Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Noticer

Thomas Nelson The Noticer

From the best-selling author of The Traveler's Gift comes an absorbing story of boundless hope! Struggling against poverty, personal failures, and lost dreams, the residents of Orange Beach, Alabama, believe their lives are meaningless. But when an old drifter mysteriously makes his way through town, he brings new perspective - and spots the miracle they're missing! Based on a true story. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.492 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
36
3 stars
10
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Noticer
Review 1 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

you will enjoy this

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Neil
Location:Houston
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent quick read, ten chapters, 169 pages. The main character is an old man by the name of Jones. I soon realized the name of Jesus starts with a J and has 5 letters and so does Jones, and I am sure the author intended this connection. The plot line is what would it be like if Jesus should suddenly appear in human form to a person whose life was a mess and had an encounter with him/her and gave them a new perspective on life.
It begins with a young man living under a pier with no prospect for a future. Jones gives him three library books that start his turn around. Ch 2 concerns a couple who have been married for 21 years and are still in love but are filing for divorce. Ch 3 involves understanding a persons love language from a fresh perspective. Ch 4 A middle aged man spends all chasing his dream that is now crashing in on him and he is thinking suicide. Ch 5 involves three young people in their dating years. How does one make a good choice for a life long mate? Jones helps them think right. Ch 6 involves an old lady who thinks there is no purpose left in her life. Jones shows her that many have had their most productive years after age 65.
Ch 7 A man is too involved in his work and neglects his wife. He is also dishonest with others. Jones gets his attention by revealing that he is going to die soon. Ch 8 Jones appears a second time to this same man. Some times it takes more work to make things right. Ch 9 Andy, the same man from Ch 1 is included in this encounter with another young man under the same pier and simular circumstances. Ch 10 "Keep your fork...the best is yet to come!" is the message. The last section contains discussion questions. Throughout this book Jones appears and disappears suddenly and unexpectedly. He also speaks every language. You will enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book that really makes you think.

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janice Erkfitz
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
We loved this book. I do wish it shared more about the fact that God is the one that changes our preception and changes us.... it was still an excellent read. Made me think. And had some true wisdom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaShak
Location:Keenesburg, Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. Andy is a great speaker and writer. You'll love his books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic book on PERSPECTIVE

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
boxermom
Location:Rock Rapids, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have become an avid Andy Andrews reader, and this one was particularly special. I purchased it from 3 different internet sources for Christmas Gifts for family and friends, and Christianbook.com was the best value! Wish I would have found this site first!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good book for discussion

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sixtytwo
Location:Fayetteville, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the selection for a book club I am in; we will meet soon to discuss it. I learned from the insights and godly wisdom that Jones had. Characters and situations were very real. Ending had significance and application for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful, Inspiring, and Truly Amazing

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robby J
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andy Andrews weaves a story beginning with his own. He introduces Jones, a mysterious and sometimes quirky old man. Jones has an uncanny ability to "notice things in peoples' lives. He uses his skills of "noticing" to give people life-changing adive. Advice on success in work, marriage, and most every aspect of your life, Jones can help turn your life around too. I truly reccomend this book to one of the highest degree. Some might find it ridiculous, but sometimes you just need some "perspective." ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a lovely gift

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shawnee H
Location:West Linn, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Is this a bit simplistic? Yes. Is it a WONDERFUL reminder of common truths? YES again. This powerful little book is packed of full of truth and reminders of how we can choose our reactions and choose to be happy. Another quick read, I think you will find yourself picking this book up again and again. It made me want to give a packet of seeds to everyone I know, "as a simple reminder that you must also plant your own seeds in the minds and hearts of those you touch."
I really enjoyed this book and it's one I would share with friends; I received a copy free from the publisher but enjoyed it enough to purchase it in the future as well and am very comfortable recommending it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sadie
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I plan to give several of these books as gifts for Christmas. I like the fact that it is an easy read, but also gives one a lot to think about. We can all be encouragers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Maison
I am new fan of Andy Andrews, having heard him recently at Women of Faith in Columbus, Oh. His insight into the importance of each person's perception or perspective is a subject in which I have long been interested. Our oldest son graduated from UC (Ohio) in Architecture in 1994. One art class project was a molded depiction of perspective. This was a Christmas gift to his dad and me. His gift as well as this book hold great and meaningful subject matter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin
This is such a great story of how the most unexpected people can have the biggest impact in our lives. Take this homeless elderly man..might not look like much, but his wisdom and way of looking at things is truly unique. This kind of reminds me of the movie Pay it Forward. A kind word or deed can go a long way in someone's life. We never know what that person is going through. Great book and one that I will read again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joann Darnell
One of the best books that I have read in the past several years!Everyone should take the time to read this little book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
The Noticer is the tale of a small gulf coast town that is visited by a mysterious stranger. Who this man is and where he has come from, no one knows. He to appears and disappears suddenly and seems to know about the lives of everyone in town, often appearing during a crisis. Whomever he interacts with is changed for the better by his probing questions and insightful advice.This book was an enjoyable piece of fiction with a creative storyline. But more than that, every chapter is potentially life-changing for the reader. The questions that Jones asks of each character and the bits of wisdom he shares invite the reader to ponder his own life and relationships. What is it about me that other people could change if they could?Whatever you focus upon, increases.A true friend brings out the best in you. Do yours?Its time to let your history stop controlling your destiny.This novel has given me quite a few nuggets to chew on. I recommend this book for just the right balance of light fiction and inspiration.I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa Bussey
The Noticer by Andy Andrews is a great reading experience. Jones has the gift of perspective. He notices the things that others don't. With this gift the old man enters the life of people in a small town, who have found themselves in desperate painful places, and shows them a new perspective.I couldn't put this book down and read it all in one sitting. The lesson Mr. Andrews teaches on perspective is one we would all do well to learn. I definitely suggest this for your reading lists.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kim
I recently finished reading this really fun book. The author has an interesting style of challenging his readers to look at their lives from a different perspective. It sometimes felt like a cross between a fiction and non-fiction book as I tried to decide if the author was telling of his own experiences or just telling a story. It was encouraging to me to read how our lives can be transformed just by looking at events and circumstances from a better point of view. He gave many illustrations of this through glimpses of different peoples lives. Although the author obviously wanted to teach a concept, his approach was not a how-to manual, but instead was an easy to read collection of short stories. These stories were entertaining and actually quite realistic and meaningful. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for an uplifting read. It held my interest throughout the entire book.Disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katelyn Collison
I just finished the book The Noticer by Andy Andrews.This book is inspiring. The main character, Jones, is a classic grandfather character. The kind of character you are drawn to without much thought, because he reminds you so much of home and comfort. As you read this story, you follow Jones along on his journey with many different people. Each person is facing something completely different in their lives, but alike in the sense of its turmoil and heartache. Jones revives their hearts and minds with kind words and good perspective. After Jones finishes talking with each, he leaves. Even after Jones leaves, he is never forgotten. Jones in his kindness and goodness, has changed their lives forever. The Noticer is a book that shows what happens to people everyday. People forget things most important to them when a troublesome times hit them hard.So, I really enjoyed this book. There were times when I had to make myself remember I was reading a book, and not an essay or something. Despite it's repetitiveness, I found myself wanting to read and see where it went. Though, it isn't one of my favorite books, it did manage to make me open my eyes just a little wider at the world around me. "Sometimes all a person needs is a little perspective."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Duan
Note: This book review was done as part of the Thomas Nelson Book Review Bloggers program. I really enjoyed reading The Noticer by Andy Andrews. It is a story of a man whose life was changed by a man named Jones, who always seemed to show up at the right time in peoples lives to help them see a new perspective and allow them to make life-changing decisions. This book was inspiring to me and helped me realize that sometimes it just takes a different perspective in life. There was a wide variety of situations portrayed in this book that will be influential to a wide range of readers. The book was easy to read and helped me examine my life in a new light. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that wants to be happy, content and successful in life. We have all been through tough situations and may even be going through one right now, as I am. This book would be helpful to everyone, saved and unsaved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Timothy
It all happen in an ordinary town filled with ordinary people with ordinary problems, which we all do encounter somewhere in our life. When something extraordinary struck this small town when an old man involuntarily touches everybodys heart and getting himself involved in solving their unnoticed problems. After hearing their share of stories, he always says you do lack in PERSPECTIVE after a couple of explanations and realizations he will leave them enlightened and with their hearts at eased.Ill give five for five because the book is so inspiring. As the story progresses the definition of the word PERSPECTIVE gets clearer and clearer. I really like the sudden change of mood from being light to the beginning till you reach the last chapter where you get a bit puzzled and crave you to go on the story and end it with a seed of perspective in your heart. To wrap it up! The book is so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Timothy
It all happen in an ordinary town filled with ordinary people with ordinary problems, which we all do encounter somewhere in our life. When something extraordinary struck this small town when an old man involuntarily touches everybodys heart and getting himself involved in solving their unnoticed problems. After hearing their share of stories, he always says you do lack in PERSPECTIVE after a couple of explanations and realizations he will leave them enlightened and with their hearts at eased.Ill give five for five because the book is so inspiring. As the story progresses the definition of the word PERSPECTIVE gets clearer and clearer. I really like the sudden change of mood from being light to the beginning till you reach the last chapter where you get a bit puzzled and crave you to go on the story and end it with a seed of perspective in your heart. To wrap it up! The book is so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bill Cearbaugh
Andrew's new book, The Noticer immediately draws you into the story by setting a scene on the ocean side about an old man and his new friend. The book is a short read, as books go, but make no mistake about it, even though short, it is a life changing theme. The old man, who goes by Jones, sovereignly bumps into people and wisely notices why their lives are difficult. In the process, he helps them step back for a moment to see what changes could transform their lives. Mr. Andrews looses his ball in the weeds, in my opinion, in one chapter, where he actually goes through the explanation of the love language steps. But in spite of this, Andrews has a way with always leaving wanting more, so you desire to read on. And before you know it, the small ocean-side town has been infected by the goodness of an old man. Plant your victory garden this year by reading The Noticer by Andy Andrews.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Noticer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tammy Gould
I am a book reviewer for Thomas Nelson. The Noticer is a story about perspective. Jones, an elderly gentleman, transforms the lives of those in Orange Beach by showing them a different perspective on their lives. The story opens with the transformation of Andy, a homeless young man who is living under a pier. Jones shows up, meets Andy where he is at and points out that things are not always how we perceive them.I had a difficult time getting hooked on this book. I did not find it to be a page-turner or a thrilling adventure story. It is a simple story about having the choice to look at our circumstances under a different light. During this season of my life, I needed to hear this simple truth again. We do not have to live in defeat, despair, hopelessness, loneliness, sadness, grief etc. We have the ability to rise above those things and walk the road before us in the light of Christ.Jones reminded me of Christ as he touched the lives of his best friends. He met people where they were at and gave them the ability to look at their own lives through a different lens. The story also caused me to ponder my role in the lives of others. Do I help people by giving them a different perspective? Most of all, am I pointing them to the Light? The story ends with seeds you will have to read the book to find out what they are all about :-) - may each one of us spread seeds of love, hope, peace, faith, joy and comfort in the lives of those who cross our paths.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...7Next >>>