Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Let Me Be a Woman

Tyndale House Let Me Be a Woman

The author combines her observations and experiences in a number of essays on male-female relationships. In these days of conflicting demands and cultural pressures, what kind of woman do you wish to be? How should you respond? What should you think? Elisabeth Elliot is one of Christiandom's most able and articulate writers. In this profound and moving book she presents her unique perspective. Now married a third time after losing two husbands through death, she offers golden insights which apply to the single, the married, and the widowed. These notes on womanhood, written to her daughter Valerie a few weeks before Val's marriage, are a gift of lasting worth for all Christian women.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Let Me Be a Woman
Review 1 for Let Me Be a Woman
This review is fromLet Me Be a Woman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for young ladies to read while engaged.

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book for my daughter to use as a devotional during her time of engagement. The book was written by a mother to her daughter during the daughter's engagement. I read it before I passed it on to my daughter and was greatly blessed myself. The short, easy to read chapters are perfect to read one a day. The messages were reminders to me of my role as wife and I feel the words of wisdom will bless my daughter as she becomes a wife soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Let Me Be a Woman
This review is fromLet Me Be a Woman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Treasure of Treasures

Date:April 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lady4theLORD
Age:18-24
Gender:female
My mother owned this book. She had it in a box of books she was thinking of giving away. I remember taking this book from the box (as well as a few others), and after I read it I was shocked my mother wanted to give it away. This book was a treasure among treasures indeed. The letters Elizabeth wrote to her daughter helped me to grow as a young lady in the Lord. So, I recommend this to all God fearing women. Ladies use this book to better yourselves and teach the other young God fearing women you know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Let Me Be a Woman
This review is fromLet Me Be a Woman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Renee
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book as much as all the other books I've read by Elisabeth Elliot. She really helps you understand God's veiw on womanhood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Let Me Be a Woman
This review is fromLet Me Be a Woman.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
This was an easy and interesting read. I enjoyed it and will keep it for future reading/reference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Let Me Be a Woman
This review is fromLet Me Be a Woman.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lauren
A friend loaned me this book, and I read it. I was a bit frustrated with her writing style. She tends to begin chapters with things that are either not related or are only vaguely related. However, there is definitely some good wisdom in this book, and I certainly wouldn't discourage anyone from reading it. On the other hand, I will say that I do disagree with her on a few points, but anyone reading it with the simple acknowledgment that it isn't Scripture should be fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Let Me Be a Woman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amie
This book changed my life. Elisabeth Elliot speaks directly to young women about what it means to honor God with our womanhood. The words on these pages peirced my heart and prepared me for marriage more than any other book I've read. A must read for all young women before marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Let Me Be a Woman
This review is fromLet Me Be a Woman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
Lanette
I will admit that I am not a huge fan of her books, but this one was fabulous. Buy it. Read it. Loan it to your friends but make sure they return it. Better yet, buy some extra copies and just give them away!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Let Me Be a Woman
This review is fromLet Me Be a Woman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
Dawn morris
Elisabeth Elliot has a lot of wisdom to share about being a godly woman. This book is one that you will read a bit, and then sit and ponder because it will challenge your thinking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Let Me Be a Woman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2002
Customer Avatar
Kathryn Meece
My mother gave me this book as a sophmore in college. An excellent book on being a Christian women in every area of our lives. An important book for today with the world trying to mold us into it's image. I work with the senior High girls in our church and am using it again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.