Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Berkley Trade Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2

Berkley Trade Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2

It has been almost a year since the Amish community of Pleasant Valley lost Ezra Brand to a tragic accident. Since then, his wife Rachel has struggled to raise their three children and run their dairy farm. Rachel has always believed that nothing happens without God's will, but in these tough times, she's finding it a challenge to discern His plan for her life. Rachel's friends and family have come forward to help-Rachel's friend Leah, who is now married and expecting a child; Ezra's brothers, who work on the farm; and Rachel's parents, who are no strangers to griefafter their only son, Johnny, left the Amish community. But all of their well-intentioned constant advice puts undue pressure on Rachel. When Gideon Zook, Ezra's best friend who survived the accident, asks her permission to build the greenhouse that Ezra had always promised her, she finds his presence too painful a reminder of the past.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2
Review 1 for Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It suspenseful and sometimes sad, also exciting.

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
LinDawn
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marta Perry writes interesting Amish fiction books as all Amish writers do. Fasinating stories. I am glad I bought them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The characters come to life

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ronna
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading about the characters in this series because they make you want to live the simplier life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book. I enjoy Marta Perry's books very much. I have a hard time putting them down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
momof5
Location:New Hampshire
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the stories "behind the Amish scenes" They really give a closer look at what makes as community. I also love that my daughter and I have so much to talk about, after reading these. These books really make me take a second look at my life and faith.
They are well written, family friendly, and a pleasure to read over and over again.
I like the way a central character from the past is still there but that there is a new central character to learn more about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joan Dodge
I love this authors series, the problem is; she doesn't get them out fast enough!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eula Mckown
Rachel's Garden is another "must read" from Marta Perry. The look into the Amish world is great. Once you get into the story, you won't want to put the book down until you finish it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Even within the Amish communities, there are struggles to deal with in life. Faith does not automatically solve everything. It takes time. Rachel deals with the death of her husband, raising his children and trying to run the Dairy Farm alone. Family pitches in but like all families they can be trying on you. Ezra's brothers help but also cause hardships upon Rachel in trying to force their decisions on her. Families seem to think they always know what is best for you. Rachel has to struggle with issues dealing with Gideon, Ezra's best friend, and Isaac and William, Ezra's brothers and yes, even her own parents. Rachel has to think about what is best for her and he children. She has dreams but she isn't always supported in those dreams.But like all parents eventually her parents come around and support her in her dreams. They are always there to help even when they disagree.Then Leah is her best friend and she feels at first like she loses her support to. But it was just her misunderstanding what Leah meant. Good friends always work through situations. Rachel is there to help Leah when her baby is born.Rachel and Gideon's relationship starts off with Gideon building a greenhouse for Rachel because it was to be Ezra's gift to her. But he wasn't prepared for his heart to open up to love again as he was still grieving the death of his wife and baby.Hardships hit the Amish as they do us (referred to as Englishers) and life is the same whether you are Amish or not. We all face situations where our faith is tested.I received this book at a time I was dealing with hurt from a lady in church, health situations, the loss of my Mother, etc. So it was very uplifting and encouraging.I highly recommend this book to inspire and encourage you every day in your walk through life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol Kondos
I purchased the entire series. I have been a member for some time. This is the first time I have read a Marta Perry Novel. It was a heartwarming story. I was so hoping that Rachel would end up with Gideon. I have purchased onther books in the series. I cannot wait to read them as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Warstler
This Book is so invegorating it can not be put aside. I read it through in the same day.I can hardly wait for the release of ANNA'S RETURN.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
This book was just as good as the first one. It was hard to put down. You go through alot of emotions reading this book which makes so enjoyable. It keeps you on the edge of your seat thats how good it is. I would recommend this to everyone to read. You wish there was more of it and you are ready and waiting for the nest one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rachel's Garden, Pleasant Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Scott
I could not put the book down once I started. It was a very tragic but inspiring story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.