Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback

Zondervan Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback

Like a sparking clear river-flowing with wisdom, encouragement and inspiration, this updated edition of Streams in the Desert promises to revive and refresh today's generation of faithful sojourners. Daily Scripture passages from the New International Version.
Average Customer Rating:
4.82 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
42 out of 4398%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Review 1 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent devotional book!

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
GrannyAnnie
Location:Asheville, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Streams in the Desert for many years. It is
written on an easy to understand level. It really enriches
my relationship to Christ. So often the message is exactly what I am going through.
I enjoy the large print just for comfort. I do not have to have
large print but recommend it.
I give this as gifts and all have enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent book to add to one's devotional time

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
cleo
Location:Elbridge, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A dear friend gave me this book, and it has been such an encouragement to me I wanted to have one on hand to share as a gift. It is a very nice hard cover with paper jacket to keep track of your place in the book. Much food for thought is given, especially if you are in a time of challenge, difficulty, sorrow or just plain struggling with the issues of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
frenchysgirl
Location:Jacksonville, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome devotional! I love the poems, I look forward to reading it daily!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great devotional you'll be able to use for years

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sharron Shipley
Location:Portland, Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love streams in the desert. It is a timeless treasure to be used over and over, year after year. I bought my daughter in law and daughters one each for Mother's Day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elizabethw
Location:Rochester NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was recommended to me after the death of my mother..... Wonderful messages ..... But also good as a daily devotional ....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Streams in the Desert changes lives!

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sharon
Location:Arizona
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love reading Streams in the Desert, updated version; and give it to all of our wedding couples (we're wedding planners). We also send quantities of these books to missionaries from all over the world; and give them to friends and others who cross our path. It is encouraging, but also gives us God's perspective on living a Christian life on this earth.
We (husband and I) have been reading it daily for the last five or six years--it's still relevant and encouraging, and is the basis of our morning prayer time.
Everyone should have (and read!) this daily devotional!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For anyone seeking answers when life gets tough

Date:December 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Aunt B
Location:Pasadena, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given a copy of this classic book almost 20 years ago and reach for it on a regular basis. It is the devotional I purchase for friends and family, too. This year I bought two more as Christmas gifts. The words inside refresh and comfort the spirit. I also like the updated version very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A treasure....filled with timeless messages

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debra
Location:Chapman, Nebraska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A treasure......filled with timeless messages of hope, encouragement and inspiration, one of my favorites.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for those in a trial!

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have given this book away to many people over the years.It is an excellent book for anyone who is suffering. It is like a friend who understands when no one else can who has not been in the depths of despair. It is encouraging and comforting- reminding us of God's faithfulness and promises in our time of need. I only read it when I'm going through a very difficult time because it seems meant for such a purpose.It is a special friend,and the author shares deeply with true feeling. Get this book if you are suffering!! You will see that you are NOT alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jo Moma
Location:Ladysmith WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very wonderful book that gives you the encouragement you need just when you need it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I read this every day!

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Mueller
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:female
I continue to read this book over and over again for encouragement in my daily walk with God. I recently purchased two more, one for my daughter who just went off to college, and the other for a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One happy heart person here!!

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoyousOne
Location:Piffard, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christmas gifts these books are to be but one was for me to replace an older version. I absolutely love this version. I am sure the others who get them as a gift will feel the same way too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Darlin Dearest
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sisters loved their copy with the nice blue color!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome! The only one you will ever need.

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tami
Location:Lubec Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given this devotional by a good friend after his wife died. I am in my second year of reading it through and love it as much as I did the first time. Our minister was unable to do the service due to circumstances beyond his control yesterday. This caused a slight panic. But our Christian Brother Bill picked up his Stream in the Desert and was able to give us a beautiful message for that days reading. He and his wife read the scripture and then the message. We loved it. Our minister had told us if ever he was not able to be there and we need to come up with something quick use our the Streams in the Desert...and we did. I have given 27 of them as gifts this year for graduations, birthdays, Christmas and even to an entire family when their young one died tragically. I will continue to share them until all my friends and loved ones have them. God's Peace. Tami
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, Moving, Timely Devotionals

Date:June 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenika
Location:South Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't normally submit reviews, but Streams In The Desert has been such a beautiful find that I would love to share it with everyone!!! I was given it as a gift and in turn have given it to many others... It is a joy to read and is stunningly beautiful and so often appropriate - as is the Word!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
katell
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this devotional. I first used it after my husband of 33 years passed away. It always spoke to me and now I keep extra copies on hand to give to others that need it's comfort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Both Books Are Great

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joe Patterson
Location:Knoxville, Tn
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed both books that I ordered. I could highly recommend them to friends. Shipping was a little slow after it left the company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book provides a lot of comfort.

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iggy
Location:arizona
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gift. I use mine every day. It has helped me tremendously.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a wonderful gift

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robie
Location:Louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this to my best friend for Christmas. The item was shipped to me on time and I was pleased with the cost. I paid a little extra for my friend's name to be embossed. That job could have been a little better as some of the letters weren't quite complete. I know my friend is and will enjoy this daily devotional book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Streams In The Desert - Trade Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is one of the best daily devotionals

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this devotional as a gift during my grieving and have since purchased a couple more to share. It's great whether you are grieving or not!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.