Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Worthy Publishing Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook

Worthy Publishing Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook
Review 1 for Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book and extremely relevant

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert Roger
Location:San Angelo, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Jeffress' book is well worth taking time to read. It is a great book and extremely relevant to the day and time in which we live in America. He is right on target in describing the difficult times we are facing as a nation and he certainly offers the right hope--Jesus! The book gripped my heart and I could not put it down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wake up all you who slumber

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is just what every Christian needs to know about our last days. I heard Dr. Robert Jeffress on the radio and his preaching was very interesting. I loved how he explained things and it actually made sense. It was as if the light was turned on and everything could be seen crystal clear. The book speaks about America and how we as Christians need to complete the work God bestowed on every single one of us. We are commanded to go out and tell all those that cross our path to tell them what Jesus did for us and what He can do for them. We are to be the light and salt of this world. He speaks of our responsibilities as citizens of the United States of America, and how important the Constitution is to us all. Once Government does away with God how that will change our status as a super power, and how the AntiChrist will come to be. You may think great another fire and brimstone preacher. I can just say no it makes sense and we need to get out of our comfort zone and begin to prepare for our Savior's coming. I recommend this book to everyone. Preachers, teachers, students, friends and family. I know what I am giving my friends and family for Christmas. I hope you pick this up. It is enlightening. God bless.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book had great references

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
ladybird
Location:inverness fla
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent book and i have learned alot from what i have read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book offers helpful advice

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Feeling discouraged about what you are hearing in the news? This book will direct you to what the author says is the answer, living a life more about Christ and sharing your story with others. The author stresses his idea that the current problem the nation is dealing with is not only a bad economy but is really about the spirituality or lack of it in America. He offers ways to help change the course of the nation in a very simple format. His style of writing is simple and easy to understand. You can tell he writes from a concerned heart and not a judgmental one. Although you may not agree with all the author says in the book you will still walk away learning some great ways to change yourself and therefore your nation. I only gave this book 4/5 stars because I felt it did get a bit preachy at times.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daniel Markham
Location:Fort Worth, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disapointing. This is the first negative review that I have ever written, but one that needs to be stated. I have (7) other Jeffress books in my library but this one I threw away after studying it cover to cover. This book is like a bad sandwich, good on the front side and good on the back side, but filled with spoiled meat in the center. This books is over the top politics. Jeffress leaves the preaching of the Gospel and goes to politicizing. He leaves the one to do the other, you cannot do both. Although Jeffress believes in the rapture, this book smacks of dominionism. This book could be used as a manifesto for the New Apostolic Reformation. My negative recommendation is not just because Jeffress is promoting patriotism as the neo-orthodoxy, but because he has succumbed to it. This book is an implicit endorsement for the NAR. This is the shepherd cozying up to the wolves. Unholy alliances do not promote the cause of Christ.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Timely wake-up call for all Christians in USA

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me begin by saying this book is not only timely but a must read for all Christians in this country. Pastor Jeffress doesn't hold back anything when talking about the decline of the United States. He doesn't just point out where we as a country have fallen, but he guides the Christians of this country to be the salt and light in a decaying, fallen society.
Christians can slow down the decay and eventual destruction of this country by prayerful consideration of who we vote into office, locally and federally; also, being aware of what is being voted into legislation. Listening and heeding what God says about our potential leaders and whether they meet His requirements, we can vote in more appropriate leaders. Be sure to read chapter 4, 'How a Christian Should Vote.' It will make things very clear, it sure did for me.
In Twilight's Last Gleaming, Pastor Jeffress discusses the most misunderstood word in America.... tolerance. He explains what true tolerance is verses the pseudotolerance that is being forced on every person in United States. This chapter was most enlightening to me.
In the chapter 'For Pastors Only,' Pastor Jeffress writes not only to pastors but to us plain folk. Let's face it, evangelizing, building the body of Christ, being salt and light isn't just for the pastors. Pastors are to train, we are to run with that training and cause others to thirst and want the light of Christ we show. We never know when someone is ready to surrender their life to Jesus. Hence the reason we are to be ready at all times to give the reason for our hope. Pastor Jeffress shares a story from D.L. Moody's life that just brought me to tears. Never pass the opportunity to show the way to Christ Jesus.
All in all, this book is eye-opening, timely, challenging and so on target. Is America in her last days? I believe so. But, just as Pastor Jeffress believes, I think it can be delayed as long as every Christian votes, evangelizes, prepares, and continues to be salt and light.
Extremely well written, concise, and straight-forward, Pastor Jeffress boldly goes where frailer Christians fear to tread. Pulling the blinders of the eyes of Christians around the country, we now have decisions to make and a way to follow through with those decisions.
I can only stress again, this is a must read for any one in the United States who calls themselves a Christian.
This book was provided freely for the purpose of reviewing by The B & B Media Group, Inc and Worthy Publishing. All opinions expressed are mine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought Provoking and Enlightening

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Matthew Bulfinch
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I pre-ordered this book, very excited to get it. I am only about halfway through it, but it rings true with every single word that I read - even though there are parts that are very difficult to read (spiritual warfare). This book resonates with what I hold as core values - I cannot think of a single negative thing about the book, it should be required reading on anyone's list!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Thougth Provoking Read

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Passionate and thought provoking.
I don't usually read books written by pastors of mega-churches as a general rule, but this book in the exception. I was fascinated by what Mr. Jeffress might have to say about politics, and if his views concurred with my own. If you have been reading my blog for any amount of time you will know that I am very passionate about politics, though I do understand that they are a far cry from being the answer to all of our problems.
I was blown away by Mr. Jeffress's boldness, and quite surprised that I had never heard of him before now. There were times in the book that I found his passion admirable, but the full context, and intent of what he was saying was a bit cloaked. I also thought that there were times that I think I know what he was saying, but would have liked alot more clarification just to be sure that he was saying what I thought he was.
For the most part I found Mr. Jeffress's views in line with my own, though I don't think we came to the final conclusion by the same means. Twilight's Last Gleaming definitely gave me alot of new ways to think things through! It was a book that I would advise reading with a brain ready to be used, because it will really make you think--in a good way!
Mr. Jeffress faces big questions head on, such as, what our place is as Christians in politics? And how to choose a candidate, which was a section that I heartily agreed upon.
Overall, Twilight's Last Gleaming is a book that I would recommend, especially to voters this year in light of the 2012 general election. This book really challenged me to think, and inspired me to be a bolder witness for Jesus Christ. This is a book that would definitely be worth checking out!
Final Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I received this book from the publisher, through First Wild Card Blog Tours, in exchange for an honest review. A positive review was not required, merely an honest one. Thank you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Bold Message of Challenge to Christian Americans

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Twilight’s Last Gleaming” is a clarion call to awaken a nation that has forgotten God. Robert Jeffress boldly challenges Christian Americans to take a stand for righteousness in the midst of an alarming and menacing movement of evil threatening the future of our country. Jeffress clearly alerts the reader to an understanding that God has left us here for a specific purpose during these “twilight years.” We are to be salt and light to a generation where government has imposed on its citizens the misuse and abuse of the word tolerance to a point of intolerance for the Christian.
Jeffress writes with unequivocal clarity, conviction, and authority. The chapter titled “How a Christian Should Vote” is especially timely and relevant for this election year. Jeffress lays a foundation for pastors to mobilize their churches to become agents for influencing uprightness and change by refocusing on the God’s mission of the Church.
The book is well organized, filled with amazing stories of injustice and persecution, strong teaching, a disturbing message, and through a thoughtful presentation that moves in a progression from politics, to action persecution, and a plan for last day’s strategic living.
I found the questions included in the “For Further Reflection” section to be an excellent resource for personal application as well as for use in a group study of the book. The profound questions provide an opportunity for taking an honest look at personal attitudes and actions.
“Twilight’s Last Gleaming” is emotionally moving, intellectually convincing, and spiritually convicting – a call to action for Christian Americans.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Informative and Thought-provoking

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The United States was once a great nation. The bright light she once was is now dimming and the future looks bleak. Robert Jeffress, author of “Twilight’s Last Gleaming”, is bold and not at all politically correct in his pronunciation of chaos and upheaval that is coming to our nation. While many are sugarcoating their thoughts and failing to give an accurate description of what is going on in America, Jeffress offers truth with a slight glimmer of hope, but it is not what we expect.
Even though the fall of America is imminent, it doesn’t mean we can’t delay it for a time, Jeffress believes. “Twilight’s Last Gleaming” is his attempt to highlight what’s gone wrong and what American Christians can do now. Most relevant to current events is his chapter on how Christians should vote and his opinion might surprise you. He also has chapters on persecution and living in the last days. There are discussion questions at the end of the book which will help if you want to use the book in a small group or book club or even for your own reflection.
Jeffress surprised me with his boldness. It’s refreshing to see a not-so-politically-correct account of current events particularly how it relates to Americans and Christians. We need more people who will say what needs to be said rather than what we want to hear. I applaud Jeffress’ effort to open our eyes to the issues and times that lay before us.
Dr. Robert Jeffress is pastor of the 11,000-member First Baptist Church in Dallas and host of Pathway to Victory, which is heard daily on over 720 radio stations nationwide, including the Salem Radio Network, American Family Radio and Bott Radio Network.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from The B&B Media Group, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Twilight's Last Gleaming: How America's Last Days Can Be Your Best Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the Christian's role in politics and culture

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
According to a recent Reuters Poll, 73 percent of Americans feel our country is heading in the wrong direction. (4) Perhaps you feel that way too and wonder what you can do to make a difference in America.
Jeffress says the collapse of America is coming. “We have both the ability and responsibility to delay the decay of our nation, even if we can't ultimately reverse it.” (7) this book is about what Christians can do to be the salt and light Christ commanded us to be. When people refuse to stand up against unrighteousness, evil always triumphs. “It's time for Christians to intervene.” (29)
Jeffress reviews the decline of godly influence in society, from Supreme Court decisions to school board actions. He speaks to intolerance, what it really means, and where the intolerance of Christian ideas might lead us.
He discusses how Christians should be involved in politics and gives four criteria for selecting a candidate.
Jeffress includes a chapter “for pastors only” on God's plan for the church, the pastor's calling and responsibility, and guidelines for preaching on issues.
Jeffress does not tip toe around issues. For example, he says voting for Mitt Romney is not voting for a Christian. “Mormonism is not Christianity. It is a false religion,” he writes. (110)
He quotes Supreme Court Justice Joseph Story, appointed by President James Madison in 1811 to show that the First amendment was not aimed at tolerating other religions but was to prevent any denomination within Christianity from being elevated above others to become a national religion. (89)
Christians are not to panic, Jeffress writes. “As representatives of the King of kings, Christians need to stop hyperventilating during every election and making hysterical comments... Remember, God is not seated on His throne biting his nails over any election. God already knows the outcome, because He has determined the outcome.” (123)
Jeffress is quick to point out, however, that we are not to use God's sovereignty as an excuse for passivity.
I have read a number of books on Christians and politics in the last several years. This one might just be the most sensible and God honoring one I have read. Jeffress has included questions for further reflection at the end of the book so this would be a good choice for groups studying the Christian's responsibility in culture and politics.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.