Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Worthy Publishing The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook

Worthy Publishing The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook

During the deadly 1832 cholera epidemic in London, a heartsick Irish healer must find the strength to overcome her most fearsome obstacles.

Accused of murdering a child under her care, Irish healer Rachel Dunne flees the ensuing scandal while vowing to never sit at another sickbed. She no longer trusts in her abilities-or God's mercy. When a cholera epidemic sweeps through London, she feels compelled to nurse the dying daughter of the enigmatic physician she has come to love. James Edmunds, wearied by the deaths of too many patients, has his own doubts about God's grace. Can they face their darkest fears? Or is it too late to learn that trust and love just might heal their hearts?

Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1794%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Irish Healer was an overall success!

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
editorreader
Location:Piedmont, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Irish Healer was an overall success! Most of the storyline was easy to predict, but that was not disappointing. I didn't realize the Irish people were so globally held in disrepute during the 1800 and 1900's, which indicates that I read it as historical fiction, which I am not sure it was intended. That means, to me, that the writer did a great job of presenting ideas as researched, even if they weren't. I would definitely read more from this writer. There were some punctuation errors, but they didn't impede the reading process or the storyline. Good job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Life is about receiving Second Chances

Date:July 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What happens when the one thing in your life can turn out to be the worst thing and bring forth horrible consequences ? Rachel Dunne, an Irish Healer had devoted her life to saving people and working with children to keep them healthy and well until one fateful night when a girl she was looking after died . Rachel is then accused of murdering the girl. Feeling helpless , her family decide it's best if they send Rachel away, somewhere we she can be safe from the scandal that has rocked the Irish shores. Rachel then through her parents is offered a job in England , assisting the local Doctor James Edmund. When Rachel arrives to England , though a mix -up occurs when it seems that they were expecting an older women , a lady spinster not the young feisty 20yr old Rachel Dunne. Can Rachel prove to the Dr and his family that she is capable of the job ? Especially when tragedy strikes England , and a plague of Chlorea falls onto the nation and one of the patients is Dr. Edmunds daughter ? Can Rachel find the courage and strength she has hidden away to care for a child when all she can think about is the one she lost ? What will happen when Dr. Edmunds finds out the truth on why Rachel had to flee Ireland , will he feel betrayed or will the love he has come to feel for Rachel prevail ?
Find out in The Irish Healer , a historical Christian novel in which shows that everyone no matter what deserves a second chance at life and who knows, like Rachel love may follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromIrish Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well written!! Don't miss it!

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monday, June 25, 2012
Hurry before all the copies of The Irish Healer are sold!
Sunday, June 24, 2012
Debut Historical Fiction Author: Nancy Herriman! The Irish Healer, c2012.
This is the book for me!
p 21
"James, what is this?" Sophia's attention perked like a hound on a scent.
"The worst," he replied. "It seems the woman I've hired to assist in packing the library and office has gotten lost."
"You've brought a woman from Ireland to help with your collections?" she asked, her voice rising, latching onto the piece of information that troubled her most. The possibility Miss Dunne had drowned in the Irish Sea or been accosted off the boat didn't concern her.
"I have tried to bring a woman from Ireland to help, yes."
Sophia swept her arms to point at the bookshelves. "But these books are valuable. They're to pass to Amelia, and I've been told some have been in your family for generations. How do you know this Irish creature won't steal some and sell them for profit?"
*On the way with you! Get back to that dock and pick up our protagonist. How tired she must be waiting by that wharf with the smells and tainted occupants! Hmmf.*
pp 23-49
Oh, my. Miss Dunne is half-Irish too, and is to log the extensive library! We already have a bit in common! I am inventorying the books at our local library. I hope she likes laughter, because I do! And adventure...
This story is beautifully written, with similes potent as a parable with their everyday reference.
p 192
He attempted to gather his thoughts, but they kept slipping away from him, like he was trying to cup grains of wheat in his hands only to have them trickle through his fingers.
Rachel Dunne, leaves her Emerald Isle after being accused of murdering a patient she is tending. Innocent by trial, local gossip conjures up stories. The position secured for her in the London home of Dr. James Edmunds, is assisting the move to his inherited boyhood home. Disillusioned by the death of his wife and others under his care, he has decided to become a gentleman farmer.
p 205
...She could not keep tending to people. Why does this continue to happen to me?
As hard as she tries to hide it, Miss Dunne keeps getting called upon to assist with her medicinal knowledge. She automatically renders service to those in need. The Asiatic cholera epidemic spreads to London in 1832. The characters will be forced to choose their part.
I liked this story very much. Miss Dunne is very caring and attentive to others. The doctor shows growth and determination as his foibles are revealed. It is very well written. The story does not lag but is very fluid. I especially like historical fiction and found this story to be interesting with the word pictures of sights and smells vivid.
I received this novel from Worthy Publishing to read and review in my own words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromIrish Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A well-deserved 4.5 stars!! This is pretty good..

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No award or acclamation is ever given to an author in vain. And in the Irish Healer, Nancy Herriman sure proves that she is able to craft a well-written story that will grab the reader's attention. I happened to find out about this book while I was just looking online for a good read, and well, well, I certainly do NOT regret picking it up.
This brought about a couple of chuckles (watch out for Joe when you're reading, So funny!!) and her writing engaged me-truly. The structure of her sentences and the flow of words in general is really just smooth. And as for lessons and values: this book is for everyone and anyone who cannot forgive themselves because they feel like they've failed everyone in general, including themselves. Truly a touching message.
Not bad for a debut novel, I applaud Nancy Herriman!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromIrish Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Book

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lady Di
Location:Winston Salem, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book. It holds your attention and draws you into the story and setting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromIrish Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Debut Novel

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
paula
Location:Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this debut novel from Nancy Herriman! The story captured my interest from the first page and didn’t let go! I hope there will be a sequel! I look forward to this author’s next release!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromIrish Healer.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Terrific Opening Line, But…

Date:April 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
“My name is Rachel Dunne. I am not a murderer.”
It’s a compelling opening line. Rachel Dunne, a healer, has been forced to leave her Irish home and find employment in London after being shunned following an accusation that she was responsible for the death of an ill child. She is hiding her past and hiding her background in healing from her new employer, Dr James Edmunds, a widower who is struggling with his own medical calling. He is also father of Amelia, who is being raised by his sister-in-law because he felt responsible for his wife’s death after childbirth.
Unfortunately, I didn’t find that The Irish Healer lived up to its early promise. It was very well researched and (as far as I could tell) historically accurate in its handling of the 1832 cholera outbreak in London. But I found the story difficult to get into, because I found both Rachel and James hard characters to like, and because I thought their ‘romance’ seemed to develop too quickly. I know some people marry soon after meeting and still manage to have long and happy marriages, but these are the exception rather than the rule (otherwise there wouldn’t be the saying 'marry in haste, repent at leisure’).
There were a also number of areas where the actual writing felt clumsy (odd choice of vocabulary, use of adverbs, use of first person), or where characters seemed to know things that the reader knew but the character did not know, and a couple of typos that will hopefully have been eliminated in final print version.
The Irish Healer had a gripping opening line, but unfortunately I didn't find the rest of the novel nearly so interesting. It wasn't bad; it simply failed to interest me. However, similar novels by Liz Curtis Higgs and Siri Mitchell (both of whom have won Christy Awards) also didn’t interest me, so who knows? This may be another award winner.
Thanks to Worthy and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromIrish Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching Story of Love and Redemption

Date:April 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Herriman takes us away to 1832 London with a story of Rachel Dunne and Doctor James Edmunds. Two people from different worlds, yet that are alike in the fact they both have a calling to heal others. In this story Nancy weaves a tale of shame, secrets and unforgiveness but by the grace that only God can give, it becomes a tale of forgiveness and love.
Rachel Dunne is from Carlow, Ireland, where she has been a healer since a very young age. When Mary Ferguson died under Rachel’s care, Mary’s father insisted Rachel had killed her. Rachel was brought to trial and found not guilty, but that didn’t stop Mary’s father from spreading his hate to others in town. To keep her family from any more undue stress, with the help of a relative, Rachel secures a temporary position with a physician in London who requires help to catalog his huge private library.
When Rachel finally arrives at Doctor Edmunds she is surprised to find him quite pleasant and especially handsome. Dr. Edmunds kindness stirs feelings in Rachel she would love to be able to act on but she knows that cannot be because if he finds out the real reason she is in London he would never forgive her. After several incidents of helping people in distress, will Dr. Edmunds realize Rachel knows more about doctoring than she is telling? When someone steals a letter from her mother, will her secret at last be revealed? Will Rachel ever be able to release the guilt she feels and receive forgiveness?
Dr. James Edmunds is a man that has given up hope in his calling to be a doctor. James has seen far too many deaths and some he takes the blame for, including his wife‘s. When Rachel Dunne shows up to help him pack up his library, James knows something is different about her. He feels drawn to her; it seems Rachel is like the breath of air he needs to revive his dead life. But James has secrets of his own and he feels it would be better for all if he just quietly moves away to the country and gives up his dreams of being a doctor. Will James be able find the grace and forgiveness that his soul needs? Will he ever be able to forgive Rachel for what he sees as her deception to him?
This was a great story, I found myself being drawn into it and not wanting to put it down until the last page was read. Thank you Nancy for this most enjoyable read, I cannot wait to read another of your stories.
I was given an ARC by NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Story of Love and Forgiveness.

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Herriman takes us away to 1832 London with a story of Rachel Dunne and Doctor James Edmunds. Two people from different worlds, yet that are alike in the fact they both have a calling to heal others. In this story Nancy weaves a tale of shame, secrets and unforgiveness but by the grace that only God can give, it becomes a tale of forgiveness and love.
Rachel Dunne is from Carlow, Ireland, where she has been a healer since a very young age. When Mary Ferguson died under Rachel’s care, Mary’s father insisted Rachel had killed her. Rachel was brought to trial and found not guilty, but that didn’t stop Mary’s father from spreading his hate to others in town. To keep her family from any more undue stress, with the help of a relative, Rachel secures a temporary position with a physician in London who requires help to catalog his huge private library.
When Rachel finally arrives at Doctor Edmunds she is surprised to find him quite pleasant and especially handsome. Dr. Edmunds kindness stirs feelings in Rachel she would love to be able to act on but she knows that cannot be because if he finds out the real reason she is in London he would never forgive her. After several incidents of helping people in distress, will Dr. Edmunds realize Rachel knows more about doctoring than she is telling? When someone steals a letter from her mother, will her secret at last be revealed? Will Rachel ever be able to release the guilt she feels and receive forgiveness?
Dr. James Edmunds is a man that has given up hope in his calling to be a doctor. James has seen far too many deaths and some he takes the blame for, including his wife‘s. When Rachel Dunne shows up to help him pack up his library, James knows something is different about her. He feels drawn to her; it seems Rachel is like the breath of air he needs to revive his dead life. But James has secrets of his own and he feels it would be better for all if he just quietly moves away to the country and gives up his dreams of being a doctor. Will James be able find the grace and forgiveness that his soul needs? Will he ever be able to forgive Rachel for what he sees as her deception to him?
This was a great story, I found myself being drawn into it and not wanting to put it down until the last page was read. Thank you Nancy for this most enjoyable read, I cannot wait to read another of your stories.
I received this book from the publisher through Netgalley in return for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromIrish Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gentle Love Story

Date:April 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set in the 1830s, Rachel Dunne flees her home country of Ireland after a child in her care, dies and Rachel stands trial for murder. Even though acquitted, the majority of their town shuns her family, so Rachel moves to London seeking work through a cousin. The death of the child, the trial, and the move take their toll on Rachel’s faith in herself and the Lord. Her employer, also a physician, stumbled from his faith years ago when his wife died. When a cholera epidemic hits London, they each hit bottom, turning to the Lord for the ultimate support.
This gentle love story provides the reader a time of introspection as the characters seek to find God’s mercy in their lives. The characters have depth, and Herriman describes the scene so well that the reader easily transports to another time. Very enjoyable read, recommended for readers looking for a deep love story with the added depth of Biblical foundations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromIrish Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A well-written book

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Irish Healer by Nancy Herriman is set in the 1830’s in the city of London. Taking place during the times of cholera epidemics the story follows a doctor and an Irish healer.
Rachel Dunne decides it is better to flee her home in Ireland then stay where she is not wanted. She arrives in London and takes a temporary position with a Doctor. She does not tell her new employer of the recent charges she has been acquitted of. Being accused of murder is not something you talk about when you desperately need a place to hide away from the scandal.
James Edmunds is tired of being around so much sickness and death and decides to take over his Fathers old estate in the country. He hires Rachel to help with the packing up of his London home. Not wanting to fall in love again after a loveless marriage he is surprised by the feelings his new employee is causing him to have. Will James tell Rachel about his secret? Will he be willing to forgive her for not telling him about hers? Both will have to learn to trust God and each other before they can move on in their lives together.
This story was an easy read. The characters developed throughout the book and the conversations flowed flawlessly. The story itself had enough twists to keep you interested. I thought this was a well-written and enjoyable book!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromIrish Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poignant, stirring and hopeful

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Candace
Location:No. CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like richly textured cinematography, author NANCY HERRIMAN'S imagery is mesmerizing and her poignant and stirring story of loss, forgiveness and healing completely swept me away. The characters, even "walk-ons," are beautifully drawn and well-developed, from the despairing physician hero and very determined Irish heroine, to an engaging team of servants: impish houseboy Joe, devout and motherly cook Mrs. Mainprice, spiteful and dangerously desperate maid Molly . . . to a poor, heart-tugging child selling apples on treacherous London streets. These characters come alive in the chapters and linger long after the last page is turned.
As a nurse, I particularly enjoyed insight into the role of a woman "healer" and the many fascinating glimpses into medical practices of the times, from herbal remedies to the newly invented (wooden!) stethoscope. Romance, warm humor, great natural dialogue, tense conflict . . . and a hopeful message of faith like soul-soothing balm. THE IRISH HEALER offers it all, and I heartily recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AH-HA MOMENTS GALORE!!! A MUST-READ!!

Date:January 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
patti lacy
Location:Normal, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a child dies under her care, Irish healer Rachel Dunne escapes the hangman's noose but must flee her beloved homeland. Rachel, through a "connected" aunt, has obtained a position with James Edmunds, a physician wrestling not only the horrid cholera epidemics that sweep through the city, but also his calling...and the One Who called him.
In Edmund's spacious home, Rachel accesses the medical tomes she loves...and falls in love with the handsome doctor, who has planned to wed another. Then catastrophe strikes another child, this one dear to both Edmund and Rachel. Can two gifted healers accept God's inexplicable offering of life and death? Of works and grace?
From Page 1, debut author Nancy Herriman captivated me with her tight plotting and storyline, with the sights and sounds of 1800s London, with the intrigue of class distinctions and divisions, with lyrical yet action-packed prose. As a writer, I'm envious that Nancy pulled this off in her FIRST BOOK. As a reader, I say, Ah-hahh! Satisfying! Intriguing! Bravo, Nancy! Bravo!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromIrish Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Debut Historical

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Irish Healer is the debut book by author Nancy Herriman...and what a debut! I took a chance on this book honestly because it was an advanced reader copy so I could read it while I train for the mini-marathon on the treadmill. I am so glad I did!
This book is set in Regency England -- but with a twist. Rachel Dunne has to flee Ireland after she is accused of murdering a patient under her care. Then she is hired in London to help a doctor who is giving up practice because he is tired of not being able to help the patients who come to him for help. Then cholera comes to London and both are thrust into situations they don't want.
This story is gripping. I'm not a huge reader of Regency novels except for Julie Klassen. This author does such a great job creating compelling characters with pasts that put their dreams for the future at risk that I can't wait to read the next book from Nancy Herriman. If you're looking for a book that will sweep you back to the days of Jane Austen, then I heartily recommend this story.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromIrish Healer.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Rachel Dunne is the Irish Healer in this story. In her hometown in Ireland a child under her care died. Now she’s accused of murder and is fleeing to London. There her cousin has obtained a position as assistant for her with Dr. James Edmunds.
Dr. Edmunds’ wife died three years ago and he blames himself for her death. His father also died over a year ago and left him the family estate. The last wish of his father was that James would raise his daughter on the family property. Therefore Rachel is helping him pack his belongings.
Rachel vowed not to use her healing abilities anymore, but she finds out it’s harder to ignore her calling than she thought. Soon she falls in love with James, but she thinks there are too many obstacles that make a relationship seem impossible.
Both Rachel and James feel abandoned by God. But when the cholera epidemic is sweeping through London they must learn to pray and trust God again.
Nancy Herriman writes a promising debut novel! She really made me feel like I was in London with her lively descriptions. Her knowledge of healing seems accurate and therefore she writes a believable story. She also knows how to attract attention to the story. The more I read the more I liked the story. Good job, Nancy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A promising debut

Date:December 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rich with lush descriptions, The Irish Healer sparkles with promise.
Accused of murder, Rachel goes to England to get away from the hurtful rumors that surround her family, after she is found innocent. Though she is innocent of murder, she still blames herself. Rachel comes to be under the employ of a burdened and hurting doctor, James Edmonds. As the two of them draw nearer together will they finally be able to accept the forgiveness that is waiting for them, and finally be set free?
For me this book had a nice writing voice and beautiful descriptions. There were tense senses of medical drama that were gripping and really kept the pages going, but at other times I felt a lull in the action and at times the characters did things that I didn't understand the logic behind. I wished that I had been drawn in more by the characters, there just needed to be something more to them. I wish that the main characters had had more meaningful conversations earlier on, to establish a friendship, because I felt that there should have been more to their relationship. The dialog is good, and often I could see the characters in my mind saying those things, like in a well done play before my eyes. This is a promising debut, and though there were rough edges I think that I will be looking out for what Ms. Harriman does next.
Final Rating: 3.8 out of 5
The Irish Healer will be released in April of 2012
I received this book from the publisher through Netgalley in return for an honest review. The edition I read was not a final edition of the actual book, so my review is based on that and due to changes, and editing my review my no longer be relevant by the time the book comes out. Thanks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Irish Healer: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromIrish Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent read!

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan Anne Mason
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right away the title drew me in because I love all things Irish! The premise of the story is that the main character, Rachel Dunne, is leaving the stigma of her past in Ireland behind to take a temporary position in London, with the hopes of starting a new life and eventually bringing the rest of her family to join her. Acquitted of murdering a child in her care, Rachel still can't outrun the disgrace and shame. She comes to work for Dr. James Edmunds, a man with many secrets of his own. Unable to overcome the horror of not being able to save his wife, James feels he must give up his practice. As Rachel works to help James pack up his house in London, she discovers the gift of healing is harder to ignore than she expected. And when an outbreak of cholera hits the city, Rachel finds herself trying to save the young daughter of her employer.
This is a wonderfully written tale of healing and redemption. Both main characters are richly portrayed; both suffer incredible guilt over the patients they couldn't save and both feel unworthy of happiness in their lives. Not only have they lost patients, they have lost faith in themselves and in God. Together they manage to find the courage to heal each other and restore their faith. Their tender romance is one of the best I've read to date.
From the docks of London where Rachel arrives, to the rolling English countryside, Ms. Herriman's depiction of the English setting brings 1830 London to life.
A wonderful debut novel. I can't wait to read more of Ms. Herriman's work!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.