Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Untamed Land, An - eBook

Bethany House Untamed Land, An - eBook

The promise of free land lures Roald and Ingeborg Bjorklund from their beloved home high above the fjords of Norway, and after three long years of scrimping and saving to buy tickets for their passage to America, they finally arrive at the docks of New York City. This new land promises a rich heritage for their children, and here they hope to build a good life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Review 1 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this series!

Date:February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mrs G
Location:Southwest PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this free ebook and I am hooked. Since then bought the rest of this series and plan to get the next series continuing the legacy. Books are filled with hardship, triumph and God's unfailing love as the immigrants make a life in the Dakota territories. Author brings each character to life with their own personalities, struggles, and accomplishments. Can't say enough good about this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gwen
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book tells of the struggles and heartbreaks that the immigrants who came to the US had. It is very touching how everyone works together to better themselves and their families.
Loved it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ease

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Portage la Prairie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy the ease of download. And to get quality reading material is awesome
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A riveting story of immigrants

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
grammyjeanne
Location:Boston, MA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was an excellent depiction of the struggles of immigrants settling on the frontier. From the time they left Norway, their daily lives were full of struggles and hardships but still they perserved.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely loved this series!

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
GinnieAnn
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being born of Norwegian immigrants myself, I could relate to many of their ways. The foods they made, the way the neighbors all helped each other during harvest time, their traditions, even the family names are all in my genealogy. What a pleasure to read! Lauraine Snelling captured the lifestyle and ways of the Norwegian immigrants perfectly. I look forward to reading all of her books.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denise
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book series. I get so engrossed in the characters that I cannot put it down.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed all of Lauraine Snelling's books that I have read, and loved this one. I really like how the author weaves values and Christian living into a great book. I'm really looking forward to reading the rest of the series!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maija
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed it and plan on purchasing more of the books in that series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marla Medina
I liked this book very much and plan to read the remainder of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peggy Eatmon
Spell binding story of how God works in our lives if we will let Him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Corinne Musto
For anyone who is interested in American history, the ethnic groups who populated America, or just love to read historical fiction, these are the series (The Red River of the North, Return to Red River, & Daughters of Blessing)to read! Continuing with Home To Blessing coming out Fall '09. Lauraine Snelling blends the Christian faith, real life, and history like no other! The BEST!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Elliott
I just love the Red River series and the Daughters of Blessing series. I feel like I am a fly on the wall watching as the stories unfold. Every time I finish one of the books I can not wait to get to the next one. It would be really nice to have these series seen as movies on the Hallmark channel or something. The books are a great example of Godly living as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ellen Boone
Very interesting story line. Kept my interest and eager to read the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Polly W Plunkett
This book is excellent I've only read 1-2-3 books I'm on the fourth now it reall holds your attention
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Hurtado
This series is a must read. Guaranteed you will not be able to put it down. I cry when watching TV shows, I have never cried when reading a book, until I read this series. Lauraine Snelling has a great nack for pulling you right in, so you feel as though you are a part of this family. I have read all 3 of her Red River series. I have presently started on Rebecca's Reward. Keep on writing Lauraine you have a best seller here. Thank you for making me a part of your story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gayle Bortz
I feel like I'm right there with the Bjorklunds on their adventure to "Amerika". I highly recommend this book and this author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Untamed Land, An - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna
I loved this book. I'm back to buy the rest. I had a hard time putting this one down. It would be a good one to read to my dd. It sets a good example of how God wants us to live our lives even when faced with hardship. I am going to look at buying more of Ms. Snelling's books. It's a great read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.