Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook

Tyndale House The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 1182%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Review 1 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Daniel Fast by Susan Gregory

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Evie
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first opened and read The Daniel Fast by Susan Gregory, it broke down the purpose of the fast and brought in biblical aspect of fasting. It didn't make me feel like I was "suppose to" or it wasn't "shoulding me" at all, but bringing me to understand my personal purpose for my fasting. I've used the The Daniel Fast three times in the past two years...first to break a taunting habit while preparing for a women's bible study, second time, while preparing for a state examine (yes, passed it!) and the third time, for a horrible personal breakup. Each time, I was lead by the Holy Spirit as it strengthened me and helped me through such a rough season in my life.
I recommend this book if you want to get serious with God. It was the most peaceful times of my walk with Him.
Blessings to you without measure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great way to follow a Daniel Fast.

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
JustMe
Location:Chicago, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have found this to be the best reference to a Daniel Fast that I have seen. It explains what it is and answers many questions concerning this type of fast. The recipes are great and the devotional is wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a good book about the Daniel fasting.

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Simply Shop and Save
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fasting is not a common buzz word these days so when the opportunity to review the book, The Daniel Fast came up, I took up the offer to find out information about fasting.
As you know, fasting is not a common approach to loosing weight. Our culture has more of a problem of gaining weight and finding quick trick solutions. For myself, it's not a big problem but I must admit I used to be too slim before marriage and since then, I have put on the pounds.
Fasting was a part of the Jewish culture and various Bible characters participated in this discipline. Daniel, who is an Old Testament character who had deep faith in God, abstained from all foods except for foods from the seeds and only drinking water.
I have never participated in a fast so the material that Susan Gregory is informative because she provides a step-by-step plan about the process of fasting. She includes the definition and preparations of a fast, daily devotions for doing a twenty-one day Daniel Fast, and some nutritious and tasty recipes.
Susan mentions there are three fasts: an absolute fast; a normal fast; and a partial fast. She focuses on the Daniel Fast which basically means that people abstain from some foods in their diet like processed foods, preservatives, and food colouring,
I think fasting could be a personal future event that I could participate in order to deepen my relationship with God. The Daniel Fast by Susan Gregory is a good resource to have on hand about fasting.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Take a Pass on "The Daniel Fast"

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katalyst
Location:Orange County, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Daniel Fast plan is not a Scripturally-based model for fasting. Rather, it’s a nutritional plan that strives to have a spiritual component, but lacks, largely due to a poor hermeneutic.
The majority of the book is about food preparation, with 100 of its 262 pages dedicated to recipes.
I didn’t find useful spiritual material in The Daniel Fast. The devotional section was quite troubling to me, inappropriately using allegory for some of the lessons, and focused on the author's experiences and observations rather than on Scripture itself.
I received a complimentary copy of the book from Tyndale for review purposes. My full review is posted at http://h-n-t.blogspot.com/2012/01/review-take-pass-on-daniel-fast_16.html
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's not A Diet, but about Holistic Health

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wagaboodles
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm always skeptical of books that claim they have the answers...especially when it comes to diet and health. Susan Gregory's book, The Daniel Fast, wasn't one of those books, however, mainly because she doesn't taut the Daniel Fast as a diet to get you the figure you desire. This is because the book is not about a diet, but a fast meant to aid you in your growth with God. It focuses on being healthy: body, mind and spirit (Gregory delineates the differences between these three).
The Daniel Fast is based upon the approach Daniel, Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego took in Babylon to stay faithful to God in the midst of pressure to conform to their captive culture. It is focused on eating fruit, vegetables, and grains as well as drinking only water for a brief period of time (up to three weeks--or more as you feel led) as well as taking time to deepen your relationship with God.
The first half of the book describes the Daniel Fast, looks at holistic health (body, mind and spirit) and focusing on growing in God. The second half contains recipes, menu ideas and answers to questions that Gregory is frequently asked. I haven't practiced the Daniel Fast yet, but I can appreciate it's principles and purpose.
In exchange for my honest review, Tyndale Publishers have provided me with a copy of the book.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Food for the body, soul, & spirit

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What if you could grow closer to God and improve your health in just 21 days? Susan Gregory, “The Daniel Fast Blogger,” has a plan to help you do just that. Widely recognized as the expert on this 21-day fast inspired by the book of Daniel, Susan has helped thousands of people discover a safe and healthy way to fast. The principles you learn from The Daniel Fast will change the way you view food, your body, and your relationship with the one who created you. Includes 21 days’ worth of Daniel Fast recipes! Visit www.daniel-fast.com (from the publisher)
In just a few more days a new year will be upon us, and this is the time people make resolutions and try to break old habits or start new ones. Many churches and individuals also choose this time of year to have a time of fasting and spiritual renewal, and The Daniel Fast is probably the most widely used.
I liked this book and found it to be very useful in explaining the reasons for choosing this type of fast, and what makes it different than simply changing your diet. Instead of just a focus on what foods you are giving up, there is a more indepth look at the cleansing of body, soul, and spirit. I especially like the deepening relationship with God being the most important. Also, she has included several interesting recipes. I am not a cook, but they did give me a few ideas about foods that can be eaten. It's really more versatile than one might expect. There is also a menu plan for those who like to have more structure to follow. The book concludes with a 21 day devotional guide to use during your quiet time with God. This is definitely a book you want to have if you are considering The Daniel Fast for yourself.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions are my own, and I was not required to give a good review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Information; Not Fasting

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The Daniel Fast" by Susan Gregory is a good book. Gregory encourages her readers to feed their souls, strengthen their spirits, and renew their bodies by being extremely disciplined about what they eat for a designated period of time and by praying and studying their Bibles, too. There’s nothing wrong with that. It’s a good thing to do. Gregory even provides recipes and devotionals to help her readers along the way. In fact, these take up most of the book. Gregory closes with a question and answer section for further clarification of her idea. And it is a good idea.
But it isn’t a fast.
And the Bible passage that it is based on wasn’t about a fast.
Scot McKnight, author of "Fasting," defines fasting as “the natural, inevitable response of a person to a grievous sacred moment in life.” He says “The focus in the Christian tradition is not ‘if you fast you will get,’ but ‘when this happens, God’s people fast.’ Fasting is a response to a very serious situation, not an act that gets us from a good level to a better level” (pp. xix-xx).
In other words, we don’t fast because we want something from God—even a good thing like spiritual growth or a deeper relationship with Him. We fast because God calls us to it through the circumstances of life. If something good comes of the experience, that is a bonus for us.
In the first chapter of Daniel, he and his friends request a special diet. They do not make this request in order to fast or grow spiritually or even to become healthy, though. They do so out of obedience to God. The king has ordered them to eat food that has been sacrificed to idols. This will violate God’s law. They choose to obey God, and He honors their decision by making them healthier than anyone else in the king’s training program.
This is no different from Daniel’s choice to pray, though it landed him in the lion’s den, or Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego’s choice to not bow to an idol, though it landed them in the fiery furnace. In all three situations, the men chose to obey God, and God blessed their decision in return.
If you choose to follow Gregory’s Daniel Fast because you long to grow closer to God, I have no doubt He’ll honor that decision. He loves it when we devote ourselves to Him in disciplined and concentrated ways. But you won’t be fasting. You’ll be disciplining yourself to eat healthy foods, pray, and study God’s Word. The experience will be good for you.
Thank you, Tyndale House Publishers, for sending this book for my honest review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very well written.

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
LOLITA
Location:NEVADA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never knew that fasting could be done with food. I've fasted before and it was extremely difficult. Now I'm ready to start this body and soul adventure! I believe that this book is worth every penny, because it is packed with many details, much of what a beginner needs. The best part of all is the spiritual preparation that the author includes in it. I am going to savor the good food included in it and the wonderful presence of my Lord and Savior!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
PRAISE
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book to help prepare you for the Daniel Fast. Also the daily devotions for the 21 day fast is very encouraging as well. Glad I purchased the book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Godly Diet

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
ladybug
Location:Lincolnton, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the way this book is written It gave so much advice on fasting and why we should do it. Love the recipes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic book

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Collins
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book. It is fantastic. It was so helpful while we were going through the Daniels Fast.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anne-marie Micalizzi
Excellent information! Easy to understand! I found the recipes useful. This book helped me keep my commitment.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
The Daniel Fast is based on the scripture found in Daniel 1 and 10 in the Bible. This fast is a partial fast where you drink only water and eat only food that comes from seeds.Susan Gregory has written a practical guide that will help and support you through your Daniel Fast. She also gives great advice on how to enhance the fast to get the most benefits from the experience both physically and spiritually. This book is full of the nutritional and menu tools you will need, including recipes.I appreciated Susan's urging to listen to the Holy Spirit's prompting on your fast. While it is of great importance to consider all medical conditions, I think that too many times we let them be our excuse for not listening to the Holy Spirit. I was also impressed with the immense information and application that Susan offers in this valuable resource. So much of what she presents are things I have wondered about, but never found a comprehensive guide such as this. The balance of dealing with the physical aspects and the spiritual aspects are as close to perfect as I think a person may find in a book.The Daniel Fast should be on the bookshelf of all who want to fast, and all of us should try the discipline of fasting.* * * * *This review copy was provided courtesy of Tyndale House Publishing.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gypsy Freeman
I love this book. There is so much valuable information in it. Not to mention all the great recipes for the Daniel Fast.Half of the book is recipes! I met the author online at her blog site and she is so helpful and extremely knowledgeable. God has given her a powerful mandate to help change the lives of believers through the power of fasting and prayer. Highly recommended!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
This book is 3 in one: A Devotioanl, Vegan Recipes and Fasting all in one. But if you are put off by it being a Vegan fast I would urge you to still get the book. You can do the 21 day devotional and even try some of the Awesome recipes!This book is more then a book about how to do a fast. It is a spiritual walk and cleansing of the soul and body.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
I have only read a portion of the book on e-book. And I must say that so far it is a must have for me. Though it is a book on fasting, the few pages I have read so far--has truly blessed me, there is a bigger picture in the pages of this book. I love her writing style, so eloquent and fresh and it opens your mind up to a whole new world in the Lord. You can feel the humility and passion for her love for the Lord.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.