Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1

Howard Books Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1

It's a bird, it's a plane, it's . . . the Bug Man? When forensic entomologist Nick Polchak is hired by elegant bank executive Kathryn---who hates bugs---the two appear to have nothing in common. But differences soon melt away as they work to catch a murderer---before he catches them. Fans of the hit TV show CSI will love this fast-paced mystery! 360 pages, softcover from Howard.
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Review 1 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
plm6846
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This author did his research for sure. I am in the medical field and all the details he brought through this story were excellent, he kept the plot twisting and turning. I love the main character..for a change he is just a funky professor with a very interesting personality trait..he identifies with the bugs he studies. Very good adventure story, lots of interactions and I would recommend this series to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
M. Wills
Tim Downs does it again. I loved this book. I could hardly put it down. It was great from front to back. With all the scientific terms he put it all in laymans terms and it was very interesting and humorous. Definitly a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Sanders
The bug man novels are great. I would definitely recommend this book to others. The plot is very good and moves at a steady pace. If you have never experienced the bug man novels you are missing out. I encourage you to read these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
I loved this book!There was never a dull minute & kept me guessing throughout the entire book.Tim Downs added just enough humor to make it interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kay
Good mystery. No foul language to ruin the story. Refreshes any microbiology/biolgy you might have studied in school. Gross at points with the descriptions of bodies and the insects causing their return to dust. Still, a good read that keeps you wanting to know, what happens next? Jesus Christ is not really a part of this book which is why I rated it a 4. (it is not negative against Christians eithr.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jan Jamerson
Almost to the end of the book and can't seem to put it down! Hope the following Bug Man series are as exciting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tamara
Loved this book! The characters were well developed and the connection between them all convincing. The plot was fascinating and the story was one in which I had to know the ending. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Fabrizio
This is my first Tim Downs book and I highly enjoyed it. It's rare to find a book enjoyable that is funny and gross at the same time. I learned quite a bit about insects that I didn't even think about before and I learned it while laughing. Entertaining character make the book, not the plot. I enjoyed it so much I ordered the next two in the series. I'm a few chapters into "Chop Shop" and it's much more intense then "Shoofly Pie" so far. My only problem with the book (which may be liked by others) is that the Christian part of the book really doesn't exist except for a preacher that says a few generic sentences. I expect Christians to write Christian literature not just good clean novels that are inoffensive. Sure this book can be read by a youth but what does he learn? How did it effect his walk with Christ? For a book that will change your life read Ted Dekker or Frank Peretti. For a good fun murder mystery read Tim Downs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2005
Customer Avatar
Tom Brown
Incredible read. Devoured the whole book in a day while on vacation. Went right out and bought Chop Shop the same day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2005
Customer Avatar
Lisa M. Bolman
For anyone who likes CSI, you will love this book. But beware, do not read while you're eating.Very exciting stuff!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2004
Customer Avatar
George
My wife is the fiction fan in our home but as she was reading Shoofly Pie she kept saying I love this book you have got to read it! I love this character you have got to read this book! So I read it. She was right. It was great. I look forward to the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2004
Customer Avatar
Ed
Great book! It's refreshing to find fiction that comes from an "unusual" perspective. I can't wait for Mr. Downs next novel. One caveat, if you are squeamish proceed with caution.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2004
Customer Avatar
HEATHER
This was a very good book that I didn't want to put down. There were some very funny one-liners & I can't wait for more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2004
Customer Avatar
Marcena Foust
I agree with the other reviews and am looking forward to the next one. I found it very informative and learned a number of things I never knew before... passed the information on. This was a great read and went too fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2004
Customer Avatar
Debra Garvine
What a great read! I am usually not into fiction but this book kept my interest, I couldn't put it down. A must for those who are into forensic medicine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2004
Customer Avatar
Heather
Let me start of by saying I agree wholeheartedly with the other reviewers. This book stands out from your run of the mill christian fiction. It is well-written, educational, and suspenseful. The characters are believable and intriguing. I loved getting to know them. My ONLY complaint is that I have to wait until September for the sequel! It's just not right.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2003
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Great book, hard to put down! Very detailed and interesting. I look forward to a sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shoofly Pie, A Bug Man Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2003
Customer Avatar
Kaylin
This is a wonderful addition to any book collection. The Bug Man is an interesting combination of CSI's Gil Grissiom and Stargate SG1's Jack O'Neil. The book has so many educational facts in it and the author throws in a bit of humor when you least expect it. I highly recommend it to any one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.