Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentinel A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Sentinel A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit

In today's fast-paced world, Christmas has become synonymous with shopping, spending, and stress. But according to former governor (and former pastor) Mike Huckabee, we can still recapture the true spirit of Christmas-of love, simplicity, family, and hope.

In this deeply personal book, Huckabee recounts twelve Christmas memories from his own life that illustrate the true meaning of the original Nativity, and teach us that sometimes the simplest things are the most precious.

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit
Review 1 for A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pauline Rhineheimer
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I felt instead of Christmas itself it was a time of year to look back on the past year and anticipate the coming year. Christmas was a time to remember and cherish those memories and to make the future better. A praise to our Lord even for the hard times because it makes us more apprecitive of the good times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol
Every person of faith regardless of your political persuasion needs to read this book. You won't want to put it down. Gov. Huckabee gives us the simple message of Christmas in gripping fashion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rosemary Taylor
Touching and full of reverence for God's wonderful gift to each of us. Now, if only folks in the USA would take that step back and remember that all the trappings (literally) of Christmas are just that-without Christ as the center-the only real reason for it all- all is vanity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betsy Norton
Reading this book has reminded me of the true spirit of Christmas,the focus on Jesus that we should have. It reminds us that we need to simplify Christmas. The book made a difference in my Christmas. I have given it to several friends as a gift. In telling the stories Mike Huckabee's humor is great, yet each story has a serious important message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Talley
A great little read. Took me back many years ago to the day when things were so much less demanding but trials were still trials. A time of appreciation, courage and faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Loretta Parrott
Each chapter,overall,had a great meaning. The writings were somewhat rambling in some of the stories and pointless, however, the jest of the message was very well demonstrated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda
I read the book in one afternoon! How wonderful that he shared some of his Christmas memories and I identified with so many of them. Each of the 12 "memories" wound up pointing us toward the very essence of Christmas that often gets lost in today's mad rush...God clothed himself in flesh and began life in a very simple manner...a manger in Bethlehem. I highly recommend the book and I'm ordering several more for Christmas gifts. Thanks Mike for bringing me front and center with what's important this year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
I disagree with Dan from Colorado Springs. This book was wonderful. He spoken of his childhood Christmas memories, of his marriage and the strugles he faced with his wife and how his faith, not rock stars, got him through very difficult times. I enjoyed all 12 stories and now my husband is enjoying this book as well. This book would make a wonderful Christmas gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
I first became aware of this book while listening to a political radio talk show. I purchased the book and I am very disappointed. I thought that the book would be full of Gospel teachings in which God's Glory would be the recipient. One has to read only a few stories to get the picture that Mike Huckabee places a huge emphasis on unGodly Rock Stars who are seemingly still his heros. The Bible teaches that you cannot serve two masters.It evident in this book what choice Huckabee has made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
tom chastain
"a simple christmas (writtion by gov mike huckabee)has 12 very inspirational and very special christmas memories that are shared in this timeless volume that has many miricles and countless humor and the thing I like about this the most is it shows us the real meaning of christmas and the governor shares his many acts of faith and how it has endured in his family . great gift idea for a friend or family member or soldier serving over seas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.