Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?

In a culture filled with so many different types of congregations---seeker, Bible, emergent, liberal, evangelical---why are many lifelong churchgoers dropping out? Learn why Crabb believes it's time to rethink the entire foundation and focus of what we know as "church." Includes excerpts from the author's upcoming release, 66 Love Letters. 240 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Review 1 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding book which the whole world should read

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
dick
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book brings forth what I persoanlly have been feeling and searching for answers for for some time. My prayer is that I can use my findings effectively to share with others
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Timothy P
This book explores if the real church actually exists, and what constitutes a real church. Crabb, in his wit and frankness, explores the state of the American church. He moves to 3 misconceptions of what a church exists for, namely for a better life, to save ourselves and others, and to change the world. He ends by unpacking his own concept of a real church, focusing on 4 areas, namely spiritual theology, formation, community and mission.Not being familiar with Crabb's earlier works e.g. Inside Out, I initially found his style and comments rather suspicious and a little too tongue-in-cheek, though I understand he was being extreme and in-your-face for emphasis, and also speaking his mind, but slowly then drawing the audience to think outside the box, for themselves, and also get drawn into his reasoning and unpacking which comes subsequently. The content and material he puts forth is not new, but still refreshing, especially his take of what many Christians view as church, or what church should be for. I find him leaning towards emergent church theology, though he mentions clearly at least twice his misgivings and concerns about the movement. He also uses terms and phrases that don't necessary sit well with evangelical theology, e.g. dancing with the Trinity, addiction to God, hearing heaven's music, etc. Also, I find that the book is a little imbalanced, because he spends so much time reflecting on the state of the church, and misconceptions of the purposes of a church, it seems he rushes through the 4 areas, and before it can reach a climax, ends rather abruptly, concluding that theology is the thing that draws the other 3 together, without really explaining too much why and how. Instead, he leaves us thirsty for more, which creates a great plug-in for his other book 66 Love Letters, which he then promotes. On purpose, or just in line with his conclusion? I leave it to you to decide.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Perfect Harmony Wellness Centre
Great; in an ongoing series of books I have been reading on the same topic. Each one, while slightly different, has the common thread of the desperate need for churches to get back to real, honest relationships within the body. Relationships that may or may not lead to programs; not the other way around. Of course that starts first with a real, honest relationship with Christ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori D
When I first received this book, I was very excited to read it as I was going through a period in my life of struggling with my experiences in the church. However, I found this book extremely difficult to get through (it took me months of picking it up and putting it down) and the author tended to contradict his own points throughout the book. While I do agree with some of his arguments about what is wrong with churches today, I think the biggest problem Mr. Crabb is facing is his lifestyle. He says that due to his travel schedule he is unable to attend any one church on a regular basis. What he is missing is the sense of community and belonging that you get from attending the same church regularly. In his line of work, I'm not sure he's ever going to find what he's looking for.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
Having been involved in church planting, I was compelled to read this book on this important topic. What makes people--sincere, true Christians--disillusioned about their churches? Why do Christians quit attending church? Why do so many of those who still attend dislike going? What, exactly, is wrong with our churches today? Do real churches exist and how can I find them?In an early chapter, Dr. Crabb mentions his morning coffee shop addiction, mentioning that he wants to be drawn to church "as compellingly as the promise of an extra hot latte." Reading this book is like sitting down to a big latte in your favorite coffee shop with a really good friend and having a heart-to-heart completely honest, sometimes reflective, sometimes meditative, often provocative chat about your Christian walk and your own church. Some of Dr. Crabb's thoughts will likely resonate with you as they did with me; others not so much.Although this book, like your friend, likely will have a few spiritual insights and truths to share with you and you will walk away comforted that you are not alone and perhaps encouraged in your own Christian walk, this book has neither researched the issues it purports to deal with in a scholarly, academic way nor presents much of an agenda for forging ahead to build--or find--a "real church."Recommended with reservations. This book will not show you how to build a great church. Perhaps that is, after all, something only the Lord can do. This book might serve as a starting point for thinking through these issues confronting our church today.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joesette
Real Church is an honest and transparent soul-bearing book by Dr. Larry Crabb. Throughout the book, Crabb shares that his writings are based on his personal experiences. However, I believe it directly relates to the vast number of people who are tired of the ritualistic Sunday morning, sing three songs and lets head home for the day type church. Although Crabb does not offer any absolute solutions to the problems, I applaud him for his courage to stand up and say "this isn't working for me anymore and I'm not going to pretend it is". Pastors and "leaders" of churches would find this book to be very beneficial in understanding the loss of the old time saints..who just don't want to do the program any more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pleasant Ridge Baptist
I bought the books for my Adult Advisory Committee which is responsible for oversight of all adult education and discipleship programs. I get them to read a book together and we discuss it, then brainstorm about ways to improve our education ministry. I would recommend the book as very thought provoking. As with any book I don't agree with every conclusion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Leicester
This is the first book by author Larry Crabb (who has written twenty) that I have read and reviewed. Because the topic of real church resonates with me I was eager to examine Crabbs discussion on what makes a real church and how we can find it. The book is organized in five parts: the first part is organized into four chapters under the general topic of why he doesnt like going to church; Section 1 Why Should I Go to Church? Three Answers That Dont Work For Me; Section II What Church Do I Want to Go To:; Section III Marks of the Church I Want to Be Part Of; and the final section consisting of two chapters of a closing statement of what he wants in a church and a postscript.The first fourteen chapters describe Crabbs disappointment and frustration with church. Page xix gives a general statement of the church he does want to be a part of, but the reader waits until Chapter 15 for a partial answer to the question of what the church Crabb wants to belong to looks like. I finished the book still not understanding exactly what real church looks like. For me, the answer is simple and straightforward, and the book added no clarity to any questions I might have had about some of the happy-happy-joy-joy churches we see on the landscape today. I found the most valuable statement to the reader in Chapter 23, where Crabb states Im fighting a battle for my life that most churches dont help me fight. And yes, it is a battle that Christs resurrection tells me I can win. I applaud the clarity of this statement, but cannot commend the rest of the book to any but the most ardent fan of Mr. Crabbs writing.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
M Kelly
In the book Real Church, Larry Crabb smacks head-on into one of the largest issues of Christianity today. That issue is whether or not "church", as it biblically should be, even exists. Crabb boldly pulls back the curtain on the church, exposing it for what it is today. He denounces several reasons people give for attending church and contrasts those with the desirable attributes of a church he would attend. As he brings his book to a close, Larry Crabb authors four marks of a church he would like to be a part of.Real Church is a book that addresses a topic which is both interesting and relevant. Crabb seems to be dissatisfied with the religious scene and periodically portrays hopelessness in his writing. Real Church appears to be very me-centered. Crabb certainly addresses several problems within the church but wearies the reader who might not be committed to wading through all the varied problems facing the church just to get to the solution. I would recommend this book to those who are up to facing the problems that Crabb exposes and then, putting the book down, desire to do something about it. My fear is that the author might unintentionally drive people away from the church as a result of finding common ground with his dissatisfaction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeff Hickman
I found Dr.Crabb's book "Real Church" very compelling. While didn't agree with everyone of his conclusions his transparency is refreshing. His book raises some very important questions for the church to consider. Business as usual for the church will only result in a further discontentment by church goers and continued lack of concern by outsiders. As a pastor, reading this book helped me to evaluate myself and our church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Clark D. Goble
Review: In Real Church, Larry Crabb confesses a loss of desire to attend church. I believe many of us would admit to the same thing if we were being honest; however, Crabb takes it further. In a stunningly honest fashion, Crabb explores his lack of enthusiasm with church as we know it. First, Crabb identifies the different church models that are prevalent today and then explores how each falls short of ideal. Crabb then identifies the qualities that a church should be striving to possess. I found Real Church to be a refreshing critique of how our western church often misses the mark spiritually. Crabb is able to earn credibility with the reader by honestly admitting his own flaws and short-comings. He writes earnestly of the worldly addictions that are competing with his desire to become more like Jesus. Reading the confessions of a Christian leader in his sixties helped me feel more comfortable with the competing desires in my own heart. By identifying his own needs, Crabb is then able to envision a church that actually meets the needs of its congregation. Crabb was able to put in words feelings that Ive often had regarding attending church. Far too often, church leaders are quick to judge and condemn Christians who lack enthusiasm for church. Crabb is able to get past the finger pointing and guilt to actually write something productive. I highly recommend this book for people who are unsatisfied with their church (even if they arent sure why). I also believe all church leaders who desire to build an authentic Christian community should read this book carefully. I will be placing Real Church on my must read list. Highly Recommended. This review is written by a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aaron
Real Church by Larry Crabb is a refreshing book that addresses questions that seem to be popping up again and again as I talk to people and think about religion and Christianity. What is Real Church? Does it exist and can I find it? Having asked these questions myself, I am comforted to know that I am in the companionship of some spiritual giants such as Larry Crabb. His willingness to confront these questions in himself and go further, to understand what is lying beneath them, is the premise for this stirring collection of insights. Real Church opens a dialogue about what is really going on inside of us, and how church can and should address the only truths that can speak to our innermost being. By first understanding ourselves, our addictions to everything but God, and our unhealthy ways of relating to others, we can begin to dig into the heart of what church really is supposed to be like. This book has profoundly affected the way I think about myself and how I relate to others. I pray that I can begin to take the insights I have learned and apply them to how I "do church". I would recommend that all Christians read this book (I may even read it again!) and take the opportunity it gives to examine our own lives and churches with the purpose of reviving our spirits to truly hunger for God above all else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2009
Dr. Crabb scrie totul intr-o analiza pesonala profunda din care transapre stilul reflexiv. Nu vine pe caii mari ai unui invatat ci merge in papucii unui om care observa probleme si nu se sfieste ca analizandu-le sa le compare cu standardul Bibliei. In Bisericile evanghelice la ale caror servicii am participat, dorinta mea dupa adevarul care transforma si dupa dragostea care elibereaza, a fost foarte rar implnita. Plecand de la aceasta constatare el deschide cititorului fereastra unei introspectii personale care incepe cu: Ce biserica ma poate face sa vin la intalnirea ei?Pentru structurarea unui raspuns cat mai cuprizator, el mentioneaza de la inceput cele 4 aspecte ale unei biserici biblice:1. O biserica cu o teologie corecta: adevarul este cel care schimba vieti.2. O biserica care sustine/desfasoara o formare spirituala: vieti care reflecta din ce in ce mai mult viata christica.3. O comunitate spirituala: relatii cu sens care implinesc nevoi spirituale. 4. O comunitate misionara: urmareste un scop care face/aduce o diferenta vesnica.Crabb sumarizeaza accentuat ideea sa despre biserica: biserica al carei parte vreau sa fiu trebuie sa fie reala, sa promoveze o teologie care atinge orice suprafata a unei transformari spiritual-umane, ce ma implica apoi spre implineirea nevoilor celor din jur oferindu-le o perspectiva si destinatie vesnica.Alaturi de aceasta structura dr. Crabb isi exprima indoiala daca conducatorii din biserici si enoriasii merg intotdeauna in aceiasi directie; daca au inteles la fel lucrurile pe care o biserica trebuie sale exprime in manifestara ei.Plecand de la cele 4 componente ale unei biserici biblice el enunta si cei 4 "C" ai unei lucrari de conducere/pastorire biblica in biserica: Continut, Caracter, Comuniune, Competenta.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Harmony Wheeler
Larry Crabbs book Real Church addresses why so many Christians go to church with the wrong motives and why so many other Christians feel unfilled and left empty by church, and he attempts to draw light to what the right motives for going to church might be and how the church should act as a vessel of Christ.Crabb reminds his readers that all people have the same problem: an addiction to self. An addiction that only God can counter.Crabb points out the pros and cons in the popular modern church which focuses on morals, experience, entertainment, and mission. He also reminds readers that hope in God comes before experience in God. We cant expect to feel Gods presence all of the time in this life. We only have a taste of what has yet to come. Our emptiness serves only to give us a gnawing hunger for God, a hunger we should oblige by reading our Bibles and seeking to become like Christ.Dig for gold in Crabbs book, and you will find it. Crabbs gold, however, does not fit the whole, nor does it flow together. The many things he covers in his book are deep issues that any reader can relate to, but they dont necessarily have to do with church; and if they do have to do with the church, Crabb only gives his readers general ideas of how to implement them.Crabb fails in other areas, as well. His writing style, while informal, may annoy some readers with its awkward wordings, contradictions, and interrupting parentheses.Crabb does, however, speak to the heart. If readers are the truth seeking Christians Crabb tries to revive in His book, they will find the nuggets of gold in his book and will apply them to their own lives. Hopefully, one person changing at a time can ultimately change what Crabb calls churchianity into the Real Church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
David LaDuke
Larry Crabb is no longer interested in church. In his new book, Real Church, Larry is on a mission to find the kind of church that will help him fight. He writes; Im fighting a battle for my life that most churches dont help me fight. That battle is the battle between being addicted to self and being addicted to God.Larry begins by addressing some of the churchs shortcomings. In particular, he notes that churches often offer answers that dont satisfy him. Churches that promise that my life will be better, or it will show me how to change my world fall short of helping the Christian draw closer to God. He is clearly in the spiritual formation camp which is not a bad thing at all. And even though he questions the new Missional movement, he sees a lot of good in it and offers suggestions on how it could be better. You can tell he is still wrestling with it. In the end he advocates a church that learns spiritual theology, longs for spiritual formation, pays the price to develop spiritual community, and gives themselves to spiritual mission.As a minister I found a lot of things to think about and Larry has challenged me to rethink the direction of my congregation. But I recommend this to anyone who is interested in a Real Church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Real Church: Does It Exist? Can I Find It?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda Branson
While reading this book, my first response was to jump up and down and yell and scream a big "YES!" because Larry has bravely put into words the desperate cry of my own heart.If I could, I would put this book into the hands of every pastor, every church leader, and every person whose soul is thirsty for more. I would stand behind the bored, tired pastor to make sure he reads every word, and then engage him in honest conversation that, maybe for the very first time, exposes the deepest motives of his heart and challenges him to move past apathetic acceptance to the thrill of encountering Jesus and catching the rhythm of His kingdom in community.One warning--reading this book may stir in you a hunger and thirst for more . . .Brenda BransonBrokenPeople.org
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.