Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)

Thomas Nelson Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)

Do you want to get well?

The power to heal-physically, mentally, emotionally, spiritually-is in God's hands. But the choice to be healed is ours. Everyone, at some level, needs healing. In this book, Stephen Arterburn outlines ten choices crucial to receiving healing and ten lies that can prevent us from making them. Readers will find the wholeness God desires for them in a practical and prayerful way through this book.

Now including the full workbook, this combined release emphasizes the fact that we must choose to let the hurt go and let the healing begin.

The book asks the participant, "Do you want to be healed?" If the answer is yes, then ten choices are provided to make the path toward healing a restorative experience.

Average Customer Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 out of 2391%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Review 1 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunshine
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is thought provoking and challenging to the mind, but in a good way. If you need to deal with your past or present this is a good book to start with beginning to heal, to face where you were so you can move forward in life and have victory from that pain and hurt from the past. Applying what you learn is where it starts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book, if you want to get healthy read it

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Location:VeroBeach, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book takes you on a great journey that allows you to dig deep and see the areas of wrong thinking you may have had and helps you pursue the deeper things of God in the areas of your specific healing and needs. This book may also just validate that you aren't "crazy" after all, and it will spur you on to greater things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book helped me heal from emotional trauma.

Date:January 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
All Things Juliet
Location:Philippines
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you choose to be healed, the book, Healing is a Choice, will guide you through a study of the ten important healing choices that God wants you to make. The book identifies the ten choices that contribute to healing and the ten lies that work against people in the healing process. These are not easy choices to make but all of them are life changing and will lead you down the path toward the healing God has for you.
Make a choice – choose healing – and begin your healing journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

read it now!

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
if you take the time, I believe you can become a healthier person. Healthier, but not in a physical sense. Healing is a Choice By; Stephen Arterburn Published by: Thomas Nelson. I would say this book has the power to change you from the life that far beyond what you expect when your hurt! Read this, healing has come through my risk of allowing myself to be loved by others....and to love others once again. I highly recommend this book and pray you will find yourself closer to the Lord God Almighty and the true healer. I would have say that hatred, distress and anger ruin my life. It was terrible, I have no peace of mind. Those things define me. If your those things, or at least. I encouraged you with all my heart to read this. I loved this book, it was a very good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An unexpected but good book

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
BookFanatic
Location:Minnesota
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Another book review, yay! This one is called "Healing is a Choice" by Stephen Arterburn. It is for people who are struggling to find healing and the ability to move on from something difficult. This book was much different than I had anticipated, but nonetheless it had some good ideas. He ended each chaper which a statement about what healing looks like that was a good wrap-up sentence of the chapter. However, he included a lot of stories and anecdotes about his struggle from healing from his divorce, which is fine but I am a single college aged woman so just did not have a lot to relate to with that. But if you feel yourself stuck in the healing process, this is definitely a book to grab
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good resource to have.

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pursue and Recover
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book Review
Healing Is A Choice
By
Stephen Arterburn
This book was written by the Author after he experienced the pain of divorce. He needed to heal from the hurt and pain he experienced in this book he share his experiences in healing.
This book is to assist the reader in finding their way to healing after suffering in their own circumstance. This book leads the reader through ten Choices, as one make choices the result will be a transformation in one’s life.
The healing involved can be physical, mental, emotional or spiritual. The focus during the healing process is to reconnect one to God. The exercises that lead to ones healing are meant to help one give up his current life in order to find the life God has for them. This book is comprehensive with workbook style pages included to aid one in the process.
Healing is a choice and this book has scripture to help one find his way to healing. The author offers a forty day challenge at the end of the book that will allow one to make the most of the ten challenges/choices previously reviewed. Ending with an open prayer and an affirmation that the author says will change your life and he offers the reader the opportunity to share this transformation with him.
I find this book to be interesting and feel it could be helpful to one seeking healing in their life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Healing is a Choice

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katy
Location:MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We all make choices in life. Circumstances come and things happen. I think of Job and how life threw a lot of things his way that he didn’t “deserve” but he still went through a traumatic time. Out of the ashes births new life, but he had to choose. We can go ahead and choose to sit in the pity party and there’s a time and a place for sitting in the pain. God meets us there in the pain. God sits with us in it and sifts through the brokenness to bring out new life. He makes all things beautiful in their time.
Stephen Arterburn walks us through the healing process and highlights the decisions that we can make along the way to usher in God’s healing power. Along with those life changing decisions, he also includes the lies that can catch us up along the way. He shares candidly about his personal journey toward freedom and offers hope and encouragement. As each of us keeps walking on our path, let us keep pressing forward so that we can see in hindsight the way God has us and the why’s become more clear. Oftentimes, things won’t make sense until later. Hindsight is 20/20 but in that too we can keep walking in obedience and grace. God desires to touch our hearts and let the living water flow but we need to be willing. This is a great book that looks at the decisions we can make and the lies we can fight while we each head down our own path of healing.
*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A really good book about healing

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
BiancaTC
Location:Oradea, Romania
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this book awhile ago and when I started reading it the first thing that I loved about it was its practicality. I loved it because the author’s style is very easy to follow and he gives a lot of Bible examples. I loved his way of retelling them in his own manner.
Like I said, it’s practical, and when I say this I am referring to the way this book is organized as well. It has 10 chapters, each chapter tackling a different choice and the big lie that stands at the root of that choice. At the end of each chapter, my book (the revised & updated one) had some workbook questions to help you identify the key points that you must work on in order to obtain the healing that he’s talking about here.
It was a helpful book, and I am sure this is a book for everyone, because I believe we each have some healing to do into our own lives, no matter what the hurting has been about. So I would warmly recommend this book to those who want to have a healthy life and all the benefits that comes from that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lightatheart
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mr. Arterburn has done a very detailed work in his revised and updated edition of ‘Healing Is A Choice’. He has included a full workbook as well. The book is 457 pages of counseling to help the reader heal from basically emotional and spiritual wounds. At the end of each of the main chapters (1-10) he has included a workbook section that has a short review of the chapter and questions to help the reader apply the healing truths and recognize/avoid the destructive lies. He doesn’t do that for chapter 11 as it is basically a wrap-up to the book.
There are ten healing truths and ten big lies that he covers in the book. Each chapter has one healing truth and one big lie that he covers in depth.
Chapter 1 is about connection and counters the thought that we don’t need anyone besides God involved in our healing process.
Chapter 2 encourages the reader to ‘feel’ life and makes a case against the idea that real Christians will feel real peace in all circumstances.
Chapter 3 is about investigating our lives in search of truth and suggests that the idea that it does no good to look back or inside isn’t right.
Chapter 4 is how to heal one’s future and counters the idea that time heals all wounds.
Chapter 5 is about choosing to get the appropriate help rather than thinking a fallen mind can figure everything out without help from anyone else.
Chapter 6 encourages the reader to embrace their life mistakes and all and not to think that if a problem is ignored that it will go away.
Chapter 7 is on forgiveness and shows the reader that forgiveness is for the person wronged rather than the person who did the wrong.
Chapter 8 shows that we can’t live risk free and counters the idea of trying to protect self from any more pain.
Chapter 9 is about choosing to serve and shows that the idea that we have to wait until we are healed to serve God is wrong.
Chapter 10 encourages the reader to persevere and counters the idea that there is no hope for me.
Between Chapter 10 and 11 he does a review and action plan that covers all ten previous chapters.
In Chapter 11 he gives the reader some final thoughts on healing.
There is much in this book that I appreciate and agree with, and it is a very encouraging book. I especially like his strong admonishment at the beginning in the preface to avoid divorce any way that you can. He has included scripture throughout the book in such a way that I believe that he isn’t leaning on his own understanding but rather looking to God for wisdom.
I would recommend reading this book and have already done so other than in this review. It is long and detailed so don’t expect to pick it up and read it in two or three hours. You might find that it takes more like two or three weeks or even months, but the time is worth it.
Purposes of Disclosure of Material Connection: I received the book mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good book, maybe a bit overly divided.

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blue Raindrop
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Healing is a Choice by Stephen Arterburn is the latest book I’ve received from Thomas Nelson for reviewing.
This particular version is an updated and revised version that also includes the workbook that goes along with the book.
Each chapter of the book focuses on a particular choice each person has to make to choose healing, and the common lie that counters it. For example, the choice to forgive, and the lie that forgiveness must be earned. There is a list of ten total.
The writing style is easy to read, and gives lots of real life examples to show how each point plays out. The choices/lies themselves are pretty standard, nothing too groundbreaking or controversial.
To someone who is new to reading “recovery” sorts of books, this is probably very useful and maybe even rough to work through in some areas... going more into depth in sometimes painful spots.
Personally, in some ways it does seem like it made the concept more complicated than needed by breaking it down so much. Some of the different chapters seem like they have quite a bit of overlap with others, and it seems at times that focusing on each of the particular areas of the choice to move on with your life sort of loses the focus on the big picture.
The overall message is good that each person has to make their own choice to choose (repeatedly) to move on with their life instead of allowing it to trap them into wallowing. But I’m not sure this would be my top choice of books on that point to recommend to someone.
However, if I did, I think that I might actually tell them to get the older version instead. There was good content in the workbook sections that I wish would have been put into the book chapters themselves, but the way this version was done really didn’t make the combination go smoothly. The workbook sections appear to have been taken directly from the original workbook, and follow each of the regular chapters.
It was sort of annoying to read the chapter, do some exercises as the chapter went along, then have the same stories that you’d just read a few pages before be retold in a summary version, and then have many of the same exercises repeated... mixed in with some new ones and a meditation and prayer section.
It also makes the book feel really long. The chapter length itself isn’t bad, but when the extra repetition is added, they feel long to go through. (Total of about 450 pages)
I really wish that if they were taking the time and expense to make the new version, that they would have gone further and really merged the content together and removed the duplicated areas and made things a lot smoother.
It is a good book.... and can probably really change lives for some. But just not the best formatting, and maybe too divided and detailed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helped my journey to healing

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica Marie
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderfully written book that helps anyone and everyone on a journey to healing. That need for healing can be in many forms: weight loss, injury, divorce, violence.
Throughout the book your follow how one man's journey has led him to learning how to heal. It taught him that you have to make the choice (10 choices, actually). Making each choice leads to the next. As you make the 10 choices God is allowed, little by little, to lead you in the healing process.
Stephen Arterburn used beautiful words tohelp others along this journey. Using the book, you receive guidance plus a journaling work book. By making the 10 choices you begin to see past the myths that are taught to us by society.
Choice Myth busted
1. Connect your life "All I need to heal is just God me."
2. Feel your life "Real Christians should have a real peace in all
circumstances."
3. Investigate your life in search of truth "It does no good to look back or look inside."
4. Heal your future "Time heals all wounds."
5. Help your life "I can figure this out by myself."
6. Embrace your life "If I just act as if there is no problem, it will finally
go away."
7. Forgive "Forgiveness is only for those who deserve it or
earn it."
8. Risk your life "I must protect myself from any more pain."
9. Serve "Until I am completely healed and strong, there is
no place for me to serve God."
10. Persevere "There is no hope for me."
Reading this has really helped me on my journey. It gave me a lot of insight and opened my eyes to myself. I truly believe that if you are hurting (whether it's mentally, emotionally or physically) you can gain a lot of healing from reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pick up your mat & walk...

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bergamot
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If the pain of life has you stuck to the riverbank, Healing is a Choice helps nudge you back into the healthy flow of life. Stephen Arterburn, founder of New Life Ministries, acknowledges that in order for us to heal, we must ask God for it, which is true. But he also brings to our attention that healing has a little something to do with us as well. He brings up the invalid man in John Chapter 5 that laid by the pool of Bethesda, waiting for someone to help him into the healing waters for 38 years. Arterburn finds that it is not strange that Jesus asks the seemingly-obvious question, "Do you want to be well?" because sometimes, we just don't want to for our own reasons.
Arterburn presents 10 choices to make that directly oppose 10 lies we tell ourselves that help keep us stuck in our misery. Each encompasses one area of healing that is necessary for our minds to be healthy. And it isn't all psychology, either. He marries the pursuit of the healthy mind with the pursuit of a healthy relationship with God, creating a refreshing balance that is necessary for every person. The end of each chapter has a workbook-like section that has questions and leading statements and prayer to help the individual or group work through their own issues.
I highly recommend this to anyone that feels, as it may be, stuck to the riverbank, unable to get free from the past while everyone else around you flows healthfully through life. It allows for introspection and self-reflection, and presents many opportunities to heal oneself through healthy choices.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book of comfort and answers to hurting people

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Darlene
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book in complimentary e-book format from Thomas Nelson Publishing Co for review purposes only. The book " Healing Is A Choice" was originally published in 2005 and this edition includes a workbook that corresponds with each chapter. Stephen Arterburn is open and honest about his divorce, the pain he feels today concerning the loss and the process of healing he has gone through which has resulted in this book. This book deals with the reality and necessity of pain in our lives, how to deal with it head on in a healthy way, how to seek truth in the midst of so many lies and deceptions, and how to come through every trial choosing to serve others and persevere despite continuing pain. I read this as I prepared for spinal surgery, knowing the surgery would be helpful but the prognosis would be guarded at best. I came away with hope, comforted by the knowledge the truth of God revealed in Scripture and the ability to dig deep to ask the hard questions of myself while trusting God with the answers and my future; would indeed bring healing of a Godly kind. I recommend this book to anyone suffering a loss; divorce or other relational brokenness, a physical or health problem, an addiction or other self harming actions, or loneliness and heartache of any kind; to read and complete the workbook questions. It will result in a changed viewpoint and a changed life. It can be completed either in a group setting or on your own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More meat then bones.

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
alamama
Location:southwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Healing Is a Choice 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life and 10 Lies That Can Prevent You From Making Them
By Steve Arterburn
Published by Thomas Nelson
Have you ever heard the saying, "Eat the meat and spit out the bones"? This applies to this book. Fortunately, there was more meat than bones. I was pleasantly delighted and helped reading Healing is a Choice. While I skipped through some of the "bones", many of the chapters had down to earth and sound spiritual guidance.
Here's what I liked about the book: the completeness of it. By that I mean, it comes with a worksheet, prayer, review, etc. at the end of each chapter. It can be used by ones self or in a group setting. It was well written and easy to understand. It had plenty of scripture. It just really made sense and was basic enough to follow through.
What I didn't like: I really wished more of the scriptures were New King James Version. Call me old school, but to me, that is almost always the best version. While I do understand the need, to me, there were too many "suggestions" to seek professional help. The Blood of Jesus was never mentioned as a source of healing. If it was I missed it.
This is a wonderful book for those seeking healing, emotionally, spiritually, physically or for those who want to be reminded of God's grace, and some of the basic principals of Christianity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Thick Book With A Purpose

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
threelogans
Location:Morrisville, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I chose to review Stephen Arterburn's "Healing Is a Choice" book I was surprised at the length of this book. How was I ever going to read this book while raising two kids, researching, and make a semi-balanced dinner (because apparently, chocolate for dinner is not an option).
Let me be honest. It is a THICK book. It served as a paper weight for a few days before I was willing to dive into the book.
The book is thick for a reason. Healing is some heavy duty stuff. The issues that require healing are even more heavy on our physical, emotional and spiritual well-being. To be frank, its intense.
The book included a full workbook which adds to the length of the book but very much so enriches the material being presented.
Arterburn presents several tools to address the issue of healing. A resource directory is one example. Examples of prayer for healing are also available for the reader. Finally, there are plenty of integration from Scripture to help bring things into perspective.
In the middle of the text, Arterburn says it beautiful:
"We can make a healing choice to embrace life as it is. We can make needed adjustments, so we can live life to the fullest. We will do life in new ways, but it will be life, and it can be good!" (pg. 257).
I encourage anyone struggling with spiritual warfare, emotional distress and other issues to consider this book.I don't know many books on healing that have a faith base approach. However, this one does and its integration of Scripture is important for those who are struggling believers.
Again, it is a book that is thorough, but it is purposefully thorough. And if anything it will transform the way you view struggles and healing.
I know this is a book review, but if you are facing any of the following issues right now and you feel helpless, hopeless and alone please call:
National Suicide Prevention Hotline:
1-800-SUICIDE (1-800-784-2433)
or
The Nine Line
1-800-999-9999
http://nineline.org/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not What I Expected

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Seira
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was all I could do to get to the half-way point of this book without feeling like I was in a shrink's office being psycho-analyzed.
While I appreciated the author's candid honesty about his own "healing issues", I expected more spiritual advice, when all I got was "clinical advice".
I also disagreed with a major theme in the book - that you could not get through your problems without professional help. Naturally, I understand why he would suggest that since he is "in the business". However, with a strong faith in God, and a healthy network of support from friends and family, I think it is entirely possible to "heal" without "past digging" and "inner-child" issues that most professionals seem to think is necessary to get past some of life's more difficult struggles.
What I had HOPED to find in this book was a direct link to the Bible, and how one can "choose healing", by choosing to pursue and strengthen their relationship with The Great Physician of All - Jesus Christ.
Disclaimer - I received this book free from Book Sneeze in return for my honest view. I did not receive compensation in any form, and the opinions expressed herein are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A book that applies to everyone!

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rena Nunley
Location:Brazil
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HEALING IS A CHOICE by Stephen Arterburn is an excellent book. Although I only rated it as a 4 on a 5-scale, I still consider it to be a very interesting, informative and helpful book.
Sometimes I'm a bit wary about so-called self-help books, wondering if it's going to be presented as a do-it-my-way-and-you'll-never-fail sort of thing. But I was surprised and relieved to see that Mr. Arterburn backed up his guidelines and information with not only his own experience but also, and more importantly, with Scripture. I was further happy about the fact that he presented the clear plan of salvation in the chapter about forgiveness. That chapter in itself is worth whatever one may end up paying for this book!
To further enhance the value of this book, there is also a study guide at the end of each chapter, a must for those people who need to go a step further in their quest for help in the area of healing. Although "healing" could be applied to the physical area, I suppose, it was definitely aimed at the emotional, mental and spiritual healing that needs to take place in our lives.
I plan to recommend this book to those around me who are in need of this type of healing. If they are serious in wanting that, they will surely see some results if they put to practice the guidelines given in Healing Is A Choice.
(I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.) ______________________
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book, timeless wisdom!

Date:December 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
LisaH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Healing is Choice” by Stephen Arterburn is a fantastic book, full of Biblical wisdom and powerful insight. This book describes 10 decisions that will transform a life that needs emotional healing, along with debunking 10 myths that often keep people from making these life-giving decisions.
I read this book, not because I felt I needed healing, but because I highly respect Arterburn and his counseling wisdom and thought that this book would increase my own knowledge. I was not let down. Arterburn teaches Biblical principles while adding his own counseling knowledge and experiences. He is also very open and honest about his own path to healing from an unwanted divorce.
Whether you need healing from something in your life, or just want to gain wisdom to help others, I highly recommend this book. This new 2011 addition of his book that was originally written in 2005 contains the full workbook. Although I did not personally work through the workbook sections at the end of each of the chapters, I read through the majority of each of them. This workbook contains additional reading material and walks the reader through a considerable amount of Bible study and self-reflection. It would be a true benefit to anyone who needs emotional healing.
Bottom line: great book and timeless advice applicable to anyone.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes and was not compensated to write the review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical, practical, helpful

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
TofC
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a book for those who have deep wounds or those who help those with deep wounds and brokenness. It's ten chapters share a deep truth and a lie that deceives people from making wise healing choices . It is appropriate for anyone desiring the whole life that God has intended.
I really enjoyed this book. The author shared his own brokenness and in his humility connected with each reader. The truths were simple, Biblical, practical and profound. Each chapter and it's study guide were treasure troves of wisdom to guide the reader to wholeness. Run, don't walk to get this book.
I reviewed this book from Booksneeze.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Healing Is a Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life, Revised and Updated (slightly imperfect)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Counseling by Stephen Arterburn

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
glesterw
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The revised and updated book Healing is a Choice now comes equipped with a full workbook. Stephen uses this book to touch the life of his readers by examining deep hurts and issues they are facing or have struggled with for many years, by reading this you will focus on Ten Decisions That Will Transform Your Life & Ten Lies That Can Prevent You From Making Them.
We struggle with hurts all the time, it seems that in life we are either coming out of a crisis, in a crisis or going into a crisis, this book has the ability to get your down the road of recovery…that is if you choose to apply the steps that are in this book to your life. I’m considering using this book as a future study guide in my men’s group, I enjoy this book because it challenges the reader to examine their own life and realize they have some important and even difficult choices to make that will either help heal the hurt, or lead them down the path of regret. I recommend this book to anyone who has a hurt and needs the “…power to heal—physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually.”
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>