Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Miracles Are for Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth - eBook

Bethany House Miracles Are for Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth - eBook

Christians of every age, economic status, and gender are fascinated with miraculous and unexplainable events. Especially in times such as these-when many families are experiencing financial stress or loss of jobs or homes-the need to believe in the reality of divine intervention is more acute than ever.

When Heaven Touches Earth combines biblical teaching and gripping stories to reveal the world of miracles and answer common questions with the goal of fortifying our faith and bolstering our belief that God cares about his children as much today as he ever has.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Miracles Are for Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth - eBook
Review 1 for Miracles Are for Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Miracles do still happen!

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nel Fastenau
Location:Willard, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Miracles do still happen!
Miracles Are For Real (What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth) by James L. Garlow and Keith Wall explores that thought.
There are true believers, people who have witnessed miracles in their own lives and they know without as doubt that blessing came from God, and there are skeptics who dissect everything. They believe there is a scientific reason for everything. This book explores both sides of the coin and gives stories and examples to back up their thoughts. It also discusses miracles from the Bible and looks at them closely.
I have mixed feelings about this book, but I always do when it comes to scientific explanations, that always tends to turn me away. It was basically a good book; it took me a while to read it, there is a lot of information in it. I enjoyed the different accounts of people and their divine intervention. I would recommend it to other people.
I received this book free from Bethany House a division of Baker Publishing Group as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Miracles Are for Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
B. A. Palmer
Location:Tennessee
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Miracles Are For Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth by Dr. James L. Garlow and Keith Wall.
Miracles are for Real has not been one of my favorite books, because it is a very simple, quick read book for me, but still a good read for folks. It is very interesting, but I would have loved deeper thoughts on the miracles and more examples of them. It is inspiring because I so believe in miracles. It can be a source of inspiration for all of us. Maybe because I have seen miracles and so believe in them I look at life and this book different from most folks and the world.
I still recommend it to all folks looking for a source of encouragement and truth. Even when God does not give us that visible miracle, He still may have given us a miracle that would be even better for us in the long run whether we see it or not. Do you believe in miracles? Read this book. It just might change your way of thinking.
I received this book compliments of Bethany House Publishers in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Miracles Are for Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:February 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I admit it, I was skeptical. There lurked within me the suspicion that this would be another one of those books that not only claimed miracles were real (something I agree with), but would then let you in on the “secret” of how you could get your very own miracle (something I would be predisposed to disagree with).
The surprising reality was the discovery that this is not only an inspiring book detailing numerous miracles, both modern and historical, but a thoughtful and balanced one as well. Authors James Garlow and Keith Wall qualified the conditions of a “true” miracle, and discussed other things like “complex answers to prayer” or intriguing “coincidences” that may indeed be supernatural in origin but are not necessarily miraculous in nature. I appreciated the historical overview of a number of miracles recorded since the time of Christ, and I was relieved when the authors did not attempt to persuade readers that they were somehow missing something in their walk with Christ if they had not experienced a miracle. Indeed, James Garlow’s personal testimony of his wife’s battle with cancer lent legitimacy and sincerity to the book, and underscored the authors’ intent; go to God with big expectations knowing that He is able to do anything, and knowing that He delights in our faith. We must be willing to accept that ultimately God knows and does what is best, but this shouldn’t stop us from asking, in fact, it should encourage the Christian to think bigger and pray more. I’ll conclude with what the authors claim is the most significant thing you’ll read in “Miracles are for Real”, as I found myself agreeing wholeheartedly - “Unbelief tends to release the power of the evil one, whereas faith in God releases the power of his Spirit.”
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Miracles Are for Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

interesting book

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you believe miracles still happen? In Miracles are for Real, by James L Garlow and Keith Wall, this question is explored.
We tend to throw the statement, “It’s a miracle” around quite a bit. We may be referring to something truly unexplainable by the laws of science. Or we may be speaking of an answer to prayer. Or maybe, we just mean, “Wow, I’m surprised that this event happened!”
For the purposes of this book, the authors define a miracle as “an event that extends beyond all known scientific laws.” Each chapter illustrates, with documented stories, instances of modern-day miracles, including healings, financial miracles, and even people being raised from the dead. The authors explore ideas about why miracles happen and why they don’t.
I found this book fascinating reading. I enjoyed the stories and found them faith-building. We will never know why God sometimes chooses to act supernaturally while at other times we don’t see an immediate answer to our prayers, but I appreciated the reminder that this book gave me that God does hear us and He is still involved in our world today—whether he acts supernaturally in my life or whether His plan is just to be with me in my trials.
I was provided a free review copy of this book by Bethany House Publishers. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Miracles Are for Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Resource !

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a book subtitled What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth.
The book is about miracles and the authors are very scientific in their discussion of what constitutes a miracle as opposed to something else. I like the way they categorize the "inexplicable".
1) Simple Answered Prayer
2) Complex Answered Prayer
3) Coincidence
4) Against All Odds event
5) A Miracle
I was glad to read this book because it wasn't just a collection of many people telling their "miracles". The authors only included verified stories that fit their definition of a miracle. That is not to say that God is not involved in each of the other instances as well. Answering prayers is to us a "miracle" because we cannot see how the Lord can answer our prayers at times. Or the lining up of several coincidences to provide for a certain event can certainly seem like a miracle and certainly at times the hand of God may be involved in this as well. But the miracles are events that extend beyond all the scientific known laws.
An example is of a person who had their entire eye removed due to a tumor. Later during a miraculous healing this person can now see from that eye socket ...where no eye is present. This has been proven through doctors' examinations and numerous tests such as covering the good eye and using only the socket to see things.
This is an inspirational book for those who believe in miracles and a wonderful resource for those who are unsure whether miracles exist and tend to want to have explanations for things that happen in life.
I was blessed by reading this book, and challenged in my thinking of miracles as well. Excellent book!
I received a copy of this book for free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Miracles Are for Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Miracles Are for Real

Date:January 10, 2012
According to the authors of this book, a miracle is defined as "a phenomenon performed or prompted by God, which science cannot explain, at a special time when God is making his will or his love known to an individual or many individuals". This book explains miracles from a Biblical perspective. What determines whether something is miraculous or not? An answer to simple prayer can be miraculous. A physical healing can be miraculous. The Hebrews considered everything to be a miracle. The "miracles" were described as "mighty works of God". This included both extraordinary and everyday events.
Each chapter discussing a "type" of miracle and gives a real life story of it. Some for example, the authors discuss receiving help from an angel sent by God. Then they go on to tell the story of real people who actually believe that an angel was sent to help them in their situation.
After reading this, you may see a lot more things in your life that truly are miracles. Miracles aren't just for people who need healed of a disease or someone who is in a desperate situation. God can perform miracles in your life.
I enjoyed reading this book. I found myself looking forward to reading about the real-life miracles in each chapter. I know there are a lot of a hoaxes out there, but I don't feel this book is like that. I've seen miracles in my own life and/or in the lives of family, so I know they are real. The real-life miracle stories will touch your heart. If you want to learn more about miracles and feel inspired, this book is for you.
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Miracles Are for Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
David Shaw
Location:US
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In the book Miracles are for Real the authors, James L. Garlow and Keith Wall, set out to prove exactly what the title says, that you and I can expect to receive miracles today. I came into the book already believing in miracles. I have seen them in my life and in the life of my family and friends. I had hoped that the authors would have clearly laid out proof of them founded in Scripture. I knew that there would be stories interspersed throughout but wanted to find backing in the Bible. Ultimately my hopes were dashed.
Every chapter had multiple examples of what people considered to be miracles but with very little support from Scripture. I know that there are those, even Christians, who don’t need or want Biblical proof of what they experience miraculously. They expect people to take them at their word. I and the Apostle Paul couldn’t disagree more. In Acts 17:11 we read that the Bereans were noble because they studied the Bible daily to see if what they were told by the Apostle Paul was true. We are not to take anyone’s word as truth when it comes to Spiritual workings, even the Apostle Paul’s. So we shouldn’t take the stories found in this book as truth unless they can be proven, particularly in Scripture.
In the chapter titled “Back from the Dead” they tell the story of Milton Green, a man had a heart attack that many claimed was dead and brought back to life. Unfortunately no medical professional had ever officially declared him dead, a point the authors make on page 158, so to say Mr. Green was miraculously brought back to life just isn’t verifiable. For a book whose main purpose is to prove miracles still occur giving examples of true miracles is a must.
They devote another chapter to “Heavens Special Forces” - angels. They give stories from people who say they have had the aid of angels. They write about “Angels on Assignment” and use Biblical text’s to support all of the examples of angelic helpers. The problem is that the Scripture references given do not show us that angles help us like the examples given. They have twisted Scripture to fit their ideas of miracles. That is a major problem throughout.
Case-in-point - in a later chapter they write about people (singular) who just seem to have miracle after miracle happen to them. These people they call “miracle magnets.” The authors believe we all can be like this and use Acts 2:43 as proof. Here is the text of that passage, “And awe came upon every soul, and many wonders and signs were being done through the apostles (plural).” How does this passage support miracle magnets? This passage talks about a collective group of people not a singular person. I understand that signs and wonders could be miracles but this passage in no way proof that we should have regular miracles happen to us.
These are just a few examples of not having Biblical proof for their assertions. I did find it interesting that on page 187 they state that we must carefully examine all miracles yet they failed to do so in this book (see above reference on Acts 17:11).
For 236 pages the authors lay out what they believe to be proof of miracles and by implication urge us to seek them. Then in the last chapter that is just 5 pages long they tell us not to chase after miracles but after character with no mention how to do that. They also say on page 241 that we should expect miracles but that they shouldn’t be our ultimate goal that “they can’t compete with the miracle of an authentic life and a focus on always seeking to do the right thing, again with no mention of how to do that.”
For the believer and unbeliever alike I can’t recommend this book. Unbelievers will only find ammo against those that do believe in miracles. Believers won’t find any Scriptural support for something that is clearly from God. I do wish the book would have been about the miracle of sanctification, it may have been a better, more encouraging read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Miracles Are for Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Do you believe in miracles?

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I know personally that miracles really happen. I have experienced a few of my own in my lifetime and have heard the stories from my grandmother of miracles that she experienced. You might even say that my family has had a legacy of miracles. Even as I make that claim, I am still waiting for some miracles that I have sought from God for several years now.
I guess that is why I was interested in reading this book. I thought it would be good for building up my faith and I was right. In this volume, you will read of true modern day miracles that have happened to people—healings, provision in dire circumstances, protection, even return from death. The authors explore all these types of miracles in depth and also discuss such subjects as: what constitutes a miracle, why does God choose to intervene, is it possible to prove miracles, “earning “ miracles, prayer and miracles, when God sends angels to intervene, scams and schemes in God’s name and much more. Curious about miracles? Need a miracle? You will find this book to be a worthwhile journey through the maze of what we know about these gifts from God.
I received this complimentary copy from Bethany House Publishers for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Miracles Are for Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating Book!

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes, miracles still happen everyday in this age, yet there are some who need to see a miracle or the aftermath of one to truly believe.
This informative and fascinating book pulls together miracles from history and intermingles creatively with the present, causing the reader to grasp a clear understanding of miracles and how they touch and heal lives. Some of the points addressed in the book include:
What kind of miracle are you seeking, different types of miracles, false prophets, miracles and sceptics, powerful promptings and many others. Included in this book are real life stories of those whose lives have been touched and changed by miracles.
I was not sure what to expect when I started reading this book but I quickly became glued to the pages. It is very enlightening as well as entertaining. It touched on many things that I have wondered about. I found the overall message inspiring and it challenged my faith. I will definately be reading the previous volumes before this one: Heaven and the Afterlife and Encountering Heaven and the Afterlife. I highly recommend this book to others! Very well researched and written! I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Miracles Are for Real: What Happens When Heaven Touches Earth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Courageously written, this book will inspire!

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miracles are for Real had me on the brink of tears one minute and in deep thought the next. The book is brilliantly written, interspersing real, true-life accounts of miracles with commentary on the reality of miracles, how to define them, why miracles take place. For those in the midst of a dark time, looking for a source of hope, this book is a great reminder of God's power and his love and his ability to walk with us through the tough times and move in a miraculous way. It will be impossible not to be inspired reading these examples of miracles, such as one about a child with an obvious brain injury being inexplicably healed! The book is based on clear biblical truths and provides a beautiful and balanced look at miracles. The authors do a great job of advising people from "chasing" after miracles, stating that "we should expect miracles, but they shouldn't be our ultimate goal...Miracles are thrilling, yet they can't compete with the miracle of an authentic life and a focus on always seeking to do the right thing".
I think what I appreciated most is that the authors don't shy away from the difficult questions, especially the question that so many of us will face at one point, the question of why God doesn't always answer yes to our pleas for him to intervene and provide an obvious miracle when we are in the midst of tragedy and pain and suffering. But before a potential reader wonders "but what could THEY know about pain and suffering anyway?" they should realize that the authors have shown an unusual amount of courage and shared from their own real pain. Readers will be unable to scoff when they read the raw words of Jim as he shares the struggle his wife has been having with cancer, as her body is succumbing to disease despite their pleas for a miracle. His decision to share his own struggles bring a true and authentic feel to the book.
I strongly encourage any person, believer or non-believer, to pick up this book and have their eyes opened to God's love, his power, and the miracles he continues to work today. I highly recommend this book and give it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.