Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD

Take an inspiring behind-the-scenes glimpse at one of country music's most famous couples. Learn about Alan and Denise's struggles and success, their love story and the near-failure of their marriage---and how rediscovering their faith dramatically shaped their lives. Includes an exclusive CD featuring their wedding song and Alan's composition about their shared journey. 256 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.877 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Review 1 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Story of Love and Forgiveness

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been an Alan Jackson fan for several years now, but I honestly did not know a lot about him or his family. I had the supreme joy of seeing him in concert this past summer, and I was impressed. I really enjoyed it.
I heard about this book a couple years ago when I was listening to a country radio interview with Alan Jackson (it was shortly after the Tiger Woods scandal). I was totally shocked when I heard that he had cheated on his wife, and their marriage had survived it. I saved this book to my list.
I happened to win this book (I selected is as my winning book), and I finally had a chance to read it. And I was completely impressed! I knew that they were Christians, but suddenly a few things made sense. There is a portion of Alan Jackson's career that just doesn't really impress me, and his music seems so "worldly" during that time. I now understand why.
I was completely impressed with the way Denise told her story. She did not ever put her husband down. She even took responsibility for some of the issues in their marriage. She explained that when her husband became famous, they kind of forgot about God, and that is when the trouble started.
Her message in the book was simple but sincere. God can work through any situation. He is always faithful even when we are not. This book will strengthen your faith, and it can truly encourage you in the midst of your trials. It sure did for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Loretta Hutchins
Location:Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't read all of it yet, but it is very interesting so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Ruch
It helps to see how other couples have worked through their trials and how God was able to put their life on track with Him by their side. Great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
This review is fromIt's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeanne Weller
After reading this book, I bought several more to give as gifts... the message in it is important for couples today to realize that money does not make you happy. ...a relationship with God does!!! .. my husband read it and also felt it was a great book
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
lois wetzel
Great Book! This book gives a clear plan of salvation so share it with your country music friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joy Sooy
awesome book! easy reading, and very encouraging for those who are dealing with issues in their marriage. highly recommended!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cookie Lowe
I loved the book! It gave me a new insight on the "Jackson Family", but also reinforced what I already knew, that being a good wife, mother, & now "Nana" was God's Will for our marriage & family. Once that takes place, everything else falls into order. Thank you for sharing you inner most thoughts & allowing us into your home. Beautifully written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
This review is fromIt's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Schultz
Never mind that Denise Jackson is the wife of one of country music's finest. Her personal spiritual struggles and walk with God are an incredible reminder to all of us that we are nothing without Jesus. I am personally touched with her honesty and her humble spirit, giving all the glory to God. She openly admits that neither she nor Alan were the focus of this book, but that finding their way back to the God they grew up knowing (and walked away from) was what this book was all about. A true witness to nixing the notion that money and fame buy greater happiness. Clearly, Denise gives account that it does not. Christian fellowship and getting back to the feet of Jesus does. Bless each person who reads this book and may they be as encouraged as I am to return to the feet of Jesus. There is where one will find the things that are most important and worthy of seeking. Excellent book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Margaret Regan
It's a 10 Star. I read it in one day and the next day read it again. Fascinating reading. I then ordered the CD by her husband Alan. Love both.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
This review is fromIt's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Walker
Since I am an Alan Jackson fan I enjoyed the book. I could identify with Denise's being needy and not being able to make a decision since I was a young "bride" but don't think I was quite so bad and after reading the book am determined to be better. Am about to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary next year so guess we are doing somethings right.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jake
I Got this Book for my Birthday and it was the Best Book i have read in a long time I could't Put it down i read till late in to the night cause i wanted to know what happen GREAT BOOK
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joyce Bennett
This book is a 5 star. I would give it more if I could. I read the whole book from cover to cover, my husband also read it. It was hard for both us to lay it down, it is an awesome book I recommend it to all readers who need held getting closer to the Lord or to anyone who is struggling of rather there is a Lord or not. I feel Denise did a fabulous job in writing it. This book truly inspired me. I gave one to Sis. Paulette that works with me. We are also giving one to our church library and hopes that it may touch someone else's life. 2000 characters is not enough to do this book justice. Thanks for such an inspiring book Denise. Sisters & Brothers in Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Ott
5 out of 5 stars. I read this book about 3 months ago and I am so blessed. I have ordered 4 copies to give to friends/family. We all have been blessed and helping our spiritual walk with the Lord as wives and mothers. God bless Denise and Alan Jackson for sharing the true knowledge of Jesus Christ in my daily life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
This review is fromIt's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan DeLorme
I bought this book because I've been an Alan Jackson fan for fifteen years. Having read the book in under four hours, I am now a fan of MRS. Alan Jackson. She grabbed my attention from the very first page and held it throughout - I couldn't put this book down. Her honest assessment of, not only her marriage, but her own faults and foibles, coupled with her open love for Christ, are an inspiration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cliff Mcintosh
The book was all I expected. It is great to see a title which covers the contents. Not easy to do in this world to-day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
James Thomas
Wonderful, daughter loved it and appreciates it so much. Awesome book for the price. Thanks!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tasha B
Very fun fairy-tale read, her story is very easy to relate to and very inspiratioal!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
This review is fromIt's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ronna Lester
I found it hard to put this book down! Not because it was about a woman and her superstar husband, but it was so real. You don't have to be famous to have marital problems. It simply points out that all the self-help books don't give you what you need; God is the answer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna Williams
I love the way Denise described the different "phases" to fully turning your life over to Jesus. I never realized, until I read her story, that I still had Him riding in the passenger seat instead of letting Him take the wheel. Alan Jackson has always been one of my all time favorite country singers, but after reading their story, I have even more respect for him. God Bless Denise, Alan and their family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life--Book and CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lori Mayfield
Great book. Well written & keeps your interest. What a treat to see inside their lives & a blessing for everyone who reads it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.