Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1

Lance Michelli is searching---and clueless about what he's looking for. He knows only that an old villa in California's Sonoma valley holds the key to his grandmother's troubles. But current owner Rese Barret's indifference leads to a battle of wills---and an uncomfortable attraction. Can they call a truce before a greater storm hits? 320 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
Review 1 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
This review is fromSecrets: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good story but needs correcting

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
avidreader
Location:South Dakota
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I managed to really enjoy the story but with many of the chapters ending in the middle of sentences it was also very irritating not to have the chapters endings!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
This review is fromSecrets: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice!

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
DutchEreader
Location:Brownsville, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very nice book to read. I found it very enjoyable. Allthough it's a little bit dragging towards the end I think. It's a thick book (over 400 pages) !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
This review is fromSecrets: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dina
Location:Hong Kong
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristen Heitzmann in my opinion is a brilliant writer. She combines the everyday life that we live with pure faith teachings in a way that I do not feel evangelised. I could not put Secrets down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
This review is fromSecrets: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommend!

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
MathGeek
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristen Heitzmann is now officially one of my favorite authors. Fans of Dee Henderson or Terri Blackstock will enjoy Secrets by Heitzmann. I can hardly wait to read the sequel!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
This review is fromSecrets: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well-written novel

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaybellineKid
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to find a new author who wrote a Christian romantic mystery with intrigue and good character development. I wanted to keep reading to get to the end and see everything resolved. I've found an author on the level of Terri Blackstock. Hats off to Kristen Heitzmann! Can't wait to read the second novel in the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
This review is fromSecrets: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Connie
Location:Saint John, NB
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed Secrets very much and I downloaded the sequel to read more of the story. Kristen Heitzmann is a very good mystery storyteller.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
This review is fromSecrets: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING Read!

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
MelissaBrett
Location:Buffalo, New York
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was the best I've read in about 10 years and I read a lot. The best part is, it is a 3 book series so the story continues and I was pleasantly surprised to find out it kept getting better! I am a die hard Dee Henderson fan, so if you like her style, then definitely check it out. Actually, regardless of who you like to read, this series a definite must!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
This review is fromSecrets: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed the read

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ceejay
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really enjoyed this read. The banter between the characters kept me smiling. It was a page turner for me and I appreciated the faith content throughout. Looking forward to the next instalment in book two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
This review is fromSecrets: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lori Z
Location:Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy the gradual revealing of layers in the complex characters of Lance and Rese. The more I understand them, the more I like them. It's a hard book to put down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
This review is fromSecrets: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Characters, Plot, Scenarios!

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My admiration of this author just continues to grow. This novel is an exceptional example of her ability to research several topics and weave them all together with amazing skill!
In my opinion, she is one of the most gifted Christian novelists in today's market. This book has unforgettable characters and exciting plot twists and turns. She just gets better and better. I feel that I know Sonoma, CA, wine country with its rich history although I have never been there! Great read-you won't want to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
This review is fromSecrets: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Meadowrunner
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book by a great author. I really like the whole series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sherry Watson
I had read two other Heitzmann books and loved them. This one was not the page turner I thought it would be. It seemed to drag on and on at points. I did finish it and was glad that I did but I don't think I will buy the others in this series. I will try Heitzmann again based on reviews.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheire
This was an exciting novel! Lance Michelli is sent on a mission from his Nonna, she just recently had a stroke, to seek her past. He discovers letters in his Nonna's bedroom that lead him over to a villa he knows nothing about. There, he meets Rese. Rese is an interesting character with her own attitude toward the man who comes in and turns her life upside down. You'll adore this story! It's just amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2008
I loved the idea behind this story: a young man seeks employment at a Bed and Breakfast as a cook because he believes the property belongs to his family. His employer is the B&B's new owner, Reese, who is a talented carpenter, and renovating the place, herself. Many charming elements enrich this book: the Bed and Breakfast location, the ethnic foods, Lance's chivalrous attitude and devotion to his family. The mystery of how the Michelli's lost the property is told cleverly in exciting flashbacks. Although I enjoyed the book overall, there was something about it that didn't quite gel. Reese's character was very shallow at times. She definitely wasn't as well developed as Lance. But even with its quirks, Secrets is a well told story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kelli Fazekas
I loved this book! I was hooked from the very beginning when I found that book was loosely tied to the Diamond of the Rockies series by Heitzmann also. The sequel to this book, Unforgotten, is also excellent. I do wish that Heitzmann would write a third book with the Secrets & Unforgotten characters. I highly recommend this author's other novels as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jan Salotti
I found this book to be poorly written and trite. It was the come-on for another book so it lacked conclusion Originally purchased this for our church library it didn't make it to the shelves. I would sugest Jan Karon, Linda Nichols or Sharon Ewell Foster as authors who write godly, inspiring stories. No more Kristin Heitzmann for me.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2005
Customer Avatar
Tammy
I loved this book! Contrary to the previous review, the romance Kristen added between Lance and Rese was well written and was done in a Godly way. I can't wait for the next book to come out! I was so excited when I figured out the relation between, "Secrets" and the "Rose Legacy"! The connection between the two made Secrets all the more interesting! This is definitely one of my favorites so far by Kristen Heitzmann.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2004
Customer Avatar
Kim
This is the first book I've read by this author. It is suspenseful, funny, painful, just an all-around good read! I only wish one of the main characters had the faith of the old neighbor, Evvy. But, since the story is to be continued, perhaps they will be more mature in the following book. I would highly recommend this to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Wow! This book was so good. I really enjoyed the story of Lance Michelli (whom we find out that he is the great-great grandson of Quillan and Carina from the Diamond of the Rockies series) and a seemingly tough young woman named Rese Barrett. I really liked how Kristen reversed the roles of the two main characters...Lance the chef and Rese the carpenter. Instant chemistry between the both of them leads to more intrigue as Lance searches for the clues to the quest that his Nonna had sent him to Rese's villa in Sonoma, California. Rese is tough, but not so tough that Lance couldn't start bringing down her walls of her self-imposed control. Despite of herself, she starts telling Lance secrets that she had never told anyone else before. Can Lance show Rese that she not only needs him but his Lord and Savior? Will Lance uncover all the secrets the old villa is hiding? This book definitely earned its title "Secrets" and hopefully the sequel which is called "Unforgotten" will earn its title as well. I am really looking forward to finding out what happened to Nonna Antonia in 1931 and the continuing story of Lance and Rese. Please keep up the good work, Kristen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Secrets, Michelli Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2004
Customer Avatar
Martha
Lance Michelli came to the old villa with one purpose in mind: unbury the dark secrets of his Nonna (Grandmother) Antonia's past, and free the old woman from the blackness of her present. But there was someone in his way - Rese Barrett, the new owner of the villa. Falling in love with Rese was the last thing Lance wanted. The most unlikely romance on earth... Yet just when things were starting to fall into place, people from Lance's past arrive at the villa, and the secrets he's hidden so long begin to come to the light. Will the truth destroy everything Lance and Rese have fought for, including their love?* * *Secrets is a rich and vivid novel, pulsing with life. Rese, Lance, and a horde of other persons travel through the pages of the novel so naturally that the reader wants to believe they are real. Unfortunately, Hetizmann fills the novel with sexual tension and inuendo. Lance and Rese spend more time kissing than Lance spends going to Mass. And while the author wants us to believe Lance is a devout person, his talks with God, and the brief moments the characters discuss faith, seem to be tossed into the novel as an afterthought. The neighbor, Evvy, is an exception to this: she lives and breathes her faith. It is, after all, all she has left.Secrets is an intense story - a good read. It's unfortunate Heitzmann's characters just couldn't heed the instruction of a wise man: "Flee also youthful lusts."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>