Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fox Faith The Gospel Road, DVD

Fox Faith The Gospel Road, DVD

The Man in Black tells the story of Jesus Christ as only he can---straight from the heart! Johnny Cash stars in and narrates this timeless tale of faith. Features Johnny's music plus songs by June Carter Cash and Kris Kristofferson. The Gospel Road is Cash's most passionate labor of love. Join country music's greatest star on an inspirational journey you'll never forget. Rated G. Closed-captioned. Color/1973. Approx. 84 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • Widescreen
  • Still Gallery
  • Radio Spots
  • Subtitles: English and Spanish
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Gospel Road, DVD
Review 1 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

musical and gospel gem

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rob Slimm
Location:Creston, BC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is a labour of love by Johnny and June Carter Cash and friends. The musical portrayals of the Gospel are insightful and inspired. Jesus, Johnny, and June are unbeatable. Well worth seeing and hearing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Testimony by the Man in Black

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
cowboy
Location:Deearborn,MI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Johnny in his own incomparable country way tells the Gospel story through scripture,acting scenes and song. Great stuff indeed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for new Christians

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Duck
Location:Australia
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shows the Gospel story simply and easily understood. Good for new Christians
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Richards
I first seen this video in the Assembly of God church in Woodburn, Oregon as a early teenager & I loved it then, and I love it just as much now. Johnny Cash, his wife June Carter & the others involved in making this movie, did a very good job of putting it together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Granville Russell
i recommend this dvd to all. It shows the spiritual side of Johnny Cash, as he was willing to pay for making this movie
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mrs H Griffith
I was only about 10 years old when I first saw this movie, and I've been looking for it ever since. Mr. Cash has a wonderful way of telling us about the life of Jesus, according to the Bible, in a way that nobody else has done. It is warm, personal, sometimes funny, and very memorable. I highly recommend it, even if it's not state-of-the-art.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roger Anderson
This film is a low budget attempt to portray the life of Christ on location in Israel. If you like Johnny Cash's music and singing then you may like this film. The acting is not very high level but Cash's commentary is often insightful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Harry Briley
I saw this in college in a small town theater in 1973 and immediately bought the vinyl soundtrack. We played it a lot. It was a flash in the pan and didn't last long on the marquee. In may be 1973 and it may be with a Johnny Cash prison drawl, but it is NOT dated. Thank you for making this treasure available to a new generation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
April Touchette
I love listening to Johnny Cash when I was growing up. The man in black always cared about people although some people did not understand him and his songs. The Gospel Road was one of the greatest story he told. We love it and I am going to buy two more to sure with friends and family members.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Miriam Maurer
I am very pleased with this dvd as I am both a big fan of Johnny Cash and a Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steven Lowman
The Gospel message give by Johnny Cash through word (Scripture) and song. This was fun to watch and would make a good video for general witnessing to someone who likes country music.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Denninger
This really is a film told from the heart of Johnny Cash. It's personal! I especially appreciated the end where its message is so clear that Jesus died for the whole world. I didn't appreciate the blond Jesus character, but can overlook it for the message's sake.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Taylor
This is and excellent film starring Johnny Cash. A must have for every Johnny Cash fan out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dayton N Jones
Very good ,would have been better with the two others with Christ on the crosses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda Dort
this dvd was a real blessing to me, I plan to lend it out to others to be used as a witness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Roberts
Sit back and let Johnny Cash sing the gospelstory, with visual images that will stir your heart for the Saviour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Billy Gagnon Harvey
Those that like Johnny Cash will really enjoy this Gospel Road with Jesus. Read and sung by Johnny Cash, the message of salvation is clearly explained in this movie. I am really careful with what I watch ; The Gospel Road of Johnny Cash does follow the teaching of the bible without transformations by the author. REALLY BLESSING !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sue Sutherland
This was the first I saw this & really AN EYE-OPENER to Johnny Cash's faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Don Shaeffer
An outstanding presentation of Johnny and June's faith. The presentation presents a portrait of faith that oozes the love of the authors of the script.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Gospel Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ml Spencer-benson
Johnny Cash and his wife June were devout Christians. Their desire to recreate the road Jesus walked accompanied by their music is a treasure for anyone who admires them. Their desire to do this, in order to bring their faith together with Jesus' walk is inspirational. It's a poignant viewing of Jesus crucifixion - as powerful as The Passion yet a simpler recreation. My heart was filled with a renewed greatfulness in viewing this DVD the Cash's refused to have televised because they did not feel it was appropriate to have such a viewing connected to commercial ads etc. Yes.....you will watch it over and over. God Bless You
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>