Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Berkley Trade Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1

Berkley Trade Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1

Amish schoolteacher Leah Beiler is content nurturing her young "scholars" and helping out on her large family's Pennsylvania farm in Pleasant Valley. She has long since recovered from the defection of her former fianci Johnny Kile, who left the Amish community several years ago. But now Johnny has returned. Working at a local medical clinic on research into inherited diseases common among the Amish, he asks for Leah's help in circumventing his "shunned" status and reuniting him with his family, in particular with his twin, Rachel, who is also Leah's best friend. Johnny also encourages Leah to help out at the clinic, working as a liaison with the Amish community. Is Johnny secretly hoping to convince Leah to leave the community and join him in an "English" life together?
Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Review 1 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i love amish books

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
loulou
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leah's choice is wonderful story iam now reading racheal's garden cant wait to find out what happens
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Painful rules made among some Amish Bishops

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
LinDawn
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marta Perry is a good writer. She has some humour in her book just when you need it. Suspense is also in her books. I enjoy reading stories about the Amish folk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This booktaught me a lot of the Amish culture

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
EvelynMiller
Location:Dickinson, ND
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like reading the fiction books on the Amish, I learned a lot of the culture of the Amish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is well written.

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
mernie
Location:Dalhart, Tx
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is well written and I look forward to reading the remainder of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was excellent

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grandma
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. It was exciting, interesting and full of adventure. I liked Leah, she was very believable and I sympathized with her heartached and loved her way with children as a school teacher. I liked Daniel and was thrilled Johnny couldn't persuade her to change her beliefs. I loved how Leah's love for the Lord did not sway when temptation presented itself. She was grounded deeply in the Lord and would not change. I appaud that. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
When I saw the cover I didn't want to read the book. It seemed so boring, but I did read it and I'm glad I did. The book was interesting. Characters were easy to love. I probably will read the other books in series too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patty Meyers
This book was captivating from the very start. Knowing Amish and their ways of life made this book seem even more realistic. Marta put a great deal into this book, as always, and it was another hit. The descriptions and scenes are perfect for a typical Amish community. If you want a heartfelt adventure into the Amish community~ read Leah's Choice! GOD does bless us all with strengths and never leaves us. There is more to this story than words! What a blessing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Price
Wow what a story. This was one Amish book that I did not want to put down!! I felt that this book told the real life of an Amish women. If you love Amish stories, you must read this!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Many moons ago I read my first Amish "flavored" book and the author was Marta Perry. So glad to see her back on the scene and I have to say I LOVED THIS BOOK! I had a hard time putting it down just wanting to see what it held for Leah! And what an amazing character she is! Loved her from the start. Well done Ms. Perry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melody Szamrey
It was a very good book.I would recommend reading it.I could not put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Avid Reader
This is the first book I have read by Marta Perry. She gives a lot of depth to her characters. I am anxiously looking forward to the other 2 books coming out later this year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
JLG
I am an avid reader of Amish fiction; however, this is the first book I have read by Marta Perry. I liked this book's characters - in particular, Leah - and Anna was an interesting character also and vividly portrayed. I felt the information about Amish life that was woven into the storyline made the book much richer. The only slight (and I do mean slight) disappointment I had in reading this book was the story seemed to drag a bit a couple of times. That being said, I did enjoy the book overall, and plan to read subsequent books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen M. Byus
Just finished this book. I could not put it down. The story moves along at a good pace, and I am eager to read the next book. I read at least one book a week, and Leah's devotion to teaching and her students is something that is not always so in the "Englisher's" world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Louise Anne
I found this to be a good story. Made me want to look for more books written by the author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2009
I don't normally read Amish fiction, simply because there is only so much that can be done with it and most authors have put Amish characters into the same few plotlines before. However, this novel was a pleasant surprise. Leah, Daniel, and Johnny are all well-drawn characters, as are Daniel's children. The conflict of an Amish man whose children were temporarily raised English is unique, as is Leah's conflict over working at the clinic while secretly wanting more education for herself. This conflict, as well as her love for Daniel, makes her "choice" deep, life-changing, and full of real conflict. The characters' growth is also a wonderful driving force here, as is the relationship between Amish and English cultures. Lovely work, Marta--I look forward to Rachel's Garden!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
June Farmer
Was a wonderful book, as I have not found an Amish book yet that I didn't enjoy. First one I have read by this author, but look forward to some more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Landreth
I hadn't read anything by Marta Perry but enjoyed this so much. I will read more of her books.Great plot and story line. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
This book is one of few Amish books that I think really gets it. By it, I mean it allows the reader to enter the Amish world, yet does not try to push Amish beliefs on them, does not paint the Amish lifestyle as ideal or makes the world feel as if you're living in a bubble. This book talked a lot about subjects that I have never read in Amish fiction before. The one that stood out the most was the medical issues. This book mentioned a great deal about birth defects and other medical problems that stem from communities that continue to live in close proximity and only marry within that community. This is something I have never read in any other Amish book I have picked up. Therefore kudos to Marta Perry for bringing this up. It may be a sore subject that no one wants to talk about but to deny that it exists because it makes the community look not so ideal is not helping anyone either. Honestly I feel like other authors don't bring it up because it breaks the bubble of the image that they are trying to portray of making Amish lifestyle appealing.I thought I was going to have problems with Daniel due to comments he made early in the book but after finding out about his background, I understood him a lot better. His family's past was unique to the typical Amish storyline and even more so by the way he handled the situation. As for Johnny, I really liked the way his storyline played out. Everyone (for the most part) ends up where they want to be. Honestly this is one of the most refreshing Amish novels I have ever read. I didn't feel as if this book was unrealistically portrayed and the outside world is seen in a positive light for once. If the rest of the series continues to be written in the same manner and tackles difficult but necessary subjects, it might possibly rank as one of my favorite Amish books. That being said, if you want a dose of reality with your Amish fiction, pick up this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
I enjoy all of the Amish Fiction and will look forward to Book No. 2 coming out, hopefully soon. Although I will say I was certain how it would end from the very beginning when Johnny returned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Leah's Choice, Pleasant Valley Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Brennan
Very good storyline. I learned a lot about the Amish and I thought I knew it all!(we have cousins that live near Paradise) I can't wait for the next book in the series. Good job, Ms. Perry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.