Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles

Thomas Nelson Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles

Most of us do all we can to avoid pain. But what if our struggles are gifts from God? Exploring seven crucial life issues---injustice, rejection, loneliness, loss, discipline, failure, and death---Meier and Henderson claim challenges are necessary to our spiritual health---and show how to grow through them to reach Christian maturity. 304 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Review 1 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Help for those in Pain

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
NanaNeicy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain
I will be the first to admit that I have been less than diligent about reading this particular book. I received this particular book well over a year ago, and have just now gotten around to finishing the book. I could give you a litany of excuses, but that is all that they would be ... excuses. I would pick it up, read a few chapters, and put it down. When I picked it up again, I would read a few more chapters, then put it down.
There is no good reason for why I did this. The book stands as a good reference, and the stories that it tells can rip your heart. I can imagine that sitting down for a conversation with either or both of the authors of this well written book would be extremely interesting. The main reason that I had such a difficult time getting through the book in one or two sittings (as is my norm) is that I believe the words were penetrating far deeper than I cared to explore.
Why read this book? Sometimes, we are going to hurt. I do not mean hurt in the physical sense, but sometimes mental pain gives as much or more anguish than does physical pain. We do not have to let the pain define us. Dr. Meier and Dr. Henderson delve into why our pain affects us the way it does, and how working past it can make us stronger. The authors explore seven areas (challenges) they list as life's most common: injustice, rejection, loneliness, loss, discipline, failure, and death. Instead of medical jargon, we are given biblical references, and I rather liked the departure. When you pick up a book written by nearly anyone with the letters M.D. behind their name, especially one that could be categorized as a "self-help" book, you expect to find clinical information. In this book, not so much. Referring instead to the Bible, Drs. Meier and Henderson guide us through the benefits of working through our pain.
While it did take me quite some time to read, I would recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book for people with trials

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
alisa
Location:Utah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It took me a little bit to get into this book, but overall I very much enjoyed it. The book starts with the premise of pain not being an enemy, but a help in our growth. I appreciated the specific “pains” divided into the chapters of injustice, rejection, loneliness, loss, discipline, failure and death. My favorite chapter/part of the book was a personal training plan, chapter 20. I am a runner (though not very fast) and I appreciated how our faith can become like a training run. I liked the crowd of witnesses idea and carrying only the bare essentials.
The second half of the book I enjoyed more than the first, although the last couple of chapters were a bit too much on the “Jesus saves” blast for me. I do agree that in our lives pain can be a champion for our growth if we allow it to be. I also agree that when we turn our lives over to Christ, then we can overcome any challenges and receive help for our challenges. I especially enjoyed the specific stories and experiences the authors included in the book. These experiences made the “meat” of the book more real for me to believe.
Overall, I thought this was a good book and would recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
crystal steimling
FINDING PURPOSE BEYOND OUR PAINWhen the darkness closes in, where can we find the strength and courage to hold on? When the pain is unbearable, how does one even begin to wake up and reach beyond?When INJUSTICE, REJECTION, LONELINESS, LOSS, DISCIPLINE, FAILURE and/or DEATH ensue, is there really a way to gain understanding or more importantly to grow as we uncover the hidden potential and/or purposes? Dr. Paul Meier and Dr. David Henderson address these 7 universal struggles in their book, FINDING PURPOSE BEYOND OUR PAIN.Through real life stories, biblical truths and practical application, let this book be the beginning of the journey that moves you beyond your pains to victory, restoration and wholeness. It surely will equip you to allow your fears and failures to give way to the light of God's purposes so that you can once again walk in comfort, peace and yes, "a joyful knowing"---even in spite of the pain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Pain is no stranger to any person. Everyone faces situations that seem to have ramifications that follow throughout the course of our lives. This is why I chose to read and review Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain by Drs. Paul Meier and David L. Henderson for Thomas Nelson Publishing. This was a wonderful book. These authors dive into every pain imaginable: Injustice, Rejection, Loneliness, Loss, Discipline, Failure, and Death. What I liked best about this book is that each subject did not just get one chapter devoted to it, but several. Meier and Henderson go into great depth with each painful experience. They use real life situations teach real life lessons using Scripture as a foundation for healing. Each chapter is very easy to read and understand without a lot of big words and jargon that only psychologists would understand. At the end of each chapter, the authors give discussion questions so that you could use it as a daily devotion or Bible study group setting. I took time to read this book. I did not just speed through. It was worth the slow reading as it gave me a chance to think about each situation and apply the principles to my own life. I would suggest this book to any one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
God uses everything, even pain, to bring about good things in our lives. We will never have a pain free life this side of heaven. Rather than avoiding pain, we can see it as our ally, pointing us to Christ.The authors look at seven areas in our lives that cause pain: injustice, rejection, loneliness, loss, discipline, failure and death. The writing on each section stands alone so one could read the particular areas of most interest and not miss important truths. At the end of each chapter is a list of the principles offered in the chapter as well as questions for personal reflection.We miss seeing the purpose of the pain because we focus on the pain rather than God and His faithfulness to us. The authors remind the readers that true healing of pain will be found in one's relationship to Christ. Christ is the key to victory as only He has the power to heal our pain.This is a great book for people facing "everyday" psychological pain. For serious pain I would suggest a Christian counselor.This book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Denise
I believe this book should be on the shelf of every pastor and Christian counselor, period. Dr. Meier and Dr. Henderson identify the seven most common life challenges. They are injustice, rejection, loneliness, loss, discipline, failure, and death. They give each challenge its own section. At the end of each section are practical steps to take and questions to consider to apply to your particular situation. It is impossible as well as unhealthy to try to run from any of these challenges. The doctors believe that it is best to grow through these struggles for spiritual health and maturity. I proudly reviewed this book as a Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Teri Kelsey
Having recently placed my Mom in a seniors home and lost both my father and husband, I feel qualified to comment on thisbook. It's divided into sections of four chapters each, one section devoted to each of seven issues: injustice, rejection, loneliness, loss, failure, discipline, death. At the end of each section there are several pages of practical steps to take, points to remember, and questions to contemplate. I always appreciate a self-help book with a feature like this. By the time youve studied several chapters on a topic, its easy to lose track of the forest for the trees. Of course, I was especially interested to read the authors take on the subject of loss. Interestingly, it deals with several kinds of loss, including time, significance and control. They go on to look at what we can gain through the experience of losing something important. I was a bit surprised, but pleased, to see they also discussed the issue of whether what can be gained is worth the suffering. Most writers, especially Christian ones, would automatically assume it is, but even the strongest person can find themselves asking Is it really worth it? during tough times. Each topic is treated with this same thoroughness and honesty. The complete, if brief, coverage of topics here makes this book useful for those who work with or know someone who is struggling with the problem of pain. The honesty makes it a book that challenges but never condemns. While it is a christian book, it doesn't push religion until the final section on fear of death, so it could be used by non-Christians, too. All in all,I'd recommend this book to anyone interested in the topic. It should be useful to individuals, and would make an excellent resource for those who deal with people, whether as a counselor, pastor, or friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Teri Kelsey
Having recently placed my Mom in a seniors home and lost both my father and husband, I feel qualified to comment on thisbook. It's divided into sections of four chapters each, one section devoted to each of seven issues: injustice, rejection, loneliness, loss, failure, discipline, death. At the end of each section there are several pages of practical steps to take, points to remember, and questions to contemplate. I always appreciate a self-help book with a feature like this. By the time youve studied several chapters on a topic, its easy to lose track of the forest for the trees. Of course, I was especially interested to read the authors take on the subject of loss. Interestingly, it deals with several kinds of loss, including time, significance and control. They go on to look at what we can gain through the experience of losing something important. I was a bit surprised, but pleased, to see they also discussed the issue of whether what can be gained is worth the suffering. Most writers, especially Christian ones, would automatically assume it is, but even the strongest person can find themselves asking Is it really worth it? during tough times. Each topic is treated with this same thoroughness and honesty. The complete, if brief, coverage of topics here makes this book useful for those who work with or know someone who is struggling with the problem of pain. The honesty makes it a book that challenges but never condemns. While it is a christian book, it doesn't push religion until the final section on fear of death, so it could be used by non-Christians, too. All in all,I'd recommend this book to anyone interested in the topic. It should be useful to individuals, and would make an excellent resource for those who deal with people, whether as a counselor, pastor, or friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa Teakell
Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain, Uncovering the hidden potential in life's most common struggles is a look into the issues of: Injustice, Rejection, Loneliness, Loss, Discipline, Failure, and Death. The authors define the pain associated with each struggle, going into the deeper issues, and then go on to provide tools to process it in light of God's Word.The authors of this book were skilled in defining the deep realities of our pain that result from each struggle. I was impressed that they seemed to legitimize the initial feelings that can arise, but then move the reader to the hope that God's Word delivers. Rethinking pain into potential is in itself a powerful tool to process life's struggles. The other tools presented by the authors are helpful for not only the reader, but for anyone who deals with those who hurt. I would recommend this to leaders and teachers as well as those who need a lift in today's trials. I'm very pleased, as a Thomas Nelson Reviewer that I chose this book as my first no cost book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Spicer
Today, I am writing a review in hopes that you will read a new book entitled, FINDING PURPOSE BEYOND OUR PAIN. The authors are Dr. Paul Meier and Dr. David Henderson. Both authors are Christian medical doctors specializing in psychiatry. This book covers seven "inevitables" of life......injustice, rejection, loneliness, loss, discipline, failure and death. The book is divided into these seven sections where the authors discuss their take on each of these inevitables from both a psychological and spiritual perspective. The book is laid out in a way that you could read only on one of the topics independent of the others. This is a helpful layout feature in my opinion. At the end of each section, there is a thumbnail review, followed by several application questions that are personal and enable one to process through each issue and to reflect on the truth. The premise of the book is that pain is not "the enemy". God can use any circumstance, even our pain, to bring about good things in our lives. The darkness may be exactly what we need in order to see the light of His presence and purpose shining all around us. Purpose comes from pain when we take the struggles of life and allow them to set us apart for unique opportunities that God has in store for us; the power to cope with the pain life has thrown at us comes in focusing on its purpose. I think you will enjoy the insights that this book has to offer, just as I have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christa
Confession: This book surprised me. I picked up the book for review figuring that being in the ministry it would make a good tool in assisting and counseling others through their pain, and through struggles that they may be facing. What I was not prepared for was the wonderful way they addressed issues in my own life. I found myself reading out loud to my husband knowing that these things would encourage him as well. Meier and Henderson use many life examples and stories (even some personal experiences) to illustrate on how we can not only get through lifes tough and painful spots, but how we can become better because of them. These authors are very honest and to the point, and lay it out in such a loving way. The whole book is well laid out and very easy to readand I especially valued that they run over the main points at the end of each section, as well as have some self reflection questions that really help you to locate yourself in what you are learning. Ive already recommended this book to several of my friends who are eager to read it as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle G
Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain by Paul Meier M.D. and David Livingstone Henderson M.D. is a good book to begin your journey to healing of your past. Instead of running away from the hurts, instead the authors teach you how to stand and face what you've been through, embrace it and use it as a gift from God to change your life and possibly the lives of others who are hurting too. Though through God I have had a huge break through in my struggles with depression and anxiety, this book offered some good tools to put in place to help when we get stuck in the past. Though not all of the solutions work for me, that doesn't mean they won't work for you. It's worth a read if your looking to turn your life around and become a Godly person who listens to what God wants us to learn instead of running away from it or living in the past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bethany LeBedz
If youre looking for a bunch of empty platitudes about suffering through Gods will, dont read Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain by Drs. Paul Meier and David Henderson. Pain and problems WILL occur in our lives, but just as a physical pain sends us to a physician to root out its source, so should emotional pain send us to the Great Physician for healing. The books key point is that pain is NOT the enemy; it is a tool. Most of lifes problems are encompassed by these seven categories: injustice, rejection, loneliness, loss, discipline, failure, and death.While some people may wish to read the book straight through, others may find it more helpful to read an applicable section at a time. I found that to be a useful feature. The authors presented a good balance of real-life examples with whom readers can easily identify, Scripture promises and reminders, and questions to consider. The section that I found to be most interesting and applicable currently was the one on discipline. Even though it can be self-imposed and necessary, it still hurts. Great read!Im a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program and they provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review. http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara
This book helps people understand and act on the potential for growth through seven common sources of pain in life. Biblically based but with practical approaches to dealing with injustice, rejection, loneliness, loss, discipline, failure, and death, the authors challenge us to discover the lessons a loving God is teaching. Readers can grow in appreciation of how God works in their lives, drawing closer to Him through the unpleasant and sometimes devastating circumstances we all suffer because of our fallen nature. Smoothly written and logically composed, it offers the flexibility of going directly to sections of interest, losing nothing when bypassing previous sections. Moreover, the Finding Purpose Beyond suggestions and challenges at the end of each section help to focus on moving toward real happiness through the suffering we cannot escape. I found the content of this feature very thought-provoking and helpful. Engaging stories of individuals the authors have treated in their practices illustrate their points and enliven the writing along with appropriate Biblical quotes. I highly recommend this book to people looking for answers to circumstances troubling them, wondering where God is in all of it, and how life can be better. I am a member of the Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger program: http://brb.thomasnelson.com/.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley Watts
Because I am taking college courses in Christian Counseling, I was very excited to read this book! I certainly was not disappointed! This Book "Finding Purpose Beyond our Pain" was everything I had hoped it would be. Whether you are a certified counselor or a friend trying to help someone, you will be blessed as you begin to explore what it has to say. It is scriptural and Bible based and is laid out so that anyone can understand. The first thing I noticed is that we have to begin with ourselves before we can help anyone else. The part that ministered to me the most was "part 4" dealing with loss; page 122 has a statement that should be truth to all of us. "God always has a reason for the things He takes from us and the things He allows us to lose. Because He is good, we can trust Him. Even when our losses result from poor choices we have made, our God is merciful and gracious. He can restore to us much more than we have given up if we are willing to learn from our mistakes and return to Him." Loss is inevitable, because we live in a very temporal world, nothing we have will last. If we are holding on to these things so tightly that Jesus does not come first, then we are heading for a fall. I highly recommend this book to anyone that truly has a heart for helping hurting people. You will also come to terms with some issues you may have to!I (http://brb.thomasnelson.com)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2009
Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain ~ Uncover the hidden potential in life's most common struggles is written by Paul Meier, MD and David L. Henderson MD. What... you ask are life's most common struggles? According to Dr. Meier and Dr. Henderson, they are:InjusticeRejectionLonelinessLossDisciplineFailureDeath"The first paragraph in the Introduction says this:Edward Payson, a 19th Century minister in Portland, Maine wrote the following words despite losing the use of his limbs to a debilitating illness that eventually took his life:If God had told me some time ago that HE was about to make me as happy as I could be in this world, and then had told me that HE should begin by crippling me in all my limbs, and removing me from all my usual sources of enjoyment, I should have thought it a very strange mode of accomplishing HIS purpose. And yet, how is His wisdom manifest even in this! For if you should see a man shut up in a closed room, idolizing a set of lamps and rejoicing in their light, and you wished to make him truly happy, you would begin by blowing out all of his lamps; and then throw open the shutters to let in the light of heaven."WOW!! What a way to begin a book ~ it drew me in and never let me go!I highly recommend this book to any and all because let's face it ~ who hasn't experienced something in their list I gave above! This book will encourage you in ways that only the Lord can say because as you read it and also read and see each Scripture that these men have placed with each situation you will have your own perspective and your own ears to hear just what the Lord would say to you. I would encourage you to ask the Holy Spirit to open your heart and mind before reading it because just like anything else ....If you are willing to look within and do what you are being led to do.....changes will be made and a healthier happier you will emerge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Corey
"Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential Beyond Our Pain," by Paul Meier, teaches us how to confidently face painful struggles even in the most trying times of our lives. Lets face it, we all fall into pain at one point or another in our daily lives. Dr. Meier explores the seven most common life challenges: injustice, rejection, loneliness, loss, discipline, failure and death. One of the most common things that I have found after getting involves in ministry is that everyone hurts and struggles and many times they simply need some one to come alongside them as they heal. This book takes a very pastoral approach to hitting the problems of life at the core: spiritually. Straight out of the beginning of this book, Dr. Meier hits the reader with excellent, biblical insights into out pain: "It is not easy to find purpose beyond our pain in such trails, but God assures us it is there. Over and over the Bible reveals a good and loving God who allows our pain as part of His greater plan of redemption and new creations. Through the prophet Isaiah, God assures His people, 'I will not cause pain without allowing something new to be born' If you focus on Him during your pain, it will be worth the wait." Many times in life we fail to see the perspective of God in our pain. We fail to see that a new child is born out of the pains of child-bearing. We fail to see that branches need to be pruned in order for the blossoming of new plants to occur. Lets regain the perspective of a God who loves enough to give and take away according to His will, yet He never lets go in the process of it all. There are purposes far beyond our pain! (Book review Blogger for Thomas Nelson Publishing: brb.thomasnelson.com)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
David LaDuke
Pain and suffering offer possibly the biggest challenge to our faith. Why does God allow us to experience pain? Paul Meier and David Henderson provide answers to our questions about pain in their new book Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain. Meier and Henderson consider seven of our most common struggles, injustice, rejection, loneliness, loss, discipline, failure, and death. All of us have experienced one or more of these and the authors show us how God works through our struggles to bring about a greater good in our lives.This is not a book about how to avoid pain, it is a book about how see the possible positive outcomes of pain. Pain is unavoidable but put in it's proper perspective, pain can be seen as a gift from God. As a person who loves structure, the book appealed to me because each topic was considered in four short chapters. Following each section, there is a summary of the four chapters and questions to consider. This is a very practical book that anyone who is currently going through a struggle will find helpful. This is not only a good book to read now, but it is also good to keep on hand to remind us of the hope we have in our future struggles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeremy
As a minister I constantly encounter hurting people who are seeking answers as to why bad things continually happen to them. After all, if God is so loving then why in the world do people suffer the burden of pain?Drs. Paul Meier and David Henderson tackle the tough issue of dealing with pain from a Christian perspective.Unfortunately, we live in a broken world thanks to Adam's sin. With sin came the tag along of pain. According to Meier and Henderson there are at least seven universal pains that we as fallen humans will encounter at some point in our life. Those pains include, but may not be limited to: * Injustice * Rejection * Loneliness * Loss * Discipline * Failure * DeathMeier and Henderson have put together a great resource for ministers, lay people, and other professional Christian health providers so we can better understand the psychiatric scope of what people are dealing with, why they are dealing with their pain, and how we can administer the healing power of Jesus Christ through prayer and ministry to those who are suffering from any of these pains.AS we go on through our lives experiencing pain we can miss some great opportunities to grow and become a better person from the experience.All these losses could have made be bitter toward God, and given me a psychological disorder that would lead me to believe that everyone I was close to would die. Instead, I let God have my grief, and my loss, and he turned it in to joy in knowing that their lives, though short, werent in vain, and their contribution to my life was just as valuable.If we take time to step away from our pain we can find its purpose. Instead of fighting the pain through drugs and alcohol and destructive behavior, we must embrace it so we can become better and not bitter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain: Uncover the Hidden Potential in Life's Most Common Struggles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2009
This is one of those rare books that I just want to go out and purchase several copies of to give to people I know. The pages were overflowing with helpful and encouraging information. As I went about my days after reading portions from the book, I found myself, several times, recalling passages to apply them to different circumstances I would face or to share the ideas with friends. Practical information thats easy to remembersigns of a well-written book.The authors identify seven struggles all people face: injustice, rejection, loneliness, loss, discipline, failure, and death. They devote four chapters to each, defining the problem, giving examples (both modern and biblical) of people who have dealt with these, and showing how God can use the pain of the struggle to bring spiritual growth and blessing in His time. I especially enjoyed their interpretation of the Bible stories, showing Gods work for good behind the scenes in familiar characters lives.Each four chapter section ends with a summary of the major points (for clarity and quick reference) and questions to help readers prayerfully seek the truth of their situations and apply the concepts to their lives. The authors help readers understand that when they trust God, knowing that there is a purpose to any pain He allows in their lives, they can continue on with anticipation and hope."Finding Purpose Beyond Our Pain" is the collaborative effort of psychiatrists Paul Meier, MD (founder of the Meier Clinics) and David L. Henderson, MD. I had heard of Meier, but never read anything of his before. I wasnt disappointed. Im happy to recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>