Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes

Thomas Nelson On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes

* From the Roman Empire to the Reformation, St. Valentine to St. Francis, and Martin Luther to Billy Graham, Morgan offers a yearlong introduction to the heroes, saints, and martyrs of 20 centuries of Christianity. Perfect for sermon illustrations or personal devotions, these 365 vignettes include a related Scripture reading and black-and-white artwork. 384 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
3.645 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
0
23 out of 3174%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Review 1 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for Homeschooling!

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
MommyMissions
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book, laid out in 365 daily readings, is a great introduction to people, places and events significant in the history of Christianity. We are transported over two thousand years of Christianity via stories, segments of historical documents and written personal accounts which add an air of authenticity to the facts.
I am thrilled with this book because it is laid out in short, succinct daily readings that I can share with my son. He may not yet understand the significance of the events and people, but we have to start with him knowing about them. This book covers both so it can be used for children of all ages to teach them about Christianity. I particularly like that these bits of information provide a platform from which to base further investigation and study as Little Man grows and wants to know more.
***************************************
A copy of this book was provided to me by BookSneeze.com. Even so, all reviews are completely honest and 100% my own opinions with no influence from the publisher or BookSneeze.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

inspiration to persevere amid trials

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
SuzyO
Location:Batesville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I’m thankful for the inspiration provided by this book.
The entry about Paul – probably the greatest evangelist of all time – hit me hard. Paul talked a lot about patience, and accepting and learning from the obstacles of life – and he certainly had his share of hardship. This particular story talks about his shipwreck on Malta on his way to Rome after a two-year imprisonment in Caesarea.
Paul’s utmost goal was to proclaim “Christ and Him crucified.” God blessed him for that, but man did everything in his power to stop him, delay him, discourage him, obstruct him and in all other ways try to keep him from proclaiming the Good News. Yet he persevered.
Paul has taught me a lot about patience. As the book points out, “It was not in due time – but in divine time – that Paul reached Rome. His nerves held steady in the storm. His spirit remained patient in delay. He knew how to wait on his God.”
"On This Day in Christian History" is full of such stories, although you may not have heard of many of the people featured, or at least know much about them. Most of them are not “Bible characters” but mere historical figures whose names were in many ways obscure. Some were martyrs, some not, but all were heroes of the faith.
If you need the courage to persevere amid trials, pick up this book and be inspired.
____________________________
This review is part of my agreement with BookSneeze.com. The publisher gives me a free book, and I agree to post a review of it on my blog and one other online publication. No pressure is put on me to write a positive review – just an honest one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Salina
Location:Corpus Christi, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book has 365 amazing and Inspiring Stories about Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes in it. I received this book a while back from book sneeze.com and finally posting a review on it. As you open the book it starts from January 1st and ends on December 31st, every day has its own story of a person who served God and what took place during that time in history. The book made to be used as a devotional book but I'm sure you can read it any ways you want. The thing I like about this book is that I can use it as part of my son's homeschooling material when he gets older. I would recommend this book to those of you who like history.
Disclaimer: I was given a copy of this book by Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for this review. All opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book.

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris Hildebrandt
Location:Morton Grove, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On This Day in Christian History is one of my favorite books. It can be read as a devotional or just for pleasure. It's also a great resource when looking for a short story to start a discussion/small group or Sunday school class. I'm so happy they reprinted this book. Now I can share it with friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not for the faint-hearted

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura H
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has been said that if we don't learn from history, we are doomed to repeat it. Lessons of great faith and perseverance are the forefront of this book by author Robert Morgan. Set up as a page-per-day read, I found it to be less of a devotional and more of a history text. There is a wealth of information on the perils of persecuted Christians in this book and as a history enthusiast myself, I really enjoyed it. While all of us need to be informed of the history of our faith, I wouldn't recommend this book to the faint-hearted, for most of the information could very well have been derived from Foxe's Book of Martyrs. I believe the person who would best benefit from this book would be one who already has a knowledge of church history and is seeking to deepen their knowlege of the past.
Thomas Nelson Publishers provided a complimentary copy of this book for my review. The opinions are my own and I have not been required to publish a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not for My 11 year old daughter

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
BGDS
Location:Boca Raton, Fl.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this book and then took it away from my 11 year old daughter, because it was a little too grown-up; Talking @ sexual stuff
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Could have been so much better...

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Chancey
Location:Linden, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had very high hopes for this book.... I love inspiring stories of great Christians from all periods of history and find them to be fantastic encouragers in my own walk with God. Morgan's book didn't quite meet my expecations.
For the detailed information: this book contains 366 (thanks to leap year) one-page articles, each dated, that tells of a significant story that happened on that day. There is also a topical index at the back, which can be helpful. Many of the names and stories were brand new to me, so it was good to be exposed to them. Each day also had a Bible passage at the bottom. That's about all the positive things I can say about it; now for the negative....
This book seemed to focus mainly on Catholic monks and popes. Many of the stories feature martyrs, which is not a bad thing. However, most of the martyrs were killed by a different "brand" of Christianity (for example, Catholics persecute the Protestants, or vice-versa). I found it very disturbing how much violence was carried out under the encouragement of Catholic and Protestant churches and leaders. Not being Catholic or Protestant myself, I was disappointed that very few evangelical (and I'm very liberally including independent and Southern Baptists in the "evangelical" category) show up in the pages. I was also shocked that there were only a handful of references to sources of any kind.... If this is a book of historical information, you would think that there would be footnoted sources, or at LEAST a bibliography. Nope.
The biggest disappointment for me had to be the Bible passages. Morgan uses the Contemporary English Version of the Bible for his passages, and my personal opinion is that this is a horrible translation of Scripture. It has gone beyond interpretational translation (dynamic equivalence, where the MEANING of the phrase is given in a comparative way, as opposed to formal equivalence which strives to translate the WORDS literally as much as possible). In fact, it seems like some phrases are just too colloquial... But I could have lived with the abundance of Catholic stories, and I could have even lived with the CEV Bible passages.... however, some of the passages just seemed very randomly chosen.
All in all, I would still give this book 3 out of 5 stars. We can always learn so much from history, and the stories really can encourage us to be better Christians.
I received this book from the publisher as part of the Booksneeze Blogger Review program. I was not required to give a positive review, and the opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great intro to Church history and simple devotion

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
The Reformed Reader
Location:Louisville
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
On This Day in Christian History
Robert Morgan's On This Day in Christian History is a great tool for those looking for a simple introdution to church history. Morgan's book sets out to show something significant that occurred in church history every single day of the year and does this in a devotional manner. Morgan's book was enjoyable at times and at other times it seemed that he had to stretch to find something which occurred on that particular day. Morgan's stories range all the way from Moody, Spurgeon, Luther, Calvin to Jim Elloitt. Morgan provides both historic figures/events within the protestant faith, but also historical figures/events within the church universal. Morgan's book would be extremely helpful in family devotions in training you children up knowing the rich history of those who came before them. I also see that this book could be a good tool for pastors who desire to give their congregations a brief history of the church either periodacally throughout the year. This book could also be useful for pastors looking for illustratations within sermons. I enjoyed how all Morgan's stories had some type of challenge within them and concluded with a verse from scripture (sometimes which was out of context) which related to the challenging aspect of the story. Morgan's book is a good book, but at times can become boring. Reading the book through in its entirity rather than reading it once a day could have had something to do with my assessment of it here. Morgan's book is not a must have, but it is a definitely a good read and helpful tool.
The Reformed Reader
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
aunterica
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book was not at all what I expected it to be. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't the best. I was expecting something that would just reach out and grab me everytime I read it, but it didn't.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring book

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nightwing
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book, On This Day in Christian History by Robert J Morgan interesting, 365 inspiring stories by Christian’s leaders of the day. One for each day of the year. A lot of names I have not heard of. Stories of not giving in to despair and can do spirit that will captivate the readers. A good reminder for the modern Christians on what the Christians in the past have gone through.
I recommend this book to those that is in the leadership of the local churches or young youth leaders. Whatever a leader is going through, there is some stories in the book that will help answer their questions or ability. In my opinion I give this book a rating 5 out of 5, very inspiring book.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Booksneeze bloggers program. I was not asked to write a positive review and thus, the book review is 100% my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

enough inspiring stories for a 12-week devotional

Date:December 6, 2010
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Robert J. Morgan's "On this Day in Christian History" reads like a daily devotional, with a one-page entry per day. Each day provides a short look at the life of a saint, martyr, missionary, or other Christian servant, as well as offering a related daily Bible verse. An "Index of Selected Topics" allows searching by topic; however, there is neither an index by name of featured people, nor a table of contents. So, if you're looking for an entry on financial stewardship you'll have no trouble finding it, but if you're looking for a reading on John Wesley, it's a bit of a needle in a haystack hunt.
As I began reading this book, I was surprised to see how few familiar names were featured. At first, that seemed as if it might make the subjects more "accessible" and inspiring... in a "if they can do it, so can I" sort of way. But as I continued along with the book, I found that although I was never bored, I often had the feeling that I would have been just as well off not reading the book. The retelling of such trivial moments in the lives of "accessible" people didn't really inspire much at all, including further reading of the book.
Lest I make this book sound like a dud, I should say that I did find many interesting snippets in it. And I am quite sure I will refer back to several of the stories in future writings. It's just that my overall feeling was that it made little difference if I read it or not. I prefer to spend my time with books that truly inspire or educate; this book was mid-rate at both, good at neither.
I received a copy of this book from publisher Thomas Nelson for the purpose of review. I am not required to give a positive review; all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not so inspiring after all...

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carin
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I found this book to be quite a disappointment. While the idea for book sounded good--365 stories of inspiring Christians--it did not turn out very well. First of all, it's not inspiring at all! Many of the stories end with someone being beaten or killed for their faith--not exactly uplifting. The stories that could have been inspiring are so dry that all that stands out is the poor style of writing. I did not like how the stories jump from one part of history to another; one day it's about the year 300 and the next day it's 1850s: very choppy. Even the way the book looks is distasteful: awkward style of font for the stories and the passages of Scripture are in tiny letters down at the bottom of the page. And to top it all off, this history book has no references, no citations, and no bibliography; it is lacking in credibility.
Thompson Nelson Publishers have provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Church history made painless and fun!

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Scott Allison
Location:Lafayette, IN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been said that history is "His Story." Robert J. Morgan proves that point in 365 devotional vignettes from church history. The stories (and that's really what they are) are brief sketches of people and events that will inspire you day-by-day to walk in the footsteps of some of Christ's most devoted followers. Morgan brings the great revivals, missionaries, and providentially pivotal moments of history to life in a very readable way. Each day's reading includes a Bible verse which loosely ties into the historical vignette.
I have found this book to be very thought-provoking and heart-igniting. It would make an ideal companion to daily Bible-reading. Pastors and teachers would also find it a helpful well of anecdotes and illustrations for weekly publications, classes, or sermons. Or maybe you're a history buff—this book would provide you with a host of thought-provoking material (although it doesn't give great details about each event or person). Maybe you've just realized that you really don't know much of anything about church history, and you'd like to learn; this book is about the most painless, and even enjoyable, way to walk down the "hallowed halls" of the Church.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great book of History and encouragement

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tony
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is one of those books that for me was a little hard to get into, but once I started reading I found my faith growing stronger. This book is laid out with a story for every day of the year. Stories from history of faith and covering many different topics. Stories of pioneers that paved the way for Christianity. Stories about people that have gone through trials and tribulations, giving of themselves sacrificially so that we can enjoy the freedoms that we have today. Stories of missionaries, bible translators, pastors....
The book can be read as a devotional with a story a day, or read in sections. It is a great resource for pastors, teachers, leaders. So many great stories that will encourage and challenge you to consider your own life.
If you like history, or like reading about people of faith this is a great book. If you like being challenged in your walk with God, this is a great book. I have made this one of my daily readings.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

We'll often be moved to do further research

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Brinkman
Location:Yoder, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is set up with one page per day of reading, and I started reading aloud to my kids in November. In addition, I read about a month's worth of earlier entries before writing this review, hop-skipping through the book, mostly reading entries for important dates in my family.
I love it. Some well-known stories, some less-known stories, and some pretty obscure ones as well. The mix is interesting, and we are definitely going to enjoy continuing to work through this book.
Each day's entry includes that date in some way. Ulrich Zwingli was born on January 1, 1484, so his is the first entry in the book. On February 24, 1208, Francis of Assisi made the decision to become an evangelist. On April 24, 387, Augustine was baptized. On July 29, 1794, the African Methodist Episcopal Church was born. On November 30, 1864, John Clough headed for missionary service in India, to a place known as "Forlorn Hope."
My only caution about this book -- particularly if you are thinking of it for the family -- is that there certainly are a lot of martyrs included. Like February 16, 1688, when James Renwick smuggled a final note to his mother before being led to the scaffold. Or May 1, 1685 when John Brown had his brains blown out as part of the "Killing Time" in Scotland.
To round out my family's birthdays, on March 19, 1229, Frederick crowned himself king in Jerusalem. November 9, 1938 of course was Kristallnacht, which led Dietrich Boenhoeffer to race back to Germany.
Flipping through the book, I noticed that there are entries from a broad range of years (evidenced above, I think) and from a broad geographic area. There are entries relating to Constantinople, and to Rome; to Protestant persecution, and to Catholic persecution.
I love this book, and it is likely that in reading some of these entries, we are going to be moved to do further research, as the stories themselves are pretty basic overviews. Each ends with a brief scripture verse, or other quote (October 31, for instance, ends with a verse from Luther's "A Mighty Fortress").
Disclaimer: As Booksneeze Blogger, I did receive this book for free from Thomas Nelson. No other compensation was received. For more about my take on reviews, visit my blog post here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not great but not bad.

Date:November 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Childoftheking84
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently had a chance to read and review this book! It is made up of stories of Christan people in history that made a difference. It goes day by day for each month and into a full year. So you can read a devotion on someone each day. I started this book and it was interesting,but I just could not get into it for some reason. The stories in it were just basic stories with nothing really popping out at me like Read me! I think the author did a great job on organizing the book into day by day. I would probably go back and read it for reference if I am looking up a certain Christian person in history. It wasn't a bad book but it wasn't a great book it was sort of in between. Some might find it interesting and some might not.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Devotional for History/Biography buffs

Date:November 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Highland, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy this book. I had a copy previously and it was lost. So getting it again has been a blessing. I really enjoy history and biography; so this book brings those together in looking at events and people thru out Christian history in a daily devotional format.
This is also a great source of sermon and teaching illustrations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
On This Day in Christian History by Robert Morgan brings a year's worth of inspiration and spiritual challenge and offers an enjoyable glimpse into church history. Each day includes a related Scripture reading and a simple, colorful story about history-making events in the lives of people who loved God wholeheartedly.
I love history, and my faith is the most important thing in my life, so I was very excited to receive this book. As I read, I was quite disappointed though. Maybe because as a homeschooling mom of history lovers, we already have so many amazing resources that tie our faith into history. This book just was not able to stand up to others on the subject we have read. I found the stories to lack context and any theological "meat". It didn't cause me to grow in my walk with the Lord at all, and I did not find myself intrigued by the historical aspect either.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great devotional.

Date:November 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael Wilson
Location:Dyersburg, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love history, especially church history, so I was very interested in reading this devotional book. Robert J. Morgan takes 365 stories from church history and puts them into a devotional form so that you can read one story a day, plus end with a scripture that relates to the story. Some of the stories are very inspirational as it tells of great feats of faith, trust and sacrifice. However, there are tales that make you cringe as you read of some of the terrible things that people have done in the name of Christianity. Most of the stories seem to come from the Middle Ages but there are some more recent stories as well.
Overall, I was pleased with the book. I always interested in reading the next story. The stories are short, obviously, and I'm sure that there is more to the stories than what the author could fit into the space for a devotional. As I read some of the stories and the sacrifices made, at times I felt that I if compared to these martyrs that I wasn't even close to being a Christian because I have lived a live of relative ease. Many of the people in these stories were tortured and killed simply for their faith in Christ. They all gave their lives without complaint and saw such joy in being a martyr.
This would be a good devotional for any Christian, to simply remind us that in this world we will tribulation and persecution. Many people will lose their lives for the sake of Christ. If you are having a discouraging time, a reading of this book will help you realize that it could be a lot worse.
If you are a pastor or teacher, this book will provide great sermon illustrations and stories. It has an index of selected topics in the back of the book that will proof invaluable.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for On This Day in Christian History: 365 Amazing and Inspiring Stories About Saints, Martyrs, and Heroes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Interesting and Informative!

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brent
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very interesting and informative book… Robert Morgan gives you a daily snapshot of Christian History. Each day brings a new account of the impact that a particular saint, missionary, martyr, hero, etc. had on his / her society. It is great to learn about those who have had such a great impact in regard to where Christianity now stands. I enjoyed being able to look at the notable events that occurred on my birthday as well as checking out my wife’s and kid’s birthdays. A small portion of scripture is provided at the bottom of every page giving each day a devotional nature. Also the back of the book contains a very well organized index of selected topics from aging (a) to Zionism (Z), and everything in between. I believe this would be a great supplement to any believer’s devotional life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>