Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Abiding in Christ

Bethany House Abiding in Christ

Using the biblical image of Jesus as the vine and believers as the branches, this month-long devotional offers a timely message on how believers can abide in Christ. One of Murray's best-loved devotional works.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Abiding in Christ
Review 1 for Abiding in Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For those who want to grow spiritually

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vivian
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was introduced to Andrew Murray by the leader of our mission team by way of 'With Christ in the School of Prayer'. I was so impressed with Murray's work that I decided to look for more. What a find in 'Abiding in Christ'! I used to think that 'My Utmost for His Highest' was the best devotional, and it is inspirational, but 'Abiding' takes us to a different level with Jesus. Murray describes what abiding truly is and how it is a way of life. I am reading it for a second time and I know it won't be the last. In a world where there is so much "watered down" Christianity, it's good to be reminded what a true relationship with Jesus really is. Praise God for writers like Andrew Murray.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Abiding in Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

INSPIRED

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Huguette
Location:Ottawa, ON
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read this book 3 times since I bought it and I'm still chewing on its inspired content. Everyone who intend to go deep in the Lord would benefit from , not just reading, but chewing on this book insight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Abiding in Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Pearman
Andrew Murray is one of my favorite Christian authors. And in my opinion this book is the best work of his yet. If you take the time to read it prayerfully with a teachable heart, it will lead you into deeper understanding of God's love and purpose, and will help you to draw near to Him so He can draw nearer to you. Where I currently am in my spiritual walk, if I could only choose one study tool or devotional, this would be it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Abiding in Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
David S.G. Breck
The Lord lead me to John 15 in my infancy as a new believer. This is where I fell in love with my Lord Jesus immersed In Him and He In me. Andrew Murray's book was conformation to the walk Jesus had brought me into. The Joy, the Power, and the Life is at times indescribable. I would recommend Abiding In Christ to anyone seeking to know their Lord and Savior in a real and personal life changing way. This is my third reading of this trmendous book over the last 30 years. I have given many copies away and teach the principles and truths I've learned through personal experiance. Read and digest this book, you will be blessed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Abiding in Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Glenn Lambdin
I was introduced to Andrew Murray by my pray partner 30 years ago when she gave me Abide in Christ and Absolute Surrender. I read Abide in Christ and began applying the principles to my life. I have since given away numerous copies of the same books to people who I think are spiritually ready to grow in the Lord. My appreciation for Abide in Christ is in Chapter One when Mr. Murray wrote, "Who would, after seeking the King's palace, be content to stand in the door, when he is invited in to dwell in the King's presence, and share with Him in all the glory of His royal life." Such a challenge! Such insight!. I have made Andrew Murray my mentor from the standpoint of subject matter. When someone ask a question on one of the subjects that he has written, I simply refer to what he had to say about the subject matter. He always inspires me to read my Bible more, to study the content of what I read more, and to appreciate the volumes of knowledge that Mr. Murray left for us in this life. Far be it from me that I should ever have an occasion in my life wherein I would be left dumbfounded by his response. I know Mr. Murray's heart and I use that for greater opportunity for myself to study his writings. I further feel Andrew Murray would be appalled by the way this generation of people are interrupting the Holy Scriptures. He has cautioned us that to subscribe to any other teachings would bring discredit to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To Abide in Christ is Holy Work and I am so appreciative for Andrew Murray for introducing me to the work at hand for the rewards to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Abiding in Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lisa Mcconnell
This is an excellent book for the believer who wants to invite Jesus Christ into every area of his or her life. This book teaches us how to make Jesus not only our Savior, but our Lord. If you are wondering if Jesus has the power and the desire to love, keep and to fill you with His presence, despite the circumstances, -you will wonder no more after you read and apply this book to your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Abiding in Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sonia Stoddard
This book has lead me into a deeper walk with Christ. As I recovered from surgery this journey with Mr. Murray was the most heart filled and felt book I have ever read. I immediately recommended it to all my friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Abiding in Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
John Pillsbury
This treasure of a book is timeless and lead me to a closer, deeper abiding, or being in Christ. The short chapters are flowing with life and mentoring from Murray's own heart in Christ. It was easy and a joy to read (even on my bus to work), even as short devotionals. This opens the John 15 Vine and branches understanding to allow me in Christ to bear his much fruit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Abiding in Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
George W. Hostutler
This book is great, It will teach me how to abide in Christ more and more. I feel I want to make it a book that I read each day, It will help me to be more like Christ. I also feel that this book would be a great gift to people you love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.