin Boysen
I found this book to be both entertaining and informational! The first half of the book was thrilling and was very much a page turner. I loved the mystery and the thrill! The second half of the book while more serious was a good read and I found my self jotting down notes more than once. Being a female I was some what frustrated that this book did nothing to talk about how this information related to woman until the very end when it pretty much said he was not sure how it related. I would recommend this book to my male Christian readers and females who are in the ministry, but for an average Christian woman I am not sure it is the book for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jack
I was in the process of looking for good study material for the guys in my small group that would peak their interest from the start and came along David Murrow's newest book. The title alone intrigued me and then as I scanned it I knew this might be "the one". After reading the book over the course of a few days I was convinced that the men in my group would like it. It hooks you from the start, but what starts out as a story with life application, ends by giving you a modern day parable that all men and, dare I say, women will appreciate. The proof will be when I start this study tomorrow at 6:00am with the men, and I only wish there was a study tool to go along with it such as a DVD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie
From the blurb, I thought it might be a little DaVinci Code-ish and it was a little bit. The book is written in three parts: a fictional story of how the author came to obtain "The Map", an explanation of the said map, and a fictional conclusion that ties the first two parts together. I really enjoyed this book. Mr. Murrow's fictional beginning made me interested in "the map" and I especially liked how he weaved non-fictional facts into the storyline. For the second part, the author brought up some very interesting, if not controversial, points about men in the church. The way he verbally illustrated the journeys of the map were brilliant. The tone of the book was not pompous or too scholarly. And though it was written by a man probably mostly for men, the lessons still resonated with me as a woman. I found myself pondering points made in the book and discussing The Map with others. To me, that's a sign of a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeremy Cochran
I am not a reader. In my life I have only fully read & finished 5 books. The Map is one of them. I am also a Christian therapist that is now about to alter my mode of therapy thanks in part to The Map & Why Men Hate Going to Church. I have learned that church is not the only female dominated area of our society, so is mental health therapy. Many men describe it as touchy feely. My spiritual journey, family journey, & professional journey are about to forever change. Read the book, embrace the journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Don Flewelling
When I was a teen, my father told me that no matter how many times he read the Scriptures, that he always gleaned something new and relevant to his life... It turned out to be good advice and motivational to me!In the "The Map: The Way of All Great Men", the author describes His discovery as he unearths Three Journeys that we all travel, if we want to be successful in modelling our Lord and Leader ! Murrow's illustration of the Three Journeys is elegant simplicity at its finest. "The Map" will serve as a guideline in my life and in the lives of the men that I get to lead along the way!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
T Harris
The Map begins as a work of fiction about a man going on a journey to find a map. The premise that the book is written on is that the men of today are disenchanted with church because it is too feminine. Mixed in with the fiction is instruction on how to counteract this problem. The book states that there are three directions a man must travel in order to become great. The author bases this conclusion on the pattern of Jesus life presented in the book of Matthew. There is a bit of intrigue and a bit of suspense in the fictional part of the book. Mostly, though, it is just dry. It is as if the author is trying too hard to create the story. The premise that the story is based on is a good one and would have been able to stand on its own without the fiction. As I was reading the first section, I had to force myself to continue because the plot moved too slowly. Once I reached the part of the book that was just the explanation, it was interesting and easy to read. Although it was written for men, the truths presented are applicable to women as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Map: The Way of All Great Men
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jordan Wright
NOTE: I received a free advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest, unbiased review from Thomas Nelson.In The Map, David Murrows, a writer and speaker, embarks on a quest to discover an ancient map rumored to detail the path that all great men must follow, and in the process learns important lessons about discipleship and manhood.Well, not exactly. The Map combines a well written guide to the life of Jesus with fictional tale which demonstrates the lesson Murrows is trying to get across. The Map is actually an outline of the three period of Jesus' life, submission, strength, and sacrifice. Murrows explains that, in order to truly emulate Christ, all men must follow this pattern.I found this book to be very illuminating, but I disagree with Murrows' main premise; That the Map is a journey of manliness. The Map provides a powerful tool to understanding how we all-not just men-ought to emulate Christ. The Map is a journey of manhood-for men-and a journey of womanhood-for woman.I heartily recommend this book to any Christian who has already achieved an understanding of what manliness and femininity are: such readers will be able to get down to the heart of the message. However, if the reader has not reached this understanding, they will very likely misunderstand Murrows' use of the term manliness, and believe that this is what the book is all about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>