Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.

Bethany House Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.

Radio's original Bible Answer Man Walter Martin's classic resource as updated by cult and occult specialist Ravi Zacharias. Using Martin's well-researched and easily accessible text, Zacharias brings the experience of in-depth study, some would say immersion, into this sometimes confusing field of study and includes many facts and figures covering occurrences in the 1990's (as Martin passed away in 1989).Kingdom of the Cults has always been a trusted resource in times where accurate information is imperative to someone's salvation from the strange world of cults and the occult.

Ranging in topics from the structure of cults to how cults are encountered on the mission field, many cults and movements are described in full, and intimate details of the inner workings can sometimes be indicative of where a cult may be leading. For anyone considering joining any of these groups or looking for more information for a friend or family member, this is an invaluable resource.

Average Customer Rating:
4.732 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
29 out of 29100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Review 1 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
FFBruce
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thanks for the wonderful experience. the item was as described and it was awesome. thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoeM
Location:West Des Moines, IA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this book as a reference source for an Adult Sunday class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheDoc
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very informative, well researched, and detailed. Well organized. An exhaustive resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
shopper1
Location:WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a present. The person who received is definitely happy with that book. He said that it is very informative.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Foxindy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good summary and information. Great resource for study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Satisfies the curiosity about other cults

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Hiltel
Location:Sauk Rapids, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though I am not schooled in Greek, Hebrew, or Latin, the book is still understandable to a lay person. Walter Martin has researched the Scriptures well and given many Bible verses to look up to back up his claims. Understanding how these cults twist the Word of God is helpful in refuting their claims.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kenyon
Location:SoCal, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The latest version of a great classic on the subject. Concise and to the point...enough for the discerning apologist or evangelist to grasp a good understanding of what the cults teach, how they ensnare and manipulate, and the lies they perpetuate. A good and interesting read for any Christian.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource for understanding the cults.

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
smith42
Location:Nappanee, Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This updated version is very helpful in understanding what is currently happening in the cults.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a very complete work on cults, everything I wanted

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Keith Hundley
Location:Pearisburg Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I didn't know how many cults there actucally were, and how far some or most of them are from christianity, but I know now
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

more than you really want to know.

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
rayt
Location:paducah, Kentucky
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A wonderful souce of information regarding cults. I have learned much already and am only about a third of the way through the book. I choose to make a distinction between cults and false religion. This book throws them all together and calls them cults - minor point.
Parts of the book are really too acedemic for me. Discussion of the fine points of translating Greek and Hebrew into English loses me, but I understand the necessity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent reference work on cults

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eliteoz
Location:Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a recognised work on world religions. I once taught world religions at Bible college and used this as a text. The author has since died but the work has many enduring features and was well worth the revised edition. All in all a great book on cults in our time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must have.

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glanced through it. Looks great. Can't wait to read it after my wife finishes it. The subject of cults came up in our last Bible study. Highly recommended this book. Passed along your catalog. Expect some more orders. A must have for your library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

kingdom of the cults

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Edward
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is being used as a resource for my bible study series I'm writing for the church that I pastor. It has been extremely helpful and I would recommend it to anyone that is serious about learning where religious groups stray from the orthodox Christian world view.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource on Cults

Date:February 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
HMS101
Location:Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first read this book over 25 years ago! I had borrowed a copy from a friend but never had one of my own - until now.
Without hesitation or reservation I recommend this book as a must for every Christian Library
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must have resource for apologetics!

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
ZiggyzPaw
Location:Chesapeake, Va.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has more information than I would have expected. There's more than just an overview of many of the topics covered. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to learn more about cults/religions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Have Book

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jimmy
Location:Torrington, CT
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my text book in college 1972-73. This is a replacement for the one I lost. This is a must have for every Christian to learn how to deal with cultists. Don't turn them away, invite them in to talk about Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book for your library

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bibleguy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using this book as a resource for an apologetics class in my church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Valuable Reference Book

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
geewillicker 777
Location:Petaluma, Calif.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lists all the major cults, including Mormonism, which believes Satan and Jesus were/are brothers, and that We are/will become gods through incarnations. It also describes the fact that they believe that as gods, we will all go to heaven, and that there is no Supreme Being, and that we get to heaven through our works.
This is completely against The Holy Word of God, which says the only way to gain eternal life, is to Accept Jesus, as your Lord, Savior, and Messiah, and repent of your sins, and confess that Jesus died for our sins.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very thorough and readable.

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
justscott
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is truly a classic. On the subject of the cuklts,
I'm unaware of any other books that come close to matching
its quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kingdom of the Cults, rev. and updated ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is very informative.

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
cherakei
Location:Lithia Springs, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this book previously and loaned it to someone and never got it back. The updated version is just as good if not better than my previous version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.