Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook

Howard Books Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Miles South of Peculiar.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Read

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the large print version of this book. I thought Darly and Carly were two of the most self-centered, sneaky and under-handed individuals. But, what they were doing kept you reading to see what they were going to do next. Where did Carly get off telling Henry to get the word out to the community not to take anymore of Nolie's aprons? Carly was taking away a gift from here. That's what she loved to do. I would love to have one of her aprons!!! Lucy and Ricky (the Ricardos) were a nice added touch. But, the story did drag in some places. The author kept repeating herself. Overall, this was a very good book. I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Miles South of Peculiar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Southern Sisters

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Every time Angela Hunt publishes a new novel, I look forward to reading it. She never disappoints, but some titles, like this one, are like cream that rises to the top!
The plot revolves around three sisters--each quite different, and yet, each one linked together. These unique family members get so upset with one another that they go months without speaking. Some interesting men add to the mix. Why, there's even two dogs--Lucy and Ricky Ricardo!--who play a big part. Set in a small town in the South, where everyone knows everything about anyone, family loyalty becomes strained.
I found it difficult to put the book down.
Reading Group Guide and recipes included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Miles South of Peculiar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Book!

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
debraje1
Location:Cumming, Ga.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angela Hunt is one of my favorite authors. This one didn't disappoint. I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Miles South of Peculiar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vivian Lawrence
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
once again Angela Hunt hit out of the park wiith a beautiful tale of relationship, priorties and love. I always share my books with others and this one is already on the way to the next reader
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Miles South of Peculiar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our relationships are biased by our perspectives!

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Five Miles South of Peculiar
by Angela Hunt
The Caldwell sisters are a different as can be but they are bound by one thing, the family's estate Sycamores located just south of Peculiar, Florida a town nobody has ever heard of.
Darlene has spent her whole life at Sycamores. She raised her family and buried her husband there. Charlene left Peculiar as a teenager to embrace a singing career on Broadway. Nolie, the youngest, has always called Sycamores home and is known for her aprons.
But each sister has a personal heartache. Darlene felt that she was an after-thought when Charlene was around and that any love she was given was what was left after first being offered to Charlene. Charlene is hiding the fact that she has had career ending throat surgery. Nolie's heart was broken by the man that she gave it to.
When Nolie and Henry Hooper decide to throw a town wide surprise party for Darly's fiftieth birthday, they extend an invitation to Carly. When Carly accepts Nolie has hopes that her sisters will recapture the closeness they once had. But past misunderstandings keep getting in the way of their reconnecting.
But when all three sisters finally admit the truth about the secrets they carry they are able to live their lives and move forward. Opening their hearts to each other, they open their hearts to love; the love of family and the love of friends.
Five Miles South of Peculiar is a book for sisters. Read it together and use it as a growing experience in your relationship with your sisters.
I found Five Miles South of Peculiar to be an enjoyable reading experience. It is an honest look at how family dynamics are shaped by our point of view and no one ever views something from the same point of reference.
I received a copy of this title from the publisher through Glass Road Public Relations in exchange for my honest review of Five Miles South of Peculiar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Miles South of Peculiar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poignant novel about sisters with Southern charm

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Five Miles South of Peculiar by Angela Hunt is a poignant yet joyful novel of a Southern family finding its way home. The Caldwells of Peculiar, Florida have always lived in their estate The Sycamores, but in 2018, exactly fifty years after the death of the family founder, all of the property will pass into the hands of the city. Despite this looming deadline, Darlene and Nolie Caldwell continue living life at The Sycamores as it's been lived for the past fifty years, without thought of social networking or computers. Nolie spends her time sewing beautiful aprons and dreams of the day when she'll meet a good man to help ease the wounds of a past love. Darlene is a force of nature within Peculiar, running most of the town's groups, while almost having a relationship with the mayor. When Darlene's twin sister Carlene returns home from a successful life on Broadway (and hiding a secret), Darlene is at first thrilled to unite with her other half, but the twins were in love with the same man, who became Darlene's husband, and that wound is still tender and deep in them both. The three women are all looking for something, but they each need to heal the pain between them before they can find it. Hunt has created another powerful novel filled with people you not only want to know, but feel like you've met. This story may not have a time-traveling serial killer or vampires falling in love with ghosts; instead it has heart and a deep understanding of people. Hunt doesn't have to use flashy storylines to create a novel that is impossible to put down. The story of the Caldwell sisters will stay with me, because of Hunt's ability to craft such fully fleshed characters. I love the author's work, and this novel will certainly gain her some new fans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Miles South of Peculiar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Healing, Forgiveness and Great Characters

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angela Hunt in her new book, “Five Miles South of Peculiar” published by Howard Books takes us to the Sycamores Estates and the lives of the Caldwell sisters.
From the back cover: If these three sisters don’t change direction, they’ll end up where they’re going.
Darlene Caldwell has spent a lifetime tending Sycamores, an estate located five miles south of a small town called Peculiar. She raised a family in the spacious home that was her grandfather’s legacy, and she enjoys being a pillar of the community. Sycamores is the kingdom where she reigns as queen . . . until her limelight-stealing twin sister unexpectedly returns. Carlene Caldwell, veteran of the Broadway stage, is devastated when she realizes that an unsuccessful throat surgery has spelled the end of her musical career. Searching for a new purpose in life, she retreats to Sycamores, her childhood home. She may not be able to sing, but she hopes to use her knowledge and experience to fashion a new life in Peculiar, the little town she left behind.Haunted by a tragic romance, Magnolia Caldwell is the youngest of the Caldwell girls. Nolie has never wanted to live anywhere but Sycamores. She spends her days caring for her dogs and the magnificent gardens she’s created on the estate, but when she meets a man haunted by his own tragedy, she must find the courage to either deny her heart or cut the apron strings that tie her to a dear and familiar place.
Can these sisters discover who they are meant to be when life takes an unforeseen detour? In a season of destiny, three unique women reunite and take unexpected journeys of the heart.
As human beings what is the one thing we all like to keep? The answer, secrets. What is the one thing that God knows that we should not keep because it is detrimental to, not only our health, but our relationships as well? You guessed it, secrets. What is the one thing that Darlene, Carlene, and Magnolia have in common? Of course, secrets. Ms. Hunt does a wonderful job of showing us how each woman’s secrets affect not only their relationship with each other but the outside world as well. This book covers a wide range of topics one of them is “trauma”, emotional trauma is one of the hardest things to recuperate from and all three sisters have had emotional trauma and it has affected them deeply. This is an important subject as many of us are motivated from “emotional trauma” and we have no idea. When we see the devastating results of the emotional trauma in each sister and then see how God heals them we are given hope that the exact same thing can be done for each of us as well.
Angela Hunt has given us a terrific book in “Five Miles South of Peculiar”. I have never had sisters so I have no reference point but it was fun watching the family dynamic work among them. Ms. Hunt has them dealing with jealousy, betrayal and destruction of dreams. Not topics that you think would be reader friendly but Ms. Hunt is such an accomplished writer this is handled extremely well. If you are looking for a nice summer read where God can show off the power of His mercy and forgiveness then “Five Miles South of Peculiar” is the book for you.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Glass Road Public Relations for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Miles South of Peculiar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed the story

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sisters unite and everything changes! This was an interesting book and I really enjoyed the story. The book itself is long but the development of the characters keeps you reading.
Carlene, Magnolia and Darlene are the three main characters the book follows. The interaction of these sisters makes for a great story. Each sister has their own issues they are currently dealing with. How they handle their unique situations and how they interact with each other makes the story charming. The minor characters are also interesting but some of them could have been left out and it would not have hurt the story.
I only gave this book 4/5 stars because I found parts of the story really dragged along. I did like the relationships of the sisters and how they develop and change over the course of the book. If some of the less important sections of the story had been cut I would have enjoyed the story even more.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Miles South of Peculiar.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Sweet Story of Three Sisters

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Magnolia Caldwell lives in the family estate of Sycamores, located five miles south of a small town called Peculiar, in Jackson County, Florida. Nolie lives with her sister, Darlene, and two large dogs, and is pretty satisfied with her life but there are changes on the way. The Sycamores estate will soon revert to town ownership, and the homeless and divorced Reverend Eric Payne is offered a room in exchange for maintenance services. More surprising, Darlene’s twin sister, Carlene, is about to return home after a throat surgery destroys her singing voice and Broadway career. The twins are about to turn fifty, and Nolie is working with the town mayor to plan the party.
As the story progresses, we find that each of the sisters is hiding a secret. Darlene is jealous of her successful twin, and the sacrifices she made for Carlene. Meanwhile, Carlene is jealous of Darlene's marriage to Griff, and can only bear visiting Sycamores now that Griff has been dead for five years. And Nolie has never quite recovered from being left at the altar many years ago, so spends her time walking her dogs and sewing aprons for all the women in town.
I was initially attracted to Five Miles South of Peculiar by the eccentric title, and because I have enjoyed many of Angela Hunt’s books in the past (some more than others). Five Miles South of Peculiar is clearly literary fiction, in that the focus is more on relationships, although the plot includes a little romance. For that reason, I found it quite hard to get in to, as it felt as though I was just waiting for something to happen. There were some issues with clumsy point of view changes, with one passage being clearly from Darlene’s viewpoint, then switching to Nolie or Carlene without the usual break to indicate a scene change (although that could have just been a result of the pdf to Kindle conversion).
Once I got into it, I found Five Miles South of Peculiar revealed itself to be an enjoyable and sometimes humorous novel, with twin themes of forgiveness and choices. Nolie shows us that a lot of our happiness in life is around the choices we make, particularly the way we choose to react to things that affect us. While those things can hurt, we have to make the decision to forgive and move on, to be happy.
Thanks to Howard Paperback and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Miles South of Peculiar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A moving, richly satisfying read!

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angela Hunt has long impressed me as an author who can take seemingly ordinary characters and soon have them feeling like friends and people I genuinely care about. In Five Miles South of Peculiar, she again succeeds at bringing to life the three Caldwell sisters Darlene, Carlene and Magnolia, with their misunderstandings, humorous interactions, and desires to make a difference in the world and be loved for who they are. Although I didn't love this book as much as her Fairlawn Series (that one remains my favourite!), she has offered another strong addition to the contemporary fiction realm, providing a skilfully written story that not only entertains but provides surprisingly deep wisdom as well. Nolie, the youngest Caldwell girl, especially surprised me with her insights into life, and her ability to accept others where they were at while pointing them to God at the same time. Out of all of the characters, she was my favourite, and I found myself practically cheering at the completely deserved and happy ending she experiences (I won't give away more for fear of spoiling the plot). Her sisters are also endearing in their own way, and together the healing and reconciliation these sisters experience make for a moving read.
The end of the book provides a satisfying conclusion for all of the characters, and I found myself pondering the deep treasures hidden throughout the book, the message of forgiveness that permeates this story. Angela Hunt has spun a tale that we can all find hints of ourselves in, and come away the richer for having spent time with the Caldwell sisters.
I highly recommend this novel and award it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been freely provided courtesy of the publisher, Howard Books, for the purposes of this unbiased review. The opinions provided are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Miles South of Peculiar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

dynamics of sisters reuniting

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three sisters are reunited at the family estate, five miles south of the town called Peculiar. But it is not a smooth reunion. Darley has spent all her life at the aging mansion. She lived her married life there and raised her family there. She is an important person in the community, a member of every committee, and known by every one in the town.
Her twin sister Carley has been away for decades. Carley was somewhat of a Broadway star but now that is all changed. A throat operation gone bad means her career is over. When the mayor of Peculiar invites Carley to come back to her hometown to help celebrate Darley's (and her own) fiftieth birthday, she jumps at the opportunity. Perhaps she will be able to create a new life in her old town.
Their younger sister Nolie has always lived in the family mansion with Darley. Nolie has never recovered from being left at the altar - the man she thought loved her ran off with another woman. Nolie always wears white. And she sews. She sews aprons, scores of aprons, for everyone, for every occasion. And she has a couple of very big dogs.
Into this odd mix comes Erik. Erik was a pastor in a nearby town but was forced to leave his church when his wife left him. With no ministry prospects in the immediate future, he appeals to Darley's generous nature. Finding out that a friend of hers sent Erik her way, she accepts his help in maintaining and repairing the estate.
Life has been pretty good for Darley and Nolie. Erik's arrival brings a mild ripple but when Carley comes on the scene, storm clouds gather. Darley's control is challenged by Carley's suggestions while Nolie just wants her sisters to get along. But there are broken hearts and secrets getting in the way. Will they be able to overcome those obstacles to find the joy and love they had known as children?
Being one of four sisters, I really liked this novel. We had a similar situation when two of my sisters went over seas for decades. When one of them moved back to our home town, it was a bit of an adjustment, to say the least. I can really identify with the struggles the sisters experienced with their reunion.
Angela Hunt is an expert in taking us through growing relationships. This novel will give readers much to think about as they journey with the sisters in their attempts to love when it is not always so easy to do so.
There are recipes and a wonderful discussion guide at the end. Reading groups will have fun making the cupcakes they read about and discussing the book.
I received a complimentary egalley of this novel from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Five Miles South of Peculiar: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Miles South of Peculiar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly enjoyable!

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kat M
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was up till midnight last night finishing this book- it was so good! I think that this is my favorite work I've read by Angela Hunt. If you love warm, loveable characters, witty dialogue, good-hearted snarkiness, and Southern culture, you will enjoy this book! It made me laugh out loud, and cry, and think. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.