Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3

Bethany House The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3

Leah and Sadie Ebersol have made very different choices with consequences that have left them many miles apart, both physically and emotionally. Having already suffered unthinkable betrayals, Leah has accepted her life as Abram's daughter, fitting willingly and comfortably into the family and work. But an unexpected family announcement brings unimaginable joy - as well as incredible sorrow. Leah is once again caught between the yearnings of her heart and responsibility for her family.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
Review 1 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is outstanding ...

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mysti
Location:Scarborough, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beverley Lewis is an outstanding author. In this book, the third in a series of five, she tells the ongoing saga of the Ebersol family who struggle to keep their faith as an Amish of the Old Order.
The main character is a young girl named Leah Ebersol who has promised to sacrifice her life until her newborn brother and youngest sister are of courting age, so that she can raise them, as her mother asked of her, on her death bed.
Leah has 4 sisters and a brother and a very close aunt, so there are several sub-plots that all tie in together.
Even though the lives of all the Ebersol females are full of intrigue, suspense, deceit and of course romance, it is their faith in God and their love for Him that they rely on to get them through.
This book was a page-turner from the first paragraph and it was difficult to put it down for any reason.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This series is very good!

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
craftymom
Location:Logansport, Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read three of the five books in this series, and each one leaves you wanting to know what will happen next, so you are eager to start the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nama
Location:northern California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set of books are nice, clean, interesting to read - especially if you have any interest in the Amish. They keep your interest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grammy
Location:Fairfield, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good book. It was good to keep following the books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book!

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
fairjustme
Location:Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book and Leah's chacter is so good and real to life. She is like a real person, not a made up person in a book. She makes mistakes and lives and loves in human form but still tries to stay within the bounds of her Amish faith. About the time you think she's gonna step out of it, she slips back in just in time. I truly enjoyed reading the book and am just starting the next one in the serires.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best yet!

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betty Kelley
Location:Reedley, Ca.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been purchasing the series out of sequence. Enjoyed them all, but especially loved this one. Wholesome, yet down to earth with foibles that affect us all. Gives hope that nothing is too hard for God!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This series was exciting.

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
jetsimmons
Location:Fountain Hills, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this series and could not wait to read the next installment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

These books all come up to the standard

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
trickey rickey
Location:Coquitlam B.C. Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well these books were purchased for my eighty year old mother and she says nothing but great things about the standards of the Amish genre .. Thanks again for much reaading pleasure .. Rick in Canada .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
DeeDee
Location:Loveland CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this family saga. Told in such a way to keep interest throughout all five books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
I'm fairly eating these books up! Can't get enough of this series. I've come to accept that some sort of tragedy is going to befall the Ebersol family in each book and that Leah is going to suffer many trials, but that doesn't make these books any less engaging or compelling. Lewis's writing gets better with each installment and she makes it possible for us to truly get inside the heads of her characters and understand their feelings and emotions. It was great to finally see more focus on Hannah and Mary Ruth and their decisions as to their futures. As a result of Mary Ruth's quest for higher education, Lewis delves into the intricacies of the Amish way of life and their theology. She discusses Amish culture and beliefs in The Parting but this book dealt with it in a far more accessible way. I also appreciated the development of the father's character and his relationships with his family. All in all, a great new addition to this series and I'm looking forward to getting hold of the fourth book in the series. I do hope that Leah is able to find happiness in the next couple of books!happiness in the next couple of books!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rae Mateo
Great series this book offers the turning point in the story. Beautiful story line. I could not put these books down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lorraine Hampshire
I gave this to a friend and she is thoroughly enjoying it. I gave her four of the five in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julie Howell
Another great book by a very good author. If you like reading about the Amish, this book will keep your interest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Leslie
I absolutely love the writings of Beverly Lewis. This book is a wonderful escape into the simple, yet profound, life of the Amish. It brings you to the place of realizing what is really important in life; God and family. Reading these books is like a much needed retreat from the world that's in such turmoil around us. I highly recommend this book and this wonderful author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Swatzell
had to read straight through without stopping, can't wait to read the next in the series, enjoyed the insight into Amish life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromThe Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judy Ballengee
This is a great series. Couldn"t put them down after I got started. Well worth the times spent in reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sheila May
I loved this book. I was moved very much by the bravery and strength of faith shown by Leah, even though she could have lost her faith very easily. I cried along with her. Beverly Lewis weaves a wonder tale and on top of it you get to learn so much about the Amish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2005
Customer Avatar
Angela
This book is Great! This book goes beyond meeting your entertainment needs but also it ministers. I have really enjoyed these series. I am so anxious to read the next book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2004
Customer Avatar
Rhonda
I LOVE the writings of Beverly Lewis!! The books are full of exciting characters. I have so much respect for the Amish community--these books just intensify that admiration I have for the "Plain" people and their simple, contented lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Sacrifice, Abram's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2004
Customer Avatar
Laura
I am a huge fan of this series and this book is the best yet. Just when you think an unhappy ending is inevitable a ray of happy sunshine beams in. This book is great and I can't wait for the next one!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.